DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “highly unsaturated” is interpreted to mean that the diene elastomer has at least 50 mol % of monomer units in the copolymer are ethylene units (page 4 of the specification) which provide the unsaturation. The phrase “predominantly” means more than 50% of the elastomer matrix is composed of the highly saturated diene elastomer (page 3 of the specification).
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: please insert “the” prior to the phrase “highly saturated diene elastomer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: , please insert “the” prior to the phrase “aliphatic diacid dialkyl ester”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: please replace “a carbon black” with “the carbon black”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thuilliez et al (US 2018/0371214) in view of Furukawa et al (US 4,737,535).
Regarding claim 15-18 and 20-26, Thuilliez teaches a rubber composition in which 100 phr of the elastomeric matrix ([0217]) is a highly saturated diene elastomer (Abstract), carbon black ([0223]) and a plasticizer which can be an ester plasticizer ([0226]) and a crosslinking system ([0226]). Thuilliez teaches that the highly unsaturated diene elastomer is a copolymer of ethylene and 1, 3 -diene ([0016]). The 1,3-diene is 1,3 butadiene as evidenced by its polymerization into butadiene units ([0043]) in the 1,4 (both cis and trans) and 1,2 configurations ([0043]). The molar fraction of the ethylene units in the copolymer is greater than or equal to 50 % (Abstract).
However, Thuilliez fails to teach that the plasticizer is an aliphatic diacid dialkyl ester plasticizer.
Furukawa teaches a rubber composition (Abstract) which incorporates diisooctyl sebacate as a plasticizer (col. 3, lines 65-67). It is incorporated into the rubber composition from about 3 to 20 phr (col. 3, lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the diisooctyl sebacate of Furukawa be the plasticizer of Thuilliez. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving the tire performances at low temperatures (Furukawa, col. 3, lines 49-67).
Regarding claim 19, Thuilliez teaches that the concentration of the monomers is constant all along the chain of the copolymer ([0017]) which means that no blocks or gradients ([0068]) are present in the copolymer and, therefore, the copolymer can be considered a random copolymer.
Regarding claim 27, Thuilliez teaches that the composition contains a carbon black ([0223]), however fails to teach how much carbon black is incorporated into the composition.
Furukawa teaches a rubber composition (Abstract) which incorporates a carbon black in the amount from 40-80 phr (col. 4, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the carbon black of Thuilliez in the amount as taught by Furukawa. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving steering characteristics and abrasion resistance (Furukawa, col. 4, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 28, Thuilliez teaches that the rubber according to claim 15 can be used in a tire. However, it silent to the to the characteristics of the tire.
Furukawa teaches a rubber composition (Abstract) which is used in a pneumatic tire (col. 4, lines 65-67 – indicated by an inner pressure) as the tread (col. 1, lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the tire rubber of Thuilliez in the application of a pneumatic tire tread as taught by Furukawa. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having a tire tread with a rubber composition which are much less sensitive to oxidizing and therefore, confers better stability and lifetime use (Thuilliez, [0005]).
Double Patenting
Claims 15-19 and 21-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-19 and 23-29 of copending Application No. 18/268,821 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a rubber composition based on a highly saturated diene elastomer, an aliphatic diacid dialkyl ester plasticizer, carbon black, a crosslinking system. While the copending independent claim does not explicitly state that “the ethylene units represent at least 50 mol% of the monomer units of the copolymer” it is noted that within the specification of ‘821, the high saturation comes from the ethylene units being between 50 and 95 mol % of the elastomer (page 6 of ‘821). Nonetheless, it is noted that copending claim 17 of ‘821 clearly delineates the amount of the ethylene units and definitively reads on the recited claim 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764