DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication received on 06/22/2026 concerning application no. 18/269,050 filed on 06/22/2023.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15-17, and 19-21 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15-17, and 19-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 16, and 20-21 with respect to Mienkina have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection under Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi, Applicant argues that “In the Office Action, the Examiner argues that Choi, at Fig. 8, purportedly teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. See Office Action, p. 35. As shown in Fig. 8 of Choi, Choi shows lists 810 indicating which target regions are completed vs. not completed, and progress bar 820a or pie chart 820b. Choi teaches a list of target regions that have been imaged and not yet been imaged and a progress bar of how many target regions have been imaged. See Choi, paragraph [0136]. However, Choi does not disclose or suggest a mechanism that determines an imaging status is transitioned from currently being imaged to has been imaged based on "at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position" as recited in amended claim 1. Therefore, Choi fails to cure the deficiencies of Bjaerum and Higuchi.”
Examiner disagrees. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
MPEP 2145 establishes “If a prima facie case of obviousness is established, the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with arguments and/or evidence to rebut the prima facie case. See, e.g., In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 692, 16 USPQ2d 1897, 1901 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (en banc). Rebuttal evidence and arguments can be presented in the specification, In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750, 34 USPQ2d 1684, 1687 (Fed. Cir. 1995), by counsel, In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 299, 36 USPQ2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fed. Cir. 1995), or by way of an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, e.g., Soni, 54 F.3d at 750, 34 USPQ2d at 1687; In re Piasecki, 745 F.2d 1468, 1474, 223 USPQ 785, 789-90 (Fed. Cir. 1984). However, arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).” Contrary to Applicant’s allegations without evidentiary support, Choi provides teaching for the recited claim element. Additionally, as noted in the prior action, filed 04/23/2026, “Applicant fails to address Higuchi in its entirety.” As mentioned in the prior action, filed 04/23/2026, and mentioned below, Higuchi teaches the amended language. Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time.
Examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “a scan protocol”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the scan protocol is the application of a scanning protocol for the live ultrasound image established in the preceding claim element or is referring to a distinct scan protocol.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the number of ultrasound images includes the live ultrasound image established in the preceding claim element or is distinct.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 12 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “a scan protocol”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the scan protocol is the application of a scanning protocol for the live ultrasound image established in the preceding claim element or is referring to a distinct scan protocol.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the number of ultrasound images includes the live ultrasound image established in the preceding claim element or is distinct.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claim 20 is indefinite for the following reasons:
Recites “the imaging data”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Recites “the imaging data”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art in what manner this imaging data is acquired and providing the basis of a live ultrasound image.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art in what manner the live ultrasound image is generated based on image data. It is unclear if the processor is simulating ultrasound or generating image data that has been acquired. It is unclear if the ultrasound is received and in what manner it is received such that it is live.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a scan protocol”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the scan protocol is the application of a scanning protocol for the live ultrasound image established in the preceding claim element or is referring to a distinct scan protocol.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “the current position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Recites “the current position”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art in what manner the current position is being ascertained.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Recites “a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position”. This claim element is indefinite. It would be unclear to one with ordinary skill in the art if the number of ultrasound images includes the live ultrasound image established in the preceding claim element or is distinct.
Applicant is encouraged to provide consistent and clear language.
Claims that are not discussed above but are cited to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are also rejected because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) further in view of Choi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2018/0161010).
Regarding claim 1, Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
an ultrasound probe configured to transmit ultrasound signals at a target region and receive echoes responsive to the ultrasound signals and generate radio frequency (RF) data corresponding to the echoes (Paragraph 0012 teaches the operation of an ultrasound probe to transmit and receive ultrasound data with respect to patient anatomy. The output is via a RF signal);
one or more image generation processors configured to generate image data from the RF data (Paragraphs 0012-13 teaches the collection of RF signal data and the processing of image data according to the RF data. Fig. 1 shows the controller and the RF processor);
an inertial measurement unit sensor configured to determine an orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0017 teaches the utilization of an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer for the probe position. This probe position includes the orientation with respect to the tissue. Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation);
a probe tracking processor configured to determine a current position of the ultrasound probe relative to the target region based on the image data and the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the position of the probe can be traced with respect to the effects on the ultrasound image and the assessment of the motion and orientation. This is utilized to guide the probe to a desired ROI. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time); and
a user interface configured to display (Fig. 1 shows the user interface with the display):
a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system,
one or more imaging zone graphics overlaid on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol; and
an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged; and
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
one or more imaging zone graphics overlaid on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5); and
an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations);
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Choi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraphs 0135-37 teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. This includes the progress bar. See Fig. 8);
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraphs 0135-37 teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. This includes the progress bar. See Fig. 8. Paragraph 0089 teaches that the percentage and the time left for the completion of the test can be assessed and provided. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Choi’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified apparatus will improve the accuracy of the ultrasound scan (Paragraph 0129 of Choi). Furthermore, the modification allows for the scrutiny of the imaging in terms of the number of images that are captured of various anatomical features and the assessment of the image quality of the body parts (Paragraph 0005 of Choi).
Regarding claim 2, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the graphics processor is further configured to associate the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the graphics processor is further configured to associate the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of the associating of the probe position with respect to an imaging zone graphic. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches an ultrasound imaging system, further comprising a memory communicatively coupled to the user interface and configured to store at least one acquired ultrasound image corresponding to each of the imaging zones (Fig. 1 shows the user interface connected to the memory. Furthermore, it is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the memory can store images and the image recognition can be performed to assess if the probe position is at the desired position).
Regarding claim 11, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a target region selection, a patient orientation, or both (Paragraph 0022 teaches that the user can input anatomical region that they are imaging and if they are taking an oblique approach. For example, if the user is performing an ultrasound of the renal arteries, they may communicate to the system controller via an input device and/or user interface. Paragraph 0025 teaches the input of the ROI).
Regarding claim 12, Bjaerum teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting ultrasound signals at a target region using an ultrasound probe, receiving echoes responsive to the ultrasound signals, and generating radio frequency (RF) data corresponding to the echoes (Paragraph 0012 teaches the operation of an ultrasound probe to transmit and receive ultrasound data with respect to patient anatomy. The output is via a RF signal);
generating image data from the RF data (Paragraphs 0012-13 teaches the collection of RF signal data and the processing of image data according to the RF data. Fig. 1 shows the controller and the RF processor);
determining an orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0017 teaches the utilization of an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer for the probe position. This probe position includes the orientation with respect to the tissue. Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation);
determining a current position of the ultrasound probe relative to the target region based on the image data and the orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the position of the probe can be traced with respect to the effects on the ultrasound image and the assessment of the motion and orientation. This is utilized to guide the probe to a desired ROI. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time);
displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time. Fig. 1 shows the user interface with the display).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a method, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol;
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged, and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a method, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5);
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations),
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified method would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding a method,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Choi teaches a method, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraphs 0135-37 teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. This includes the progress bar. See Fig. 8);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraphs 0135-37 teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. This includes the progress bar. See Fig. 8. Paragraph 0089 teaches that the percentage and the time left for the completion of the test can be assessed and provided. Paragraph 0045 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Choi’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified method will improve the accuracy of the ultrasound scan (Paragraph 0129 of Choi). Furthermore, the modification allows for the scrutiny of the imaging in terms of the number of images that are captured of various anatomical features and the assessment of the image quality of the body parts (Paragraph 0005 of Choi).
Regarding claim 13, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a method, further comprising associating the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a method, further comprising associating the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of the associating of the probe position with respect to an imaging zone graphic. This modified method would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
Regarding claim 16, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches a method, further comprising storing at least one acquired ultrasound image corresponding to each of the imaging zones (Fig. 1 shows the user interface connected to the memory. Furthermore, it is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the memory can store images and the image recognition can be performed to assess if the probe position is at the desired position).
Regarding claim 20, Bjaerum teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions, which when executed cause a processor to:
displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol;
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged, and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5); and
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Choi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraphs 0135-136 teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. This includes the progress bar. See Fig. 8);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraphs 0135-37 teaches the display of a detected ultrasound image with imaging status that shows a list of target regions with an imaging completion/incompletion list. This includes the progress bar. See Fig. 8. Paragraph 0089 teaches that the percentage and the time left for the completion of the test can be assessed and provided. Paragraph 0045 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Choi’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified apparatus will improve the accuracy of the ultrasound scan (Paragraph 0129 of Choi). Furthermore, the modification allows for the scrutiny of the imaging in terms of the number of images that are captured of various anatomical features and the assessment of the image quality of the body parts (Paragraph 0005 of Choi).
Regarding claim 21, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics is updated in real time.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Choi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics is updated in real time (Paragraph 0004 teaches the display of images in real time. Paragraph 0089 teaches that the progression of imaging is observed and the user is provided with an indication on how much time is left).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Choi’s teaching of real-time operability. This modified apparatus will improve the accuracy of the ultrasound scan (Paragraph 0129 of Choi). Furthermore, the modification allows for the scrutiny of the imaging in terms of the number of images that are captured of various anatomical features and the assessment of the image quality of the body parts (Paragraph 0005 of Choi).
Claims 4, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) further in view of Choi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2018/0161010) further in view of Takagi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0137984).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Takagi’s teaching of the input of a severity of cancer into an ultrasound image that represents anatomy. This modified apparatus would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 15, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding a method, further comprising receiving a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches a method, further comprising receiving a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Takagi’s teaching of the input of a severity of cancer into an ultrasound image that represents anatomy. This modified method would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 16, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding a method, further wherein storing comprises spatially tagging the at least one ultrasound image with the corresponding imaging zone.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches a method, further wherein storing comprises spatially tagging the at least one ultrasound image with the corresponding imaging zone (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Takagi’s teaching of tagging of ultrasound image with an imaging zone. This modified method would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) further in view of Choi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2018/0161010) further in view of Oh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0209015).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe positioning for ultrasound imaging, Oh teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data (Paragraph 0132 teaches the utilization of the coordinate information of the rib to assess the position of the probe with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Oh’s teaching of the use of a rib as a reference to acquire other anatomical features. This modified apparatus would allow the user to ensure proper acquisition of additional points according to the rib position of the patient (Paragraph 0132 of Oh). Furthermore, the modification addresses the issue of the operator’s need to accurately and quickly detect a patient's respiration or movement based on real-time ultrasound images in order to perform an operation (Paragraph 0006 of Oh).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the reference point comprises a rib number, wherein the rib number is associated with a rib of a patient being examined.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe positioning for ultrasound imaging, Oh teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the reference point comprises a rib number, wherein the rib number is associated with a rib of a patient being examined (Paragraph 0132 teaches the utilization of the coordinate information of the rib to assess the position of the probe with respect to the solar plexus. Fig 4A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Oh’s teaching of the use of a rib as a reference to acquire other anatomical features. This modified apparatus would allow the user to ensure proper acquisition of additional points according to the rib position of the patient (Paragraph 0132 of Oh). Furthermore, the modification addresses the issue of the operator’s need to accurately and quickly detect a patient's respiration or movement based on real-time ultrasound images in order to perform an operation (Paragraph 0006 of Oh).
Claims 7, 9-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) further in view of Choi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2018/0161010) further in view of Ryu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0104287).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data
(Paragraph 0056 teaches that the reference location can be a reference point. Paragraph 0078 teaches that the probe is placed at a reference location. Paragraph 0098 teaches that the reference location can be stored along with the coordinate value and its corresponding anatomical information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Ryu’s teaching of identification of a reference point within a target region. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 9, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured to determine superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior- most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior- most probe location.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured to determine superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior- most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior- most probe location (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus. Fig. 8 shows inferior and superior tips to be opposing to one another).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Ryu’s teaching of consideration of superior and inferior coordinates of the probe with respect to the reference point. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 9, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is further configured to determine lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is further configured to determine lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Ryu’s teaching of the consideration of all three dimensions. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 19, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi is silent regarding a method, further comprising:
identifying a reference point within the target region based on the image data;
determining superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior-most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior-most probe location; and
determining lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches a method, further comprising:
identifying a reference point within the target region based on the image data (Paragraph 0056 teaches that the reference location can be a reference point. Paragraph 0078 teaches that the probe is placed at a reference location. Paragraph 0098 teaches that the reference location can be stored along with the coordinate value and its corresponding anatomical information);
determining superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior-most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior-most probe location (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus. Fig. 8 shows inferior and superior tips to be opposing to one another); and
determining lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Choi with Ryu’s teaching of the consideration of all three dimensions and with respect to a reference point. This modified method would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Jago et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0125301).
Regarding claim 1, Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
an ultrasound probe configured to transmit ultrasound signals at a target region and receive echoes responsive to the ultrasound signals and generate radio frequency (RF) data corresponding to the echoes (Paragraph 0012 teaches the operation of an ultrasound probe to transmit and receive ultrasound data with respect to patient anatomy. The output is via a RF signal);
one or more image generation processors configured to generate image data from the RF data (Paragraphs 0012-13 teaches the collection of RF signal data and the processing of image data according to the RF data. Fig. 1 shows the controller and the RF processor);
an inertial measurement unit sensor configured to determine an orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0017 teaches the utilization of an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer for the probe position. This probe position includes the orientation with respect to the tissue. Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation);
a probe tracking processor configured to determine a current position of the ultrasound probe relative to the target region based on the image data and the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the position of the probe can be traced with respect to the effects on the ultrasound image and the assessment of the motion and orientation. This is utilized to guide the probe to a desired ROI. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time); and
a user interface configured to display (Fig. 1 shows the user interface with the display):
a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system,
one or more imaging zone graphics overlaid on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol; and
an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged; and
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
one or more imaging zone graphics overlaid on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5); and
an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations);
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Jago teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraphs 0053-54 teach that the imaging and scanning is performed in real time and displayed with respect to the GUI and the image. See Figs. 4-6 and 9-10);
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0041 teaches that the element display provides for the marking based on the motion of the probe being present for a period of time with respect to a region to automatically mark the position. This provides feedback that the position has been marked and can be visual. This is indicative of the location having been marked. Paragraph 0028 teaches that this feedback display provides for the area having been scanned. Paragraph 0064 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Jago’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified apparatus will improve the ease, efficiency, and quality of the imaging and feedback to the operator (Paragraph 0035 of Jago). Furthermore, the modification provides a display that is viewable by the patient such that the patient may also visualize the progress of the scan, which may result in a better patient experience (Paragraph 0028 of Jago).
Regarding claim 2, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the graphics processor is further configured to associate the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the graphics processor is further configured to associate the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of the associating of the probe position with respect to an imaging zone graphic. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches an ultrasound imaging system, further comprising a memory communicatively coupled to the user interface and configured to store at least one acquired ultrasound image corresponding to each of the imaging zones (Fig. 1 shows the user interface connected to the memory. Furthermore, it is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the memory can store images and the image recognition can be performed to assess if the probe position is at the desired position).
Regarding claim 11, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a target region selection, a patient orientation, or both (Paragraph 0022 teaches that the user can input anatomical region that they are imaging and if they are taking an oblique approach. For example, if the user is performing an ultrasound of the renal arteries, they may communicate to the system controller via an input device and/or user interface. Paragraph 0025 teaches the input of the ROI).
Regarding claim 12, Bjaerum teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting ultrasound signals at a target region using an ultrasound probe, receiving echoes responsive to the ultrasound signals, and generating radio frequency (RF) data corresponding to the echoes (Paragraph 0012 teaches the operation of an ultrasound probe to transmit and receive ultrasound data with respect to patient anatomy. The output is via a RF signal);
generating image data from the RF data (Paragraphs 0012-13 teaches the collection of RF signal data and the processing of image data according to the RF data. Fig. 1 shows the controller and the RF processor);
determining an orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0017 teaches the utilization of an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer for the probe position. This probe position includes the orientation with respect to the tissue. Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation);
determining a current position of the ultrasound probe relative to the target region based on the image data and the orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the position of the probe can be traced with respect to the effects on the ultrasound image and the assessment of the motion and orientation. This is utilized to guide the probe to a desired ROI. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time);
displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time. Fig. 1 shows the user interface with the display).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a method, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol;
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged, and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a method, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5);
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations),
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified method would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding a method,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Jago teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraphs 0053-54 teach that the imaging and scanning is performed in real time and displayed with respect to the GUI and the image. See Figs. 4-6 and 9-10);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0041 teaches that the element display provides for the marking based on the motion of the probe being present for a period of time with respect to a region to automatically mark the position. This provides feedback that the position has been marked and can be visual. This is indicative of the location having been marked. Paragraph 0028 teaches that this feedback display provides for the area having been scanned. Paragraph 0064 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Jago’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified method will improve the ease, efficiency, and quality of the imaging and feedback to the operator (Paragraph 0035 of Jago). Furthermore, the modification provides a display that is viewable by the patient such that the patient may also visualize the progress of the scan, which may result in a better patient experience (Paragraph 0028 of Jago).
Regarding claim 13, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a method, further comprising associating the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a method, further comprising associating the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of the associating of the probe position with respect to an imaging zone graphic. This modified method would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
Regarding claim 16, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches a method, further comprising storing at least one acquired ultrasound image corresponding to each of the imaging zones (Fig. 1 shows the user interface connected to the memory. Furthermore, it is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the memory can store images and the image recognition can be performed to assess if the probe position is at the desired position).
Regarding claim 20, Bjaerum teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions, which when executed cause a processor to:
displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol;
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged, and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5); and
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Jago teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraphs 0053-54 teach that the imaging and scanning is performed in real time and displayed with respect to the GUI and the image. See Figs. 4-6 and 9-10);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0041 teaches that the element display provides for the marking based on the motion of the probe being present for a period of time with respect to a region to automatically mark the position. This provides feedback that the position has been marked and can be visual. This is indicative of the location having been marked. Paragraph 0028 teaches that this feedback display provides for the area having been scanned. Paragraph 0064 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Jago’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified apparatus will improve the ease, efficiency, and quality of the imaging and feedback to the operator (Paragraph 0035 of Jago). Furthermore, the modification provides a display that is viewable by the patient such that the patient may also visualize the progress of the scan, which may result in a better patient experience (Paragraph 0028 of Jago).
Regarding claim 21, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics is updated in real time.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Jago teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics is updated in real time (Paragraphs 0053-54 teach that the imaging and scanning is performed in real time and displayed with respect to the GUI and the image. See Figs. 4-6 and 9-10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Jago’s teaching of real-time operability. This modified apparatus will improve the ease, efficiency, and quality of the imaging and feedback to the operator (Paragraph 0035 of Jago). Furthermore, the modification provides a display that is viewable by the patient such that the patient may also visualize the progress of the scan, which may result in a better patient experience (Paragraph 0028 of Jago).
Claims 4, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Jago et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0125301) further in view of Takagi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0137984).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Takagi’s teaching of the input of a severity of cancer into an ultrasound image that represents anatomy. This modified apparatus would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 15, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding a method, further comprising receiving a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches a method, further comprising receiving a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Takagi’s teaching of the input of a severity of cancer into an ultrasound image that represents anatomy. This modified method would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 16, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding a method, further wherein storing comprises spatially tagging the at least one ultrasound image with the corresponding imaging zone.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches a method, further wherein storing comprises spatially tagging the at least one ultrasound image with the corresponding imaging zone (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Takagi’s teaching of tagging of ultrasound image with an imaging zone. This modified method would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Jago et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0125301) further in view of Oh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0209015).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe positioning for ultrasound imaging, Oh teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data (Paragraph 0132 teaches the utilization of the coordinate information of the rib to assess the position of the probe with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Oh’s teaching of the use of a rib as a reference to acquire other anatomical features. This modified apparatus would allow the user to ensure proper acquisition of additional points according to the rib position of the patient (Paragraph 0132 of Oh). Furthermore, the modification addresses the issue of the operator’s need to accurately and quickly detect a patient's respiration or movement based on real-time ultrasound images in order to perform an operation (Paragraph 0006 of Oh).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the reference point comprises a rib number, wherein the rib number is associated with a rib of a patient being examined.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe positioning for ultrasound imaging, Oh teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the reference point comprises a rib number, wherein the rib number is associated with a rib of a patient being examined (Paragraph 0132 teaches the utilization of the coordinate information of the rib to assess the position of the probe with respect to the solar plexus. Fig 4A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Oh’s teaching of the use of a rib as a reference to acquire other anatomical features. This modified apparatus would allow the user to ensure proper acquisition of additional points according to the rib position of the patient (Paragraph 0132 of Oh). Furthermore, the modification addresses the issue of the operator’s need to accurately and quickly detect a patient's respiration or movement based on real-time ultrasound images in order to perform an operation (Paragraph 0006 of Oh).
Claims 7, 9-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Jago et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0125301) further in view of Ryu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0104287).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data
(Paragraph 0056 teaches that the reference location can be a reference point. Paragraph 0078 teaches that the probe is placed at a reference location. Paragraph 0098 teaches that the reference location can be stored along with the coordinate value and its corresponding anatomical information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Ryu’s teaching of identification of a reference point within a target region. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 9, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured to determine superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior- most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior- most probe location.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured to determine superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior- most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior- most probe location (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus. Fig. 8 shows inferior and superior tips to be opposing to one another).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Ryu’s teaching of consideration of superior and inferior coordinates of the probe with respect to the reference point. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 9, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is further configured to determine lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is further configured to determine lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Ryu’s teaching of the consideration of all three dimensions. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 19, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago is silent regarding a method, further comprising:
identifying a reference point within the target region based on the image data;
determining superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior-most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior-most probe location; and
determining lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches a method, further comprising:
identifying a reference point within the target region based on the image data (Paragraph 0056 teaches that the reference location can be a reference point. Paragraph 0078 teaches that the probe is placed at a reference location. Paragraph 0098 teaches that the reference location can be stored along with the coordinate value and its corresponding anatomical information);
determining superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior-most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior-most probe location (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus. Fig. 8 shows inferior and superior tips to be opposing to one another); and
determining lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Jago with Ryu’s teaching of the consideration of all three dimensions and with respect to a reference point. This modified method would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-13, 16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Mienkina (PGPUB No. US 2016/0000401).
Regarding claim 1, Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
an ultrasound probe configured to transmit ultrasound signals at a target region and receive echoes responsive to the ultrasound signals and generate radio frequency (RF) data corresponding to the echoes (Paragraph 0012 teaches the operation of an ultrasound probe to transmit and receive ultrasound data with respect to patient anatomy. The output is via a RF signal);
one or more image generation processors configured to generate image data from the RF data (Paragraphs 0012-13 teaches the collection of RF signal data and the processing of image data according to the RF data. Fig. 1 shows the controller and the RF processor);
an inertial measurement unit sensor configured to determine an orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0017 teaches the utilization of an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer for the probe position. This probe position includes the orientation with respect to the tissue. Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation);
a probe tracking processor configured to determine a current position of the ultrasound probe relative to the target region based on the image data and the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the position of the probe can be traced with respect to the effects on the ultrasound image and the assessment of the motion and orientation. This is utilized to guide the probe to a desired ROI. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time); and
a user interface configured to display (Fig. 1 shows the user interface with the display):
a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system,
one or more imaging zone graphics overlaid on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol; and
an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged; and
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, comprising:
one or more imaging zone graphics overlaid on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5); and
an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations);
a graphics processor configured to: determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Mienkina teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraph 0015 teaches real time imaging. Paragraph 0010 teaches the display of the images according to the image acquisition protocols for the regions of interest. See Fig. 4); and
a graphics processor configured to:
determine the imaging status is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0034 teaches that the protocol can have a defined number of images. Paragraph 0043 teaches that the image acquisition is based on the protocol and the defined images. Paragraph 0056 teaches that when the ultrasound images are acquired the number of anatomical structures are imaged, measured, and displayed as per the protocol. Paragraph 0014 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Mienkina’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified apparatus will ensure uniformity and accuracy in the image acquisition and feature measurement process, such that each desired anatomical structure and feature is imaged and measured with minor variability between imaging sessions and operators (Paragraph 0020 of Mienkina). Furthermore, the modification improves diagnostic results and increasing the efficiency of the imaging workflow (Paragraph 0010 of Mienkina).
Regarding claim 2, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the graphics processor is further configured to associate the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the graphics processor is further configured to associate the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of the associating of the probe position with respect to an imaging zone graphic. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches an ultrasound imaging system, further comprising a memory communicatively coupled to the user interface and configured to store at least one acquired ultrasound image corresponding to each of the imaging zones (Fig. 1 shows the user interface connected to the memory. Furthermore, it is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the memory can store images and the image recognition can be performed to assess if the probe position is at the desired position).
Regarding claim 11, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a target region selection, a patient orientation, or both (Paragraph 0022 teaches that the user can input anatomical region that they are imaging and if they are taking an oblique approach. For example, if the user is performing an ultrasound of the renal arteries, they may communicate to the system controller via an input device and/or user interface. Paragraph 0025 teaches the input of the ROI).
Regarding claim 12, Bjaerum teaches a method, comprising:
transmitting ultrasound signals at a target region using an ultrasound probe, receiving echoes responsive to the ultrasound signals, and generating radio frequency (RF) data corresponding to the echoes (Paragraph 0012 teaches the operation of an ultrasound probe to transmit and receive ultrasound data with respect to patient anatomy. The output is via a RF signal);
generating image data from the RF data (Paragraphs 0012-13 teaches the collection of RF signal data and the processing of image data according to the RF data. Fig. 1 shows the controller and the RF processor);
determining an orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0017 teaches the utilization of an accelerometer, gyroscope, magnetometer for the probe position. This probe position includes the orientation with respect to the tissue. Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation);
determining a current position of the ultrasound probe relative to the target region based on the image data and the orientation of the ultrasound probe (Paragraph 0010 teaches the position includes the probe location and orientation. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the position of the probe can be traced with respect to the effects on the ultrasound image and the assessment of the motion and orientation. This is utilized to guide the probe to a desired ROI. Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time);
displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time. Fig. 1 shows the user interface with the display).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a method, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol;
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged, and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a method, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5);
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations),
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified method would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding a method,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Mienkina teaches a method, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraph 0015 teaches real time imaging. Paragraph 0010 teaches the display of the images according to the image acquisition protocols for the regions of interest. See Fig. 4); and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0034 teaches that the protocol can have a defined number of images. Paragraph 0043 teaches that the image acquisition is based on the protocol and the defined images. Paragraph 0056 teaches that when the ultrasound images are acquired the number of anatomical structures are imaged, measured, and displayed as per the protocol. Paragraph 0014 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Mienkina’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified method will ensure uniformity and accuracy in the image acquisition and feature measurement process, such that each desired anatomical structure and feature is imaged and measured with minor variability between imaging sessions and operators (Paragraph 0020 of Mienkina). Furthermore, the modification improves diagnostic results and increasing the efficiency of the imaging workflow (Paragraph 0010 of Mienkina).
Regarding claim 13, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a method, further comprising associating the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a method, further comprising associating the current position of the ultrasound probe with one of the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of the associating of the probe position with respect to an imaging zone graphic. This modified method would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
Regarding claim 16, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
Bjaerum further teaches a method, further comprising storing at least one acquired ultrasound image corresponding to each of the imaging zones (Fig. 1 shows the user interface connected to the memory. Furthermore, it is inherent that a computational system will utilize a processor and memory for the performance of its computational functions. Paragraph 0017 teaches that the memory can store images and the image recognition can be performed to assess if the probe position is at the desired position).
Regarding claim 20, Bjaerum teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions, which when executed cause a processor to:
displaying a live ultrasound image based on the image data (Paragraphs 0014-15 teaches operability in real-time. Paragraph 0014 teaches the display in real time).
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol;
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged, and
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Higuchi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
displaying one or more imaging zone graphics on a target region graphic, wherein the one or more imaging zone graphics correspond to a scan protocol (Paragraph 0035 teaches examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0037 teaches an examination protocol indicates a series of examination including scanning on one or a plurality of scan regions. Examination protocols include heart screening, upper abdomen screening, and blood vessel screening. Fig. 5); and
displaying an imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0035 teaches that the display includes the body and probe mark that indicate the contact position and direction at the time of scanning. The diagnostic indication can include the examination time and can be done in the form of a character string, mark, or graphic pattern representing a measurement result. The examination item includes the scan region and the display condition can mark the targets for ultrasound examinations. Paragraph 0034 teaches the image storage of the acquired images. Paragraph 0041 teaches operation in real time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjaerum with Higuchi’s teaching of imaging zones according to a protocol and the imaging status including the time spend by a probe at a current and previous position and operation in real time for the indication of assessment of the probe position. This modified apparatus would allow the user to improve readability on the screen and facilitate an examination process (Paragraph 0050 of Higuchi). Furthermore, the modification will reduce the operation load in inputting auxiliary diagnosis information (Paragraph 0009 of Higuchi).
However, Higuchi is silent regarding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,
wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Mienkina teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the imaging status indicates whether each imaging zone represented by one of the imaging zone graphics is in one of at least three states including: has been imaged, is currently being imaged, and has yet to be imaged (Paragraph 0015 teaches real time imaging. Paragraph 0010 teaches the display of the images according to the image acquisition protocols for the regions of interest. See Fig. 4);
determining that the imaging status of the imaging zone is transitioned from a state of currently being imaged to a state of has been imaged based on at least one of i) a time spent by the probe at the current position and a previous position, ii) a time by the probe at the imaging zone, and iii) a number of ultrasound images obtained at the current position and the previous position (Paragraph 0034 teaches that the protocol can have a defined number of images. Paragraph 0043 teaches that the image acquisition is based on the protocol and the defined images. Paragraph 0056 teaches that when the ultrasound images are acquired the number of anatomical structures are imaged, measured, and displayed as per the protocol. Paragraph 0014 teaches the image storage of the acquired images).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Mienkina’s teaching of the indication of an imaging status. This modified apparatus will ensure uniformity and accuracy in the image acquisition and feature measurement process, such that each desired anatomical structure and feature is imaged and measured with minor variability between imaging sessions and operators (Paragraph 0020 of Mienkina). Furthermore, the modification improves diagnostic results and increasing the efficiency of the imaging workflow (Paragraph 0010 of Mienkina).
Regarding claim 21, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Bjaerum is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics is updated in real time.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe guidance for ultrasound imaging, Mienkina teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the imaging status of each imaging zone represented by the imaging zone graphics is updated in real time (Paragraph 0015 teaches real time imaging. Paragraph 0010 teaches the display of the images according to the image acquisition protocols for the regions of interest. See Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum and Higuchi with Mienkina’s teaching of real-time operability. This modified apparatus will ensure uniformity and accuracy in the image acquisition and feature measurement process, such that each desired anatomical structure and feature is imaged and measured with minor variability between imaging sessions and operators (Paragraph 0020 of Mienkina). Furthermore, the modification improves diagnostic results and increasing the efficiency of the imaging workflow (Paragraph 0010 of Mienkina).
Claims 4, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Mienkina (PGPUB No. US 2016/0000401) further in view of Takagi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0137984).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the user interface is further configured to receive a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Takagi’s teaching of the input of a severity of cancer into an ultrasound image that represents anatomy. This modified apparatus would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 15, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding a method, further comprising receiving a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches a method, further comprising receiving a user input tagging at least one of the imaging zone graphics with a severity level of a potential medical condition (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Takagi’s teaching of the input of a severity of cancer into an ultrasound image that represents anatomy. This modified method would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 16, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding a method, further wherein storing comprises spatially tagging the at least one ultrasound image with the corresponding imaging zone.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding medical assessment of a patient for a specific ROI, Takagi teaches a method, further wherein storing comprises spatially tagging the at least one ultrasound image with the corresponding imaging zone (Paragraph 0094 teaches that the user can input a determination operation into the ROI with respect to a plane of interest. This allows for the candidate of a tumor region within an image to be stored. This stored image can then be subsequently produced and displayed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Takagi’s teaching of tagging of ultrasound image with an imaging zone. This modified method would allow the user to assess types of tumors with high degree of accuracy (Paragraph 0175 of Takagi). Furthermore, the modification allows the assessment of multiple ROIs (Paragraph 0177 of Takagi).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Mienkina (PGPUB No. US 2016/0000401) further in view of Oh et al. (PGPUB No. US 2015/0209015).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe positioning for ultrasound imaging, Oh teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data (Paragraph 0132 teaches the utilization of the coordinate information of the rib to assess the position of the probe with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Oh’s teaching of the use of a rib as a reference to acquire other anatomical features. This modified apparatus would allow the user to ensure proper acquisition of additional points according to the rib position of the patient (Paragraph 0132 of Oh). Furthermore, the modification addresses the issue of the operator’s need to accurately and quickly detect a patient's respiration or movement based on real-time ultrasound images in order to perform an operation (Paragraph 0006 of Oh).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the reference point comprises a rib number, wherein the rib number is associated with a rib of a patient being examined.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding probe positioning for ultrasound imaging, Oh teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the reference point comprises a rib number, wherein the rib number is associated with a rib of a patient being examined (Paragraph 0132 teaches the utilization of the coordinate information of the rib to assess the position of the probe with respect to the solar plexus. Fig 4A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Oh’s teaching of the use of a rib as a reference to acquire other anatomical features. This modified apparatus would allow the user to ensure proper acquisition of additional points according to the rib position of the patient (Paragraph 0132 of Oh). Furthermore, the modification addresses the issue of the operator’s need to accurately and quickly detect a patient's respiration or movement based on real-time ultrasound images in order to perform an operation (Paragraph 0006 of Oh).
Claims 7, 9-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjaerum (PGPUB No. US 2017/0086785) in view of Higuchi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2013/0109970) in view of Mienkina (PGPUB No. US 2016/0000401) further in view of Ryu et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0104287).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 1, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured identify a reference point within the target region based on the image data
(Paragraph 0056 teaches that the reference location can be a reference point. Paragraph 0078 teaches that the probe is placed at a reference location. Paragraph 0098 teaches that the reference location can be stored along with the coordinate value and its corresponding anatomical information).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Ryu’s teaching of identification of a reference point within a target region. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 9, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 7, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured to determine superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior- most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior- most probe location.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is configured to determine superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior- most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior- most probe location (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus. Fig. 8 shows inferior and superior tips to be opposing to one another).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Ryu’s teaching of consideration of superior and inferior coordinates of the probe with respect to the reference point. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bjaerum teaches the ultrasound imaging system in claim 9, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is further configured to determine lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches an ultrasound imaging system, wherein the probe tracking processor is further configured to determine lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Ryu’s teaching of the consideration of all three dimensions. This modified apparatus would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Regarding claim 19, modified Bjaerum teaches the method in claim 12, as discussed above.
However, the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina is silent regarding a method, further comprising:
identifying a reference point within the target region based on the image data;
determining superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior-most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior-most probe location; and
determining lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe.
In an analogous imaging field of endeavor, regarding ultrasound imaging of a patient and considering the probe positioning, Ryu teaches a method, further comprising:
identifying a reference point within the target region based on the image data (Paragraph 0056 teaches that the reference location can be a reference point. Paragraph 0078 teaches that the probe is placed at a reference location. Paragraph 0098 teaches that the reference location can be stored along with the coordinate value and its corresponding anatomical information);
determining superior-inferior coordinates of the probe based on the reference point, wherein the superior-inferior coordinates correspond to a superior-most probe location and an inferior-most location probe location that is lower than the superior-most probe location (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus. Fig. 8 shows inferior and superior tips to be opposing to one another); and
determining lateral coordinates of the probe based on the orientation of the probe (Paragraph 0117 teaches that the reference location can be associated to the location information of the liver. The liver location can be represented in an anterior-posterior direction, a superior-inferior direction and a left-right direction. The coordinate information can be associated to the superior and inferior tips of the liver with respect to the solar plexus).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Bjaerum, Higuchi, and Mienkina with Ryu’s teaching of the consideration of all three dimensions and with respect to a reference point. This modified method would allow the user to reduce the error rate and ensure accurate image registration (Paragraph 0134 of Ryu). Furthermore, the modification ensures compatibility with other modalities (Paragraph 0003 of Ryu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schadewaldt et al. (PGPUB No. US 2021/0161508): Teaches assessment of the number of images for protocol-based ultrasound imaging.
Fujihara et al. (PGPUB No. US 2020/0294226): Teaches assessment of imaged regions based on probe-based timing.
Choi et al. (PGPUB No. US 2019/0099160): Teaches assessment of the number of images for protocol-based ultrasound imaging.
Liao et al. (PGPUB No. US 2016/0030002): Teaches determination of probe imaging based on current and prior positioning.
/ADIL PARTAP S VIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798