DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 6/22/23.
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-12 and 17-19 with CD3, CD33 and CD123 as first, second and third target molecule as elected species without traverse in the reply filed on 3/24/26 has been acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 14-16 and 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142 (b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 1-12 and 17-19 readable upon CD3, CD33 and CD123 as elected species are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 7/24/23 has been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 11/9/23 has been acknowledged.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
8. Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2013/0224859.
The ‘859 publication teaches DNA origami device comprising latch and aptamer staples comprising multiple cargo moieties on opposite sides as in Fig 1 which reads on a claimed nucleic acid nanostructure comprising at least 3 targeting agents on multiple surfaces (p. 2-3). In addition, the device is in nanoscale shape ([0019]) and meets claimed nanostructure. Given that the aptamer and latch staples comprise different sizes readable upon longitudinal and transverse axes and they meet the claimed limitation. The cargo moieties bound on aptamer are able to bind target cells of interest (p. 4) and the target cells of interest includes NK cells, cancer cells and bacterial or virus cells (p.5, [0058]). Further, the moieties bound on DNA origami structure includes antibody, Fc or fragments thereof ([0045-0050]) and the origami device improves delivery to target cells.
Moreover, the ‘859 publication teaches sizes of axis (e.g. structured dimension of the device) and surface size varies 45nm to 500nm (note [0022]) and it meets the limitations of one seze is at least 15nm and maximum size is less than 1000nm as in claim 6 of the claimed invention.
In addition, the ‘859 publication teaches DNA origami structure includes one single scaffold strand and oligonucleotide strand and staples strands are complementary (note claims) and Example 2 uses CD33 and other CD marker combinations. Therefore, the reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
10. Claims 1-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2013/0224859 in view of U.S.Pub 2019/0269728.
The teachings of the ‘859 publication have been discussed, supra.
The disclosure of the ‘859 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the combination of the CD3, CD33 and CD123 in target agents and a composition thereof as in claims 8 and 11 of the instant application.
The ‘728 publication teaches use of target agent combination including CD33 and CD123 in facilitating Tcell delivery (p.9, claims). The markers may be linked or combined to improve effectiveness in cancer therapy and T cell targeting.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize specific combination of markers taught by the ‘728 publications into the DNA origami compositions taught by the ‘859 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization DNA origami device improve targeted delivery to T cells and CD3 and CD33 improve therapeutic efficacy.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
12. Claims 1-12 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Application No. 18/286,003.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘003 application recites a DNA nanostructure comprising multiple axis and binding moieties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
13. Claims 1-12 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-11 of U.S. Application No. 17/620,851.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘851 application recites a DNA nanostructure comprising multiple axis and binding moieties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
14. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
May 28, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641