Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 5-17, 19, and 20, in the reply filed 14 November 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s traversal is on the grounds that “it would not be unduly burdensome for the Examiner to search and examine all of the claims presented”. This argument is not persuasive as Applicant merely makes an assertion that examining all claims would not be unduly burdensome without providing an explanation as to why there would be no burden. Furthermore, the restriction was based on the lack of unity of invention between the inventions of Group I and Group II. Applicant has not provided any arguments regarding the lack of unity of invention between the two groups.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “scale of hydration levels” recited in Claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical errors. Claim 1 recites the limitation “”sensor package to detect clinical symptoms”, but this is not a complete thought or grammatically correct. This limitation should read “sensor package in order to detect”. Claim 5 recites the limitation “change in voice quality, increased temperature”, but this limitation should be recited as “change in voice quality, and increased temperature” because “increased temperature” is the last listed symptom. Additionally, the limitation “wherein the clinical symptoms of hydration levels including” is improper. This should recite something more concrete such as “wherein the clinical symptoms of hydration levels include one or more of the following:”. Claim 16 recites the limitation “based at least in part on signals from the microphone and record the same”. This limitation does not make sense grammatically and should recited something similar to “based at least in part on signals from the microphone and sound records associated with drinking”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, the limitation “the changes in voice quality” lacks proper antecedent basis. Additionally, this limitation is unclear as to how it fits into the system outlined in Claim 1. For the purpose of furthering examination, the examiner is interpreting that Claim 6 contains a typo within the first line of the claim and should recite that Claim 6 is dependent on Claim 5 rather than Claim 1. Furthermore, it is noted by the examiner that if the examiner’s interpretation is correct that Claim 6 is dependent on Claim 5, then Claim 6 would not hold patentable weight so long as a person of ordinary skill in the art did not select “voice quality” as one of the clinical symptoms from the list provided in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 8, the limitation “the external sensor” recited in line 2 of the claim lacks proper antecedent basis. Additionally, this limitation is unclear as to how it fits into the system outlined in Claim 1. For the purpose of furthering examination, the examiner is interpreting that Claim 8 contains a typo within the first line of the claim and should recite that Claim 8 is dependent on Claim 7 rather than Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 10-13, the limitation “the signs of hydration” lacks proper antecedent basis. Additionally, this limitation is unclear as to how it fits into the system outlined in Claim 1. For the purpose of furthering examination, the examiner is interpreting that Claims 10-13 contain a typo within the first line of the claims and should recite that each of the claims are dependent on Claim 9 rather than Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, the limitation "the threshold level" lacks proper antecedent basis. Additionally, this limitation is unclear as to how it fits into the system outlined in Claim 1. For the purpose of furthering examination, the examiner is interpreting that Claim 15 contains a typo within the first line of the claim and should recite that Claim 15 is dependent on Claim 14 rather than Claim 1. Further regarding claim 15, the phrase “the device wearer” lacks proper antecedent basis as there is no previous recitation of a device or a wearer. For the purpose of furthering examination, the phrase is being interpreted as “a wearer of the system”.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “the same” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear to what “the same” is referring. For the purpose of furthering examination, claim 16 is being interpreted such that the identification of a drinking event is recorded.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase “identified drinking events” lacks proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of furthering examination, claim 17 is being interpreted as being dependent on claim 16.
Claims not explicitly rejected above are rejected due to their dependence on the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of Claim 1 follows.
STEP 1
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites a series of components, including a control circuit, a microphone in electrical communication with the control circuit, a power supply in electrical communication with the control circuit, a sensor package in electrical communication with the control circuit, and a processor to detect clinical symptoms of hydration levels. Thus, the claim is directed to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A, PRONG ONE
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The function of detecting clinical symptoms of hydration levels can be performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). Thus, the claim is drawn to a Mental Process, which is an Abstract Idea.
STEP 2A, PRONG TWO
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim fails to recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. Claim 1 fails to recite any application of detecting clinical symptoms of hydration levels that imposes a meaningful limitation on the Abstract Idea. The detecting clinical symptoms of hydration levels does not provide an improvement to the technological field, the function does not effect a particular treatment or effect a particular change based on the determinations, nor is a particular machine used to perform the Abstract Idea. The Abstract Idea is performed by a computer – a processor. According to section 2106.05(f) of the MPEP, merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea does not integrate the Abstract Idea into a practical application.
STEP 2B
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception. Besides the Abstract Idea, Claim 1 recites a monitoring system comprising the following generically recited components: a control circuit, a microphone, a power supply, and a sensor package. The claim fails to recite any particular function of the individual elements. While the claim recites that the system is configured to process signals of one or more sensors of the sensor package, the processing function is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity, e.g., mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the Abstract Idea, and the element configured to perform this function is recited at a high level of generality. When recited at this high level of generality, there is no meaningful limitation, such as a particular or unconventional function that distinguishes it from well-understood, routine, and conventional data gathering activity engaged in by medical professionals prior to Applicant's invention.
Consideration of the additional elements as a combination also adds no other meaningful limitations to the exception not already present when the elements are considered separately. Unlike the eligible claim in Diehr in which the elements limiting the exception are individually conventional, but taken together act in concert to improve a technical field, the claim here does not provide an improvement to the technical field. Even when viewed as a combination, the additional elements fail to transform the exception into a patent-eligible application of that exception. Thus, the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The claim is therefore drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent Claims 5-17 and 19-20 fail to add something more to the abstract independent claim as they generally recite structural components. Claim 7 recites generic structures, an external sensor, used to receive data from an external sensor. Claim 9 recites generic structures used to process signals of the microphone and detect signs of hydration levels. Claim 14 recites generic structures used to issue an alert when hydration levels cross a certain threshold. Claim 16 recites generic structures used to identify drinking events based on signals from a microphone. Claim 17 recites generic structures used to issue an alert when a number of drinking events cross a threshold. Claim 19 recites generic structures, a first and second unit, used to exchange signals between a first and second unit. Claim 20 recites generic structures used to classify observed patterns into a scale of hydration levels. However, the functions recited in each claim are stated at such a high generality that they amount to nothing more than pre-solution data gathering and post-solution data activity that do not use a particular machine to perform the Abstract Idea. It is noted that Claim 8 uses an external sensor, but these are generic devices configured to act as an additional element for pre-solution data gathering.
The processing and detecting functions recited in the independent claim, Claim 1, maintains a high level of generality even when considered in combination with the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steven Goldstein'671 (U.S. Patent Application 20170112671).
Regarding Claim 1, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses an ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system (Paragraph [0163] - In another case, acoustical energy, including ultrasonic energy, can be passed from one earpiece module to the other, with acoustic absorption and reflection being used to gauge various physiological states. For example, this technique can be used to gauge hydration level in the head or brain by estimating the acoustical energy absorption rate and sound velocity through the head of the user) comprising:
a control circuit (Paragraph [0041] - The term processor has generally replaced the term central processing unit (CPU) and can further refer to a microprocessor, a digital signal processor, a programmable logic device, an application specific integrated circuit or ASIC or any number of other logic devices);
a microphone, wherein the microphone is in electrical communication with the control circuit (Paragraph [0170] - The end cap 75 encloses a number of components within the main housing 73 including a speaker housing 77 (having a speaker port 77A), an ear canal microphone 77B, a memory 83, a digital signal processor 86, a first ambient microphone 82A, a second ambient microphone 82B, an LED 89 and a flex circuit 88 that couples the various electronic components);
a power supply, wherein the power supply is in electrical communication with the control circuit (Paragraph [0064] - In some embodiments, an fully integrated system or device 1 can include an earpiece having a power source 2 (such as button cell battery, a rechargeable battery, or other power source); Paragraph [0075] - In another example, the processor 4 can control a level of battery charging to optimize charging time or optimize battery life in consideration of other factors such as temperature or safety in view of the rechargeable battery technology used); and
a sensor package, wherein the sensor package is in electrical communication with the control circuit (Paragraph [0063] - The wearable device can include one or more sensors that can optionally include sensors on, embedded within, layered, on the exterior or inside the expandable element or balloon. Sensors can also be operationally coupled to the monitoring device either locally or via wireless communication; Paragraph [0064] - The sensor(s) can also be environmental including, but not limited to, ambient microphones, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, barometric pressure sensors, radiation sensors, volatile chemical sensors, particle detection sensors, or other chemical sensors. The sensors 5 can be directly coupled to the processor 4 or wirelessly coupled via a wireless communication system 6A); wherein
the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to process signals of one or more sensors of the sensor package to detect clinical symptoms of hydration levels (Paragraph [0163] - The sensor(s) can also be environmental including, but not limited to, ambient microphones, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, barometric pressure sensors, radiation sensors, volatile chemical sensors, particle detection sensors, or other chemical sensors. The sensors 5 can be directly coupled to the processor 4 or wirelessly coupled via a wireless communication system 6A).
Regarding Claim 7, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to receive data from at least one external sensor (Paragraph [0111] - The illustrated wearable monitoring device 20 includes one or more of the following: a sensor 5A in the form of at least one physiological sensor or at least one environmental sensor (which can include an acoustical sensor or a motion sensor) (and in some instances can also be referred to as an external energy sensor) housed on or within a housing of the device 20 (and optionally or additionally houses external thereto)).
Regarding Claim 8, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 7 above as well as wherein the external sensor is selected from the group consisting of a humidity sensor, an ambient temperature sensor, a weight sensor, and a sensor disposed on a charging device for the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system (Paragraph [0113] - An external energy sensor (5A), serving primarily as an environmental sensor, can be any compact sensor for monitoring the external environment in the vicinity of the body, such as, but not limited to, sensors for monitoring: climate, humidity).
Regarding Claim 9, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as wherein the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to process signals of the microphone to detect signs of hydration levels (Paragraph [0072] - The device 1 can include one or more processors 4 that can process a number of acoustic channels and process such channels for situational awareness and/or for keyword or sound pattern recognition, as well as daily speech the user speaks, coughs, sneezes, etc…The sensors can also include transducers or microphones for sensing acoustic information; Paragraph [0135] - an ear canal microphone 39; Paragraph [0163] - In another case, acoustical energy, including ultrasonic energy, can be passed from one earpiece module to the other, with acoustic absorption and reflection being used to gauge various physiological states. For example, this technique can be used to gauge hydration level in the head or brain by estimating the acoustical energy absorption rate and sound velocity through the head of the user).
Regarding Claim 14, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as wherein the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to issue an alert when hydration level clinical symptoms cross a threshold value (Paragraph [0131] - The communication module may utilize audible or visible alerts if the user is meeting their physiological targets or exceeding safe physiological limits).
Regarding Claim 15, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 14 above as well as wherein the threshold value is dynamically set based on factors including one or more of an ambient temperature, an ambient humidity, and activity levels of the device wearer (Paragraph [0046] - The term “exercise plan” refers to a method of planning or regulating physical activity. In many cases, a diet/exercise plan are used together to improve or reduce health; Paragraph [0107] - According to further embodiments of the present invention, a method of monitoring patients, includes collecting physiological and/or environmental information from each patient via a monitoring device associated with each respective patient, and analyzing the collected information to determine caloric intake, health, and physical activity of each patient).
Regarding Claim 16, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as wherein the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to identify drinking events based at least in part on signals from the microphone and record the same (Paragraph [0081] - Furthermore, the earpiece can use the ear canal microphone to obtain heart rate, heart rate signature, blood pressure and other biometric information such as acoustic signatures from chewing or swallowing; Paragraph [0205] - For example, a sound extraction methodology can be used to extract sounds associated with swallowing, and this can give an indication of total food volume consumed).
Regarding Claim 19, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as further comprising: a first unit, wherein the first unit is configured to be wearable about a first ear; and a second unit, wherein the second unit is configured to be wearable about a second ear; wherein signals are exchanged between the first unit and the second unit (Paragraph [0163] - In another case, acoustical energy, including ultrasonic energy, can be passed from one earpiece module to the other, with acoustic absorption and reflection being used to gauge various physiological states. For example, this technique can be used to gauge hydration level in the head or brain by estimating the acoustical energy absorption rate and sound velocity through the head of the user).
It is noted by the examiner that although Steven Goldstein’671 discloses different embodiments, the features of these embodiments can be used in a single device as stated by Steven Goldstein’671 (Paragraph [0064] - In some embodiments, a system or device 1 as illustrated in FIG. 1A, can be part of an integrated miniaturized earpiece (or other body worn or embedded device) that includes all or a portion of the components shown; Paragraph [0185] - The embodiments described above are not limited to using or incorporating the sensors described therein. Different sensors can be substituted or existing sensors can be used for different purposes; Paragraph [0228] - Although a few exemplary embodiments of this invention have been described, those skilled in the art will readily appreciate that many modifications are possible in the exemplary embodiments without materially departing from the teachings and advantages of this invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven Goldstein'671 (U.S. Patent Application 20170112671) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Frank et. al.'306 (U.S. Patent Application 20200397306).
Regarding Claim 5, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above, but fails to disclose wherein the clinical symptoms of hydration levels including one or more of rapid shallow breathing, increased pulse, low blood pressure, dizziness, change in voice quality, increased temperature. Frank et. al.’306 teaches that dehydration levels are related to increased respiratory rate and changes in the voice (Paragraph [0023] - Dehydration is often associated with an increase in the respiratory rate and a decrease in the speed quotient at low pitch phonation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Steven Goldstein’671 that utilizes acoustics for determining hydration levels to include using data obtained from sensors that record a user’s change in voice quality and increased breathing in order to account for signs of dehydration since dehydration, voice change, and breathing patterns have been associated with one another as seen in Frank et. al.’306.
Regarding Claim 6, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as a physiological sensor that monitors voice quality through tone and pitch (Paragraph [0112] - A physiological sensor (5A) can be any compact sensor for monitoring the physiological functioning of the body, such as, but not limited to, sensors for monitoring… voice characteristics, tone, pitch). Frank et. al.’306 further teaches that dehydration levels are related to increased respiratory rate and changes in the voice (Paragraph [0023] - utilizes a machine learning based model to calculate, based on the feature values, level of dehydration of the user. Optionally, for generating the feature values based on the audio recordings, the computer extracts features indicative of the user's respiratory rate and vocal changes. Dehydration is often associated with an increase in the respiratory rate and a decrease in the speed quotient at low pitch phonation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Steven Goldstein’671 that utilizes acoustics for determining hydration levels to include using data obtained from sensors that record a user’s change in voice quality and increased breathing in order to account for signs of dehydration since dehydration, voice change, and breathing patterns have been associated with one another as seen in Frank et. al.’306.
Regarding Claims 11-13, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above, but fails to disclose wherein the signs of hydration levels include pitch tremor, rapid shallow breathing, or dysphonia. Frank et. al.'306 teaches hydration levels are related to increased respiratory rate and changes in the voice (Paragraph [0023] - Optionally, for generating the feature values based on the audio recordings, the computer extracts features indicative of the user's respiratory rate and vocal changes. Dehydration is often associated with an increase in the respiratory rate and a decrease in the speed quotient at low pitch phonation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Steven Goldstein’671 that utilizes acoustics for determining hydration levels to include using data obtained from sensors that record a user’s change in voice quality and increased breathing in order to account for signs of dehydration since dehydration, voice change, and breathing patterns have been associated with one another as seen in Frank et. al.’306.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven Goldstein'671 (U.S. Patent Application 20170112671) as applied to Claim 1 above, as evidenced by Harper et. al.'879 (U.S. Patent Application 20220096318).
Regarding Claim 10, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as obtaining acoustics resulting from motions/movements of the mouth that could be indicative of hydration levels (Paragraph [0057] - Furthermore, as the ear canal is naturally designed for capturing or harvesting acoustical energy, the ear canal provides an optimal location for monitoring internal sounds, such as heartbeat, breathing rate, and mouth motion). Given that the mouth includes lips, smacking and licking of the lips would be commonly received acoustics when in motion and are reflexes to try and maintain hydration as evidence by Harper et. al.'879 (Paragraph [0131] - reflexive lip smacking movements (common in dry mouth syndrome to maintain hydration)).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven Goldstein'671 (U.S. Patent Application 20170112671) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et. al.'174 (U.S. Patent Application 20230355174).
Regarding Claim 17, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as providing alerts to a user if their target levels are outside a threshold (Paragraph [0131] - The communication module may utilize audible or visible alerts if the user is meeting their physiological targets or exceeding safe physiological limits), but fails to disclose wherein the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to issue an alert if a number of identified drinking events over a defined time period change by at least a threshold value. Chen et. al.'174 teaches issuing an alert or displaying a message to a user if a number of drinking-related events exceeds a certain threshold (Paragraph [0022] - Various embodiments provide methods executed by a processor of an electronic device for tracking hydration of a user. Various embodiments may determine an amount of liquid consumed by the user based on a predetermined baseline consumption rate for the user and a number of at least one of sips or swallows by the user that are detected by a sensor coupled to the processor in response to determining that a received indication of consumption by the user involves drinking a liquid. In addition, a hydration level of the user may be determined based on the determined amount of liquid consumed; Paragraph [0045] - In addition to determining a current hydration level of a user by estimating the amount of water consumed, the user equipment 110 may be configured to provide feedback to the user 5 through the display 115, such as an alert that may read, “ALERT, You have not consumed enough liquids today, drink some fluids!”). It would have been obvious to have modified the system of Steven Goldstein'671 to include an alert that notifies a user that the number of drinks accounted for a predetermined amount of time it outside a threshold value in order to assist the user in obtaining a more favorable physiological state as seen in Chen et. al.’174.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven Goldstein'671 (U.S. Patent Application 20170112671) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Devries et. al.'585 (WO Publication 2016038585).
Regarding Claim 20, Steven Goldstein'671 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above as well as applying pattern recognition and a variety of algorithms to recorded acoustic sounds that can be used for classifying hydration levels (Paragraph [0072] - For simplicity, local or remote memory, local or remote databases, and features for recording can all be represented by the storage device 7 which can be coupled to an analysis module 7D. As before, the device can be powered by a power source 2. The device 1 can include one or more processors 4 that can process a number of acoustic channels and process such channels for situational awareness and/or for keyword or sound pattern recognition, as well as daily speech the user speaks, coughs, sneezes, etc; Paragraph [0145] - It should be noted that algorithms for processing personal health and environmental data, diagnosing medical conditions, assessing health states, and the like do not need to be limited to the illustrated monitoring system 20. Various algorithms can also be integrated into the wearable sensor module 20 or telecommunication device 6D according to embodiments of the present invention), but fails to disclose wherein the ear-wearable hydration level monitoring system is configured to classify an observed pattern representing signals from the microphone and the sensor package into a scale of hydration levels using a machine learning derived algorithm. Devries et. al.'585 teaches using regression models to classify different levels of hydration (Page 35 Lines 16-21 - In an embodiment, the hydration range category (or "class") can be predicted (either by using a classifier for regression model 206 or by binning the output of regression model 206). For example, normohydration can defined as when rel. OH is between the 10th and the 90th percentile for healthy, age- and gender-matched individuals from the reference population, e.g., between 10th percentile (.sup._7%) to 90th percentile (+7%), while volumes below and above this range can be defined as underhydration and overhydration, respectively). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Steven Goldstein'671 to include organizing different levels of hydration in order to better classify and understand a user’s hydration state as seen in Devries et. al.’585.
Conclusion
/SARAH ANN WESTFALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791