Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: An apparatus, comprising processing circuitry and a method of video decoding in a decoder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180077429A1 “Lee”, in view of WO2019039324A1 (IDS) “ABE”.
Regarding claim 1, LEE discloses entropy encoding and entropy decoding for video encoding and decoding includes: determining a bin string and a bin index for a maximum coding unit that is obtained from a bitstream (LEE, Claim 1); determining a value of a syntax element by comparing the determined bin string with bin strings that is assignable to the syntax element in the bin index (LEE, abstract); restoring symbols of the maximum coding unit by using the determined value of the syntax element (LEE, abstract).
It is noted that LEE is silent about specific shape of coding unit as claimed.
However, ABE discloses the method of video decoding in a decoder (decoder display apparatus decodes and displays video (video decoding); ¶[0274]), comprising processing circuitry configured to; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform, respectively (decoder 200 is realized as a generic processor and memory, when a software program stored in the memory (non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions) is executed by the processor ¶[0168], [0175]), comprising: decoding prediction information of a current block in a current picture that is a part of a coded video bitstream (the decoder performs intra and inter-prediction (decoding prediction information ¶ [0187],) with reference to a block in a current picture of encoded bitstream (part of a coded video bitstream); ¶ [0189], [0261]),
the prediction information indicating a non-directional intra prediction mode for the current block (the intra predictor 124 generates the prediction signal (prediction information) in a non-directional prediction mode for predicting the current block; ¶[0107], [0108]);
partitioning the current block into a plurality of partitions (as cited below, see ¶ [0204]), the plurality of partitions including at least one L partition (splitting each block (current block) into partitions including an L-shaped partition; ¶ [0195]); and reconstructing one of the plurality of partitions (reconstructing the first and second partition; ¶ [0200]) based on at least one of (i) neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (see ¶ [0132]) or (ii) neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block (by calculating evaluation values (samples) of a reconstructed image in a neighboring block of the current picture (neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block); see ¶[0138]).
Both LEE and ABE teach systems with block assignment in video compression technologies, and those systems are comparable to that of the instant application. Because the two cited references are analogous to the instant application, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to include in the LEE disclosure, L-shaped partition, as taught by ABE. Such inclusion would have increased the usefulness of the system by enabling processing an ever-increasing amount of digital video data in various applications, and would have been consistent with the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to show a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2143(I)(A)) under KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one of the plurality of partitions is an L-shaped partition (see citation above: splitting each block into partitions including an L-shaped partition; ABE, ¶[0195], [0204]; fig 19)
and a number of the neighboring reconstructed samples is dependent on a dimension of the L partition (calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in a neighboring block of the current picture (number of the neighboring reconstructed samples) where the direction of a neighboring block (dependent on a dimension) depends on the L-shaped polygon partition; ABE, ¶[0132], [0138], [0204], [0239]).
Regarding claim 3, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 2,wherein the number of the neighboring reconstructed samples is one of (i) a sum of a width and a height of the L-shaped partition, (ii) a sum of a shorter wi dth and a shorter height of the L-shaped partition, (iii) a maximum value of the width and the height of the L-shaped partition, and (iv) a minimum value of the width and the height of the L-shaped partition (a minimum value of the width and the height of the L-shaped partition); ABE, ¶[0204], [0235]; fig 19).
Regarding claim 4, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the neighboring reconstructed samples (calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in the neighboring block of the current picture (a neighboring reconstructed sample); ABE, ¶[0132], [0138]; fig 9B) is located in another one of the plurality of partitions that is reconstructed prior to the one of the plurality of partitions (reconstructing the second partition (another one of the plurality of partitions that is reconstructed) on the boundary (located) during a smoothing process (reconstructed prior to the partition); ABE, ¶[0213]).
Regarding claim 5, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the another one of the plurality of partitions is an L- shaped partition, (splitting each block into partitions (another one of the plurality of partitions) including an L-shaped partition; ABE, ¶[0195], [0204]; fig 19), and the at least one of the neighboring reconstructed samples is located adjacent to one of a right side or a bottom side of the one of the plurality of partitions and the at least one of the neighboring reconstructed samples is located (calculating evaluation values of the reconstructed image in a neighboring block of the current picture (one of the neighboring reconstructed samples is located); ABE, ¶[0132], [0138]) adjacent to one of a right side or a bottom side of the one of the plurality of partitions (split from the bottom-right (adjacent to the bottom side) of the second partition; ABE, ¶[0226]; fig 12).
Regarding claim 6, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the neighboring reconstructed samples (calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in the neighboring block of the current picture (neighboring reconstructed samples); ABE, ¶[0132], [0138]) include a left column and a right column of neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (wherein the first and second partitions overlap over two pixels of each column (a left column and a right column of neighboring reconstructed samples); ABE, para [0219], [0220]; fig 12, 21B),
and the reconstructing includes: determining a bottom row of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (where the bottom left block has a bottom-right corner split into four square blocks of a quadtree (determining a bottom row of neighboring reference samples) for the split partitions; ABE, para [0075], [0197]) based on the left column and the right column of neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (see above citation, after the boundary smooth operation on each column (based on the left column and the right column)
for the evaluation values of the reconstructed image in the neighboring block of the current picture (neighboring reconstructed samples of the partition); and reconstructing the one of the plurality of partitions based on the bottom row of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (reconstructing the first partition according to the non-rectangular shape (based on the bottom row of neighboring reference samples); ABE, para [0213]; fig. 21B).
Regarding claim 7, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the neighboring reconstructed samples (calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in the neighboring block of the current picture (neighboring reconstructed samples); ABE, para [0132], [0138]) include a top row and a bottom row of neighboring samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (wherein the first and second partitions overlap over two pixels of each row (a top row and a bottom of neighboring reconstructed samples); ABE, para [0219], [0220]; fig 21B), and the reconstructing includes: determining a left column of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (where the bottom left block has a bottom-left comer (determining a left column) that is split into four square blocks of a quadtree (of neighboring reference samples) for the split partitions; ABE, para [0075], [0197], [0228]) based on the top row and the bottom row of neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (after the boundary smooth operation on each row (based on the top row and the bottom row) for the evaluation values of the reconstructed image in the neighboring block of the current picture (neighboring reconstructed samples of the partition); ABE, para [0132], [0138], [0218]; fig 21C); and reconstructing the one of the plurality of partitions based on the left column of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (reconstructing the first partition according to the non-rectangular shape (based on the left column of neighboring reference samples); ABE, para [0213]; fig 21B).
Regarding claim 8, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one of the plurality of partitions is an L-shaped partition (splitting each block into partitions (another one of the plurality of partitions) including an L-shaped partition; ABE, para [0195], [0204]), and the reconstructing includes: reconstructing the one of the plurality of partitions based on a left column and a top row of neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block (wherein the first and second partitions overlap over two pixels of each row and each column (based on a left column and a top row of neighboring reconstructed samples); ABE, para [0219], [0220]).
Regarding claim 9, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein based on the one of the plurality of partitions being an L- shaped partition, the reconstructing includes: determining, for each sample of the L-shaped partition (as cited above), a plurality of neighboring reference samples based on a position of the respective sample (calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in a neighboring block of the current picture (determining a plurality of neighboring reference samples) according to the image block being split into the L-shaped partition (based on a position of the respective sample); ABE, para [0132], [0138], [0204]); and reconstructing each sample of the L-shaped partition based on the plurality of neighboring reference samples of the respective sample (reconstructing the first partition according to the non-rectangular shape (based on the neighboring reference samples of the respective sample); ABE, para [0213]).
Regarding claim 10, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the plurality of neighboring reference samples of each sample (as cited above, calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in a neighboring block of the current picture (as cited above, a reconstructed neighboring sample ABE, para [0132]) includes a reconstructed neighboring sample and a neighboring sample to be reconstructed based on the reconstructed neighboring sample (calculating evaluation values of a reconstructed image in a neighboring block of the current picture (a reconstructed neighboring sample ABE, para [0138], )) where the direction of a neighboring block depends on the L-shaped polygon partition (a neighboring sample to be reconstructed); ABE, para [0204], [0239]).
Regarding claim 11, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses an apparatus, comprising processing circuitry configured to: decode prediction information of a current block in a current picture that is a part of a coded video bitstream, the prediction information indicating a non-directional intra prediction mode for the current block; partition the current block into a plurality of partitions, the plurality of partitions including at least one L-shaped partition; and reconstruct one of the plurality of partitions based on at least one of (i) neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions or (ii) neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 1, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 12, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one of the plurality of partitions is an L-shaped partition and a number of the neighboring reconstructed samples is dependent on a dimension of the L-shaped partition (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 2, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 13, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the number of the neighboring reconstructed samples is one of (i) a sum of a width and a height of the L-shaped partition, (ii) a sum of a shorter width and a shorter height of the L-shaped partition, (iii) a maximum value of the width and the height of the L-shaped partition, and (iv) a minimum value of the width and the height of the L-shaped partition (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 3, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 14, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim11, wherein at least one of the neighboring reconstructed samples is located in another one of the plurality of partitions that is reconstructed prior to the one of the plurality of partitions (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 4, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 15, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 14, the another one of the plurality of partitions is an L-shaped partition, and the at least one of the neighboring reconstructed samples is located adjacent to one of a right side or a bottom side of the one of the plurality of partitions (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 5, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 16, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the neighboring reconstructed include a left column and a right column of neighboring samples of the one of the plurality of partitions, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a bottom row of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions based on the left column and the right column of neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions; and reconstruct the one of the plurality of partitions based on the bottom row of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 6, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 17, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the neighboring reconstructed include a top row and a bottom row of neighboring samples of the one of the plurality of partitions, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a left column of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions based on the top row and the bottom row of neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions; and reconstruct the one of the plurality of partitions based on the left column of neighboring reference samples of the one of the plurality of partitions (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 7, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 18, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one of the plurality of partitions is a partition, and the processing circuitry is further configured to: reconstruct the one of the plurality of partitions based on a left column and a top row of neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 8, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 19, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein based on the one of the plurality of partitions being an L-shaped partition, the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine, foreach sample of the L-shaped partition a plurality of neighboring reference samples based on a position of the respective sample; and reconstruct each sample of the L-shaped partition based on the plurality of neighbor reference samples of the respective sample (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 9, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Regarding claim 20, LEE/ABE, for the same motivation of combination, discloses an non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform decoding prediction information of a current block in a current picture that is a part of a coded video bitstream, the prediction information indicating a non-directional intra prediction mode for the current block; partitioning the current block into a plurality of partitions, the plurality of partitions including at least one L-shaped partition ;and reconstructing one of the plurality of partitions based on at least one of (i) neighboring reconstructed samples of the one of the plurality of partitions or (ii) neighboring reconstructed samples of the current block (This claim recited similar features as of the claim 1, therefore are rejected under similar grounds).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12126801 B2 Method for encoding/decoding image and device therefor
US 11865434 B2 Reducing latency in cloud gaming applications by overlapping receive and decode of video frames and their display at the client
US 11539960 B2 Game application providing scene change hint for encoding at a cloud gaming server
US 11524230 B2 Encoder tuning to improve tradeoffs between latency and video quality in cloud gaming applications
US 20180077429 A1 METHOD FOR ENTROPY-ENCODING SLICE SEGMENT AND APPARATUS THEREFOR, AND METHOD FOR ENTROPY-DECODING SLICE SEGMENT AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
US 20130215963 A1 ADAPTIVE INTRA-PREDICTION ENCODING AND DECODING METHOD
/FRANK F HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485