DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al. (US Serial No. 2019/0088528), in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Serial No. 2005/0191456), as evidenced by Tsujihata et al. (US Serial No. 2014/0023718).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, 6; Kurihara et al. teaches an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer [0248] prepared from ethyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, methyl acrylate, glycidyl acrylate, which is substituted by maleic acid (pKa1 = 1.75) [0130], and benzoyl peroxide (radical polymerization initiator) [0248].
Kurihara et al. fails to teach the composition further comprises 0.02-2.0% by weight of an amine-base polymerization inhibitor. Hashimoto et al. teaches an adhesive sheet for wafer processing, comprising a radiation curing type adhesive layer, wherein the radiation curing type adhesive comprises a radical polymerization initiator, such as phenothiazine [0048]. Hashimoto et al. teaches the radical polymerization initiator is employed in an amount of 500 ppm (0.05 wt%) based on the total composition [Ex2, 0078]. Kurihara et al. and Hashimoto et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely adhesive layer compositions suitable for use in wafer processing. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add 0.05 wt% of a radical polymerization initiator (e.g. phenothiazine), as taught by Hashimoto et al., to the adhesive composition of Kurihara et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to suppress polymerization during storage, thus increasing storage stability, as suggested by Hashimoto et al. [0009].
Tsujihata et al. provides evidence that maleic acid has a pKa1 = 1.75 [0078].
Regarding claim 4; Kurihara et al. teaches, in the preferred embodiment, employing 5 parts glycidyl acrylate, which is substituted by maleic acid; thus the acid is present in an amount of 1.4 wt% (as calculated by Examiner) [0248].
Regarding claim 7; the Examiner makes note that the claimed limitation is merely further defining an optional component, wherein the prior art of record teaches a monomer.
Regarding claim 8; Kurihara et al. teaches the composition may comprise a (meth)acrylamide monomer, such as N-methylol(meth)acrylamide [0129-0103].
Regarding claim 10; Kurihara et al. does not explicitly teach the composition has a viscosity of 200 to 10000 mPa·s at 25°C. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. According to the original specification, the ultraviolet curable resin comprising: a monomer and/or an oligomer having a polymerizable unsaturated double bond; a photopolymerization initiator; a polymerization inhibitor; and an acid having an acid dissociation constant (pKa1) in pure water of 4.0 or less yields viscosity of 200 to 10000 mPa·s at 25°C [0014]. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. viscosity at 25°C, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Regarding claims 11-12; Kurihara et al. teaches a cured film (i.e. product) obtained by laminating the ultraviolet curable adhesive resin (i.e. laminate) [0003, 0030, 0185].
Regarding claim 13-14; Kurihara et al. teaches method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising at least: a step (A) of preparing a structure including a semiconductor wafer having a circuit-formed surface and an adhesive film attached to the circuit-formed surface side of the semiconductor wafer; a step (B) of back grinding a surface on a side opposite to the circuit-formed surface side of the semiconductor wafer; and a step (C) of radiating ultraviolet rays to the adhesive film and then removing the adhesive film from the semiconductor wafer, wherein, as the adhesive film, an adhesive film including a base material layer and an ultraviolet- curable adhesive resin layer provided on one surface side of the base material layer, the adhesive resin layer including an ultraviolet-curable adhesive resin, wherein ultraviolet rays having a main wavelength of 365 nm are radiated to the adhesive resin layer using a high-pressure mercury lamp, thereby photocuring the adhesive resin layer.
Kurihara et al. fails to explicitly teach the same order of steps as required by the instant claim. However, the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is a prima facie case of obviousness in the absence of new or unexpected results. See In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) and In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930), see MPEP §2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to add the photoinitiator with the hydrophobic monomer or after the addition of the hydrophobic monomer, and achieve the same expected outcome of results.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al. (US Serial No. 2019/0088528), in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Serial No. 2005/0191456), as evidenced by Tsujihata et al. (US Serial No. 2014/0023718), as applied to claim 1, and further evidenced by Bartholomew et al. (US Serial No. 2012/0171915)
Kurihara et al. in view of Hashimoto et al. render obvious the basic claimed composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2; Kurihara et al. teaches an ultraviolet curable adhesive layer prepared from ethyl acrylate (SP = 10.20), 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (SP = 9.22), and methyl acrylate (SP = 10.56) [0248]. Phenothiazine has a SP = 12.3 [instant spec, 0049]. Thus, the absolute value different between a solubility parameter (SP) of the inhibitor and all the monomers is less than 4.0 (cal/cm3)1/2.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurihara et al. (US Serial No. 2019/0088528), in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Serial No. 2005/0191456), as evidenced by Tsujihata et al. (US Serial No. 2014/0023718), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Miki et al. (US Serial No. 2013/0029147).
Kurihara et al. in view of Hashimoto et al. render obvious the basic claimed composition, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9; Kurihara et al. teaches the composition may comprise a (meth)acrylamide monomer, such as N-methylol(meth)acrylamide [0129-0103], however fails to teach the (meth)acrylamide monomer having surface tension of 30 to 38 mN/m. Miki et al. teaches a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet, comprising a mixture of (meth)acrylate monomers [0057-0059], further comprising an acrylamide, such as N-methylol(meth) acrylamide and N,N-diethyl acrylamide (surface tension of 33.13 mN/m [instant spec 0036]) [0074]. Therefore, Miki et al. teaches that N-methylol(meth) acrylamide and N,N-diethyl acrylamide are functional equivalents for the purpose of functioning as a (meth)acrylamide monomer in adhesive film compositions. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06).
In the alternative, Kurihara et al. and Miki et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same filed of endeavor, namely compositions suitable for use as adhesive layers. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add the N,N-diethyl acrylamide (surface tension of 33.13 mN/m [instant spec 0036]), as taught by Miki et al., to the adhesive composition of Kurihara et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve high adhesive force and adhesion reliability, as suggested by Mika et al. [0063; 0074].
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/269157 in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Serial No. 2005/0191456). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same art specific subject matter, namely an ultraviolet curable resin composition comprising a monomer and/or oligomer, a photopolymerization initiator, and an acid. The essential difference between the instant application and the copending application is that the instant application further requires 0.02-2.0 % by weight of a amine-based polymerization inhibitor. Hashimoto et al. teaches an adhesive sheet for wafer processing, comprising a radiation curing type adhesive layer, wherein the radiation curing type adhesive comprises a radical polymerization initiator, such as phenothiazine [0048]. Hashimoto et al. teaches the radical polymerization initiator is employed in an amount of 500 ppm (0.05 wt%) based on the total composition [Ex2, 0078]. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add 0.05 wt% of a radical polymerization initiator (e.g. phenothiazine), as taught by Hashimoto et al., to the composition of the copending application, and would have been motivated to do so in order to suppress polymerization during storage, thus increasing storage stability, as suggested by Hashimoto et al. [0009].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767