DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of a bonding strength between the primary macro particles of the secondary micro particles being smaller than the bonding strength between the primary micro particles of the secondary macro particles is indefinite in that it is unclear how the primary macro particles and the primary micro particles are present after the secondary micro particles and the secondary macro particles have been formed. The Examiner is interpreting this limitation of the bonding strength being between the secondary micro particles and the secondary macro particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al (CN 110416511 A).
Liu et al (US 2021/0367236 A1) is being used as the English translation for Liu et al (CN 110416511 A).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery (cathode material and electrochemical device of a lithium ion battery using the same; paragraphs [0005] and [0067]), comprising:
secondary micro particles (second particles composed of a plurality of fourth particles; paragraph [0042]) having a lithium-M oxide coating layer on all or part of a surface (boron coating on second particles; paragraph [0055]), wherein M is selected from boron (boron coating on second particles; paragraph [0055]), wherein an average particle size (D50) of the secondary micro particles is from 3 to 5 µm (second particles each having average particle diameter of about 3 µm to about 5 µm; paragraph [0041]) formed by agglomeration of primary macro particles having an average particle size (D50) of 1 to 3 µm (fourth particles each having an average particle diameter of about 1 µm to about 3 µm; paragraph [0040]); and
secondary macro particles having an average particle size (D50) of 5 to 20 µm (first particles having an average particle diameter of about 5 µm to about 20 µm; paragraph [0037]) formed by agglomeration of primary micro particles having a smaller average particle size (D50) than the primary macro particles (third particles having an average particle diameter of about 200 nm to about 700 nm; paragraph [0036]),
wherein the primary macro particles and the primary micro particles are represented by LiaNi1-b-c-d-CocMncQdO2+δ, wherein 1.0<a<1.5, 0<b<0.2, 0<c<0.2, 0<d<0.1, 0<b+c+d<0.2, -0.1<δ<1.0, and Q is at least one type of metal selected from the group consisting of Al, Mg, V, Ti and Zr (second precursor of an NCM material of LINi0.85Co0.08Mn0.05Mg0.03O2 and a first NCM precursor of LINi0.84Co0.08Mn0.05Mg0.03O2; paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses a positive electrode active material (cathode material and electrochemical device of a lithium ion battery using the same; paragraphs [0005] and [0067]) of claim 1 as noted above and Liu discloses the positive electrode active material comprising a ratio of the average particle size (D50) of the secondary macro particles to the average particle size (D50) of the secondary micro particles is 4:1 (first particles and second particles in a mass ratio of 8:2; paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses a positive electrode active material (cathode material and electrochemical device of a lithium ion battery using the same; paragraphs [0005] and [0067]) of claim 1 as noted above and Liu discloses the positive electrode active material comprising the secondary micro particles are present in an amount of 25 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary macro particles (first particles and second particles in a mass ratio of 8:2; paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses a positive electrode active material (cathode material and electrochemical device of a lithium ion battery using the same; paragraphs [0005] and [0067]) of claim 1 as noted above and Liu discloses the positive electrode active material comprising M in the lithium-M oxide coating layer is selected from boron (boron coating on second particles; paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a positive electrode active material (cathode material and electrochemical device of a lithium ion battery using the same; paragraphs [0005] and [0067]) of claim 1 as noted above and Liu discloses the positive electrode active material comprising M in the lithium-M oxide coating layer is present in an amount of 0.05 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the secondary micro particles (molar percentage of boron element being 0.2%; paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses a positive electrode active material (cathode material and electrochemical device of a lithium ion battery using the same; paragraphs [0005] and [0067]) of claim 1 as noted above and Liu discloses the positive electrode active material comprising a bonding strength between the primary macro particles of the secondary micro particles is smaller than a bonding strength between the primary micro particles of the secondary macro particles (first particles formed by tightly bonding a plurality of third particles and second particles formed by stacking a plurality of fourth particles; paragraph [0035]).
Conclusion
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785