Applicant’s 8-19-26 election of the invention of Group I, without traverse, and further election of the species of invention wherein the species of recombinant nucleic acid of claim 219 is “SEQ ID NO: 404;” wherein “the IL-15 and IL-15Rα are operatively linked such that IL-15/IL-15Rα is produced as a single molecule and is membrane bound;” wherein the antigen binding domain “binds CD70;” and wherein the sub-species of “IL-15 and IL-15Rα which are operatively linked such that IL-15/IL-15Rα is produced as a single molecule and is membrane bound” is “comprised within SEQ ID NO: 404.”
Upon further consideration, the species of antigen binding domain has been extended to include an antigen binding domain that “binds CD19.”
Claims 219-247 are pending.
Claims 228, 246 and 247 are withdrawn.
Claims 219-227 and 229-245 are under examination as they read on the species of invention wherein the species of recombinant nucleic acid of claim 219 is “SEQ ID NO: 404;” wherein “the IL-15 and IL-15Rα are operatively linked such that IL-15/IL-15Rα is produced as a single molecule and is membrane bound;” wherein the antigen binding domain “binds CD70;” and wherein the sub-species of “IL-15 and IL-15Rα which are operatively linked such that IL-15/IL-15Rα is produced as a single molecule and is membrane bound;” is “comprised within SEQ ID NO: 404.”
The meaning of Claim 221
Claim 221 is drawn to “the recombinant nucleic acid molecule of claim 219, wherein the first nucleic acid sequence and the second nucleic acid sequence are operatively linked by a first linker comprising a protease cleavage site.” According to the specification, e.g., at para 0033-34,
“[0033] In some aspects, provided herein is a cell comprising a first nucleic acid sequence encoding a T cell receptor (TCR) fusion protein (TFP) wherein the TFP comprises a TCR subunit comprising at least a portion of a TCR extracellular domain, and a TCR transmembrane domain, and an antigen binding domain; and wherein the TCR subunit and the antigen binding domain are operatively linked, and a second nucleic acid sequence encoding an interleukin-15 receptor alpha (IL-15Ra) polypeptide or a fragment thereof.
[0034] In some embodiments, the first nucleic acid sequence and the second nucleic acid sequence are included in a single nucleic acid molecule. In some embodiments, the first nucleic acid sequence and the second nucleic acid sequence are included in two separate nucleic acid molecules. In some embodiments, the first nucleic acid sequence and the second nucleic acid sequence are operatively linked by a first linker. In some embodiments, the first linker comprises a protease cleavage site. In some embodiments, the protease cleavage site is a 2A cleavage site.”
When claim 221 is given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the teachings of the instant specification and the knowledge in the prior art the phrase “protease cleavage site” would be understood by the ordinarily skilled artisan to refer to any of several “2A” type cleavage sites, even if said “2A” type cleavage sites are not technically dependent on a protease for cleavage was once considered in the prior art (see Kim et al., PLoS ONE 6(4): e18556, pages 1-8, cited on an IDS, at page 1-2 bridging paragraph).
Claim(s) 219-227 and 229-245 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baeuerle et al. (20190276540, cited on an IDS) in view of Hurton et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2016 Nov 29;113(48):E7788-E7797 and Supporting Information Appendix pages 1-40, hereinafter “Hurton 1,” cited on an IDS) and Hurton et al. (“Rapid Personalized Manufacture (RPM) of Sleeping Beauty System-generated NY-ESO-1-specific TCR-T Cells Co-expressing Membrane-bound IL-15 Yields Antitumor Responses,” December 8, 2019, American Society of Hematology (ASH) Annual Meeting & Exposition, Orlando, Florida, Poster Presentation, 1 page, hereinafter “Hurton 2,” cited herewith), and Kim et al. (PLoS ONE 6(4): e18556, pages 1-8, cited on an IDS), as evidenced by Tipanee et al. (Bioscience Reports (2017) 37 BSR20160614),
Genbank “NM_000585.4,” pages 1-4 and Genbank “NM_002189.3,” pages 1-4 (all cited herewith).
Baeuerle teaches “an isolated recombinant nucleic acid molecule encoding a T-cell receptor (TCR) fusion protein (TFP) comprising: a TCR subunit comprising at least a portion of a TCR extracellular domain, and a TCR intracellular domain comprising a stimulatory domain from an intracellular signaling domain selected from the group consisting of CD3 epsilon, CD3 gamma, CD3 delta, TCR alpha, and TCR beta; and an antigen domain comprising a ligand or a fragment thereof that binds to a receptor or polypeptide expressed on a surface of a cell; wherein the TCR subunit and the antigen domain are operatively linked, and wherein the TFP incorporates into a TCR when expressed in a T-cell.” (see para 0010).
Baeuerle teaches a T-cell receptor (TCR) fusion proteins (TFPs) having specificity for one or more tumor cell associated antigens, such as CD19 or a ligand recognized by NKG2D, such as MICA, MICB, ULBPs, etc. (see paras 4 and 43-46).
For example, at para 0025 Baeuerle teaches a TFP comprising NKG2D:
“In some aspects, provided herein is an isolated recombinant nucleic acid molecule encoding a T-cell receptor (TCR) fusion protein (TFP) comprising: a TCR subunit comprising at least a portion of a TCR extracellular domain, and a TCR intracellular domain comprising a stimulatory domain from an intracellular signaling domain of CD3 epsilon; and an antigen domain comprising a ligand that is a Natural Killer Group 2D (NKG2D) ligand or a fragment thereof; wherein the TCR subunit and the antigen domain are operatively linked, and wherein the TFP incorporates into a TCR when expressed in a T-cell.” Furthermore, as described in para 32, a TFP comprising NKG2D may comprise monomeric or dimeric NKG2D.
The TFPs of Baeuerle having structures consistent with the TFPs of the instant claims as shown for example in Baeuerle Figs. 1B and 5 reproduced below:
Note that Figure 1 is taught by Baeuerle to be a schematic illustration of the constructs described in Example 1, wherein Example 1 teaches a CD3ε sequence comprising a CD3ε transmembrane domain and a CD3ε intracellular domain (see SEQ ID NOs: 126-128 and 124).
At para 439 Baeuerle teaches “The antibodies or TFP-modified T cells of the present invention may be administered either alone, or as a pharmaceutical composition in combination with diluents and/or with other components such as IL-2, IL-7, IL-12, IL-15 or other cytokines or cell populations.” (emphasis added).
Paras 0007 and 0350 describe various advantages of the TFP-modified T cells of Baeuerle:
“[0007] Besides the ability of genetically modified T cells expressing a CAR or a second TCR to recognize and destroy respective target cells in vitro/ex vivo, successful patient therapy with engineered T cells requires the T cells to be capable of strong activation, expansion, persistence over time, and, in case of relapsing disease, to enable a ‘memory’ response. High and manageable clinical efficacy of CAR T cells is currently limited to mesothelin-positive B cell malignancies and to NY-ESO-1-peptide-expressing synovial sarcoma patients expressing HLA-A2. There is a clear need to improve genetically engineered T cells to more broadly act against various human malignancies. Described herein are novel fusion proteins of TCR subunits, including CD3 epsilon, CD3gamma and CD3 delta, and of TCR alpha and TCR beta chains with binding domains specific for cell surface antigens that have the potential to overcome limitations of existing approaches. Described herein are novel fusion proteins that more efficiently kill target cells than CARs, but release comparable or lower levels of pro-inflammatory cytokines. These fusion proteins and methods of their use represent an advantage for T-cell receptor (TCR) fusion proteins (TFPs) relative to CARs because elevated levels of these cytokines have been associated with dose-limiting toxicities for adoptive CAR-T therapies.”
“[0350] The intracellular signaling domain of the TFP can comprise the CD3 zeta signaling domain by itself or it can be combined with any other desired intracellular signaling domain(s) useful in the context of a TFP of the invention. For example, the intracellular signaling domain of the TFP can comprise a CD3 epsilon chain portion and a costimulatory signaling domain. The costimulatory signaling domain refers to a portion of the TFP comprising the intracellular domain of a costimulatory molecule. A costimulatory molecule is a cell surface molecule other than an antigen receptor or its ligands that is required for an efficient response of lymphocytes to an antigen. Examples of such molecules include CD27, CD28, 4-1BB (CD137), OX40, CD30, CD40, PD1, ICOS, lymphocyte function-associated antigen-1 (LFA-1), CD2, CD7, LIGHT, NKG2C, B7-H3, and a ligand that specifically binds with CD83, and the like. For example, CD27 costimulation has been demonstrated to enhance expansion, effector function, and survival of human TFP-T cells in vitro and augments human T-cell persistence and antitumor activity in vivo (Song et al. Blood. 2012; 119(3):696-706).”
However, Baeuerle does not teach the production of a recombinant nucleic acid as recited in claim 1 further comprising “…a second nucleic acid sequence encoding an interleukin-15 (IL-15) polypeptide or a fragment thereof and/or an IL-15 (IL-15R) polypeptide or a fragment thereof.”
Hurton 1 demonstrates T cells genetically modified to express a CD19-specific CAR as well as an IL-15-IL-15Rα fusion protein (designated “mbIL15”) were able to sustain functional IL-15 signaling and antigen-specific response in vitro even in the long-term absence of CAR-mediated
Activation (see page E7790-91 bridging paragraph), and further describes how these “mabIL15-CAR T cells” exhibits a molecular profile and phenotype associated with TSCM, consistent with their ability to persist for 65 days in the absence of antigen stimulation in vitro (see Fig S3(B)).
Said T cells persisting in culture for >65 d are referred to by Hurton 1 as “AWD-T cells” (“antigen withdraw-T cells”)(see Fig. 2 legend). Among the cell surface markers associated with mbIL15-CAR T cells, increased expression of CD27, which is a cell-surface markers associated with memory, as well as CD45RA expression were observed in AWD-mbIL15-CAR cells (see Figs. 2B-F).
Moreover, Hurton 1 confirmed the above described in vitro results in an in vivo animal model setting:
“To assess if mbIL15-CAR T cells maintain prolonged persistence in vivo without CAR-mediated signaling, genetically modified T cells [mbIL15±-CAR-firefly luciferase (ffLuc)] were administered to mice without tumor or exogenous cytokine support and monitored for 48–50 d. Control CAR T cells did not persist, whereas mbIL15-CAR T cells persisted without apparent autonomous growth and were detected primarily in the bone marrow (BM) and spleen (Fig. 4 A and B and SI Appendix, Fig. S6A). Thus, it appears that mbIL15 provides sufficient support to sustain T-cell persistence in a CAR-independent manner….”
Hurton 1 concludes, “…The heterogeneous mbIL15-CAR T-cell cultures show the emergence of TSCM both in vitro and in vivo when removed from antigen. This preserved potential may have clinical appeal, because the least differentiated T-cell subset mediated the greatest therapeutic potential (7, 8). It is currently not feasible to treat patients with naturally occurring TSCM due to their low circulating frequency; thus, identification of strategies to generate, or preserve the potential of, clinically relevant numbers of genetically modified TSCM would likely contribute to the advancement of CAR T-cell–based therapies. The results presented herein show that, in our system, mbIL15 promoted a TSCM-like population of CAR-modified T cells, and thus bolster the rationale for using mbIL15 in further developing clinically compliant strategies to augment this desirable T-cell subset in immunotherapy infusion products.”
Consistent with the teachings of Hurton 1, the poster presentation of Hurton 2 shows how modification of T cells to express an (i) an exogenous, NY-ESO-1-specific TCR, and (ii) mbIL-15 (as well as a “HER1t” cell surface expressed, selection marker) created a genetically modified T-cell population (see Methods, Fig. 2), wherein:
“With one low-dose, RPM T cells showed significant antitumor activity, with 67% of RPM TCR-mbIL15-HER1t T cell-treated mice attaining disease-free status (<2XLOD), and enhanced survival,” and
“Recovered RPM T cells evidenced robust and distributed persistence of TCR+T-cells that maintained a predominantly less differentiated phenotype.”
(see Conclusions); and further
Wherein the presence of mbIL15 enhanced the persistence of TCR modified T-cells, including TCR-T having the less-differentiated CD45RO+CD27+ phenotype at the end of study (day 66), see Fig. 10.
Note that “RPM” refers to “Rapid Personalized Manufacture” of genetically modified T cells as described in the last section in the 1st col. of Hurton 2.
Given the teachings of Baeuerle in view of Hurton 1 and Hurton 2 it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to prepare a recombinant nucleic acid molecule comprising: a first nucleic acid sequence encoding a T cell receptor (TCR) fusion protein (TFP) wherein the TFP comprises: (a) a TCR subunit comprising: (i) at least a portion of a TCR extracellular domain, and(ii) a TCR transmembrane domain, and(b) an antigen binding domain (wherein the TCR subunit and the antigen binding domain are operatively linked), consistent with the teachings of Baeuerle describing, e.g., anti-CD19 and NKG2D-based TFPs comprising the aforementioned structural components, said recombinant nucleic acid molecule further comprising a second nucleic acid sequence encoding an interleukin-15 (IL-15) polypeptide joined to IL-15Rα, consistent with the teachings of Hurton 1 and Hurton 2.
Creating a nucleic acid encoding the TFP of Baeuerle and the mbIL15 of Hurton 1 would have been obvious because the ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize (i) the teachings of Hurton 1 describing how mbIL15 provides sufficient support to sustain T-cell persistence in a CAR-independent manner, and (ii) the teachings of Hurton 2 describing how mbIL15 enhances the persistence and the “less-differentiated” T-cell phenotype in vivo strongly suggest that mbIL15 will have similar effects on TFP comprising T cells. Note that sustained T-cell persistence and promotion of a “less-differentiated” T-cell phenotype were each known to enable greater killing of CAR-T and TCR-T recognized target cells (see, e.g., Hurton 1 at page E7788).
Likewise, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to create a single nucleic acid encoding both a TFP and a mbIL15 to ensure that both components are transferred to the same target cell when using, e.g., a sleeping beauty-based transposon system for genetic modification. Note in this regard that the ordinarily skilled artisan knew that even a relatively large recombinant nucleic acid molecule, e.g., one comprising at least SEQ ID NO: 18 of Baeuerle (8017 nts) + IL-15 (≈486 nts) + IL-15Rα (≈801) + various promoter sequences, 2A-based self-cleaving peptide, and linker sequences, would still be well within the “cargo capacity” of the sleeping beauty and other transposon-based gene transfer systems (such as PB and Tol2, see Table 1 of Tipanee).
As to the obviousness of preparing a single nucleic acid encoding both a TFP and a mbIL15 “wherein the first nucleic acid sequence and the second nucleic acid sequence are operatively linked by a first linker comprising a protease cleavage site” (see claim 221), as described by Kim at page 2, 2nd full paragraph, 2A peptides offer several advantages for stoichiometric expression of multiple proteins from a single polynucleotide.
With respect to claim 222 which recites that “the IL-15 polypeptide is secreted when expressed in a T cell,” given that the “membrane-bound IL15” of “mbIL15” described by Hurton must enter the secretory pathway to make its way to the plasma membrane (and thus must comprise a signal sequence such as the “IgE signal peptide” described at supplemental page 2 of Hurton 1), the mbIL15 of Hurton is necessarily secreted. Further given the above, the embodiment of claim 229 is likewise obvious for the same reasons, i.e., the “mbIL15” of Hurton is designed to be a cell surface expressed, IL-15Rα transmembrane containing protein.
As to claim 224 drawn to “[t]he recombinant nucleic acid molecule of claim 223, wherein the IL-15 polypeptide comprises a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 375 and the IL-15Ra polypeptide comprises a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 403,” as shown in the alignments below the IL-15 and IL-15Rα sequence of Hurton 1, said sequences corresponding to the polypeptides encoded by NM_000585.4 and NM_002189.3, respectively (both cited herewith as evidentiary teachings), are identical to SEQ ID NOs: 375 and 403 of claim 224:
As to claims 225-226 reciting “the IL-15 polypeptide and the IL-15Ra polypeptide are operatively linked by a second linker” such as SEQ ID NO: 378, as described at supplemental page 2 of Hurton 1, “The mbIL15 construct fuses the… L-15 cDNA sequence (NM_000585.4) to the full-length IL-15Rα cDNA sequence (NM_002189.3) via a 26 amino acid glycine-serine linker [SG3(SG4)3SG3SLQ]….,” wherein said 26 amino acid linker is identical to SEQ ID NO: 378 of claim 226.
With respect to claim 231, Baeuerle teaches TFP constructs comprising TCR intracellular signaling domains including, e.g., the intracellular signaling domain of CD3ε. With respect to claim 232, Baeuerle further teaches the use of a “third linker” to join the TCR “extracellular domain” to the “antigen binding domain.” (see Baeuerle para 0039). With respect to the requisite elements of claim 233, see the teachings of Baeuerle set forth above describing, e.g., TFP comprising CD3ε extracellular, transmembrane and intracellular domains. With respect to the antigen binding domain of claims 234-236 being, e.g., an scFv-based, human or humanized CD19-binding domain, see, e.g., the paras 0023 and 0041. With respect to the polypeptide encoded by the recombinant nucleic acid molecule of claim 219, the vector comprising the recombinant nucleic acid molecule of claim 219, the cell comprising the recombinant nucleic acid molecule of claim 219, such as a T-cell, as recited in claims 237-240, respectively, at paras 0076-0085 Baeuerle teaches nucleic acids, vectors and host cells comprising their TFP, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare such nucleic acids, vectors and host cells comprising, e.g., anti-CD19 and NKG2D-based TFPs comprising the aforementioned structural components, said recombinant nucleic acid molecule further comprising a second nucleic acid sequence encoding an interleukin-15 (IL-15) polypeptide joined to IL-15Rα, consistent with the teachings of Hurton 1 and Hurton 2 as set forth above. With respect to claims 241-243, said embodiments are further obvious for the reasons set forth above, is a pharmaceutical composition comprising the cell of instant claim 241, noting that such pharmaceutical compositions are were taught by Baeuerle at paragraph 0439: “The antibodies or TFP-modified T cells of the present invention may be administered either alone, or as a pharmaceutical composition in combination with diluents and/or with other components such as IL-2, IL-7, IL-12, IL-15 or other cytokines or cell populations.”
Finally, as to the method of increasing the activity or persistence of a cell expressing a recombinant nucleic acid molecule comprising a sequence encoding a T cell receptor (TCR) fusion protein (TFP), the method comprising expressing an interleukin-15 (IL-15) polypeptide or a fragment thereof and/or an IL-15Rα polypeptide or a fragment thereof in the cell: wherein the TFP comprises: (a) a TCR subunit comprising: (i) at least a portion of a TCR extracellular domain, and (ii) a TCR transmembrane domain, and (b) an antigen binding domain; and wherein the TCR subunit and the antigen binding domain are operatively linked as recited in claim 245, as outlined in the prima facie case of obviousness set forth above the ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized (i) the teachings of Hurton 1 describing how mbIL15 provides sufficient support to sustain T-cell persistence in a CAR-independent manner, and (ii) the teachings of Hurton 2 describing how mbIL15 enhances the persistence and the “less-differentiated” T-cell phenotype in vivo would have strongly suggested that mbIL15 will have similar effects on the TFP comprising T cells of Baeuerle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan that bringing the TFP of Baeuerle together with the mbIL15 described in Hurton 1 would “increase the activity or persistence of a cell” expressing these elements.
Claims 219-227, 229-236, 239-243 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 335-343, 345-350, 352-374 of copending Application No. 17923008 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims read on the instant claims. For example, each element of the instant claims is encompassed in reference SEQ ID NO: 1240 which is aligned with instant SEQ ID NO: 404 below:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
No claims are allowed. That said, claim 230 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and further insofar as the rewritten form only recited in the SEQ ID NO: 404 embodiment of claim 230. The reason the rewritten form of claim 230 including all of the additional species cannot be allowed at this time is because the claims are currently under examination as they read on the species of antigen binding domain which “binds CD70” while SEQ ID NOs: 377, 380 and 381 comprise MSLN-binding domains. As to SEQ ID NO: 402, the elected sub-species of “IL-15 and IL-15Rα which are operatively linked such that IL-15/IL-15Rα is produced as a single molecule and is membrane bound” which is “comprised within SEQ ID NO: 404” contains a C-terminal “LE” comprising linker while SEQ ID NO: 402 contains a C-terminal “LQ” comprising linker (see the alignment set forth at page 8” of the 6-23-26 restriction requirement.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Alizadeh et al. (Cancer Immunol Res. 2017 Jul;5(7):571-581, cited herewith) teaches how ex vivo expansion of CAR-T in the presence of IL-15 preserves the Tscm phenotype both during expansion and subsequent adoptive transfer in vivo, which is associated with superior anti-tumor activity (see Abstract and final paragraph of the Discussion).
/ZACHARY S SKELDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644