DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/20/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6- 9, and 11 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, and 8- 9 have been amended. Claims 2- 3, 5, and 10 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 8- 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6- 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byeongdoo Choi (US 20210306670 A1) (hereinafter Choi) in view of Dongcheol Kim (US 20220321922 A1) (hereinafter Kim) further in view of Miska Hannuksela (US 20230027058 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela):
Regarding Claim 1, Choi teaches a media file receiving method performed by a media file receiving apparatus for receiving a media file of a predetermined format (receiver (part number 310) Fig. 3; the media file is a predetermined format [0006]), the media file including video data, the method (method [0008], [0125], and [0148]) comprising:
obtaining subpicture id information (the process of obtaining subpicture id information, signaled explicitly in the video bitstream using flags for the video data [0008]) for the video (video data [0036]) from the media file (media file [0038]);
processing the video data based on the obtained subpicture id information (the processing of video data based on subpicture identifier [0008]).
Choi does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches obtaining continuous flag indicating whether a value of subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124]; (“the syntax element sps_subpic_id(i) to be signaled, the value of sps_subpic_id_present_flag indicating whether sub-picture ID mapping is present is required to be 1. Furthermore, the value of sps_subpic_id_signalling_present_flag indicating that a mapped sub-picture ID value is signaled in SPS is required to be 1. Then, the encoder/decoder may signal/parse sps_subpic_id_len_minus1 that is a syntax element indicating the number of bits for expressing a sub-picture ID value, and the encoder may inform the decoder of the value of sps_subpic_id(i) by as many as the number of previously signaled sub-pictures.” [0125]); and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop); and
wherein, the continuous flag is obtained (“the SPS RBSP syntax includes a first syntax element related to the number of at least one sub-picture constituting one picture, and includes a second syntax element indicating whether a boundary of the at least one sub-picture is processed like a boundary of the one picture based on the first syntax element,” [0007]);
wherein, the obtaining subpicture id information is performed based on the continuous flag (“the SPS RBSP syntax includes a first syntax element related to the number of at least one sub-picture constituting one picture, and includes a second syntax element indicating whether a boundary of the at least one sub-picture is processed like a boundary of the one picture based on the first syntax element,” [0007]);
Wherein, subpicture id information for remaining subpictures except for the first subpicture is not obtained from the media file, and is derived by adding 1 to a value of subpicture id information of immediately preceding subpicture based on the continuous flag indicating that the value of the subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop, the first subpicture Id is obtained by the value of 0 in the for loop, and the remaining IDs are derived by the for loop and the not the media file).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hannuksela teaches wherein, the … flag is obtained from a subpicture ID (spid) sample group, which is metadata included in the media file ([0007], [0019], [0393], [0402], [0263]- [0271], and [0298]- [0305] teach using a sample group metadata to carry parameters related to subpicture Ids, it further teaches ‘spor’ group that orders tracks and carries ID configuration flags)
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to further add the subpicture id sample group metadate as disclosed by Hannuksela to improve the storage of subpicture (Hannuksela [0258]).
Regarding Claim 4, Choi in view of Kim and Hannuksela teach the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the obtaining subpicture id information obtains all subpicture id information from the media file based on the continuous flag being not equal to 1 ((Fig. 11); “in order for the syntax element sps_subpic_id[i] to be signalled, the value of sps_subpic_id_present_flag indicating whether sub-picture ID mapping is present is required to be 1” [0125]; Note: the subpicture IDs are retrieved from the media file based on the flag).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
Regarding Claim 6, Choi in view of Kim and Hannuksela teach the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches the subpicture id information includes information indicating a number of subpictures (“sps_num_subpics_minus1 is a syntax element indicating a value related to the number of sub-pictures “[0012]; (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the ith value indicates the number of subpictures).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
Regarding Claim 7, Choi in view of Kim and Hannuksela teach the method of claim 1. Kim further teaches i-th subpicture id information is obtained by adding 1 to i- lth subpicture id information 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the ith value in the for loop is obtained by adding 1).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
Regarding Claim 8, Choi teaches obtain subpicture id information (the process of obtaining subpicture id information, signaled explicitly in the video bitstream using flags for the video data [0008]) for video data from a media file (media file [0038]);
Choi does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches A media file receiving apparatus including a memory and at least one processor (“a video signal decoding device includes a processor” [0006]; “The memory may be located inside or outside the processor” [0359]),
wherein the at least on processor is configured (“a video signal decoding device includes a processor” [0006]),
obtain continuous flag indicating whether a value of subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124]; “the syntax element sps_subpic_id(i) to be signaled, the value of sps_subpic_id_present_flag indicating whether sub-picture ID mapping is present is required to be 1. Furthermore, the value of sps_subpic_id_signalling_present_flag indicating that a mapped sub-picture ID value is signaled in SPS is required to be 1. Then, the encoder/decoder may signal/parse sps_subpic_id_len_minus1 that is a syntax element indicating the number of bits for expressing a sub-picture ID value, and the encoder may inform the decoder of the value of sps_subpic_id(i) by as many as the number of previously signaled sub-pictures.” [0125], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop); and
process the video data based on the obtained subpicture id information wherein, the continuous flag is obtained (“subpic_treated_as_pic_flag(i) is a syntax element indicating whether the decoder considers an i-th sub-picture as one picture to perform decoding. When a value of subpic_treated_as_pic_flag(i) is 1, an i-th sub-picture in an individually coded picture within a coded layer video sequence (CLVS) may be treated as one picture during a decoding process except for loop filtering” [0018]);
wherein, obtaining the subpicture id information is performed based on the continuous flag (“the SPS RBSP syntax includes a first syntax element related to the number of at least one sub-picture constituting one picture, and includes a second syntax element indicating whether a boundary of the at least one sub-picture is processed like a boundary of the one picture based on the first syntax element,” [0007]).
wherein, the obtaining subpicture id information (“the SPS RBSP syntax includes a third syntax element indicating whether information related to the at least one sub-picture is present” [0013]; Examiner note: obtaining subpicture Id information) obtains first subpicture id information from the media file based ( “sub-picture ID mapping is present in SPS” [0121]; “the processor decodes a sequence parameter set (SPS) raw byte sequence payload (RBSP) syntax included in a bitstream of a video signal”[0006]; Examiner note: the subpicture id is stored in the SPS, and the SPS is stored in the media file) on the continuous flag indicating that the value of the subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop ).
wherein, subpicture id information for remaining subpictures except for the first subpicture is not obtained from the media file, and is derived by adding 1 to a value of subpicture id information of immediately preceding subpicture based on the continuous flag indicating that the value of the subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop, the first subpicture Id is obtained by the value of 0 in the for loop, and the remaining IDs are derived by the for loop and the not the media file).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hannuksela teaches wherein, the … flag is obtained from a subpicture ID (spid) sample group, which is metadata included in the media file ([0007], [0019], [0393], [0402], [0263]- [0271], and [0298]- [0305] teach using a sample group metadata to carry parameters related to subpicture Ids, it further teaches ‘spor’ group that orders tracks and carries ID configuration flags)
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to further add the subpicture id sample group metadate as disclosed by Hannuksela to improve the storage of subpicture (Hannuksela [0258]).
Regarding Claim 9, Choi teaches the method comprising: encoding the video data (“Video coding and decoding” [0002]);
Choi does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kim teaches generating subpicture id information for the encoded video data (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the generating of subpicture id in the for loop);
generating continuous flag indicating whether a value of subpicture id continuously increases by 1(“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124]; “the syntax element sps_subpic_id(i) to be signaled, the value of sps_subpic_id_present_flag indicating whether sub-picture ID mapping is present is required to be 1. Furthermore, the value of sps_subpic_id_signalling_present_flag indicating that a mapped sub-picture ID value is signaled in SPS is required to be 1. Then, the encoder/decoder may signal/parse sps_subpic_id_len_minus1 that is a syntax element indicating the number of bits for expressing a sub-picture ID value, and the encoder may inform the decoder of the value of sps_subpic_id(i) by as many as the number of previously signaled sub-pictures.” [0125], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop); and
generating a media file based on the encoded video data and the generated subpicture id information (“encoding a bitstream including the SPS RBSP syntax, wherein the SPS RBSP syntax includes a first syntax element related to the number of at least one sub-picture constituting one picture” [0008]; Examiner note: the media file is encoded and sent to the bitstream with the SPS syntax that includes the subpicture id information), wherein, the continuous flag is inserted (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124] Note: the flag is instead in the coded structure);
wherein, the generating subpicture id information is performed based on the continuous flag (“the SPS RBSP syntax includes a first syntax element related to the number of at least one sub-picture constituting one picture, and includes a second syntax element indicating whether a boundary of the at least one sub-picture is processed like a boundary of the one picture based on the first syntax element,” [0007]).
wherein, the generating subpicture id information generates first subpicture id information based on the continuous flag indicating that the value of the subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop, the first subpicture Id is obtained by the value of 0 in the for loop, and the remaining IDs are derived by the for loop and the not the media file),
wherein, subpicture id information for remaining subpictures except for the first subpicture is not generated, and is derived by adding 1 to a value of subpicture id information of immediately preceding subpicture, based on the continuous flag indicating that the value of the subpicture id continuously increases by 1 (“the sub-picture ID value may be determined as a value of i that increases in increments of 1 due to the for-loop in the if(subpics_present_flag) syntax” [0124], and (Fig. 11); Examiner note: the for loop is testing to ensure that the id is increased by 1 and the subpicture id is performed inside the for loop, the first subpicture Id is obtained by the value of 0 in the for loop, and the remaining IDs are derived by the for loop and the not the media file).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to increase video signal coding efficiency (Kim [0004]).
Kim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Hannuksela teaches A media file generating method performed by a media file generating apparatus for generating a media file of a predetermined format, the media file including video data ([0006], [0008] teaches media file generating method that is generated by a medial file generating apparatus),
wherein, the … flag is inserted in a subpicture ID (spid) sample group, which is metadata included in the media file, ([0007], [0019], [0393], [0402], [0263]- [0271], and [0298]- [0305] teach using a sample group metadata to carry parameters related to subpicture Ids, it further teaches ‘spor’ group that orders tracks and carries ID configuration flags; Note the flags are inserted into the ('spor') group ).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to further add the subpicture id sample group metadate as disclosed by Hannuksela to improve the storage of subpicture (Hannuksela [0258]).
Regarding Claim 11, Choi in view of Kim and Hannuksela teach the method of claim 9. Hannuksela further teaches a method transmitting a media file generated by the media file generating method of claim 9 ([0259], and [0260] teaches transmitting the media file generated).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling subpicture identifiers of a video stream disclosed by Choi to add picture id information syntax of Kim to further add the subpicture id sample group metadate as disclosed by Hannuksela to improve the storage of subpicture (Hannuksela [0258]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486