DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Bichler does not teach “the outer primary coil is arranged offset with respect to the inner primary coil in a longitudinal direction of an axis of the core and in a direction closer to the gap than the inner primary coil” as amended claim 1. Applicant asserts that the outer primary coil 50b1 of Bichler is arranged in a direction further from the gap 2.
After careful consideration without passion or prejudice, the argument is not found persuasive, respectfully. Applicant’s amendment to the claim changes the scope of the claim. This allows the examiner to change the interpretation of claim 1. In the new interpretation, the examiner equates the offset arrangement as claimed to a different area of the primary coil 50 as in the rejection body of claim 1 in section 5 below. Under this new interpretation, Bichler still teaches “the outer primary coil is arranged offset with respect to the inner primary coil in a longitudinal direction of an axis of the core and in a direction closer to the gap than the inner primary coil” as amended claim 1.
The drawings objection made in the Office action dated 03/12/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the amendment filed on 06/11/2026.
Similarly, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection made in the Office action mailed on 03/12/2026 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the amendment filed on 06/11/2026.
Drawings
The drawings received on 06/21/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bichler (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2014/0266537).
With respect to claim 1, Bichler teaches a transformer 3 (Figure 2) comprising:
a core 12a and 12b formed of a magnetic body, the core comprising a gap S;
a primary coil 50 wound around the core,
the primary coil having two coil layers 50a and 50b (annotated Figure 2) of an inner primary coil 50a and an outer primary coil 50b arranged more toward an outer peripheral side than the inner primary coil; and
a second coil 60 or 90 wound around the core,
wherein the outer primary coil is arranged offset (turn 50b1 is offset to turn between 50a1 and 50a2) with respect to the inner primary coil in a longitudinal direction (vertical axis direction) of an axis of the core and in a direction closer to the gap than the inner primary coil (paras. [0025] and [0029]).
With respect to claim 3, Bichler teaches the transformer according to claim 2, wherein
the core has a lower portion core 12b and an upper portion core 12a that are arranged facing each other to form the gap S, and
the outer primary coil is arranged on an outer peripheral side of the gap to straddle the gap (para. [0029]).
With respect to claim 4, Bichler teaches the transformer according to claim 3, wherein the inner primary coil is arranged above the gap (para. [0029]). A portion of the inner primary coil is above the gap. Accordingly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Bichler teaches the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 5, Bichler teaches the transformer according to claim 3, wherein the second primary coil is arranged below the gap (para. [0029]). A portion of the secondary coil is above the gap. Accordingly, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Bichler teaches the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bichler, as applied to claim 5 above, in view of Joseph (U.S. Patent No. 5,404,123).
With respect to claim 6, Bichler teaches the transformer according to claim 5. Bichler does not expressly teach the outer primary coil is arranged on an outer peripheral side of the secondary coil.
Joseph teaches a transformer (FIG. 3), wherein the outer primary coil 64 is arranged on an outer peripheral side of the secondary coil 63 (col. 2, lines 58-61 and col. 3, lines 3-6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the outer primary coil structure as taught by Joseph to the transformer of Bichler to provide the required magnetic coupling between the different coils to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 7, Bichler in view of Joseph teaches the transformer according to claim 6, wherein the number of windings of the inner primary coil is smaller than the number of windings of the outer primary coil (Joseph, col. 2, lines 58-61 and col. 3, lines 3-6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837