DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 01/14/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 16-18, 20-23 and 25 are currently pending.
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 16-18, 20-23 and 25 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8, 16 and 21 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 16-18, 20-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyungmin Park et al. (US 2023/0087615 A1 based on provisional application No. 63/083,026 filed on Sep. 24, 2020), hereinafter Park, in view of Philippe GODIN et al. (US 2024/0023186 A1), hereinafter GODIN.
For claim 1, Park teaches a method performed by a distributed unit (DU) of base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode, a radio resource control (RRC) resume request and uplink data for small data transmission (SDT) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU receives RRC resume request and UL data. Since the UE sends the RRC resume request, the UE is in an inactive mode. See also paragraphs 261-290.);
transferring, to a central unit-control plane (CU-CP) of base station, a first message including an indication associated with the SDT (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request. In other words, the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, a first message including information indicating that the UE is accessing for small data transmission (SDT). See also paragraphs 261-290.);
receiving, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU receives UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) from the gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the UL TEID is the information on the uplink endpoint, the UL TEID is also the information on the DRB and the UL TEID is also the second message. Therefore, Park teaches “receiving, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID)”.);
in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers UE context setup response with DL TEID(s) to gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the DL TEID is the information on the downlink endpoint, the DL TEID is also the third message. Therefore, Park teaches “in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”.); and
forwarding, to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station, the uplink data for SDT over the uplink tunnel (Park, Fig. 24 and paragraph 248 teach the gNB-DU forwards the UL data to the gNB-CU-UP from the UE)
GODIN further teaches DU buffers UL data received from UE before forwarding the UL data to CU-UP (GODIN, Fig. 10 and paragraph 145-147 teaches the DU receives first UL data and buffers the first UL data before forwarding it to the CU-UP.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park with DU buffers UL data received from UE before forwarding the UL data to CU-UP taught in GODIN. Because both Park and GODIN teach SDT between UE, DU and CU, GODIN explicitly teaches the DU buffered the UL data received from the UE before forwarding the UL data to the CU-CP.
For claim 2, Park and GODIN further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the uplink data for SDT is delivered to a user plane function (UPF) via the CU-UP of base station (Park, Fig. 26 and paragraph 283 teach the CU-UP may receive the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data associated with the SDT procedure from the wireless device via the base station distributed unit. The CU-UP may send the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data to at least one of: a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 3, Park and GODIN further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first message further includes the RRC resume request (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request.).
For claim 5, Park and GODIN further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CU-UP of base station, the downlink data over the downlink tunnel, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, UE context setup response with DL TEID(s), in response to the UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) received from the gNB-CU-CP. Park, Fig. 28 teaches the gNB-DU receives, from the gNB-CU-UP, DL data (with end marker). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park to have the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CU-UP of base station, the downlink data over the downlink tunnel, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 8, Park teaches a distributed unit (DU) of base station (Park, Fig. 15, item 1504) in a wireless communication system, the DU of base station comprising:
a transceiver (Park, Fig. 15, items 1510, 1512); and
a controller (Park, Fig. 15, item 1508) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode, a radio resource control (RRC) resume request and uplink data for small data transmission (SDT) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU receives RRC resume request and UL data. Since the UE sends the RRC resume request, the UE is in an inactive mode. See also paragraphs 261-290.);
transfer, to a central unit-control plane (CU-CP) of base station, a first message including an indication associated with the SDT (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request. In other words, the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, a first message including information indicating that the UE is accessing for small data transmission (SDT). See also paragraphs 261-290.);
receive, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU receives UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) from the gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the UL TEID is the information on the uplink endpoint, the UL TEID is also the information on the DRB and the UL TEID is also the second message. Therefore, Park teaches “receiving, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID)”.);
in response to the second message, transfer, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers UE context setup response with DL TEID(s) to gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the DL TEID is the information on the downlink endpoint, the DL TEID is also the third message. Therefore, Park teaches “in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”.); and
forwarding, to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station, the uplink data for SDT over the uplink tunnel (Park, Fig. 24 and paragraph 248 teach the gNB-DU forwards the UL data to the gNB-CU-UP from the UE)
GODIN further teaches DU buffers UL data received from UE before forwarding the UL data to CU-UP (GODIN, Fig. 10 and paragraph 145-147 teaches the DU receives first UL data and buffers the first UL data before forwarding it to the CU-UP.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park with DU buffers UL data received from UE before forwarding the UL data to CU-UP taught in GODIN. Because both Park and GODIN teach SDT between UE, DU and CU, GODIN explicitly teaches the DU buffered the UL data received from the UE before forwarding the UL data to the CU-CP.
For claim 9, Park and GODIN further teach the DU of base station of claim 8, wherein the uplink data for SDT is delivered to a user plane function (UPF) via the CU-UP of base station (Park, Fig. 26 and paragraph 283 teach the CU-UP may receive the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data associated with the SDT procedure from the wireless device via the base station distributed unit. The CU-UP may send the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data to at least one of: a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 10, Park and GODIN further teach the first DU of base station of claim 8, wherein the first message further includes the RRC resume request (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request.).
For claim 12, Park and GODIN further teach the DU of base station of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to receive, from the CU-UP of base station, the downlink data over the downlink tunnel, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, UE context setup response with DL TEID(s), in response to the UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) received from the gNB-CU-CP. Park, Fig. 28 teaches the gNB-DU receives, from the gNB-CU-UP, DL data (with end marker). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park to have the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CU-UP of base station, the downlink data over the downlink tunnel, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 16, Park teaches a method performed by a central unit-control plane (CU-CP) of base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of base station, a first message including an indication associated with small data transmission (SDT) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request. In other words, the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, a first message including information indicating that the UE is accessing for small data transmission (SDT). Since the UE sends the RRC resume request, the UE is in an inactive mode. See also paragraphs 261-290.)); and
transferring, to the DU of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for uplink data for SDT, wherein the uplink tunnel is associated with forwarding the uplink data for SDT, transmitted with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request from a user equipment (UE), to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU receives UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) from the gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the UL TEID is the information on the uplink endpoint, the UL TEID is also the information on the DRB and the UL TEID is also the second message. Therefore, Park teaches “transferring, to the DU of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for uplink data for SDT, wherein the uplink tunnel is associated with forwarding the uplink data for SDT, transmitted with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request from a user equipment (UE), to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station”.);
in response to the second message, receiving, from the DU of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers UE context setup response with DL TEID(s) to gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the DL TEID is the information on the downlink endpoint, the DL TEID is also the third message. Therefore, Park teaches “in response to the second message, receiving, from the DU of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”.);
GODIN further teaches receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of base station, a first message including information indicating that a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode is accessing for small data transmission (SDT) (GODIN, Fig. 10 step 1001 and paragraph 145-147 teach starting SDT procedure, the DU receives RRCResumeRequest and first UL data from the UE in RRC inactive mode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park with GODIN to have receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of base station, a first message including an indication associated with small data transmission (SDT); and transferring, to the DU of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for uplink data for SDT, wherein the uplink tunnel is associated with forwarding the uplink data for SDT, transmitted with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request from a user equipment (UE), to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station; and
in response to the second message, receiving, from the DU of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID) and the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID). Because both Park and GODIN teach SDT between UE, DU and CU, GODIN explicitly teaches receiving, from a first base station operating as a distributed unit (DU), a first message including information indicating that a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode is accessing for small data transmission (SDT).
For claim 17, Park and GODIN further teach the method of claim 16, wherein the uplink data for SDT is delivered to a user plane function (UPF) via the CU-UP of base station (Park, Fig. 26 and paragraph 283 teach the CU-UP may receive the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data associated with the SDT procedure from the wireless device via the base station distributed unit. The CU-UP may send the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data to at least one of: a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 18, Park and GODIN further teach the method of claim 16, wherein the first message further includes the RRC resume request (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request.).
For claim 20, Park and GODIN further teach the method of claim 16, wherein the downlink tunnel is associated with forwarding the downlink data to the DU of base station, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, UE context setup response with DL TEID(s), in response to the UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) received from the gNB-CU-CP. Park, Fig. 28 teaches the gNB-DU receives, from the gNB-CU-UP, DL data (with end marker). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park to have the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CU-UP of base station, the downlink data over the downlink tunnel, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 21, Park teaches central unit- control plane (CU-CP) of base station in a wireless communication system (Park, Fig. 15 item 1504), the CU-CP of base station comprising:
a transceiver (Park, Fig. 15 items 1510, 1512); and
a controller (Park, Fig. 15 item 1508) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a distributed unit (DU) of base station, a first message including an indication associated with small data transmission (SDT) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request. In other words, the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, a first message including information indicating that the UE is accessing for small data transmission (SDT). Since the UE sends the RRC resume request, the UE is in an inactive mode. See also paragraphs 261-290.)); and
transfer, to the DU of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for uplink data for SDT, wherein the uplink tunnel is associated with forwarding the uplink data for SDT, transmitted with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request from a user equipment (UE), to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU receives UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) from the gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the UL TEID is the information on the uplink endpoint, the UL TEID is also the information on the DRB and the UL TEID is also the second message. Therefore, Park teaches “transferring, to the DU of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for uplink data for SDT, wherein the uplink tunnel is associated with forwarding the uplink data for SDT, transmitted with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request from a user equipment (UE), to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station”.);
in response to the second message, receive, from the DU of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers UE context setup response with DL TEID(s) to gNB-CU-CP. In other words, the DL TEID is the information on the downlink endpoint, the DL TEID is also the third message. Therefore, Park teaches “in response to the second message, receiving, from the DU of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”.);
GODIN further teaches receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of base station, a first message including information indicating that a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode is accessing for small data transmission (SDT) (GODIN, Fig. 10 step 1001 and paragraph 145-147 teach starting SDT procedure, the DU receives RRCResumeRequest and first UL data from the UE in RRC inactive mode.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park with GODIN to have receiving, from a distributed unit (DU) of base station, a first message including an indication associated with small data transmission (SDT); and transferring, to the DU of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for uplink data for SDT, wherein the uplink tunnel is associated with forwarding the uplink data for SDT, transmitted with a radio resource control (RRC) resume request from a user equipment (UE), to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station; and
in response to the second message, receiving, from the DU of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID) and the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID). Because both Park and GODIN teach SDT between UE, DU and CU, GODIN explicitly teaches receiving, from a first base station operating as a distributed unit (DU), a first message including information indicating that a user equipment (UE) in an inactive mode is accessing for small data transmission (SDT).
For claim 22, Park and GODIN further teach the CU-CP of base station of claim 21, wherein the uplink data for SDT is delivered to a user plane function (UPF) via the CU- UP of base station (Park, Fig. 26 and paragraph 283 teach the CU-UP may receive the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data associated with the SDT procedure from the wireless device via the base station distributed unit. The CU-UP may send the uplink data and/or the subsequent uplink data to at least one of: a user plane function (UPF).).
For claim 23, Park and GODIN further teach the CU-CP of base station of claim 21, wherein the first message further includes the RRC resume request (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU sends initial UL RRC message transfer message and/or RRC resume request.).
For claim 25, Park and GODIN further teach the CU-CP of base station of claim 21, wherein the downlink tunnel is associated with forwarding the downlink data to the DU of base station, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF) (Park, Fig. 24 teaches the gNB-DU transfers to the gNB-CU-CP, UE context setup response with DL TEID(s), in response to the UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) received from the gNB-CU-CP. Park, Fig. 28 teaches the gNB-DU receives, from the gNB-CU-UP, DL data (with end marker). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Park to have the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CU-UP of base station, the downlink data over the downlink tunnel, the downlink data being forwarded from a user plane function (UPF).).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments (remarks pages 8-9) filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 1, Applicant argues that Park and Godin do not teach the following
limitations (Remarks, pages 7-9):
receiving, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT;
in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data: and
forwarding, to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station, the uplink data for SDT over the uplink tunnel,
wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID) and the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID).
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to the detailed
rejection below, which includes added explanations which address all of the Applicant’s
arguments.
Claim 1 recites that the second message includes information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT; wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID). So, the UL TEID is the information on the uplink endpoint of the uplink tunnel, the UL TEID is also the information on the DRB, the UL TEID is also the second message. Therefore, since Park (Fig. 24) teaches the gNB-DU receives UE context setup request with UL TEID(s) from the gNB-CU-CP, Park teaches “receiving, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT; wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID)”.
Claim 1 further recites “in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data; wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”. So, the DL TEID is the information on the downlink endpoint, the DL TEID is also the third message. Therefore, since Park (Fig. 24) teaches the gNB-DU transfers UE context setup response with DL TEID(s) to gNB-CU-CP, Park teaches “in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data; wherein the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”.
Park (Fig. 24 and paragraph 248) teaches the gNB-DU forwards the UL data to the gNB-CU-UP from the UE. In other words, Park teaches “forwarding, to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station, the uplink data for SDT over the uplink tunnel”.
Therefore, Park and Godin teach “receiving, from the CU-CP of base station, a second message including information on a data radio bearer (DRB), the information on the DRB including information on an uplink endpoint of an uplink tunnel for the uplink data for SDT; in response to the second message, transferring, to the CU-CP of base station, a third message including information on a downlink endpoint of a downlink tunnel for downlink data: and forwarding, to a central unit-user plane (CU-UP) of base station, the uplink data for SDT over the uplink tunnel, wherein the information on the uplink endpoint is an uplink tunnel endpoint identifier (UL TEID) and the information on the downlink endpoint is a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier (DL TEID)”.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412