DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ Amendments and Remarks, filed 9 January 2026, in the matter of Application N° 18/268,786. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
No claims have been canceled. Claim 12 appears to have been re-added to the claims and is addressed herein below. Despite its improper addition to the claims, it will be withdrawn from consideration. No new claims have been added.
Claims 1 and 62 have been amended to recite that the injectable composition is a stable solution.
No new matter has been added.
Thus, claims 1-10, 20, 21, 25-28, 31, 33, 42, 48, 50-52, 55, 57-60, and 62-67 continue to represent all claims currently under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
No new Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) have been filed for consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because it appears to have been non-compliantly re-added to the claim set. The preamble indicates that it depends from claim 11, which itself is canceled. However, in the amendment filed 23 January 2024, claim 12 had been canceled and, thus not examined. Herein, the claim will be withdrawn from consideration.
Appropriate correction is required.
Maintained Objection/Rejections
The following objection and rejection are maintained from the previous Office Correspondence dated 9 October 2025 since the art that was previously cited continues to read on the amended and previously recited limitations.
Specification - Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks with regard to the objection to the Abstract request commentary or suggestions for amending the Abstract to be taken into consideration.
The Examiner, in response, has no specific suggestions apart from what is set forth in MPEP §608.01(b). Said objection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-10, 20, 21, 25-28, 31, 33, 42, 48, 50-52, 55, 57-60 and 62-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart et al. (WO 2019/084548 A1; ISR/IDS reference), further in view of Rolland et al. (EP 2 353 624 A1).
The instantly claimed composition is directed to an injectable composition comprising:
water;
one or more polycationic polyelectrolytes and anionic counterions;
one or more polyanionic polyelectrolytes and cationic counterions; and
a transient contrast agent
The composition additionally recites having an ionic concentration that is (i) sufficient to prevent association of the polycationic polyelectrolytes and the polyanionic polyelectrolytes in water, and (ii) greater than the concentration of ions in the subject, whereupon introduction of the composition into the subject, a solid is produced in situ, and the transient contrast agent diffuses out of the solid.
Stewart discloses in situ solidifying liquid complex coacervates that contain bioactive agents (i.e., anti-angiogenic, chemotherapeutic, etc.) that solidify in situ in blood vessels. The coacervates are formed of oppositely-charged polyelectrolytes at high ionic strengths that undergo aqueous-aqueous phase inversion to produce a microporous solid that locally releases the bioactive agent with which it has been infused (see e.g., Abstract; claims 1 and 2).
Claim 1 of the reference additionally discloses that “the concentration of the ions in the complex coacervate is greater than the concentration of the ions at the administration site in the subject, thereby teaching the second of the two recited functional limitations. The reference additionally discloses that “[p]olyelectrolytes with opposite net charges in aqueous solution can associate into several higher order morphologies depending on the solution conditions and charge ratios. They can form stable colloidal suspensions of polyelectrolyte complex with net surface charges. Repulsion between like surface charges stabilizes the suspension from further association” (see pg. 11, lines 4-8).
The foregoing is considered to teach the limitations recited by independent claims 1, 9, 10, 57, and 62-64.
The limitations of claims 9 and 10 are considered to carry the same limitations as presented in claim 1, notably since both the polycationic and polyanionic polyelectrolytes are already combined with water. Also, see MPEP §2113.
The limitations of independent claim 65 and dependent claim 67 are considered to be disclosed by the foregoing as well as by the disclosure that “when the in situ solidifying liquid complex coacervate is introduced into a vessel in the subject, a solid is produced from the liquid complex coacervate. Further, in this aspect, the adhesive solid creates an artificial embolus within the vessel. Still further in this aspect, the artificial embolus selectively reduces or inhibits blood flow to the target tissue” (see pg. 10, line 25 to pg. 11, line 2). Target tissues disclosed as having their blood flow reduced or inhibited include aneurysms, a varicose vein, an arteriovenous (vascular) malformation, an open or bleeding wound, and a tumor (see e.g., pg. 37, lines 21-27; claim 46).
Claims 29 and 30 disclose that the coacervate will further comprise a contrast agent or visualization agent, such as an iodinated compound. The reference further defines the contrasting agent as being present in amounts of up to 30% (w/w) (or up to 300 mg/mL) (see pg. 20, lines 2-3).
The iodinated compound is further defined as being, for example, iodixanol, iohexol, diatrizoic acid, and ioxaglate (see pg. 20, lines 7-12).
The foregoing is considered to teach the limitations recited by instant claims 2, 3, and 5.
Where Stewart is admittedly deficient is with regard to using an iodinated oil as the organic iodine contrasting agent, as set forth in claim 4.
Rolland is considered to remedy this deficiency. Like Stewart, Rolland is directed to a biocompatible, chemically inert, radio-opaque, long-term degradable, non-adhesive gelatine-based gel material suitable for occluding body passageways in a mammal patient (claim 1).
The Examiner notes that polymeric material used by Stewart is distinct from that used by Rolland. However, the end result is the same; namely the production of an injectable liquid material that solidifies in situ and delivers one or more active agents in vivo alongside a transient contrasting agent (see e.g., claims 1-5, 13, and 14). Rolland discloses in claim 4 that the contrasting agent is chosen from an iodinated oil.
MPEP §2144.06(II) states that “[i]n order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art, and cannot be based on Applicants’ disclosure or the mere fact that the components at issue are functional or mechanical equivalents.”
In the instant case, the Examiner has presented a clear showing that the iodinated oil of Rolland and the iodinated compounds of Stewart both, independently operate as iodine-based contrasting agents that are released from compositions that are injected into the body and solidified in situ.
The Examiner thus submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have reasonably expected success at producing the instant composition by modifying the iodinated contrasting compound used by Stewart with the iodinated oil used by Rolland.
The limitations of claim 6 recite that 100% of the contrast agent diffuses out of the solid or gel in a range of from about 5 minutes to 30 days. The Examiner acknowledges that while the reference discloses the diffusion/release for the different bioactive agents in terms of days (see e.g., claim 45), a time range is not expressly disclosed for the contrast/visualization agent.
Despite this perceived deficiency, the Examiner submits that such an agent would also possess a similar diffusion rate, particularly given that it is also disclosed as being a visualization agent (i.e., used to track the progress of the active being delivered). Thus, the Examiner submits that the reference teaches and suggests claim 6.
Furthermore, the Examiner submits that the claim also recites the above rejected compositional and structural limitations of claim 1. Pursuant to MPEP §2112.01(I), “[w]here the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.”
The Examiner again submits that the foregoing property is met in view of the release rate of the other co-formulated agents.
The limitations recited by claims 7 and 8 define the counterions as comprising sodium and chloride (i.e., monovalent ions). The ion concentration is also recited as ranging from 1.5-20 times greater than the ion concentration in the subject (see e.g., claims 1 and 18).
The latter limitation of claim 8 is taught above. The disclosed salt that produces ions is further defined as comprising a monovalent salt is further defined as being for example, sodium chloride (see e.g., pg. 16, lines 5-8), such as sodium chloride at a concentration of 1.2 M (see pg. 17, lines 2-3).
The polycationic salt limitations presented in instant claims 20, 21, and 25-28 are disclosed by claims 1 and 2 of the reference (see also pg. 13, lines 1-9).
The polyanionic salt limitations presented in instant claims 31, 33, 42, 48, and 50-52 are disclosed by claim 10 of the reference (i.e., sodium hexametaphosphate).
The limitations of claim 57 are met with the disclosure of an anti-angiogenic or chemotherapeutic agent (see e.g., Abstract). Other of the recited bioactive agents are disclosed by claims 35 and 41.
The limitations of claim 58 recite that the composition of claim 1 has a viscosity ranging from 10-20,000 cps (0.01-20 Pa*s). This is considered to be exemplified by the reference (see pg. 44, line 5 to pg. 45, line 26). Therein, the method forms an embolic coacervate (EC) using a polyguanidinyl copolymer methacrylate copolymer p(GPMA-co-MA) and sodium hexametaphosphate (MP) in combination with sodium chloride. The resulting polymer of PG-MP has a shear viscosity of about 5.0 Pa*s and reported out as low as 1.2 Pa*s.
The limitations of instant claims 59 and 60 are met by the disclosure of claims 18 and 19 of the reference.
Based on the combined teachings of the references, the Examiner submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at producing the instantly claimed composition and arriving at the recited method of treatment.
As discussed above, the sole deficiency with the teachings of Stewart is that it does not expressly disclose the inclusion of iodinated oil as one of the organic, iodine-based contrasting agents. Rolland is provided to bridge this gap disclosing injectable delivery compositions comprising a solidifying polymeric blend loaded with both a deliverable active ingredient and iodine contrasting agent (iodinated oil).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regard to the rejection of claims 1-10, 20, 21, 25-28, 31, 33, 42, 48, 50-52, 55, 57-60, and 62-67 under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of Stewart et al. and Rolland et al. have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicants traverse the rejection on the grounds that the amendment overcomes the rejection, specifically asserting that Stewart is directed to complex coacervates which do not separate into macroscopically distinct phases. It is summarily argued that Stewart teaches the skilled artisan to prepare and use complex coacervates and not stable solutions as instantly claimed.
The Examiner, in response, acknowledges the teachings of Stewart, but respectfully disagrees that the reference teaches away from the amended invention.
Noting the cited passage in Stewart, the Examiner observes that the reference discusses the claimed components as being in an aqueous solution and that it is possible for them to associate into higher order morphologies and that “[r]epulsion between like surface charges stabilizes the suspension from further association.”
The Examiner additionally notes that the reference discloses that “the in situ solidifying liquid complex coacervate can be formulated in hypertonic saline solutions that can be used for parenteral or intravenous administration or by injection to the subject” (see e.g., pg. 17, lines 4-6).
Additionally, the Examiner notes that Stewart expressly discloses that “the in situ solidifying liquid complex coacervate can be loaded in a syringe for future. Due to the stability of the in situ solidifying liquid complex coacervate, a sterilized solution of the complex coacervate can be stored in the syringe for extended periods of time and used as needed.” (see pg. 32, lines 14-17). [emphasis added]
Furthermore, the scope of the claimed composition does not depart from the disclosure of Stewart, with the exception of the iodinated oil contrasting agent that is disclosed by Rolland. Thus, regarding the composition itself, the Examiner respectfully submits that the reference continues to teach and suggest the instant invention.
Applicants’ arguments, for the above reasons, are found unpersuasive. Said rejection is therefore maintained.
All claims under consideration remain rejected; no claims are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert A. Wax can be reached on (571) 272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Jeffrey T. Palenik/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615