DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0246173).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Kim discloses a silicon-carbon composite negative electrode active material comprising:
a silicon-carbon composite negative electrode active material;
artificial graphite; and
a carbon nanotube structure (para 0133).
The carbon nanotube structure is composed of single-walled carbon nanotube units having an average diameter of 1.5 nm and an average length of 5 µm (para 0120).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the artificial graphite has a D50 of 21 µm (para 0133) and the SiO having an average particle diameter of 6.6 µm (para 0130).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the amount of carbon nanotubes included in the negative electrode active material layer is 0.1 wt.% (para 0133).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses SiOx (0 ≤ x < 2) and be may specifically SiO, i.e., x =1 (para 0031).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Kim discloses the weight ratio of the silicon-carbon composite negative electrode active material to graphite is 15:85 (para 0133).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the SiO having an average particle diameter of 6.6 µm (para 0130).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a secondary battery may include a negative electrode, a positive electrode, a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and an electrolyte; the negative electrode is the same as the negative electrode described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0246173).
Regarding claim 4, Kim expressly teaches an average length of 5 µm (para 0120); however, the length of the carbon nanotube may be 1 µm to 100 µm, which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 2 µm to 4 µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited length because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Kim expressly teaches carbon nanotubes used in an amount of 0.1 wt.%; however, the amount of carbon nanotubes that may be included may be more specifically 0.01 wt.% to 0.1 wt.% (para 0098), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 0.005 mass% to 0.07 mass%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bae et al. (US 2022/0123289); Chiu et al. (US 2021/0104729); and Kim et al. (US 2022/0238886).
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723