DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1-11 and 15 under 35 USC § 102(a)(2) by Freerks is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 7/30/2025.
A new Final Office Action is follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations “the base oil comprises XLN, LN and MN grades of base oil products” on the las line of claim 1 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the base oil is produced from step b) or c).
Claim 13 is indefinite because it is inconsistent with the limitations in claim 1 which stated that the medium wax cut is passed directly to a hydrodewaxing reactor while in claim 13, the medium wax cut is passed into a hydrotreating prior to the hydrodewaxing.
Claim 24 is indefinite because it is inconsistent with the limitations in claim 16 which stated that the combined medium wax cuts is passed directly to a hydrodewaxing reactor while in claim 24, the combined medium wax cuts is passed into a hydrotreating prior to the hydrodewaxing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 15-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freerks et al. (US 2005/0183988 A1).
Freerks discloses a process for preparing lubricant base oil. In this process, a waxy feed (10, 12, 28) is fractionated in a distillation column (11). This produces three fractions: a light wax and fuel fraction (13, 14), a middle wax fraction (24) with a boiling point of about 371–593° C, and a heavy unconverted wax fraction (26). The heavy fraction is passed to hydrocracking (23) and returned to the distillation column (11). Logically, the light wax fraction would have a boiling point below 371° C, while the heavy waxy fraction would have a boiling point above 593° C. The middle wax fraction (24) is then passed directly to hydrodewaxing (16) and hydrofinishing (18), and finally separated into several base oil products (20) and fuels (21). See [0017], [0018], [0025], [0031], [0035], [0036]; Fig.2.
Freerks does not explicitly teach that the base oil product having XLN, LN, and MN grades of base oil, does not teach that the first and second medium fractions are combined and fed into the dewaxing step.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Freerks by having XLN, LN, and MN grades of base oil because of the similarities between the claimed process and the process of Freerks. It is within the level of one of skill in the art to produce a base oil having XLN, LN, and MN grades of base oil as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Freerks by combining both the first and second medium waxy fractions into the hydrodewaxing step because of the compositional similarities between the fractions.
Claims 13, 14, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freerks as applied to claims 1-12 and 15-23 above, and further in view of Adams et al. (US 2006/0157384 A1).
The process of Freerks is as discussed above.
Freerks does not does not disclose that the medium wax fraction is hydrotreated prior to hydrodewaxing, and does not teach a dewaxing catalyst.
Adams discloses the medium wax fraction is hydrotreated prior to hydrodewaxing which comprises a dewaxing catalyst. See [0014], [0018], [0028].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Freerks by hydrotreating the medium fraction prior to hydrodewaxing as suggested by Adams to further remove contaminants.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Freerks by utilizing a dewaxing catalyst as suggested by Adams to hydrodewax the medium fractions.
Response to Arguments
The argument that Freerks fails to disclose or suggest a medium wax cut directly feeding to a hydrodewaxing reactor is not persuasive because Freerks clearly teaches that the medium wax cut (24) is passed directly to hydrodewaxing unit 16. See figure 2.
The argument that Freerks fails to disclose or suggest hydrotreating the (or combined) medium wax cut is not persuasive because the examiner relied upon Adams to teach the hydrotreating step.
The argument that Freerks does not teach a base product comprising XLN, LN, and MN grades of base oil is not persuasive because the examiner maintains that because of the similarities between the claimed process and the process of Freerks, it is within the level of one of skill in the art to produce a base oil having XLN, LN, and MN grades of base oil as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771