DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. Applicants election of biodegradable membrane, soy wax and palm wax and abietic acid are acknowledged. The species election has been withdrawn.
Claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/16/2026.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 7/31/2024, 1/28/2025 and 1/21/2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites substantially homogenous mixture. Substantially is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Here, the metes and bounds of claim 10 is indefinite as it is unclear how much of the mixture to be considered “substantially” homogenous, and the instant specification does not set forth amounts which meet having a substantial amount.
Claim 11 recites substantially 30 % w/w and the term substantially is indefinite because substantially is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Here, the metes and bounds of claim 11 is indefinite as it is unclear how much is to be considered “substantially” 30 % w/w, and the instant specification does not set forth amounts which meet having a substantial amount.
Claim 24 recites pine rosin or the list of abietic acid and it is not clear what is meant by the “list of abietic acid”. It is noted that pine rosin is a mixture of abietic acid and other compounds having backbones which are similar to abietic acid so it is not clear if this is inclusive of pine rosin or solely abietic acid. It is unclear what is meant by the “list of abietic acid”.
Claim 25 recites substantially 45% w/w and the term substantially is indefinite because substantially is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Here, the metes and bounds of claim 25 is indefinite as it is unclear how much is to be considered “substantially” 45% w/w, and the instant specification does not set forth amounts which meet having a substantial amount.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10 and 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmermann et al. (US Patent 5037410).
Zimmerman et al. (US Patent 5037410) (hereinafter Zimmerman et al.) disclose disposable articles containing a matrix of waxes (abstract). Examples 1 and 9 disclose sheets containing stabilizer (styrene resin) and waxes such as beeswax (see Examples 1, 9, claims 1-2). These products are biodegradable and the outer cover degrades less than 60 days (Example 9). The waxes can be mixtures of waxes and the ingredients are in a homogenous mixture (Examples 1 and 9). The wax included may be beeswax which is known to have a melting point of at least 70˚C.
5. Claims 1, 5, 7-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klofta et al. (US Patent 9956312).
Klofta et al. (US Patent 9956312) (hereinafter Klofta et al.) disclose
absorbent article with a first acidic stabilizer, second acidic stabilizer (anhydrous citric acid food grade compound), colorant and matrix (carrier) including a tackifier, a low molecular weight polyethylene glycol and high molecular weight polyethylene glycol and water dispersible polymer (formulations) (claim 1). The absorbent core is “substantially cellulose free” however, substantially cellulose free” is defined as used herein to describe an article component, such as an absorbent core, that contains less than 10% by weight cellulosic fibers, less than 5% cellulosic fibers, less than 1% cellulosic fibers, no cellulosic fibers, or no more than an immaterial amount of cellulosic fibers thus an embodiment inclusive of a small amounts of cellulose fibers. Waxes are included such as microcrystalline wax (Table 1).
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann et al. (US Patent 5037410) in view of Gavel et al. (US 20120045604).
Zimmermann et al. has been discussed supra in the 102. With regards to the fibrous material and cellulose, Zimmermann et al. discloses a variety of fillers are included which include cellulose fibers (example 9). Zimmerman further discloses that the wax at 30 % (claim 2). Paraffin wax and beeswax are disclosed which have different relative harness to each other which have different hardness.
Zimmermann et al. does not disclose the stabilizer is selected from pine rosin, abietic acid, glycerol ester of wood resin, fumaric modified rosin pentaerythritol ester or mixtures thereof.
Zimmerman disclose modifiers that include starch. Gavel et al. (US 20120045604) (hereinafter Gavel et al.) disclose use of pressure sensitive adhesives in biodegradable films that include starch or pine rosins (para 0084). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute the starch of Zimmerman for the pine rosin. One would have been motivated to do so as these are both art recognized pressure sensitive adhesives. Simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results as both are art recognized adhesives for use in biodegradable films.
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615