DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on
applications filed in Korea on December 23, 2020.
3. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the
foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and
41.202(e).
4. Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded
for the non-English application
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on
June 22, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Specification
6. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
the structures provided in the list of compounds (A1-A106, B1-B160, C1-C150, D1-D155, and E1-E160) on pgs. 35-54 are small, blurry, and difficult to read.
7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim 1 recites the limitation “… when a sum of a+b is 1 or more; or when Y is CRaRb or SiRaRb, at least one of Ra and Rb has a cyano group.” Given the use of the word “when” and the semi-colon, it is unclear whether the limitation is requiring: i) wherein at least one of Ra and Rb has a cyano group when a sum of a+b is 1 or more; or ii) wherein a sum of a+b is 1 or more; or wherein at least one of Ra and Rb has a cyano group when Y is CRaRb or SiRaRb.(and the sum of a+b is not necessarily 1 or more). For purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as interpretation ii).
11. Claim 1 recites Chemical Formula 1 (shown below) and recites the limitation “…a and b are each an integer in a range from 0 to 2…”. It is unclear where the cyano groups (CN)a and (CN)b would be bonded to on the Y-containing ring of Chemical Formula 1 if a and/or b are integers greater than or equal to one given that all of the valencies on the Y-containing ring are satisfied by the substitution with R1 to R8. For the purposes of examination, the interpretation for a and/or b being integers greater than or equal to one is that the cyano groups (CN)a and/or (CN)b will replace the corresponding substituent R1 to R8 at the point of attachment to the Y-containing ring and thus the substituent R1 to R8 replaced with the cyano groups (CN)a and/or (CN)b will not be present.
12. Claims 2-12 and 15-22 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
15. Claims 1-7, 9-12, 15-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huh et al. (provided by applicant in the IDS filed June 22, 2023: KR 20200033769 A – English machine translation obtained from WIPO, hereinafter “Huh”).
16. Per claim 1, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) (pg. 18, shown below) which reads on all of the limitations of Chemical Formula 1 wherein:
X1 to X3 are each independently nitrogen atoms; and
Ar1 and Ar2 are each independently C6 aryl groups; and
L1, L2, L4, and L5 are all single bonds; and
L3 is a C6 arylene group; and
A is a monocyclic hydrocarbon ring group containing one nitrogen atom; and
R1 and R3 to R8 are each independently hydrogen atoms; and
R2 is not present as it is replaced by a cyano group (CN)a since a is an integer equal to one; and
Y is CRaRb, and Ra and Rb are each independently C1 alkyl groups; and
the sum of a+b is equal to one.
17. Per claims 11-12 and 20-22, Huh discloses an organic electroluminescent device (see Table 1, Device Example 6) that reads on all of the limitations therein comprising:
an anode (ITO, pg. 22); and
a cathode (Al, pg. 22); and
one or more organic layers disposed between the anode and cathode (1st HTL, 2nd HTL, EML, ETL, pg. 22); and
compound 2-6 is included in at least one of the one or more organic layers (the ETL, in which compound 2-6 (Huh) is an ETL material).
18. Per claims 2 and 15, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) and an organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh) as an ETL material that reads on the limitation wherein A is selected as
.
19. Per claims 3 and 16, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) and an organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh) as an ETL material that reads on the limitation wherein
is selected as Chemical Formula A-5, and Ar1 and Ar2 are the same as defined previously.
20. Per claim 4, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) that reads on the limitation wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are each independently C6 aryl groups.
21. Per claims 5 and 17, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) and an organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh) as an ETL material that reads on the limitation wherein Ar1 and Ar2 are each independently
.
22. Per claim 6, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) that reads on all of the limitations wherein:
L1, L2, L4, and L5 are all single bonds; and
L3 is a linker selected as
.
23. Per claims 7 and 18, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) and an organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh) as an ETL material that reads on the limitations of Chemical Formula 6 wherein:
A, X1 to X3, L1 to L5, Ar1 and Ar2, R1 to R8, Ra and Rb, a and b are each the same as previously defined.
24. Per claims 9 and 20, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) and an organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh) as an ETL material that reads on the limitation wherein the Y-containing ring is selected as
25. Per claim 10, Huh discloses compound 2-6 (Huh) that reads on all of the limitations wherein:
R1 and R3 to R8 are each independently hydrogen atoms; and
R2 is not present as it is replaced by a cyano group (CN)a since a is an integer equal to one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
30. Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh et al. (KR 20200033769 A – English machine translation obtained from WIPO, hereinafter “Huh”) as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2), as discussed above, and in view of Eum et al. (WO 2016105050 A1 – English machine translation obtained from WIPO, hereinafter “Eum”).
31. Regarding claims 8 and 19, the compound 2-6 (Huh) and the organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh) as an ETL material, as taught by Huh, fails to read on the limitations of Chemical Formulae 8-11 in that the monocyclic or polycyclic hydrocarbon ring group represented by B is not present.
32. Huh, however, does teach in Chemical Formula 2 (Huh) (see pg. 2) that L1 may be selected as a C6-C36 arylene group (pg. 8).
33. Eum teaches compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 (Eum) (¶ [0029]) that are useful as ETL materials in organic electroluminescent devices (¶ [0061]) and that can be used to achieve excellent driving voltage, luminous efficiency, and lifespan (¶ [0061]).
34. Eum teaches that the substituents R1 and R2 on the fluorenyl moiety of Chemical Formula 1 (Eum) may be joined together to form an additional fused ring (¶ [0014], see structure below).
35. Eum specifically discloses compounds LE-07 and LE-10 (¶ [0083] and [0108]) shown below and teaches the use of both as lifespan improvement layers (see Table 5 – Examples 18 and 20), which function effectively as an ETL (see ¶ [0048]-[0060]).
36. Compounds LE-07 (Eum) and LE-10 (Eum) are identical in all respects except for compound LE-10 (Eum) possessing an additional benzo-moiety fused to the fluorenyl scaffold.
37. As demonstrated by the lifespan device data (in hours, T97) presented in Table 5, compound LE-10 (Eum) exhibits a significantly improved lifespan compared to compound LE-07 (Eum), which lacks the additional benzo-moiety fused to the fluorenyl scaffold.
38. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fuse an additional benzo-moiety on onto the fluorenyl scaffold of compound 2-6 (Huh) as shown in Eum’s compound LE-10, based on the teaching of Eum, based on the teaching of Eum. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve device lifetime, as taught by Eum (see lifespan data; Table 5 – Examples 18 and 20).
39. The compound 2-6 (Huh), as modified by Eum, is shown below.
40. Per claims 8 and 19, the compound 2-6 (Huh, Eum modification) and the organic electroluminescent device comprising compound 2-6 (Huh, Eum modification) as an ETL material reads on the all of the limitations of Chemical Formula 10 wherein:
B is a monocyclic hydrocarbon ring group; and
A, X1 to X3, L1 to L5, Ar1 and Ar2, R1 to R8, Y, Ra and Rb, a and b are each the same as previously defined.
Conclusion
41. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references of Yoon et al. (KR-20200032020-A, English machine translation obtained from WIPO; see compounds on pgs. 14-24) and Arai et al. (JP-2018115125-A, English machine translation obtained from Global Dossier; see Chemical Formula 1 ¶ [0011] and compounds A-1 to A-108 ¶ [0039]-[0050]) disclose compounds that are relevant with respect to Chemical Formula 1 of the instant application.
/B.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786