The current application has the effective filing date of 12/22/2020 to PRO 63129454.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 17, 22-25, 34, 46, 54, 56, 57, 59 and 61 are pending, claims 2, 4, 10-16, 18-21, 26-33, 35-45, 47-53, 55, 58, and 60 have been cancelled.
Claims 5, 8-9, 17, 22-25, 34, 46, 57, 59 and 61 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups 2-5, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/06/2025.
Elected Group I: Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 54 and 56 are examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“radially expandable element” in claims 1, 3, 6, 7, and 56.
“locomotion element” in claims 1 and 3
“friction augmenting features” in claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 54 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 54, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the central lumen" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 56, the phrase "e.g." and “such as” individually renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 54 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ortiz US 2007/0106302 A1 (hereinafter “Ortiz”).
Regarding claim 1, Ortiz discloses a device (Abstract and [0004-0005]: (body) lumen traversing device; see Figs.1: device 10) configured to move within a body cavity, the device comprising:
a) an elongated support (elongate body 12);
b) a proximal radially expandable element (tubing elements or balloon 18a) and a distal radially expandable element (tubing elements or balloon 18b) positioned along the length of the elongated support (12), optionally wherein the radially expandable elements are independently controllably expandable (This limitation is not positively required by the claim due to “optionally” limitation, but it is taught in Figs. 6-10 and [0028: 1st sentence], each balloon is independently and selectively expandible and contractible),
wherein the radially expandable elements (18a and 18b) comprise outer surfaces configured to frictionally engage a wall of a body cavity (traction surface 22, see [0030: 3rd sentence] “the balloons can include a friction-enhancing treatment or surface feature 22 to assist the balloons [18a, 18b] in gripping the lumen wall”), and
wherein the distal radially expandable element (18b) is fixed relative to the elongated support (12; see Figs. 6-10 and 18b is fixed relative to distal tip 17 on body 12, also see Fig. 3 and [0036] 18b is attached to mated end 31b and retention band 34); and
c) a locomotion system (Figs. 3-4: actuating rods 40 and actuating/control elements 20) comprising:
i) a proximal locomotion element (rod 40a) having a part that is fixed relative to the proximal radially expandable element (18a) and slidable along the length of the elongated support (12), such that the proximal radially expandable element (18a) is slidable along the length of the elongated support (12) (This is shown in [0036-0037] and Fig. 3:18a is fixed onto rod 40a; also see Figs. 6-7 and [0042] “Actuating handle 20b moves second proximal and distal handle members 50a, 50b relative to one another, causing rods 40a, 40b to move relative to one another. Movement of rods 40a, 40b causes balloon 18b to expand/contract as discussed above.”), and
ii) a distal locomotion element (rod 40b) having a part fixed relative to the elongated support (12) (see Figs. 3-4),
wherein the locomotion system effects sliding movement of the proximal radially expandable element (18a) along the length of the elongated support (12), thereby effecting relative movement between the radially expandable elements and movement of the device within the body cavity (See relative sliding movements in Figs. 6-10 and see [0042] “Actuating handle 20b moves second proximal and distal handle members 50a, 50b relative to one another, causing rods 40a, 40b to move relative to one another. Movement of rods 40a, 40b causes balloon 18b to expand/contract as discussed above.”, also see [0042-0043, 0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Ortiz discloses the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the expandable elements (18a, 18b) and/or one or both of the locomotion elements (20, 40) are in fluid or gas communication (gas communication because the inner lumen is filled with at least air) with one or more chambers, one or more channels, one or more tubes, and/or one or more wires in the central lumen (This is interpreted as lumen within body 12, shown in Fig. 2 and [0039] “In another embodiment, body 12 includes an outer protective shell defining an inner lumen (not shown) and rods 40a, 40b can be disposed therein.” See the rest of [0039] which discusses the inner lumen of body 12 contains therein channels, tubes and/or chambers, which can carry fluids or other therapeutics therein, for delivery to body lumen. The interior of body 12 is illustrated in Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 6, Ortiz discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the proximal and the distal radially expandable elements (18a, 18b respectively) are capable of expanding radially outwardly to engage a wall of a body cavity ([0046] and Figs. 6-10), optionally wherein friction augmenting features (friction-enhancing treatment or surface feature 22) are molded into the proximal and/or distal radially expanding elements. (This limitation is not positively required by the claim due to “optionally” limitation, but it is taught in [0030] “…traction surface 22 can be a porous or rough coating or overlayer which is positioned on the surface of balloons 18a, 18b”)
Regarding claim 7, Ortiz discloses the device of claim 1, wherein alternating extensions and retractions of a distance between the outer surfaces (22) of the proximal and the distal radially expandable elements (18a, 18b) effects movement of the device (10) within the body cavity. (See Figs. 6-10 which illustrates alternating extensions and retractions of balloons 18a and 18b; also see [0028, 0046] with regard to repeating the alternating extensions and retractions to advance device 10 within a body lumen/cavity)
Regarding claim 54, Ortiz discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the body cavity (i.e. body lumen described in Ortiz) is a vascular body lumen, a digestive body lumen, a respiratory body lumen, or a urinary body lumen (see Abstract and [0027:last sentence] discusses intended application of device 10 in the gastrointestinal tract), optionally wherein the digestive body lumen is a gastrointestinal tract, optionally wherein the digestive body lumen comprises esophagus, stomach, small intestine, duodenum, jejunum, ileum, colon, and/or rectum. (This limitation is not positively required by the claim due to “optionally” limitation, but it is taught in Abstract, Background of Invention and [0027])
Regarding claim 56, Ortiz discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the expandable elements (18a, 18b) are connected to the elongated support (e.g., tubular structure such as tether) (12) using an elastic O-ring that mechanically holds the expandable elements; using adhesive only securing the edges of the expandable elements; mechanically securing the edges of an expandable element by a deformable material such as a metal by swaging or radially compressing it around the expandable element; or by a combination thereof. (See [0036] and Fig. 3: 18a and 18b are connected to body 12 by retention band 34; this is interpreted as “elastic O-ring” in this claim. Alternatively, [0036] “For example, the balloons can be bonded, welded, adhered, and/or mated with a friction fit to body 12”, this is taken to encompass “using adhesives… mechanically securing…” in this claim)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sharma US 2019/0388133 A1 see Abstract and Fig 11B regarding a catheter comprising a proximal and distal radially expandable elements.
/SHIRLEY X JIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792
December 4, 2025