DETAILED ACTION
This office action follows a reply filed on April 9, 2026. Claims 1, 4 and 8 have been amended. Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 8-9 are currently pending and under examination.
The rejection over Tanaka is withdrawn, as applicants have limited the composition to include 10-200 phr inorganic scaly shaped particles, where Takenaka does not teach any scaly fillers.
However, the rejection over JP ‘657 in view of Takenaka is reapplied for the reasons set forth below.
The texts of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code are not included in this section and can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-008657 in view of Takenaka (US 2020/0140736).
JP ‘657 exemplifies a composition comprising the following:
(A-1) Mv at both ends of a linear polymethylvinylsiloxane, where Mv is a vinyl group and meets applicants’ (a);
(B-1) linear polymethylhydrogensiloxane, which is previously described as having at least 3 hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon atoms involved in the addition reaction, which meets applicants’ (b);
(C-1) platinum complex catalyst, which meets applicants’ (c);
(D) mica, which meets applicants’ (e) inorganic fine particles having a scaly shape in instant claims 3-4, as mica is a silicate material which is inherently scaly; and
(E-1) cyclic siloxane of the following formula:
JP ‘657 teaches the inclusion of preferably 40-100 phr mica based on component (A) the vinyl group containing polysiloxane, and exemplifies the inclusion of about 60-88 phr based on 100 parts of (A)-(C) and (E), which represent the curable siloxane components, and falls within the range of 10-200 phr.
JP ‘657 does not teach or suggest the applicants’ (d) a silicon compound having a monovalent alkyl group of 8-30 carbon atoms, as claimed.
Takenaka teaches a composition comprising (A) a filler, (B) a cyclic siloxane which can have a COO(CH2)3Si(OCH3)3 group (p. 3, [0067] to p. 4, [0082]); (C) an alkoxysilane having an alkyl group of 6-18 carbon atoms; (D) a polyorganosiloxane containing two or more aliphatic unsaturated groups, such as vinyl groups; (E) a polyorganohydrogensiloxane having two or more H atoms to serve as a crosslinker for (D) and (B); and (F) a platinum catalyst.
Takenaka teaches that by blending (C) an alkoxysilane having an alkyl group of 6-18 carbon atoms, it can impart thixotropic properties in association with component (B), the cyclic siloxane, to the polysiloxane composition without markedly increasing the viscosity of the composition, as (C) and (D) have poor compatibility (p. 7, [0107]). Takenaka exemplifies the alkoxysilane as n-decyltriethoxysilane.
JP ‘657 does teach that a thixotropy imparting agent can be added ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added an alkoxysilane having a C6-C18 alkyl group to the composition of JP ‘657, as Takenaka teaches that the inclusion of such imparts thixotropic properties in association with the cyclic siloxane and prevents a slump from occurring, which improves the workability of the composition and allows for excellent application properties.
As to the content of the alkoxysilane, Takenaka teaches a blending ratio of (B) cyclic siloxane to (C) alkoxysilane of 95:5 to 55:45, and exemplifies a ratio of 75:25, teaching that within this ratio, thixotropic properties can be easily imparted to the polysiloxane composition while maintaining the low viscosity of the composition, where a cured product is more likely to have a reduced change of hardness with time. JP ‘657 exemplifies the inclusion of 6.7 parts cyclic siloxane. This suggests that the inclusion of 0.35-5.5 parts alkoxysilane, or 2.2 parts alkoxysilane. This is the same as about 0.2-2.5 phr, or about 1 phr, based on the whole composition.
JP ‘657 in view of Takenaka is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-2 and 4-6.
As to claim 8, JP ’657 teaches the inclusion of an adhesion imparting agent ([0042]).
As to claim 9, JP ‘657 teaches that the composition can exhibit adhesiveness ([0041]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Applicants argue that Takenaka teaches the amount of (C) based on the amount of filler (A), but the filler ratio is completely different between JP ‘657 and Takenaka.
While the examiner agrees, Takenaka also teaches the amount of (C) based on the amount of the (B) cyclic siloxane, where the (C) alkoxysilane is useful for imparting thixotropic properties with the cyclic siloxane.
Applicants recognize this teaching in Takenaka, but argues that the cyclic siloxane is neither required by JP ‘657 or the instant invention.
JP ‘657 requires and exemplifies the inclusion of a component (E), which is preferably a cyclic siloxane. Applicants specifically teach the preferred cyclic siloxane as a suitable adhesion agent (see instant specification, pp. 18-19), where the inclusion of an adhesion imparting agent is claimed in instant claim 8.
Conclusion
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766