DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the storage part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this office action, “the storage part” will be interpreted as “the central part”. Further, claim 9 discloses “the storage part” also at line 3 and will be interpreted same as above. Further still, claims 8-9 are rejected since they depend from claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2015/0) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0170437).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-9, Takahashi et al. discloses in Figs 1-25, a battery cell (ref 40) that has a curved shape (Figs 2A-C, [0051]) so that a cross section (Figs 2A-C) of the battery cell (ref 40) has a curve (ref 1802, [0051], Figs 2A-C), wherein both-sided face sealing parts (refs 17, 15, Fig 6D) of a battery case ([0094], ref 10) are sealed by UV glue coating ([0043]) based on a direction (Figs 2A-C, Fig 6D) in which electrode leads (refs 16) are formed.
Takahashi et al. does not explicitly disclose a cutting part is formed at a central part in the longitudinal direction of each of the both-sided face sealing parts, the cutting part is formed within a point of 1/3 to 2/3 of the total length of the both-sided face sealing parts in the direction in which the electrode leads are formed, the cutting part is cut from the outer end of the both-sided face sealing part in an inward direction toward the storage part of the battery case so that a stress due to the curve of the batter cell is not concentrated in the center, the cutting part is formed in a V-shape, the cutting part is formed to a depth of 10 – 70% based on a sealing width from an outer end of the both-sided face sealing parts toward the storage part of the battery case
Lee et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery cell (ref 200) including an electrode assembly (ref 230) in a pouch casing (ref 250). The pouch casing (ref 250) has edge sealing parts (refs 221-224) with included V-shaped cut recesses (refs 210) at a mid-length (Fig 2) of the cell (ref 200). The V-shaped cut recesses (refs 210) are cut to a depth of between 10 – 70% of a width (ref W, Fig 2, [0062]) the edge sealing parts (refs 222, 223). This configuration enhances the structural integrity and performance of the battery ([0082], [0015], [0016]).
Takahashi et al. and Lee et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the V-shaped cut structure disclosed by Lee et al. into the battery of Takahashi et al. to enhance the structural integrity and performance of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cross section of the battery cell (ref 40) in a direction in which the electrode lead (ref 16) is formed has a curve (Figs 2A-C, [0188]) in which both side ends (refs 15, 17) are bent together in the same direction (Figs 2A-C, [0188]) with respect to the central part (Figs 2A-C, [0188]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a curvature radius R (ref 1802) of the curve (Figs 2A-C) of the battery cell (ref 40) is 90 – 100 mm ([0049]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the battery case is a pouch-type battery case ([0094], Fig 6D) made of a laminate sheet ([0094]) including a resin layer ([0094]) and a metal layer ([0094]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the both-sided face sealing parts (refs 15, 17) are bent in the direction (Figs 2A-C) of the battery cell (ref 40).
Regarding claim 10, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a UV glue coating ([0043]) is further formed on a cutting surface ([0043] discloses UV adhesive sealing across refs 17, 15) of the cutting part (see Claim 1 above, in view of Lee et al., envisaged combination has UV coating on cut structure).
Regarding claim 11, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the UV glue coating ([0043]) is a coating in which a UV curable material is cured ([0043]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Takahashi et al. discloses in Figs 1-25, a battery module ([0198]) comprising the battery cell (ref 40) as set forth above.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2015/0) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0170437) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2021/0031462).
Regarding claim 12, modified Takahashi et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not disclose the UV curable material comprises at least one of unsaturated polyester-based materials, polyester acrylates, epoxy acrylates, or urethane acrylates.
Choi discloses in Figs 1-9, a battery including a UV cured sealing adhesive comprising urethane acrylates ([0058]). This composition enhances performance of the adhesive sealing material ([0058]).
Takahashi et al. and Choi are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the UV cured urethane acrylate disclosed by Choi into the battery of Takahashi et al. to enhance the adhesive sealing of the battery, thereby enhancing overall battery structural integrity and performance.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725