DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/28/2025. Claims 16-30 remain pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 19, 24, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On lines 5 and 6 of claim 16 and lines 8 and 9 of claim 24, “the number of subgroups for the UE ID” appears as though it should be either “the number of subgroups” or “the number of subgroups for the UE ID based subgrouping”. The number of subgroups is related to the UE ID based subgrouping, not merely the UE ID.
In claims 19 and 27, “different cells configure difference paging subgroup” should be “different cells configure difference paging subgroups”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18-20, 22-24, 26-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0051668 A1) (hereinafter Lee) in view of Babaei (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0124674 A1) (previously cited, hereinafter Babaei) and further in view of Weng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0122495 A1) (previously cited hereinafter Weng).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless network (Paragraph 0052 discloses transmitting a paging message from a base station to a mobile station. Paragraphs 0088 and 0089 disclose the embodiments of the present invention have been described based on the data transmission and reception between a base station and a mobile station. In this case, the base station means a terminal node of a network, which performs direct communication with the mobile station. A specific operation which is described as being performed by the base station may be performed by an upper node of the base station as the case may be. In other words, it will be apparent that various operations performed for communication with the mobile station in the network which includes a plurality of network nodes along with the base station may be performed by the base station or network nodes other than the base station. The base station may be replaced with terms such as a fixed station, Node B, eNode B (eNB), and access point. Also, the mobile station may be replaced with terms such as a user equipment (UE), a subscriber station (SS), a mobile subscriber station (MSS), and a terminal), the method comprising:
determining a number of subgroups for a user equipment (UE) identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell (Paragraph 0127 discloses the base station can transmit update information of each system information block. Paragraph 0170 discloses paging information transferred to the mobile station through the ranging response message or the deregistration command message in the general wireless communication system can be included in the system information so that the information can be transmitted to the mobile station through the BCH. Also, the paging information can further include information of the number of paging sub groups);
broadcasting system information including the number of subgroups for the UE ID (Paragraph 0104 discloses `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information. Paragraph 0170 discloses paging information transferred to the mobile station through the ranging response message or the deregistration command message in the general wireless communication system can be included in the system information so that the information can be transmitted to the mobile station through the BCH. Also, the paging information can further include information of the number of paging sub groups);
wherein a paging subgroup ID is determined based on the number of subgroups and the UE ID (Paragraphs 0103 and 0104 disclose the mobile station or the base station can identify a paging sub group of a corresponding mobile station by using a method of the following Math Figure 1. Paging Sub Group ID=MS_ID modulo N [Math Figure 1]. In the Math Figure 1, `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information).
Although Lee discloses, broadcasting system information including the number of subgroups for UE ID, Lee does not explicitly disclose broadcasting system information block (SIB) 1 including the number of subgroups for the UE ID.
In analogous art, Babaei discloses broadcasting system information block (SIB) 1 including the number of subgroups for the UE ID (Figure 22 and paragraph 0181 disclose a wireless device may receive a first configuration parameter for determining a paging group that the wireless device is associated with/belongs to. The first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups, including the paging group that the wireless device belongs to, that the wireless devices (e.g., wireless devices in RRC INACTIVE and RRC IDLE state) may be belong to. The first configuration parameter indicates a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message (e.g., a SIB message such as SIB1). Paragraphs 0196 and 0200 disclose the first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1). Paragreaph0205 discloses the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter (e.g., the first configuration parameter indicating the number of paging groups) via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1, as described in Babaei, with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information, as described in Lee, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1 of Babaei with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Lee, as modified by Babaei, does not explicitly disclose determining a paging occasion (PO) and a paging early indication (PEI) occasion for a UE; and transmitting, to the UE, a PEI on the PEI occasion for the UE.
In analogous art, Weng discloses determining a paging occasion (PO) and a paging early indication (PEI) occasion for a UE (Paragraphs 0036, 0039, and 0040 disclose a method in a network component, the method comprising: transmitting, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, an early paging indicator indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion; and transmitting a page during the paging occasion. Figure 1A and paragraphs 0086 and 0087 disclose method begins at decision block 20, in which it is determined if a pending page is present for an upcoming paging occasion. If a pending page is present (Yes path from decision block 20), the method proceeds to block 22, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion. Paragraph 0286 discloses for the purpose of this description, the configuration parameter “timeOffsetEpi”, measured in subframes, defines how far the EPI occasion is ahead of the existing paging occasion. Here, the configuration parameter “timeOffsetEpi” is configured by eNB and broadcast to UEs (one “timeOffsetEpi” per cell)); and
transmitting, to the UE, a PEI on the PEI occasion for the UE (Figure 1A and paragraphs 0086 and 0087 disclose method begins at decision block 20, in which it is determined if a pending page is present for an upcoming paging occasion. If a pending page is present (Yes path from decision block 20), the method proceeds to block 22, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion, as described in Weng, with transmitting a page, as described in Lee, as modified by Babaei, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion of Weng with transmitting a page of Lee, as modified by Babaei, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Weng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Lee, as modified by Weng, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup.
Babaei further discloses wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup (Paragraph 0166 discloses the UEs that share the same PO may be sub-grouped, and sub-grouping information may be carried by a DCI (e.g., a paging DCI and/or a paging early indication DCI). The UEs in the sub-group(s) being paged may monitor the control channel for a paging message. If the sub-group that the UE belongs to is not paged, the UE may skip corresponding PDSCH reception, otherwise, the UE may decode the message on PDSCH. Indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be by indicators in a paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged, as described in Babaei, with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged as described in Lee, as modified by Weng, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged of Babaei with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged of Lee, as modified by Weng, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 16 above, Lee, as modified by Babaei and Weng, further discloses wherein different cells configure different paging subgroup (Figure 1 illustrates different cells configured with different cell groups).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network (Paragraph 0103 discloses the mobile station or the base station can identify a paging sub group of a corresponding mobile station. Paragraphs 0088 and 0089 disclose the embodiments of the present invention have been described based on the data transmission and reception between a base station and a mobile station. In this case, the base station means a terminal node of a network, which performs direct communication with the mobile station. A specific operation which is described as being performed by the base station may be performed by an upper node of the base station as the case may be. In other words, it will be apparent that various operations performed for communication with the mobile station in the network which includes a plurality of network nodes along with the base station may be performed by the base station or network nodes other than the base station. The base station may be replaced with terms such as a fixed station, Node B, eNode B (eNB), and access point. Also, the mobile station may be replaced with terms such as a user equipment (UE), a subscriber station (SS), a mobile subscriber station (MSS), and a terminal), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, system information including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell (Paragraph 0104 discloses `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information. Paragraph 0170 discloses paging information transferred to the mobile station through the ranging response message or the deregistration command message in the general wireless communication system can be included in the system information so that the information can be transmitted to the mobile station through the BCH. Also, the paging information can further include information of the number of paging sub groups);
determining a paging subgroup ID based on the number of subgroups and the UE ID (Paragraphs 0103 and 0104 disclose the mobile station or the base station can identify a paging sub group of a corresponding mobile station by using a method of the following Math Figure 1. Paging Sub Group ID=MS_ID modulo N [Math Figure 1]. In the Math Figure 1, `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information).
Although Lee discloses, receiving, from a base station, system information including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell, Lee does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a base station, system information block (SIB) 1 including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell.
In analogous art, Babaei discloses receiving, from a base station, system information block (SIB) 1 including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell (Figure 22 and paragraph 0181 disclose a wireless device may receive a first configuration parameter for determining a paging group that the wireless device is associated with/belongs to. The first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups, including the paging group that the wireless device belongs to, that the wireless devices (e.g., wireless devices in RRC INACTIVE and RRC IDLE state) may be belong to. The first configuration parameter indicates a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message (e.g., a SIB message such as SIB1). Paragraphs 0196 and 0200 disclose the first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1). Paragreaph0205 discloses the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter (e.g., the first configuration parameter indicating the number of paging groups) via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1, as described in Babaei, with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information, as described in Lee, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1 of Babaei with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Lee, as modified by Babaei, does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the base station, a paging early indication (PEI) on a PEI occasion for the UE.
In analogous art, Weng discloses receiving, from the base station, a paging early indication (PEI) on a PEI occasion for the UE (Figure 1A and paragraphs 0086 and 0087 disclose method begins at decision block 20, in which it is determined if a pending page is present for an upcoming paging occasion. If a pending page is present (Yes path from decision block 20), the method proceeds to block 22, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion, as described in Weng, with transmitting a page, as described in Lee, as modified by Babaei, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion of Weng with transmitting a page of Lee, as modified by Babaei, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Weng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Regarding claim 22, as applied to claim 20 above, Lee, as modified by Weng, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup.
Babaei further discloses wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup (Paragraph 0166 discloses the UEs that share the same PO may be sub-grouped, and sub-grouping information may be carried by a DCI (e.g., a paging DCI and/or a paging early indication DCI). The UEs in the sub-group(s) being paged may monitor the control channel for a paging message. If the sub-group that the UE belongs to is not paged, the UE may skip corresponding PDSCH reception, otherwise, the UE may decode the message on PDSCH. Indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be by indicators in a paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged, as described in Babaei, with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged as described in Lee, as modified by Weng, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged of Babaei with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged of Lee, as modified by Weng, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 20 above, Lee, as modified by Babaei and Weng, further discloses wherein different cells configure different paging subgroups (Figure 1 illustrates different cells configured with different cell groups).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses a base station in a wireless network (Paragraphs 0088 and 0089 disclose the embodiments of the present invention have been described based on the data transmission and reception between a base station and a mobile station. In this case, the base station means a terminal node of a network, which performs direct communication with the mobile station. A specific operation which is described as being performed by the base station may be performed by an upper node of the base station as the case may be. In other words, it will be apparent that various operations performed for communication with the mobile station in the network which includes a plurality of network nodes along with the base station may be performed by the base station or network nodes other than the base station. The base station may be replaced with terms such as a fixed station, Node B, eNode B (eNB), and access point. Also, the mobile station may be replaced with terms such as a user equipment (UE), a subscriber station (SS), a mobile subscriber station (MSS), and a terminal), wherein the base station comprises:
a memory; a processor; and the processor configured to (Paragraph 0095 discloses the method according to the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by a type of a module, a procedure, or a function, which performs functions or operations described as above. A software code may be stored in a memory unit and then may be driven by a processor. The memory unit may be located inside or outside the processor to transmit and receive data to and from the processor through various means which are well known):
determine a number of subgroups for a user equipment (UE) identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell (Paragraph 0127 discloses the base station can transmit update information of each system information block. Paragraph 0170 discloses paging information transferred to the mobile station through the ranging response message or the deregistration command message in the general wireless communication system can be included in the system information so that the information can be transmitted to the mobile station through the BCH. Also, the paging information can further include information of the number of paging sub groups),
broadcast system information including the number of subgroups for the UE ID (Paragraph 0104 discloses `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information. Paragraph 0170 discloses paging information transferred to the mobile station through the ranging response message or the deregistration command message in the general wireless communication system can be included in the system information so that the information can be transmitted to the mobile station through the BCH. Also, the paging information can further include information of the number of paging sub groups),
wherein a paging subgroup ID is determined based on the number of subgroups and the UE ID (Paragraphs 0103 and 0104 disclose the mobile station or the base station can identify a paging sub group of a corresponding mobile station by using a method of the following Math Figure 1. Paging Sub Group ID=MS_ID modulo N [Math Figure 1]. In the Math Figure 1, `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information).
Although Lee discloses, broadcast system information including the number of subgroups for the UE ID, Lee does not explicitly disclose broadcast system information block (SIB) 1 including the number of subgroups for the UE ID.
In analogous art, Babaei discloses broadcast system information block (SIB) 1 including the number of subgroups for the UE ID (Figure 22 and paragraph 0181 disclose a wireless device may receive a first configuration parameter for determining a paging group that the wireless device is associated with/belongs to. The first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups, including the paging group that the wireless device belongs to, that the wireless devices (e.g., wireless devices in RRC INACTIVE and RRC IDLE state) may be belong to. The first configuration parameter indicates a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message (e.g., a SIB message such as SIB1). Paragraphs 0196 and 0200 disclose the first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1). Paragreaph0205 discloses the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter (e.g., the first configuration parameter indicating the number of paging groups) via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1, as described in Babaei, with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information, as described in Lee, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1 of Babaei with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Lee, as modified by Babaei, does not explicitly disclose determine a paging occasion (PO) and a paging early indication (PEI) occasion for a UE, and transmit, to the UE, a PEI on the PEI occasion for the UE.
In analogous art, Weng discloses determine a paging occasion (PO) and a paging early indication (PEI) occasion for a UE (Paragraphs 0036, 0039, and 0040 disclose a method in a network component, the method comprising: transmitting, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, an early paging indicator indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion; and transmitting a page during the paging occasion. Figure 1A and paragraphs 0086 and 0087 disclose method begins at decision block 20, in which it is determined if a pending page is present for an upcoming paging occasion. If a pending page is present (Yes path from decision block 20), the method proceeds to block 22, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion. Paragraph 0286 discloses for the purpose of this description, the configuration parameter “timeOffsetEpi”, measured in subframes, defines how far the EPI occasion is ahead of the existing paging occasion. Here, the configuration parameter “timeOffsetEpi” is configured by eNB and broadcast to UEs (one “timeOffsetEpi” per cell)), and
transmit, to the UE, a PEI on the PEI occasion for the UE (Figure 1A and paragraphs 0086 and 0087 disclose method begins at decision block 20, in which it is determined if a pending page is present for an upcoming paging occasion. If a pending page is present (Yes path from decision block 20), the method proceeds to block 22, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion, as described in Weng, with transmitting a page, as described in Lee, as modified by Babaei, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion of Weng with transmitting a page of Lee, as modified by Babaei, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Weng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 24.
Regarding claim 26, as applied to claim 24 above, Lee, as modified by Weng, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup.
Babaei further discloses wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup (Paragraph 0166 discloses the UEs that share the same PO may be sub-grouped, and sub-grouping information may be carried by a DCI (e.g., a paging DCI and/or a paging early indication DCI). The UEs in the sub-group(s) being paged may monitor the control channel for a paging message. If the sub-group that the UE belongs to is not paged, the UE may skip corresponding PDSCH reception, otherwise, the UE may decode the message on PDSCH. Indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be by indicators in a paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged, as described in Babaei, with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged as described in Lee, as modified by Weng, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged of Babaei with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged of Lee, as modified by Weng, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 24 above, Lee, as modified by Babaei and Weng, further discloses wherein different cells configure different paging subgroup (Figure 1 illustrates different cells configured with different cell groups).
Regarding claim 28, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) for grouping of paging in a wireless network (Paragraphs 0088 and 0089 disclose the embodiments of the present invention have been described based on the data transmission and reception between a base station and a mobile station. In this case, the base station means a terminal node of a network, which performs direct communication with the mobile station. A specific operation which is described as being performed by the base station may be performed by an upper node of the base station as the case may be. In other words, it will be apparent that various operations performed for communication with the mobile station in the network which includes a plurality of network nodes along with the base station may be performed by the base station or network nodes other than the base station. The base station may be replaced with terms such as a fixed station, Node B, eNode B (eNB), and access point. Also, the mobile station may be replaced with terms such as a user equipment (UE), a subscriber station (SS), a mobile subscriber station (MSS), and a terminal), comprising:
at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination (Paragraphs 0218 and 0219 disclose the mobile station can include a transmitter and a receiver to transmit information or data. The transmitter and the receiver can include processor, module, part, and/or means for performing the embodiments of the present invention. Particularly, the transmitter and the receiver can include a module (means) for encoding a message, a module for decoding the encoded message, and an antenna for transmitting and receiving the message. Paragraph 0095 discloses the method according to the embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by a type of a module, a procedure, or a function, which performs functions or operations described as above. A software code may be stored in a memory unit and then may be driven by a processor. The memory unit may be located inside or outside the processor to transmit and receive data to and from the processor through various means which are well known) to cause the UE to
receive, from a base station, system information including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell (Paragraph 0104 discloses `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information. Paragraph 0170 discloses paging information transferred to the mobile station through the ranging response message or the deregistration command message in the general wireless communication system can be included in the system information so that the information can be transmitted to the mobile station through the BCH. Also, the paging information can further include information of the number of paging sub groups),
determine a paging subgroup ID based on the number of subgroups and the UE ID (Paragraphs 0103 and 0104 disclose the mobile station or the base station can identify a paging sub group of a corresponding mobile station by using a method of the following Math Figure 1. Paging Sub Group ID=MS_ID modulo N [Math Figure 1]. In the Math Figure 1, `N` represents the number of paging sub groups, and can be transferred to the mobile station through system information).
Although Lee discloses receive, from a base station, system information including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell, Lee does not explicitly disclose receive, from a base station, system information block (SIB) 1 including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell.
In analogous art, Babaei discloses receive, from a base station, system information block (SIB) 1 including a number of subgroups for a UE identity (ID) based subgrouping in a cell (Figure 22 and paragraph 0181 disclose a wireless device may receive a first configuration parameter for determining a paging group that the wireless device is associated with/belongs to. The first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups, including the paging group that the wireless device belongs to, that the wireless devices (e.g., wireless devices in RRC INACTIVE and RRC IDLE state) may be belong to. The first configuration parameter indicates a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message (e.g., a SIB message such as SIB1). Paragraphs 0196 and 0200 disclose the first configuration parameter may indicate a number of paging groups. The wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1). Paragreaph0205 discloses the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter (e.g., the first configuration parameter indicating the number of paging groups) via a broadcast message. For example, the wireless device may receive the first configuration parameter via a system information block (e.g., SIB1)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1, as described in Babaei, with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information, as described in Lee, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining broadcasting a number of paging groups on SIB1 of Babaei with broadcasting a number of paging groups on system information of Lee was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Lee, as modified by Babaei, does not explicitly disclose receive, from the base station, a paging early indication (PEI) on a PEI occasion for the UE.
In analogous art, Weng discloses receive, from the base station, a paging early indication (PEI) on a PEI occasion for the UE (Figure 1A and paragraphs 0086 and 0087 disclose method begins at decision block 20, in which it is determined if a pending page is present for an upcoming paging occasion. If a pending page is present (Yes path from decision block 20), the method proceeds to block 22, in which, during an early paging indicator occasion in advance of the paging occasion, the network component transmits an early paging indicator that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion, as described in Weng, with transmitting a page, as described in Lee, as modified by Babaei, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining transmitting a page during a paging occasion and transmitting an early paging indicator in an early paging indicator occasion of Weng with transmitting a page of Lee, as modified by Babaei, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Weng.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 28.
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 28 above, Lee, as modified by Weng, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup.
Babaei further discloses wherein the PEI indicates the paged subgroup (Paragraph 0166 discloses the UEs that share the same PO may be sub-grouped, and sub-grouping information may be carried by a DCI (e.g., a paging DCI and/or a paging early indication DCI). The UEs in the sub-group(s) being paged may monitor the control channel for a paging message. If the sub-group that the UE belongs to is not paged, the UE may skip corresponding PDSCH reception, otherwise, the UE may decode the message on PDSCH. Indicating the UE sub-grouping information may be by indicators in a paging early indication DCI indicating sub-group information explicitly).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged, as described in Babaei, with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged as described in Lee, as modified by Weng, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a PEI indicating a sub-group being paged of Babaei with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged of Lee, as modified by Weng, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Babaei.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, and Weng to obtain the invention as specified in claim 30.
Claims 17, 21, 25, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Babaei, further in view of Weng as applied to claims 16, 20, 24, and 28 above, and further in view of Park (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0337180 A1) (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claims 17, 21, 25, and 29, as applied to claims 16, 20, 24, and 28 above, Lee, as modified by Babaei and Weng, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein the number of subgroups is associated with paging subgroups per the PO.
In analogous art, Park discloses wherein the number of subgroups is associated with paging subgroups per the PO (Paragraph 0166 discloses UEs for identifying the target for paging occasion may be configured as a preset number of sub groups per paging occasion).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a number of sub groups per paging occasion, as described in Park, with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged, as described in Lee, as modified by Babaei and Weng, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a number of sub groups per paging occasion of Park with using a PEI to indicate whether a UE is being paged of Lee, as modified by Babaei and Weng, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Park.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Lee, Babaei, Weng, and Park to obtain the invention as specified in claims 17, 21, 25, and 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0090190 A1) discloses techniques and apparatuses for wakeup signal design and resource allocation;
Gordaychik (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0363843 A1) discloses next generation radio technologies;
Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0297987 A1) discloses method for transmitting and receiving signal in wireless communication system and device therefor;
Ye et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0314869 A1) discloses wake-up signal sub-grouping for enhanced machine type communication (EMTC) and narrowband internet of things (NB-IoT); and
Bala et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0189147 A1) discloses WTRU power saving associated with idle mode.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642