DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of 1-3, 6-15, and 18-20 in the reply filed on 9/2/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4-5 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/2/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 11/28/2023, 12/13/2023, and 7/10/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugita et al (2007/0268245), hereinafter Sugita.
Regarding claim 1, Sugita discloses, in figures 1, 2, and 13, an array substrate (figure 2), applied to a display apparatus (111, unit cell/pixel unit) (paragraph 0075), the display apparatus further comprising a plurality of microcup units (paragraph 0075 discloses a plurality of pixel regions 112a and 112b enclosed with a plurality of bulkheads 9 and see annotated figure 13 below), each of the microcup units comprising at least one microcup, and electrophoretic particles(108a, red particles and 108b, blue particles, 108c, green particles, 108d, magenta particles) being encapsulated in each of the at least one microcup (paragraph 0156); wherein the array substrate comprises a first base (102, substrate) and a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array on the first base (paragraph 0075 discloses a plurality of pixel regions and see figure 13), the plurality of pixel units being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of microcup units (figure 1); each of the pixel units comprising a first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and a first common electrode (105, upper electrode) that are disposed on the first base (102, substrate) (paragraph 0076); and the array substrate further comprises an insulating layer (110a, first insulating layer and 110b, second insulating layer) covering the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and the first common electrode (105, upper electrode) of each of the pixel units (pixel regions) (paragraph 0076), a surface of the insulating layer (110a, first insulating layer and 110b, second insulating layer) facing away from the first base (102, substrate) being provided with grooves/a groove (106a, first opening and 106b, second opening) corresponding to the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and/or the first common electrode (105, upper electrode) of each of the pixel units (paragraph 0076), a width of the groove being less than that of the corresponding electrode (see annotated figure 13 below), the groove being configured to gather the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup (paragraph 0078 discloses a plurality of charged particles move and change to the state of the first and second openings).
Regarding claim 2, Sugita discloses wherein the surface of the insulating layer (110a, first insulating layer and 110b, second insulating layer) facing away from the first base (102, substrate) is provided with the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) (paragraph 0076), and the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles (108a-108d) in the corresponding microcup when the corresponding pixel unit is in a transmissive display mode, so that the electrophoretic particles are gathered into the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) (paragraph 0101 discloses that the red particles are assembled in the first opening 106a provided in the lower electrode 104); and/or the surface of the insulating layer facing away from the first base is provided with the groove corresponding to the first common electrode, and the first common electrode is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup when the corresponding pixel unit is in the transmissive display mode, so that the electrophoretic particles are gathered into the groove corresponding to the first common electrode (105, upper electrode) (paragraph 0102 discloses that the blue particles are assembled in the second opening 106b provided in the upper electrode 105).
Regarding claim 3, Sugita discloses wherein the groove comprises a bottom and a side wall connected to the bottom (see annotated figure 1); the side wall being perpendicular to the bottom, or an angle between the side wall and the bottom being an acute angle, or the angle between the side wall and the bottom being an obtuse angle.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Sugita discloses wherein the microcup comprises two types of electrophoretic particles (108a and 108b, charged particles) with different colors and different electrical properties (paragraph 0075 discloses two kinds of charged particles are red and blue and have different charge performance); and the surface of the insulating layer facing away from the first base is provided with the grooves respectively corresponding to the first pixel electrode and the first common electrode, and when the pixel unit is in the transmissive display mode, the first pixel electrode is configured to attract one type of the electrophoretic particles in the microcup into the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode, and the first common electrode is configured to attract the other type of the electrophoretic particles in the microcup into the groove corresponding to the first common electrode (paragraph 0078 discloses potential difference between respective electrodes enables a plurality of charged particles to move and to change to the state of assembling in the first opening 106a, the state of assembling in the second opening 106b; paragraph 0101 discloses that the red particles are assembled in the first opening 106a provided in the lower electrode 104; paragraph 0102 discloses that the blue particles are assembled in the second opening 106b provided in the upper electrode 105); or the microcup comprises electrophoretic particles in one color; and the surface of the insulating layer facing away from the first base is provided with the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode or the first common electrode, and when the pixel unit is in the transmissive display mode, the first pixel electrode or the first common electrode corresponding to the groove is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles in the microcup into the groove; or the microcup comprises electrophoretic particles in one color; and the surface of the insulating layer facing away from the first base is provided with grooves respectively corresponding to the first pixel electrode and the first common electrode, and when the pixel unit is in the transmissive display mode, the first pixel electrode is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles in the microcup into the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode, or the first common electrode is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles in the microcup into the groove corresponding to the first common electrode.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Sugita discloses wherein each of the pixel units comprises a plurality of first pixel electrodes and a plurality of first common electrodes (105, upper electrodes), the plurality of first pixel electrodes (104, lower electrodes) extending along a first direction and being arranged apart along a second direction, and the plurality of first common electrodes (105, upper electrodes) extending along the first direction and being arranged apart along the second direction (see figure 2); each of the first pixel electrodes (104, lower electrodes) being disposed between two adjacent first common electrodes (see figure 1), or each of the first common electrodes being disposed between two adjacent first pixel electrodes, wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Sugita discloses wherein each of the microcup units comprises electrophoretic particles in one color, and each of the at least one microcup corresponds to at least one first pixel electrode (104, upper electrode) and at least one first common electrode (105, upper electrode) comprised in the corresponding pixel unit (paragraphs 0075-0076); and when the pixel unit is in a non-transmissive display mode, the first pixel electrode and the first common electrode are configured to generate a first driving electric field in the corresponding microcup to control the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup to move along a direction parallel to the first base (paragraph 0105), so that the electrophoretic particles are evenly dispersed in an electrophoretic fluid; wherein an electric field direction of the first driving electric field is a direction parallel to the first base (figure 3d and paragraphs 0102 and 0103).
Regarding claim 9, Sugita discloses wherein the display apparatus further comprises a second base (101, transparent substrate) disposed opposite the array substrate (102, substrate) and a second common electrode (103, opposite electrode) disposed on the second base (101, transparent base) (paragraph 0076) (figure 1), and the plurality of microcup units are disposed between the array substrate and the second common electrode (103, opposite substrate) (figure 1); each of the at least one microcup corresponds to the second common electrode (103, opposite electrode) and at least one first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and at least one first common electrode (105, upper electrode) comprised in the corresponding pixel unit (figure 1 and paragraph 0076); when the pixel unit is in a non-transmissive display mode, the first pixel electrode and the first common electrode are configured to generate a first driving electric field in the corresponding microcup to control the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup to move along a direction parallel to the first base (paragraphs 0077-0078), so that the electrophoretic particles are evenly dispersed in an electrophoretic fluid (107, transmissive solvent) (paragraph 0090); and the first pixel electrode and the second common electrode are configured to generate a second driving electric field in the corresponding microcup to cause the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup to move towards the first pixel electrode or the second common electrode according to electrical properties of the electrophoretic particles and an electric field direction of the second driving electric field (paragraph 0105); wherein an electric field direction of the first driving electric field is a direction parallel to the first base, and the electric field direction of the second driving electric field is a direction perpendicular to the first base (figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Sugita discloses wherein each of the pixel units further comprises a thin film transistor (121a and 121b, transistors) and at least one second pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode being electrically connected to the plurality of first pixel electrodes comprised in the corresponding pixel unit and a drain of the thin film transistor respectively, the second pixel electrode being configured to electrically connect the plurality of first pixel electrodes comprised in the corresponding pixel unit to the drain of the corresponding thin film transistor respectively (paragraph 0130 discloses the transistors are connected to the upper, lower, and opposite electrodes).
Regarding claim 11, Sugita discloses wherein the insulating layer (110a and 110b, insulating layer) further covers the second pixel electrode, the surface of the insulating layer facing away from the first base is provided with the groove corresponding to the second pixel electrode, and the second pixel electrode is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup when the corresponding pixel unit is in a transmissive display mode, so that the electrophoretic particles are gathered into the groove corresponding to the second pixel electrode (figures 3b and 3c shows the particles within the grooves 106a and 106b).
Regarding claim 12, Sugita discloses, in figures 1, 2, and 13, a display apparatus (electrophoresis display device (paragraph 0075), comprising: a plurality of microcup units (paragraph 0075 discloses a plurality of pixel regions 112a and 112b enclosed with a plurality of bulkheads 9 and see annotated figure 13 below), each of the microcup units comprising at least one microcup, and electrophoretic particles(108a, red particles and 108b, blue particles, 108c, green particles, 108d, magenta particles) being encapsulated in each of the at least one microcup (paragraph 0156); an array substrate, comprises a first base (102, substrate) and a plurality of pixel units arranged in an array on the first base (paragraph 0075 discloses a plurality of pixel regions and see figure 13), the plurality of pixel units being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of microcup units (figure 1); each of the pixel units comprising a first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and a first common electrode (105, upper electrode) that are disposed on the first base (102, substrate) (paragraph 0076); and an insulating layer (110a, first insulating layer and 110b, second insulating layer) covering the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and the first common electrode (105, upper electrode) of each of the pixel units (pixel regions) (paragraph 0076), a surface of the insulating layer (110a, first insulating layer and 110b, second insulating layer) facing away from the first base (102, substrate) being provided with grooves/a groove (106a, first opening and 106b, second opening) corresponding to the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) and/or the first common electrode (105, upper electrode) of each of the pixel units (paragraph 0076), a width of the groove being less than that of the corresponding electrode (see annotated figure 13 below), the groove being configured to gather the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup (paragraph 0078 discloses a plurality of charged particles move and change to the state of the first and second openings) a second base (103, opposite substrate) disposed opposite the array substate (paragraph 0076); and a plurality of microcup units disposed between the array substrate (102, substrate) and the second base (103, opposite substrate), the plurality of microcup units being in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of pixel units comprised in the array substrate (figure 1). Further regarding claim 13, Sugita discloses an electronic device, comprising: a host (paragraph 0173 discloses electronic books, electronic posters, interior electronic hanging advertisements and, in particular, to a color image display appliances).
Regarding claim 14, Sugita discloses wherein the surface of the insulating layer (110a, first insulating layer and 110b, second insulating layer) facing away from the first base (102, substrate) is provided with the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) (paragraph 0076), and the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles (108a-108d) in the corresponding microcup when the corresponding pixel unit is in a transmissive display mode, so that the electrophoretic particles are gathered into the groove corresponding to the first pixel electrode (104, lower electrode) (paragraph 0101 discloses that the red particles are assembled in the first opening 106a provided in the lower electrode 104); and/or the surface of the insulating layer facing away from the first base is provided with the groove corresponding to the first common electrode, and the first common electrode is configured to attract the electrophoretic particles in the corresponding microcup when the corresponding pixel unit is in the transmissive display mode, so that the electrophoretic particles are gathered into the groove corresponding to the first common electrode (105, upper electrode) (paragraph 0102 discloses that the blue particles are assembled in the second opening 106b provided in the upper electrode 105).
Regarding claim 15, Sugita discloses wherein the groove comprises a bottom and a side wall connected to the bottom (see annotated figure 1); the side wall being perpendicular to the bottom, or an angle between the side wall and the bottom being an acute angle, or the angle between the side wall and the bottom being an obtuse angle.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872