Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20200194786).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a lithium secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode 120; a negative electrode 110; a separator 130 disposed between the positive electrode 120 and the negative electrode 110; and a non-aqueous electrolyte 140 (P41), wherein the negative electrode, at least in a charged state, includes a lithium alloy containing magnesium, at the negative electrode, a lithium metal deposits during charge, and the lithium metal dissolves during discharge (P35-37.48-51.69-72.96), and the non-aqueous electrolyte contains a hydrofluoroether and lithium ions (P66).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the hydrofluoroether includes a compound represented by R1—O—R2, where R1 is a fluoroalkyl group, R2 is an alkyl group or a fluoroalkyl group, at least one of R1 and R2 has at least one hydrogen atom, and a total number n of carbon atoms in R1 and R2 is 10 or less, or includes 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (P66). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01 II
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches R1 and R2 each independently have at least one hydrogen atom, or includes 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (P66). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01 II
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a fluorination rate of the hydrofluoroether is 60% or more or includes 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (P66), wherein the fluorination ratio is the number of the fluorine atoms included in one fluorinated ether/the sum of the numbers of the fluorine atoms and the hydrogen atoms included in the fluorinated ether and thus over 60%. Further, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01 II
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the hydrofluoroether includes 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl-2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl ether (P66).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a content of magnesium in the lithium alloy is 0.1 mass % or more and 30 mass % or less, or 0.1-10% by weight (P51), falling within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05- I
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (KR 20140038676 A).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the electrolyte system may comprise additives that may improve capacity (P71.78), but is silent in teaching a fluorinated alcohol with a fluoroalkyl group; however, Jeon, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a lithium battery using a non-aqueous electrolyte and an anode comprising magnesium (L261-272).
Jeon teaches when a halogenated alcohol, such as 2,2,2-trifluoroethanol is added to an electrolyte the capacity and lifespan are improved and resistance decreases (L88-94.168-170.402-430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a fluorinated alcohol represented by R—OH, where R is a fluoroalkyl group, or ,2,2-trifluoroethanol, in the battery of Wang to improve the capacity, as taught by Jeon.
Regarding claim 7, modified Wang in view of Jeon teaches the fluorinated alcohol includes 2,2,2-trifluoroethanol (L88-94.168-170.402-430).
Conclusion
/Amanda Rosenbaum/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752