DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: for proper antecedent basis, please amend “ethylene units” to read “the ethylene”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: for proper antecedent basis, please amend “aliphatic diacid” to read “the aliphatic diacid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “one highly saturated diene elastomer” is indefinite because it is unclear how saturated the compound needs to be in order to be considered highly saturated. Does the saturation level come from the ethylene units? If so, the examiner suggests amending claim 16 with the limitations of claim 17.
Claims 17-30 are rejected for being dependent from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuilliez et al (US 2015/0353716) in view of Furukawa et al (US 4,737,535).
Regarding claims 16, 18, 20, and 22-29, Thuilliez teaches a rubber composition comprising:
5-60 phr ([0043]) of a polyisoprene ([0047])
a highly saturated diene elastomer (Abstract). Given the amount of the polyisoprene, the amount of the diene elastomer can be calculated to range from 40 to 95 phr. Thuilliez teaches that the elastomer is a copolymer of ethylene ([0036]) and 1,3 diene such as 1,3 butadiene ([0037])
A carbon black ([0050]) which is present in the amount from 10 to 200 phr ([0054])
A crosslinking system ([0063])
Thuilliez teaches that ester plasticizers can be incorporated into the composition ([0063]), however fails to teach that the plasticizer is an aliphatic diacid dialkyl ester plasticizer.
Furukawa teaches a rubber composition for use in a tire (Abstract) which incorporates 3 to 20 parts by weight of an aliphatic diacid dialkyl ester plasticizer such as diisooctyl sebacate (col. 3, lines 60-67).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the diisooctyl sebacate of Furukawa as the ester plasticizer of Thuilliez. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving tire performances at low temperatures (Furukawa, col. 3, lines 47-50).
Regarding claim 17, Thuilliez teaches that the ethylene units ([0015], fraction A) make up more than 50 mol % ([0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Thuilliez teaches that the copolymer is a random copolymer (Abstract).
Regarding claim 21, Thuilliez teaches that the polyisoprene is a natural rubber or a synthetic polyisoprene ([0047]).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuilliez et al (US 2015/0353716) in view of Furukawa et al (US 4,737,535) and Halasa et al (US 3,953,542) with evidence provided by Niclas et al (US 2,967,564).
The discussion regarding Thuilliez and Furukawa in paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 30, please refer to the above rejection (claim 16) for the compositional elements of the claim.
Thuilliez teaches that the rubber composition is used in a tire composition (Abstract), most commonly a tread ([0100]), however, it fails to teach a use for it in the carcass application of a tire.
Halasa teaches a copolymer of ethylene with diene (Abstract) which is mixed with another rubbery material such as polyisoprene rubber (col. 4, lines 40-45) and says that rubbers such as these can be used in tire applications such a carcass as well as treads (col. 4, lines 30-35). As evidenced by Niclas, tire carcasses generally are parts of pneumatic tires (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rubber composition of modified Thuilliez be used in the carcass of a pneumatic tire as taught by Halasa. One would have been motivated to do so by using a rubber with a balance of stiffness and hysteresis properties acceptable for use in tires (Thuilliez, [0007]).
Double Patenting
Claims 16-19 and 23-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-19 and 21-27 of copending Application No. 18/268,826 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recited a rubber composition comprising predominantly of a highly saturated diene elastomer made from ethylene and 1,3 diene, a carbon black, a crosslinking system and an aliphatic diacid dialkyl ester plasticizer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764