DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, last line, “50 mass ppm or less” is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. The Examiner suggests removing “mass” so that the claim reads “50 ppm or less”. The Examiner will examine the claim as reading 50 ppm or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tani et al. (“Tani”, US 2020/0176771 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Tani discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (title) and teaches electrolytic solutions (Table 1) containing 5 vol.% methyl acetate (i.e. carboxylic acid ester) and 5 ppm methanol (i.e. hydroxy-group containing compound), which falls within the claimed range of 50 ppm or less.
As to claim 2, Tani teaches including methyl acetate at 5 vol.% (Table 1).
As to claim 4, Tani teaches including methanol (Table 1).
As to claim 6, Tani teaches methyl acetate (Table 1), which reads on the claimed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani, as applied above, and further in view of Kotato et al. (“Kotato”, US 2007/0224514 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Tani is applied as in the 102 rejection above.
Tani does not expressly teach the mass ratio claimed in claim 3 or the diether compound claimed in claim 5.
However, Kotato discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte solution and lithium secondary battery (title) and teaches including diether compounds ([0167]) in any proportion ([0170]) but teaches a range of usually 0.01 weight% or greater and 5 weight% or lower ([0171]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include diether compounds in the electrolytic solution of Tani to inhibit degradation under high voltage ([0171]), as taught by Kotato.
As to the mass ratio, Kotato teaches that if the content is too low, inhibitory effect oof degradation under high voltage may not appear to an adequate degree, and if the proportion is too high, large-current characteristics of the battery may tend to decline ([0171]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to determine the appropriate amount of diether compound to use in Tani through routine experimentation.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746