This office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed 6/22/23. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 5-8, 10-11, 20, and 27-28 have been amended, claims 2-4, 15-16, 18-19, and 23-26 have been cancelled, and claims 29-31 have been added. As such, claims 1, 5-14, 17, 20-22, and 27-31 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/24/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Note: the crossed-through reference is not being considered at this time as at least an English language abstract or some other explanation of relevant has not been provided.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Note: the term “comprises” (line 2 and 3, two instances) is improper language for an abstract; Examiner suggests amending to read –includes--.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the liquid discharge port and side wall door (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "20" and "21" have both been used to designate the plug(s). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 21. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “air space maintaining structure” in claim 11 and 30, “gas delivery maintaining structure” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is dependent on claim 3, which is a cancelled claim, and as such the claim is indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the pipe wall" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 9, the language “the pipe” (line 2, two instances) is unclear as it is not known if this is referring to the breathing gas delivery pipe overall, the pipe body, the inner pipe, or the outer pipe.
Regarding claim 13, the language “the protrusions in the radial direction” (line 4) is unclear as it is not known if this language is referring to the “plurality of protrusions” in claim 13 line 1-2 or the “protrusions” in claim 12 line 2, or if these are one and the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cortez, JR. et al. (2009/0056715).
Regarding claim 1, Cortez discloses a breathing gas delivery pipe configured to deliver gas to a patient interface (see Fig. 3A and 29-32 and abstract for example) including a gas delivery pipe body which includes an inner pipe defining a gas delivery channel therein and an outer pipe fitted outside the inner pipe with pipe support ribs arranged between the inner pipe and outer pipe for keeping the inner pipe and outer pipe spaced apart from each other to define a heat preservation space formed therebetween (Fig. 30 pipe body 600 with inner pipe 602, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 604 with pipe support ribs 601 separating the two and forming heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0143; Fig. 31-32 pipe body 800 with inner pipe 802, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 804 with pipe support ribs 810 separating the two and forming heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0144-0145).
Regarding claim 5, the Cortez device is such that one radial end of each pipe support rib is integrally formed with the inner pipe and the other integrally formed with the outer pipe or one radial end integrally formed with one of the inner or outer pipe and the other not integrally formed (see Fig. 30 showing one integrally formed end and Fig. 31 showing both ends integrally formed).
Regarding claim 6, the Cortez device’s heat preservation space is a closed cavity (see Fig. 30 and 31 the cavity formed by the heat preservation space between inner and outer pipes is closed to the outside and does not provide fluid communication between the pipes and is thus closed in this aspect).
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Jassell et al. (2008/0251073).
Regarding claim 1, Jassell discloses a breathing gas delivery pipe configured to deliver gas to a patient interface (see Fig. 2-5 and abstract for example) including a gas delivery pipe body which includes an inner pipe defining a gas delivery channel therein and an outer pipe fitted outside the inner pipe with pipe support ribs arranged between the inner pipe and outer pipe for keeping the inner pipe and outer pipe spaced apart from each other to define a heat preservation space formed therebetween (Fig. 3 pipe body 20 with inner pipe 22, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 24 with pipe support ribs 26 separating the two and forming a heat preservation space 23 therebetween as shown, para. 0048-0050; Fig. 4 pipe body 120 with inner pipe 122, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 124 with pipe support ribs 126 separating the two and forming a heat preservation space 123 therebetween as shown, para. 0052-0053; Fig. 5 pipe body 220 with inner pipe 222, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 224 with pipe support ribs shown separating the two and forming a heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 6, the Jassell device’s heat preservation space is a closed cavity (see Fig. 3-5 showing the heat preservation space 23 & 123 which are closed off, i.e. no openings to ambient or between the pipes).
Regarding claim 8, the Jassell device includes an electric heating wire arranged in the pipe wall of at least one of the inner pipe and the outer pipe (see Fig. 3, heater wire 28 located in pipe wall of the inner pipe, para. 0049).
Regarding claim 9, the Jassell device’s electric heating wire extends linearly along the pipe or extends spirally around the pipe in an axial direction (see Fig. 2-5, para. 0042 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortez in view of Schultz (11,857,728).
Regarding claim 7, the Cortez device is silent as to an outer side wall of the heat preservation space being provided with a liquid discharge port and a side wall door capable of opening and closing the liquid discharge port; however, Schultz teaches a similar breathing gas delivery pipe which includes this feature (see Schultz Fig. 2-3 and col. 4 ln. 65 through col. 5 ln. 7, liquid discharge port 140 and door 150). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cortez device to include the liquid discharge port and door, as taught by Schultz, in order to drain fluid that may accumulate therein (Schultz col. 10 ln. 28-34).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassell in view of Cartledge et al. (2002/0061375).
Regarding claim 10, the Jassell device is silent as to a heat preservation layer filled inside the heat preservation space (when read to mean a tangible layer material and not air); however, Cartledge discloses a similar insulated tube which includes a heat preservation space filled with a heat preservation layer (see Cartledge Fig. 1-4 and para. 0083). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jassell device’s heat preservation space to be filled with a heat preservation layer/material, as taught by Cartledge, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another (Cartledge para. 0083) and one would expect the modified Jassell device to perform equally as well.
Claim(s) 11-14, 17, 20-22, 27, 28, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortez in view of Schobel et al. (2007/0283957).
Regarding claim 11, the Cortez device is silent as to the at least one of an inner side surface and outer side surface of the heat preservation space being provided with an air space maintaining structure which maintains an air space at a part of the outer pipe when squeezed and deformed at least partially; however, Schobel discloses a similar breathing tube which includes space maintaining structures located on entire surface of a lumen (see Schobel Fig. 6, air space maintaining structure 32, see para. 0051). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cortez device to include air space maintaining structures, as taught by Schobel, to the inner and outer side surfaces of the heat preservation space in order to prevent total collapse of the heat preservation space when the tube is deformed (Schobel para. 0051).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Cortez device’s air space maintaining structures include protrusions that protrude from one of the inner and outer side surfaces of the heat preservation space which contact opposite structures so as to form the airspace on at least one side of the protrusions in the circumferential direction when the outer pipe is squeezed and deformed (see Schobel Fig. 6 and para. 0051, protrusions/opposite structures 32).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Cortez device includes a plurality of protrusions arranged at intervals in the circumferential direction with opposite structures a side surface of the space opposite in the radial direction or are opposite protrusions in the radial direction (see Schobel Fig. 6 and para. 0051, protrusions 32).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Cortez device is such that the cross section of each protrusion is in a shape of a spike and spike side surfaces abutting the spike in the circumferential direction are concave arc-shaped surfaces (see Schobel Fig. 6, spike shaped protrusions 32 with concave arc-shaped side surfaces as shown).
Regarding claim 17, the Cortez device is silent as to the gas delivery pipe body including a gas delivery maintaining structure which maintains gas delivery clearance for gas delivery at a part of the channel where the channel is deformed when the gas delivery pipe body is squeezed and deformed at least partially; however, Schobel discloses a similar breathing tube which includes space maintaining structures located on entire surface of a gas delivery lumen (see Schobel Fig. 6, gas delivery maintaining structure 32, see para. 0051). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cortez device to include gas delivery maintaining structures to the gas delivery channel, as taught by Schobel, in order to prevent total collapse of the heat preservation space when the tube is deformed (Schobel para. 0051).
Regarding claim 20, the modified Cortez device’s gas delivery maintaining structures include protrusions that protrude inward from an inner channel surface of the gas delivery channel and extend axially along the channel to contact opposite structures so as to form the gas delivery clearance on at least one side of the protrusions in the circumferential direction when the pipe body is squeezed and deformed (see Schobel Fig. 6 and para. 0051, protrusions/opposite structures 32).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Cortez device’s opposite structures are parts of the inner channel surface opposite to the protrusions in the radial direction (see Schobel Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Cortez device’s plurality of protrusions are provided and arranged at an interval in the circumferential direction (see Schobel Fig. 6, plural protrusions 32).
Regarding claim 27, Cortez discloses a nasal catheter including a patient interface (see 3A and 29-32 and abstract for example, patient interface 108, para. 0067) which includes a breathing gas delivery pipe with an end connected to the patient interface (see Fig. 3A and 29-32) the gas delivery pipe includes a gas delivery pipe body which includes an inner pipe defining a gas delivery channel therein and an outer pipe fitted outside the inner pipe with pipe support ribs arranged between the inner pipe and outer pipe for keeping the inner pipe and outer pipe spaced apart from each other to define a heat preservation space formed therebetween (Fig. 30 pipe body 600 with inner pipe 602, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 604 with pipe support ribs 601 separating the two and forming heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0143; Fig. 31-32 pipe body 800 with inner pipe 802, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 804 with pipe support ribs 810 separating the two and forming heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0144-0145). Cortez is silent as to explicitly including a gas source connecting terminal connected to the tube at the other end; however, Schobel discloses this feature (see Schobel Fig. 1, gas source connecting terminal 6, see para. 0035-0036). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cortez device to explicitly include a gas source connecting terminal, as taught by Schobel, in order to provide the structural elements to provide removable connection between parts.
Regarding claim 30, the modified Cortez device is silent as to the at least one of an inner side surface and outer side surface of the heat preservation space being provided with an air space maintaining structure which maintains an air space at a part of the outer pipe when squeezed and deformed at least partially; however, Schobel discloses a similar breathing tube which includes space maintaining structures located on entire surface of a lumen (see Schobel Fig. 6, air space maintaining structure 32, see para. 0051). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Cortez device to include air space maintaining structures, as taught by Schobel, to the inner and outer side surfaces of the heat preservation space in order to prevent total collapse of the heat preservation space when the tube is deformed (Schobel para. 0051).
Regarding claim 31, the modified Cortez device’s air space maintaining structures include protrusions that protrude from one of the inner and outer side surfaces of the heat preservation space which contact opposite structures so as to form the airspace on at least one side of the protrusions in the circumferential direction when the outer pipe is squeezed and deformed (see Schobel Fig. 6 and para. 0051, protrusions/opposite structures 32).
Regarding claim 28, Cortez discloses ventilation therapy device including a nasal catheter including a patient interface (see 3A and 29-32 and abstract for example, patient interface 108, para. 0067) which includes a breathing gas delivery pipe with an end connected to the patient interface (see Fig. 3A and 29-32) the gas delivery pipe includes a gas delivery pipe body which includes an inner pipe defining a gas delivery channel therein and an outer pipe fitted outside the inner pipe with pipe support ribs arranged between the inner pipe and outer pipe for keeping the inner pipe and outer pipe spaced apart from each other to define a heat preservation space formed therebetween (Fig. 30 pipe body 600 with inner pipe 602, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 604 with pipe support ribs 601 separating the two and forming heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0143; Fig. 31-32 pipe body 800 with inner pipe 802, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 804 with pipe support ribs 810 separating the two and forming heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0144-0145). Cortez is silent as to explicitly including a gas source connecting terminal connected to the tube at the other end; however, Schobel discloses this feature (see Schobel Fig. 1, gas source connecting terminal 6, see para. 0035-0036). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cortez device to explicitly include a gas source connecting terminal, as taught by Schobel, in order to provide the structural elements to provide removable connection between parts.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassell in view of Schobel.
Regarding claim 27, Jassell discloses a ventilation catheter including a breathing gas delivery including a gas delivery pipe body which includes an inner pipe defining a gas delivery channel therein and an outer pipe fitted outside the inner pipe with pipe support ribs arranged between the inner pipe and outer pipe for keeping the inner pipe and outer pipe spaced apart from each other to define a heat preservation space formed therebetween (Fig. 3 pipe body 20 with inner pipe 22, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 24 with pipe support ribs 26 separating the two and forming a heat preservation space 23 therebetween as shown, para. 0048-0050; Fig. 4 pipe body 120 with inner pipe 122, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 124 with pipe support ribs 126 separating the two and forming a heat preservation space 123 therebetween as shown, para. 0052-0053; Fig. 5 pipe body 220 with inner pipe 222, defining gas delivery channel therein as shown, and outer pipe 224 with pipe support ribs shown separating the two and forming a heat preservation space therebetween as shown, para. 0056-0057). Jassell is silent as to explicitly including a gas source connecting terminal connected to the tube at the other end; however, Schobel discloses this feature (see Schobel Fig. 1, gas source connecting terminal 6, see para. 0035-0036 and which connects to patient interface 2). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Cortez device to explicitly include a gas source connecting terminal and connecting to a nasal interface/catheter, as taught by Schobel, in order to provide the structural elements to provide removable connection between parts and a desired form of ventilation interface (obvious substitution).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassell and Schobel as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Cartledge.
Regarding claim 29, the modified Jassell device is silent as to a heat preservation layer filled inside the heat preservation space (when read to mean a tangible layer material and not air); however, Cartledge discloses a similar insulated tube which includes a heat preservation space filled with a heat preservation layer (see Cartledge Fig. 1-4 and para. 0083). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Jassell device’s heat preservation space to be filled with a heat preservation layer/material, as taught by Cartledge, as this would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another (Cartledge para. 0083) and one would expect the modified Jassell device to perform equally as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen et al. (CN 108310551), Smith (5,623,922), Huddart et al. (5,640,951), Huddart et al. (6,078,730), and Mackie et al. (2003/0059213).
/COLIN W STUART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785