DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vaupot et al. (US 20220074600 A1).
Vaupot discloses in reference to claim:
1. (Currently Amended) A cooking apparatus (10) comprising:
a food chamber (12) having a base (40), a rear wall area (42), first and second opposing side wall areas,(46, 48) and a front wall area(44), wherein the rear wall area, the first and second side wall areas, and the front wall area extend around an opening (formed by the front, back and sidewalls) of the food chamber, wherein the opening opposes the base 40;
a cover (13) to close the food chamber, the cover being moveable to expose the opening;
a heating arrangement (16, 18) for heating to heat at least part of the cooking apparatus;
a circulation system (24, 26) for circulating to circulate air in the food chamber;
an extraction vent (50) in the rear wall area through which the air is drawn by the circulation system from inside the food chamber;
a delivery vent (52) at a top region of the rear wall between the extraction vent and the opening, wherein the circulation system delivering is configured to deliver the air to the food chamber through the delivery vent, and
wherein the delivery vent is arranged to permit directing of the air being delivered to the food chamber towards the front wall area, and the circulation system is further configured to, when the cover is moved to at least partially expose the opening, direct air from the delivery vent across the at least partially exposed opening in the direction of the front wall area.
2. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim1 wherein the rear wall area (42) has a first height (A), and the front wall area (44) has a second height (B) which is shorter than the first height such that the opening declines from the rear wall area towards the front wall area.
3. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 1 or claim2, wherein the delivery vent (52) comprises a slot extending widthwise across the rear wall area (42).
4. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim, wherein the base (40) defines the bottom of the food chamber (12) when the cooking apparatus is orientated for use, and wherein the cover (13) is in the form of a lid arranged to be lifted to expose the opening when the cooking apparatus is orientated for use. See Fig. 1. The food chamber has a viewing window 13 which may also be the openable lid of the apparatus.
7. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cover (13) is at least partly transparent. The food chamber has a viewing window 13 which may also be the openable lid of the apparatus.
8. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circulation system (24, 26) comprises a motor (26)and a fan (24), and wherein the heating arrangement (16, 18) comprises a heater (18) adjacent the fan, optionally wherein the heater is spaced apart from an outermost periphery of the fan. See Fig. 1
12. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a water reservoir (20), wherein the heating arrangement (16) is arranged to heat water from the water reservoir (20) to generate steam. See Fig. 1
13. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 1
further comprising a controller (28) adapted to control the heating arrangement (16) to heat the water from the water reservoir (20) to generate the steam. See Fig. 1
14. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 12, further comprising a water dosing system (22) to deliver the water to the heating arrangement (16). See Fig. 1
15. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the heating arrangement comprises a further heater 16 having a heated surface, and wherein the cooking apparatus further comprises a feed arrangement (23) for bringing to bring the water from the water reservoir (20) into contact with the heated surface to generate the steam. See Fig. 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaupot et al. (US 20220074600 A1) in view of Murbacher et al. (EP 3932271 A1)
Vaupot discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claim:
5. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus as claimed in claim, comprising a housing and a hinge arrangement for pivotally mounting the cover (13) on the housing.
6. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 1 wherein the hinge arrangement is arranged proximal to the rear wall area (42) such that lifting of the cover (13) initially exposes a portion of the opening proximal to the front wall area (44) .
Vaupot does not explicitly disclose the use of a hinge for the cover 13, however it is implied. Murbacher discloses a similar device including a hinge 20 arranged proximal to a rear wall of the device, when lifted the cover 18—which rounds the front wall as in Vaupot, exposes a portion of the opening to the front wall area (44 in Vaupot).
It would have been obvious to one of skill to provide the hinge 20 in the Vaupot device at least under KSR rationale B above.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaupot et al. (US 20220074600 A1) in view of Matsuo et al. (US 2006/0207440A1)
Vaupot discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claim:
10. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus (10) as claimed in claim 8, wherein the fan (24) has a fan diameter extending between opposing points of the outermost periphery—(read simply as diameter), and wherein the heater (18) comprises a circular heating element having a heating element diameter which is at least 30% greater than the fan diameter.
Matsuo discloses a similar oven type heating device using a fan 27 surrounded by a circularly shaped heating element 26, wherein the circular heating element has a heating element diameter b which is at least 30% greater than the fan diameter a.
Since a change in size of a component is generally considered within the ordinary skill of an artisan, one of skill in the art would find it obvious to provide the heating element as taught by Matsuo surrounding the fan of Vaupot such that the circular heating element has a heating element diameter which is at least 30% greater than the fan diameter.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaupot et al. (US 20220074600 A1) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 11092343B2)
Vaupot discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claim:
11. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the fan (24) and the heater (18) are contained in a housing portion having a height which is at most 30% greater than the heating element diameter, and wherein said rear wall area separating the housing portion from the food chamber.
Raghavan discloses a similar oven type device having a fan and heating element surrounding the fan provided on a rear wall of the chamber, wherein wherein the fan (34) and the heater (36) are contained in a housing portion 25 having a height (A) which is at most 30% greater than the heating element diameter (B), and wherein said rear wall area separating the housing portion from the food chamber (18).
Since a change in size of a component is generally considered within the ordinary skill of an artisan, one of skill in the art would find it obvious to provide the heating element and fan as taught by Raghavan surrounding the fan of Vaupot such that the fan and the heater are contained in a housing portion having a height (A) which is at most 30% greater than the heating element diameter B , and wherein said rear wall area separating the housing portion from the food chamber. Additionally, at least under KSR rationale B, one of skill in the art would find it obvious to substitute the known elements of Raghavan into the Vaupot device with predictable results.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaupot et al. (US 20220074600 A1) in view of Faraldi et al. (US 2018/0299138A1)
)
Vaupot discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claim:
16. (Currently Amended) The cooking apparatus [[(10) ]]as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circulation system (24, 26) is configured to control a pressure difference between at the delivery vent (52) and at the extraction vent (50) such that, when the cover (13) is moved to at least partially expose the opening, the air is directed from the delivery vent across the at least partially exposed opening in the direction of the front wall area wherein the cooking apparatus further comprises:
one or more pressure sensors arranged to sense said pressure difference, and
a controller adapted to control rotational speed of the fan based on a sensory input from said one or more pressure sensors to maintain said pressure difference upon the cover being moved to expose the opening.
Vaupot discloses wherein the circulation system (24, 26) is configured to control a pressure difference between at the delivery vent (52) and at the extraction vent (50) such that, when the cover (13) is moved to at least partially expose the opening, the air is directed from the delivery vent across the at least partially exposed opening in the direction of the front wall area.
Faraldi discloses a similar oven type device including
one or more pressure sensors arranged to sense a pressure difference, and
a controller adapted to control rotational speed of the fan based on a sensory input from said one or more pressure sensors to maintain said pressure difference upon the cover being moved to expose the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the Vaupot device to include the pressure sensors and fan control as claimed at least under KSR rationale B by substituting known elements with predictable results.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc