DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending.
An action on the merits is set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-12 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claims cannon depend from any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-4 are indefinite over the phrase “pH of around 9.0 or slightly lower” in claim 1. This phrase is unclear as It is not clear the metes and bounds of the term “slightly lower”. The term “slightly lower” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In particular it is not clear which pH values would be encompassed by the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koninkijke Philips Electronics (EP233105 6/15/2011 cited on IDS.)
With regard to claim 1, Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches providing a sample with eukaryotic cells containing a microorganism (paragraph 58). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches a method of adding a nonionic detergent and a buffer (paragraph 59). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the pH can be 9 (table 1). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the ratio between the added detergent and buffer and the sample can be 2:1 and 1:10 (para 14). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the solution is incubated to lyse the cells (para 58-59).
With regard to claims 2-3, Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the non-ionic detergent is present at 1% w/v or v/v (para 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koninkijke Philips Electronics (EP233105 6/15/2011 cited on IDS.) in view of Adie et al. (US Patent Application 8192958 June 5, 2012) cited on IDS).
Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches providing a sample with eukaryotic cells containing a microorganism (paragraph 58). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches a method of adding a nonionic detergent and a buffer (paragraph 59). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the pH can be 9 (table 1). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the ratio between the added detergent and buffer and the sample can be 2:1 and 1:10 (para 14). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant teaches that the solution is incubated to lyse the cells (para 58-59). Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant provides some examples of non-ionic detergents such as HLB, nonidet, Brij, Tween, octylgucoside and triton (para 15). However, Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant does not teach the use of polidocanol.
With regard to claim 4, Adie et al teaches a method lysing eukaryotic cells that contain bacterial, fungal, viral cells (para 8). Adie et al. teaches incubating the sample in the presence of a buffering solution and 0.5 to 5% V/V polidocanol (para 18).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant to use any functionally equivalent non-ionic detergent such as polidocanol as taught by Adie et al. It would be obvious to substitute one known non-ionic detergent for another as these detergents perform the same function in the solution of Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant. As Adie et al. teaches that polidocanol can be used in the same method as Koninkijke Philips Electronics applicant to lyse eukaryotic cells comprise bacteria cells, the ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success of using polidocanol in the method of lysing.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682