DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 13, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly claims 1-4 and 6-7 are amended. Claim 5 is cancelled.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that “the cited references, individually and in combination, do not teach or render obvious processing circuitry configured to: determine a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information; determine, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal; and determine, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table” (Response filed October 13, 2025, Page 6), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Lee teaches “determining a contention window (CW) size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point” (Lee [Para. 0012]) and “The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals” (Lee [Para. 0056]). The objective in determining contention window size in Lee is to avoid reduction of throughput caused by collision (Lee [Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. Lee [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals). Therefore, Lee teaches determining a control value, contention window size W, that satisfies the throughput achieved by avoiding reduction of throughput caused by collision, based on the number of connected terminals. The number of terminals in Lee corresponds to the wireless network environment (Lee [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals).
Lee also teaches “the terminal whose back-off value is earliest reduced to 0 sends an RTS frame to the AP for data transmission. The AP receives the RTS frame of the terminal, and transmits the CTS frame to receive data from the terminal” (Lee [Para. 0007]), and back-off value is W/2 or a random number within a range of [0, W-1] (Lee [Para. 0060 and 0063]). The back-off value in Lee is the standby time. The contention window size W, the control value in Claim 1, is related to calculation of standby time as either W/2 or random number within [0, W-1] in Lee.
Lee further provides “The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. For example, the number of connected terminals may be multiplied by a system stabilization constant k, and then the minimum value among even integers greater than the value may be calculated as the W value in Equation 1 as W = KN/KN + 1” (Lee [Para. 0056]), “The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission)” (Lee [Para. 0059]), [Para. 0062]If collision occurs, W doubles” (Lee [Para. 0062]) and “If the terminal succeeds in data transmission, the back-off value may be calculated using the W value delivered through the ACK frame received from the AP” (Lee [Para. 0063]). According to Lee, W is the upper limit of the contention window. The W determined by the AP is based on the number of connected terminals, and also the minimum of upper limit of the contention window since W only either increases when collision occurs or decreases to the W determined by the AP after transmission is successful. The equation, W = KN/KN + 1, that the AP uses to determine W corresponds to a reference table. Therefore, Lee teaches determine, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that “Abraham merely recognizes the delay or the STA (base station) associated with the AP, and does not acquire ‘a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station’” (Response filed October 13, 2025, Page 7), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Abraham teaches “the relays can be required to associate with the AP” (Abraham [Para. 0057]), “the STAs can associate indirectly with the AP, through the relays” (Abraham [Para. 0090]), “an access point receives an association request from a client. The association request can be forwarded by a relay” (Abraham [Para. 0113]), and “the access point can determine a success or failure of association” (Abraham [Para. 0114]). According to Abraham, the terminals and relays are connected with the AP by association request and the AP determines whether an association is successful. Receiving association request by the AP from each device indicates that the AP acquires the sum of the number of connected relays and terminals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20180359730A1, hereinafter Jung) in view of Lee et al. (US20180331966A1, hereinafter Lee) and Abraham et al. (US20140071850A1, hereinafter Abraham).
For claim 1, Jung teaches a wireless communication management apparatus comprising ([Para. 0046] and [FIG. 1], the wireless local area network (WLAN) system includes a centered remote channel monitor 110 and one or more WLAN access points (APs) 120 to 170 connected with the centered remote channel monitor 110 via a network. [Para. 0054], The central channel manager of the centered remote channel monitor determines the optimal channel to which each WLAN AP is supposed to switch using the channel database. [Para. 0048], the WLAN APs may be configured to perform the role of the centered remote channel monitor. [Para. 0056], each WLAN AP may perform communication with UEs associated therewith. [Para. 0085], Before notifying the associated WLAN APs, the centered remote channel monitor determines a channel recommendation to which it is to switch to and which is to be transferred to the associated WLAN APs [Examiner’s Note: The UEs are associated with APs and APs are associated with the centered remote channel monitor that can also be an AP]), processing circuitry configured to ([Para. 0022], an apparatus for managing a channel on a channel monitor in a WLAN system comprises at least one processor configured to receive a request for channel information from an AP).
Although teaching centralized wireless communication management and function of AP, Jung does not explicitly teach acquire wireless environment information related to a terminal connected to a base station; acquire, as the wireless environment information, the number of the terminals or a traffic amount transmitted and received by the terminal; determine a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information; determine, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal; determine, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table; determine, based on the sum, a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal and the relay base station to the base station; and notify the terminal of the control value.
Lee is directed to providing apparatus for scheduling contention-based data transfer and method thereof. More specifically, Lee teaches acquire wireless environment information related to a terminal connected to a base station ([Para. 0012], determining a contention window (CW) size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals [Examiner’s Note: Having the knowledge of the number of terminals connected to the AP indicates acquisition of the information]. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: The number of terminals connected to the AP is the wireless environment information]), acquire, as the wireless environment information, the number of the terminals or a traffic amount transmitted and received by the terminal ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals); determine a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information ([Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. [Examiner’s Note: Avoidance of reduction of throughput caused by collision satisfies a throughput for transmission]. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: CW value is the control value. Since calculated CW value eliminates collision to avoid reduction of throughput, calculated CW value satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0062], the terminal that normally receives the CTS frame attempts to transmit data. When the data transmission is successfully completed, the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission [Examiner’s Note: That the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission indicates that the data is transmitted from a terminal to the AP]), determine, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the contention window (CW) value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0060 and 0063], back-off value is W/2 or a random number within a range of [0, W-1]. [Para. 0007] and [FIG. 1], the terminal 1 20-1 whose back-off value is earliest reduced to 0 sends an RTS frame to the AP 10 for data transmission. Each of the terminals 20-2 and 20-3 receiving the RTS frame determines that the channel is being used by another terminal, and stops decreasing the back-off and waits until the channel is not used. The AP 10 receives the RTS frame of the terminal 1 20-1, and transmits the CTS frame to receive data from the terminal 1 20-1 [Examiner’s Note: The calculated CW value is the second parameter as the control value. The random back-off is the standby time for RTS/CTS]), determine, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. For example, the number of connected terminals may be multiplied by a system stabilization constant k, and then the minimum value among even integers greater than the value may be calculated as the W value in Equation 1 as W = KN/KN + 1. [Para. 0059], The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission). [Para. 0060 and 0063], back-off value is either W/2 or within a range of [0, W-1]. [Para. 0061], The terminal whose back-off value is decreased to 0 transmits an RTS frame to the AP. If the AP successfully receives the RTS frame transmitted from the terminal, the terminal receives a CTS frame. [Para. 0062], If collision occurs, W doubles [Examiner’s Note: W is the upper limit of contention window. W value increases from the initial W received from AP when collision occurs]. [Para. 0063], If the terminal succeeds in data transmission, the back-off value may be calculated using the W value delivered through the ACK frame received from the AP. [Examiner’s Note: The W determined by the AP is the minimum of upper limit of the contention window since W only either increases when collision occurs or decreases to the W determined by the AP after transmission without collision. The AP determines W using equation W=KN/KN+1 where N is the number of terminals. The equation represents the reference table]), determine, based on the sum, a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal and the relay base station to the base station ([Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Examiner’s Note: Jung teaches that the terminals are associated with APs and APs are associated with the centered management apparatus that can also be an AP. Therefore, when the centered management apparatus is a central AP, the connected devices constitute the sum including the associated terminals and APs]. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: The calculated CW value eliminating collision to avoid reduction of throughput satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0062], the terminal that normally receives the CTS frame attempts to transmit data. When the data transmission is successfully completed, the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission [Examiner’s Note: That the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission indicates that the data is transmitted from a terminal to the AP]), and notify the terminal of the control value ([Para. 0059], The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung, so that the access point that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to transmit data without a collision even in a network environment (Lee [Para. 0077]).
Although teaching determining contention window size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point, Jung and Lee do not explicitly disclose acquire, as the wireless environment information, a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station.
Abraham is directed to providing systems, apparatus, and methods for association in multihop networks. More specifically, Abraham teaches acquire, as the wireless environment information, a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station ([Para. 0057], the relays 107 a-107 b can be required to associate with the AP 104. [Para. 0090] and [FIG. 4C], the STAs 106 x-106 z can associate indirectly with the AP 104, through the relays 107 f-107 h, respectively. [Para. 0113], an access point receives an association request from a client. The association request can be forwarded by a relay. [Para. 0114], the access point can determine a success or failure of association [Examiner’s Note: Receiving association request from a station or relay and determining the success of the request, the AP acquires the number of the associated devices, including stations and relays that are directly or indirectly connected to the AP, and the number of the connected devices is environment information. IEEE Standard 802.11 2012 provides on page 1017 and 1019 that “Upon receipt of an Association Request frame from a non-AP STA for which the state is State 2, State 3, or State 4 … the station management entity (SME) shall inform the distributed system (DS) of any changes in the association state” indicating that AP maintains the association state of each associated terminals]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung and Lee, so that the access point determines association of stations and relays, and receives data from terminals and relays, as taught by Abraham. The modification would have extended the range of a wireless network, limiting the increase of overhead such as association, encryption, and filtering overhead (Abraham [Para. 0007]).
For claim 6, Jung teaches a wireless communication management method comprising ([Para. 0020], a method for managing a channel on a channel monitor in a WLAN system is provided. [Para. 0046] and [FIG. 1], the wireless local area network (WLAN) system includes a centered remote channel monitor 110 and one or more WLAN access points (APs) 120 to 170 connected with the centered remote channel monitor 110 via a network. [Para. 0054], The central channel manager of the centered remote channel monitor determines the optimal channel to which each WLAN AP is supposed to switch using the channel database. [Para. 0048], the WLAN APs may be configured to perform the role of the centered remote channel monitor. [Para. 0056], each WLAN AP may perform communication with UEs associated therewith. [Para. 0085], Before notifying the associated WLAN APs, the centered remote channel monitor determines a channel recommendation to which it is to switch to and which is to be transferred to the associated WLAN APs [Examiner’s Note: The UEs are associated with APs and APs are associated with the centered remote channel monitor that can also be an AP]).
Although teaching centralized wireless communication management and function of AP, Jung does not explicitly disclose acquiring wireless environment information related to a terminal connected to a base station; acquiring, as the wireless environment information, the number of the terminals or a traffic amount transmitted and received by the terminal; determining a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information; determining, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal; determining, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table; determining, based on the sum, a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal and the relay base station to the base station; and notifying the terminal of the control value.
Lee is directed to providing apparatus for scheduling contention-based data transfer and method thereof. More specifically, Lee teaches acquiring wireless environment information related to a terminal connected to a base station ([Para. 0012], determining a contention window (CW) size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals [Examiner’s Note: Having the knowledge of the number of terminals connected to the AP indicates acquisition of the information]. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: The number of terminals connected to the AP is the wireless environment information]), acquiring, as the wireless environment information, the number of the terminals or a traffic amount transmitted and received by the terminal ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals); determining a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information ([Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. [Examiner’s Note: Avoidance of reduction of throughput caused by collision satisfies a throughput for transmission]. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: CW value is the control value. Since calculated CW value eliminates collision to avoid reduction of throughput, calculated CW value satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0062], the terminal that normally receives the CTS frame attempts to transmit data. When the data transmission is successfully completed, the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission [Examiner’s Note: That the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission indicates that the data is transmitted from a terminal to the AP]), determining, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the contention window (CW) value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0060 and 0063], back-off value is W/2 or a random number within a range of [0, W-1]. [Para. 0007] and [FIG. 1], the terminal 1 20-1 whose back-off value is earliest reduced to 0 sends an RTS frame to the AP 10 for data transmission. Each of the terminals 20-2 and 20-3 receiving the RTS frame determines that the channel is being used by another terminal, and stops decreasing the back-off and waits until the channel is not used. The AP 10 receives the RTS frame of the terminal 1 20-1, and transmits the CTS frame to receive data from the terminal 1 20-1 [Examiner’s Note: The calculated CW value is the second parameter as the control value. The random back-off is the standby time for RTS/CTS]), determining, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. For example, the number of connected terminals may be multiplied by a system stabilization constant k, and then the minimum value among even integers greater than the value may be calculated as the W value in Equation 1 as W = KN/KN + 1. [Para. 0059], The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission). [Para. 0060 and 0063], back-off value is either W/2 or within a range of [0, W-1]. [Para. 0061], The terminal whose back-off value is decreased to 0 transmits an RTS frame to the AP. If the AP successfully receives the RTS frame transmitted from the terminal, the terminal receives a CTS frame. [Para. 0062], If collision occurs, W doubles [Examiner’s Note: W is the upper limit of contention window. W value increases from the initial W received from AP when collision occurs]. [Para. 0063], If the terminal succeeds in data transmission, the back-off value may be calculated using the W value delivered through the ACK frame received from the AP. [Examiner’s Note: The W determined by the AP is the minimum of upper limit of the contention window since W only either increases when collision occurs or decreases to the W determined by the AP after transmission without collision. The AP determines W using equation W=KN/KN+1 where N is the number of terminals. The equation represents the reference table]), determining, based on the sum, a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal and the relay base station to the base station ([Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Examiner’s Note: Jung teaches that the terminals are associated with APs and APs are associated with the centered management apparatus that can also be an AP. Therefore, when the centered management apparatus is a central AP, the connected devices constitute the sum including the associated terminals and APs]. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: The calculated CW value eliminating collision to avoid reduction of throughput satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0062], the terminal that normally receives the CTS frame attempts to transmit data. When the data transmission is successfully completed, the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission [Examiner’s Note: That the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission indicates that the data is transmitted from a terminal to the AP]), and notifying the terminal of the control value ([Para. 0059], The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jung, so that the access point that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to transmit data without a collision even in a network environment (Lee [Para. 0077]).
Although teaching determining contention window size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point, Jung and Lee do not explicitly disclose acquiring, as the wireless environment information, a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station.
Abraham is directed to providing systems, apparatus, and methods for association in multihop networks. More specifically, Abraham teaches acquiring, as the wireless environment information, a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station ([Para. 0057], the relays 107 a-107 b can be required to associate with the AP 104. [Para. 0090] and [FIG. 4C], the STAs 106 x-106 z can associate indirectly with the AP 104, through the relays 107 f-107 h, respectively. [Para. 0113], an access point receives an association request from a client. The association request can be forwarded by a relay. [Para. 0114], the access point can determine a success or failure of association [Examiner’s Note: Receiving association request from a station or relay and determining the success of the request, the AP acquires the number of the associated devices, including stations and relays that are directly or indirectly connected to the AP, and the number of the connected devices is environment information. IEEE Standard 802.11 2012 provides on page 1017 and 1019 that “Upon receipt of an Association Request frame from a non-AP STA for which the state is State 2, State 3, or State 4 … the station management entity (SME) shall inform the distributed system (DS) of any changes in the association state” indicating that AP maintains the association state of each associated terminals]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jung and Lee, so that the access point determines association of stations and relays, and receives data from terminals and relays, as taught by Abraham. The modification would have extended the range of a wireless network, limiting the increase of overhead such as association, encryption, and filtering overhead (Abraham [Para. 0007]).
For claim 7, Jung teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program which is executed by processing circuitry to provide the steps of ([Para. 0022], an apparatus for managing a channel on a channel monitor in a WLAN system is provided. [Para. 0117], the present disclosure can also be embodied as computer readable code on a non-transitory computer readable recording medium. [Para. 0118], one or more processors operating in accordance with stored instructions may implement the functions associated with the various embodiments of the present disclosure. It is within the scope of the present disclosure that such instructions may be stored on one or more non-transitory processor readable mediums. [Para. 0048], the WLAN APs may be configured to perform the role of the centered remote channel monitor. [Para. 0056], each WLAN AP may perform communication with UEs associated therewith. [Para. 0085], Before notifying the associated WLAN APs, the centered remote channel monitor determines a channel recommendation to which it is to switch to and which is to be transferred to the associated WLAN APs [Examiner’s Note: The UEs are associated with APs and APs are associated with the centered remote channel monitor that can also be an AP]).
Although teaching implementing the functions of centralized wireless communication management and AP with non-transitory storage medium, Jung does not explicitly disclose acquiring wireless environment information related to a terminal connected to a base station; acquiring, as the wireless environment information, the number of the terminals or a traffic amount transmitted and received by the terminal; determining a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information; determining, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal; determining, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table; determining, based on the sum, a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal and the relay base station to the base station; and notifying the terminal of the control value.
Lee is directed to providing apparatus for scheduling contention-based data transfer and method thereof. More specifically, Lee teaches acquiring wireless environment information related to a terminal connected to a base station ([Para. 0012], determining a contention window (CW) size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals [Examiner’s Note: Having the knowledge of the number of terminals connected to the AP indicates acquisition of the information]. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: The number of terminals connected to the AP is the wireless environment information]), acquiring, as the wireless environment information, the number of the terminals or a traffic amount transmitted and received by the terminal ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals); determining a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal to the base station based on the wireless environment information ([Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. [Examiner’s Note: Avoidance of reduction of throughput caused by collision satisfies a throughput for transmission]. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: CW value is the control value. Since calculated CW value eliminates collision to avoid reduction of throughput, calculated CW value satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0062], the terminal that normally receives the CTS frame attempts to transmit data. When the data transmission is successfully completed, the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission [Examiner’s Note: That the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission indicates that the data is transmitted from a terminal to the AP]), determining, as the control value, a second parameter related to calculation of a standby time in the terminal ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the contention window (CW) value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Para. 0060 and 0063], back-off value is W/2 or a random number within a range of [0, W-1]. [Para. 0007] and [FIG. 1], the terminal 1 20-1 whose back-off value is earliest reduced to 0 sends an RTS frame to the AP 10 for data transmission. Each of the terminals 20-2 and 20-3 receiving the RTS frame determines that the channel is being used by another terminal, and stops decreasing the back-off and waits until the channel is not used. The AP 10 receives the RTS frame of the terminal 1 20-1, and transmits the CTS frame to receive data from the terminal 1 20-1 [Examiner’s Note: The calculated CW value is the second parameter as the control value. The random back-off is the standby time for RTS/CTS]), determining, as the second parameter, a minimum value of an upper limit value of a contention window determined based on the number of terminals or the traffic amount and a reference table ([Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. For example, the number of connected terminals may be multiplied by a system stabilization constant k, and then the minimum value among even integers greater than the value may be calculated as the W value in Equation 1 as W = KN/KN + 1. [Para. 0059], The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission). [Para. 0060 and 0063], back-off value is either W/2 or within a range of [0, W-1]. [Para. 0061], The terminal whose back-off value is decreased to 0 transmits an RTS frame to the AP. If the AP successfully receives the RTS frame transmitted from the terminal, the terminal receives a CTS frame. [Para. 0062], If collision occurs, W doubles [Examiner’s Note: W is the upper limit of contention window. W value increases from the initial W received from AP when collision occurs]. [Para. 0063], If the terminal succeeds in data transmission, the back-off value may be calculated using the W value delivered through the ACK frame received from the AP. [Examiner’s Note: The W determined by the AP is the minimum of upper limit of the contention window since W only either increases when collision occurs or decreases to the W determined by the AP after transmission without collision. The AP determines W using equation W=KN/KN+1 where N is the number of terminals. The equation represents the reference table]), determining, based on the sum, a control value that satisfies a throughput for transmitting data from the terminal and the relay base station to the base station ([Para. 0003], a collision is a phenomenon in which signals originating from a plurality of wireless terminals simultaneously arrive at a receiving terminal and cause mutual interference. Data need to be retransmitted. This retransmission reduces data throughput. [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. [Examiner’s Note: Jung teaches that the terminals are associated with APs and APs are associated with the centered management apparatus that can also be an AP. Therefore, when the centered management apparatus is a central AP, the connected devices constitute the sum including the associated terminals and APs]. [Para. 0077], the transmission protocol according to an embodiment can transmit data without a collision even in a network environment having a large number of terminals [Examiner’s Note: The calculated CW value eliminating collision to avoid reduction of throughput satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0062], the terminal that normally receives the CTS frame attempts to transmit data. When the data transmission is successfully completed, the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission [Examiner’s Note: That the AP transmits an ACK frame to inform the successful data transmission indicates that the data is transmitted from a terminal to the AP]), and notifying the terminal of the control value ([Para. 0059], The W value calculated in the AP may be transmitted through an ACK frame received after the terminals perform data transmission).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung, so that the access point that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to transmit data without a collision even in a network environment (Lee [Para. 0077]).
Although teaching determining contention window size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point, Jung and Lee do not explicitly disclose acquiring, as the wireless environment information, a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station.
Abraham is directed to providing systems, apparatus, and methods for association in multihop networks. More specifically, Abraham teaches acquiring, as the wireless environment information, a sum of the number of terminals directly or indirectly connected to the base station and the number of relay base stations relaying between the terminal and the base station ([Para. 0057], the relays 107 a-107 b can be required to associate with the AP 104. [Para. 0090] and [FIG. 4C], the STAs 106 x-106 z can associate indirectly with the AP 104, through the relays 107 f-107 h, respectively. [Para. 0113], an access point receives an association request from a client. The association request can be forwarded by a relay. [Para. 0114], the access point can determine a success or failure of association [Examiner’s Note: Receiving association request from a station or relay and determining the success of the request, the AP acquires the number of the associated devices, including stations and relays that are directly or indirectly connected to the AP, and the number of the connected devices is environment information. IEEE Standard 802.11 2012 provides on page 1017 and 1019 that “Upon receipt of an Association Request frame from a non-AP STA for which the state is State 2, State 3, or State 4 … the station management entity (SME) shall inform the distributed system (DS) of any changes in the association state” indicating that AP maintains the association state of each associated terminals]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung and Lee, so that the access point determines association of stations and relays, and receives data from terminals and relays, as taught by Abraham. The modification would have extended the range of a wireless network, limiting the increase of overhead such as association, encryption, and filtering overhead (Abraham [Para. 0007]).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20180359730A1, hereinafter Jung) in view of Lee et al. (US20180331966A1, hereinafter Lee) and Abraham et al. (US20140071850A1, hereinafter Abraham), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US20190174543A1, hereinafter Zhou).
For claim 2, Jung, Lee and Abraham teach the wireless communication management apparatus according to claim 1. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to ([Para. 0022], an apparatus for managing a channel on a channel monitor in a WLAN system comprises at least one processor configured to receive a request for channel information from an AP).
Although teaching determining contention window size based on the number of terminals connected to the access point, the references do not explicitly disclose determine, as the control value, a first parameter related to necessity of transmission of a transmission request frame from the terminal to the base station.
Zhou is directed to providing Access point (ap) controlled uplink rts/cts configuration and disablement. More specifically, Zhou teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine, as the control value, a first parameter related to necessity of transmission of a transmission request frame from the terminal to the base station ([Para. 0028], the STA may implement the RTS/CTS protocol when packets exceed such a threshold, and disable the RTS/CTS protocol when the packet size is less than the threshold. Data collisions may be reduced in an architecture allowing a more flexible implementation of RTS/CTS. [Examiner’s Note: Lee in paragraph 0003 teaches that collisions reduce data throughput. Since packet size threshold is used to avoid collisions, it is the control value that satisfies a throughput]. [Para. 0058], identifying, at an AP, conditions for disabling UL transmissions of a RTS/CTS protocol at a STA associated with the AP, including a condition in which a transmission parameter is less than a threshold. The transmission parameter may be a PLCP protocol data unit (PPDU) duration and the threshold may be a PPDU threshold. [Examiner’s Note: RTS/CTS is disabled when the packet size less than the threshold, indicating that the packet size greater than the threshold necessitates RTS/CTS enabling]. [Para. 0046], Transmitting a configuration message to the STA, where the configuration message includes one or more transmission parameter values, indicating that a control value is determined. [Para. 0036], transmission parameter is transmission consideration applied by the STA in transmitting UL RTS/CTS protocol frame).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung, Lee and Abraham, so that the packet size greater than a threshold necessitates enabling RTS/CTS, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have improved protection from hidden nodes and CSMA collisions at negligible cost (Zhou [Para. 0096]).
For claim 4, Jung, Lee, Abraham and Zhou teach the wireless communication management apparatus according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a size of a contention window according to the number of the terminals or the traffic amount as the second parameter (Lee [Para. 0056], The AP that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals. For example, the number of connected terminals may be multiplied by a system stabilization constant k, and then the minimum value among even integers greater than the value may be calculated as the W value in Equation 1 as W = KN/KN + 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung, Abraham and Zhou, so that the access point that knows information on the number of terminals connected to the system can calculate the CW value (W) based on the number (N) of currently connected terminals, as taught by Lee. The modification would have allowed the system to transmit data without a collision even in a network environment (Lee [Para. 0077]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US20180359730A1, hereinafter Jung), Lee et al. (US20180331966A1, hereinafter Lee), in view of Abraham et al. (US20140071850A1, hereinafter Abraham) and Zhou et al. (US20190174543A1, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Garde et al. (US20190159254A1, hereinafter Garde).
For claim 3, Jung, Lee, Abraham and Zhou teach the wireless communication management apparatus according to claim 2. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the first parameter so that the terminal transmits the transmission request frame before transmission of the data when the number of terminals or the traffic amount exceeds a threshold (Zhou [Para. 0058], identifying, at an AP, conditions for disabling UL transmissions of a RTS/CTS protocol at a STA associated with the AP, including a condition in which a transmission parameter is less than a threshold. [Examiner’s Note: On the other side, if the transmission parameter is greater than the threshold, then UL transmissions of RTS is enabled] The transmission parameter may be a PLCP protocol data unit (PPDU) duration and the threshold may be a PPDU threshold. Zhou [Para. 0046], transmitting a configuration message to the STA, where the configuration message includes one or more transmission parameter values, indicating that a control value is determined. Zhou [Para. 0036], transmission parameters are transmission considerations applied by the STA in transmitting UL RTS/CTS protocol frame), and the terminal does not transmit the transmission request frame before transmission of the data when the number of terminals or the traffic amount is equal to or less than the threshold (Zhou [Para. 0036], transmission parameters are transmission considerations applied by the STA in transmitting UL RTS/CTS protocol frame. Zhou [Para. 0058], identifying, at an AP, conditions for disabling UL transmissions of a RTS/CTS protocol at a STA associated with the AP, including a condition in which a transmission parameter is less than a threshold.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung, Lee and Abraham, so that the packet size greater than a threshold necessitates enabling RTS/CTS, as taught by Zhou. The modification would have improved protection from hidden nodes and CSMA collisions at negligible cost (Zhou [Para. 0096]).
Although teaching determining a threshold to control enabling and disabling of RTS/CTS, Jung, Lee, Abraham and Zhou do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the first parameter so that the terminal transmits the transmission request frame before transmission of the data when the number of terminals or the traffic amount exceeds a threshold, and the terminal does not transmit the transmission request frame before transmission of the data when the number of terminals or the traffic amount is equal to or less than the threshold.
Garde is directed to providing adapting rts-cts protection in a wlan. More specifically, Garde teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine the first parameter so that the terminal transmits the transmission request frame before transmission of the data when the number of terminals or the traffic amount exceeds a threshold ([Para. 0045], the RTS-CTS performance metric may be based on the collision probability. [Para. 0048], the electronic device is an access point. The access point may compute the collision probability based on: a number of electronic devices that are associated with the access point. [Para. 0046], the electronic device may compare the RTS-CTS performance metric and the PPDU airtime. If the Physical Layer Protocol Unit (PPDU) airtime is greater than or equal to the RTS-CTS performance metric, the electronic device may use or enable the RTS-CTS protection during the communication of the PPDU with the second electronic device [Examiner’s Note: The number of terminals determines the collision probability, the collision probability determines the performance metric. The number of terminals exceeding an amount in the performance metric exceeding the PPDU airtime]), and the terminal does not transmit the transmission request frame before transmission of the data when the number of terminals or the traffic amount is equal to or less than the threshold ([Para. 0046], if the PPDU airtime is less than the RTS-CTS performance metric, the electronic device may not use or enable the RTS-CTS protection during the communication of the PPDU with the second electronic device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Jung, Lee, Abraham and Zhou so that the number of terminals associated with the access point determines whether RTS/CTS is enabled or not, as taught by Garde. The modification would have improved the communication performance of the electronic device, by averting collisions when needed, without incurring unnecessary overhead associated with the RTS-CTS protection when not needed (Garde [Para. 0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417