DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 4-16, in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
2. Claims 1-3 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/30/2026.
Status of Application
3. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/042322, which was filed on 11/17/2021.
Claims 1-16 were originally presented in this application for examination.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending in this application.
Specification
4. The examiner has not checked the specification to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors (grammatical, typographical, and idiomatic). Cooperation of the applicant(s) is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant(s) may become aware of in the specification, in the claims and in any further amendment(s) that applicant(s) may file.
Applicant(s) is also requested to complete the status of the copending applications referred to in the specification by their Attorney Docket Number or Application Serial Number, if any.
The status of the parent application(s) and/or any other application(s) cross-referenced to this application, if any, should be updated in a timely manner.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 3, “for” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Second Paragraph)
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 & 12, the phrase “a poorly water-soluble salt” is unclear and does not particularly point out what kind of metal salt is intended to cover as being a part of the claimed method. The term “poorly” is also not commonly used for specifying the type of a compound. Suitable “poorly water-soluble salts” in the instant specification, [0058]-[0062] have been noted, however they are not pointed out in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Second Pagraph)
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 requires “a precipitant”, which is one precipitant. However, claim 6 broadens the scope by allowing two precipitants and thus does not further limit claim 4.
.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10, 12, & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 2013/0108530 A1), hereinafter “Chang et al.”
Chang et al. discloses a process for producing a ceria-zirconia-alumina composite oxide, comprising:
(a) combining cerium (IV) compound and a zirconium (IV) compound with a slurry of aluminum oxide at a temperature to produce a reaction slurry;
(b) contacting the reaction slurry with a precipitating agent to precipitate insoluble cerium and zirconium compounds onto the aluminum oxide to form cerium-zirconium-aluminum oxide particles; and
(c) calcining the cerium-zirconium-aluminum oxide particles to produce a ceria-zirconia-alumina composite oxide (p. 4, claim 1).
The aluminum oxide preferably has an average particle size greater than 0.05 um (0.05 um = 50 nm) (p. 2, [0013]).
The aluminum oxide is a rare-earth or alkaline-earth-stabilized aluminum oxide (p. 4, claims 6 & 8).
Specifically, Example 1 at p. 3, [0031] of the reference teaches catalyst 1B prepared from colloidal boehmite containing 4% La2O3 (3.23 kg, d50 = 70 nm), which is slurried in 70 kg distilled water; 5.30 kg of cerium (IV) nitrate solution, 3.86 kg of zirconium (IV) oxynitrate solution, and 4.5 kg ammonium hydroxide solution to obtain a reaction mixture. After that, the reaction mixture is heated, filtered, washed, then dried and calcined to produce Ce-Zr-Al composite oxides, same procedure as in catalyst 1A [p. 3, [0029].
Regarding claims 4, 10, & 16, the reference appears to teach the same method step (a), (b), and (c) as recited in the instant claim. The colloidal boehmite of the reference has a d50 of 70 nm (p. 3, [0031]), which falls within claimed range of from 1 nm to 220 nm.
The instant claim 4 further defines that “the median diameter D50 is measured by a Dynamic light scattering method”. Even though the reference does not indicate the method used for which the colloidal boehmite particles were measured, it is assumed that the same method had been used to determine the D50 particle size for the colloidal boehmite particles disclosed in view of the same D50 particle size disclosed and claimed.
Regarding claims 5, 9, & 12, the reference teaches to use the same cerium, zirconium, and rare-earth water-soluble salts as used in the claimed method, thus meets the claim limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 11, 14, & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As concerned with claim 11, The prior art references disclose the claimed method of producing a complex oxide comprising step (a), (b), and (c) as recited in claim 4, however they do not teach the claim limitation on “wherein in step (b), the precipitant is added to the raw material solution such that a molar quantity of a hydroxide ion in the raw material solution is from 2.0 times to 10 times a molar quantity of an oxygen element that is required to allow each of a cerium element, zirconium element, and a rare-earth metal other than a cerium element in the raw material solution to become oxide.
As concerned with claim 14, the prior art references disclose the claimed method of producing a complex oxide comprising step (a), (b), and (c) as recited in claim 4, however they do not teach the claim limitation on “wherein in step (b), the precipitant is added to the raw material solution such that a molar quantity of a sulfate ion in the raw material solution is from 0.10 times to 10 times a molar quantity of a zirconium element in the raw material solution.
As concerned with claim 15, The prior art references disclose the claimed method of producing a complex oxide comprising step (a), (b), and (c) as recited in claim 4, however they do not teach the claim limitation on “wherein in step (b), the reagent is added to the raw material solution such that a molar quantity of a hydroxide ion in the raw material solution is from 2.0 times to 10 times a molar quantity of an oxygen element that is required to allow each of a cerium element, zirconium element, and a rare-earth metal other than a cerium element in the raw material solution to become oxide.
There is no motivation to combine the teachings of the prior art references together to arrive to the claimed invention.
Citations
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references are cited for related art. See PTO-892 Form prepared.
Conclusion
9. Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-3 are withdrawn. Claims 4-16 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/Cam N. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/CNN/
February 20, 2026