DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II, drawn to a method of treating a subject with TPI deficiency by administering an agent that promotes stability of a mutant form of the human TPI protein, and the species, resveratrol and TPIE105D, in the reply filed 2/17/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-11, 14-15, 17-18, 21-23, 25-26, 29, 31-33, 35-36, 38 are pending. Claims 6, 26, 36 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 6, 9-11, 21-23, 25-26, 29, 31-33, 35-36, 38 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 14-15, 17-18 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clay et al. (“Triosephosphate Isomerase Deficiency,” Am. J. Dis. Child, 1982, 136, pages 800-802) in view of Valentin et al. (“Triose phosphate isomerase deficiency in 3 French families: two novel null alleles, a frameshift mutation (TPI Alfortville) and an alteration of the initiation codone (TPI Paris),” Blood, 2000, vol. 96, issue 3, 1130-1135, of record) and Alway et al. (“Resveratrol Enhances Exercise-Induced Cellular and Functional Adaptations of Skeletal Muscle in Older Men and Women,” Journals of Gerontology, 2017, 72, 12, 1595-1606).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating a subject with TPI deficiency by administering an agent that promotes stability of a mutant form of the human TPI protein.
Clay et al. teach that triosephosphate isomerase (TPI) deficiency is an autosomal recessive disease of infancy and childhood (page 800, left column, first paragraph). A marked deficiency of TPI is demonstrated in the skeletal muscle of patients (page 800, middle column, first full paragraph). In a case study of a female child, by 19 months, deterioration of motor performance was noted, for example being unable to sit without support. By 26 months, she did not verbalize, had poor head control, and had atrophy in both legs. By 9 years of age, she was unable to walk and muscle tone was decreased in the arms, while the lower extremities were spastic and hyperreflexic (pages 800-801).
Valentin et al. teach that TPI deficiency is marked by progressive and severe neuromuscular dysfunction as a major clinical feature (page 1130, left column, second paragraph). Valentin et al. also teach that TPI E105D is the most frequently occurring TPI mutation, affecting subjects of diverse geographic and ethnic origins. The predominance of the E105D mutation has practical significance because questions concerning prenatal diagnosis are often paramount among the concerns of affected families (page 1133, left column, paragraph 4)
However, Clay and Valentin et al. fail to disclose resveratrol.
Alway et al. teach that resveratrol enhances resistance exercise more than placebo or exercise alone in muscle peak torque, average peak torque, and power on skeletal muscle (title and abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have administered resveratrol along with exercise, as taught by Alway et al., in a subject with TPI deficiency with E105D mutation, as taught by Clay and Valentin et al.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer resveratrol along with exercise because this treatment regimen has beneficial effects on skeletal muscle in a subject in need thereof. Since TPI deficiency is marked by progressive and severe skeletal muscle dysfunction as a major clinical feature, administration of resveratrol along with exercise would obviously treat a subject with TPI deficiency.
The Examiner notes that the limitation regarding “an agent that promotes stability of a mutant form of the human TPI protein” is obvious since all elemental steps of the method claim has been met by the cited prior art. Specifically, administration of resveratrol would obviously promote the stability of TPIE105D.
Conclusion
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623