DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takenaka (US 2020/0140736).
Takenaka exemplifies a composition comprising the following (Example 3):
(D) polydimethylsiloxane having vinyl groups on both ends, which meets applicants’ (a);
(E-2) polyorganohydrogensiloxane MHkQ, containing MH units and Q units and containing at least three or more hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon atoms per molecule, which meets applicants’ (b);
(F) platinum-based catalyst, which meets applicants’ (c); and
(C-2) n-decyltriethoxysilane, which meets applicants’ (d) as the monovalent alkyl group has 10 carbon atoms.
Takenaka anticipates instant claims 1-2 and 5-6.
As to claim 7, Takenaka exemplifies the inclusion of about 0.5 phr of n-decyltriethoxysilane based on 100 parts by weight of the composition as a whole.
As to claim 9, Takenaka discloses the composition as having adhesion to an electronic part; therefore, the composition meets the “adhesive” limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-008657 in view of Takenaka (US 2020/0140736).
JP ‘657 exemplifies a composition comprising the following:
(A-1) Mv at both ends of a linear polymethylvinylsiloxane, where Mv is a vinyl group and meets applicants’ (a);
(B-1) linear polymethylhydrogensiloxane, which is previously described as having at least 3 hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon atoms involved in the addition reaction, which meets applicants’ (b);
(C-1) platinum complex catalyst, which meets applicants’ (c);
(D) mica, which meets applicants’ inorganic fine particles having a scaly shape in instant claims 3-4, as mica is a silicate material which is inherently scaly; and
(E-1) cyclic siloxane of the following formula:
JP ‘657 does not teach or suggest the applicants’ (d) a silicon compound having a monovalent alkyl group of 8-30 carbon atoms, as claimed.
Takenaka teaches a composition comprising (A) a filler, (B) a cyclic siloxane which can have a COO(CH2)3Si(OCH3)3 group (p. 3, [0067] to p. 4, [0082]); (C) an alkoxysilane having an alkyl group of 6-18 carbon atoms; (D) a polyorganosiloxane containing two or more aliphatic unsaturated groups, such as vinyl groups; (E) a polyorganohydrogensiloxane having two or more H atoms to serve as a crosslinker for (D) and (B); and (F) a platinum catalyst.
Takenaka teaches that by blending (C) an alkoxysilane having an alkyl group of 6-18 carbon atoms, it can impart thixotropic properties in association with component (B), the cyclic siloxane, to the polysiloxane composition without markedly increasing the viscosity of the composition, as (C) and (D) have poor compatibility (p. 7, [0107]). Takenaka exemplifies the alkoxysilane as n-decyltriethoxysilane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have added an alkoxysilane having a C6-C18 alkyl group to the composition of JP ‘657, as Takenaka teaches that the inclusion of such prevents a slump from occurring, which improves the workability of the composition and allows for excellent application properties.
JP ‘657 in view of Takenaka is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-2 and 5-7.
As to claims 3-4, JP ‘657 teaches the inclusion of preferably 40-100 phr mica based on component (A) the vinyl group containing polysiloxane. Takenaka exemplifies the inclusion of 11 phr n-decyltriethoxysilane based on 100 parts (A). Adding 11 parts n-decyltriethoxysilane to the composition of JP ‘657 is prima facie obvious and suggests the mica as being present in an amount of 85 phr based on the total amount of applicants’ (a)-(d).
As to claim 8, JP ’657 teaches the inclusion of an adhesion imparting agent ([0042]).
As to claim 9, JP ‘657 teaches that the composition can exhibit adhesiveness ([0041]).
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766