DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 19, 21-23, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 19, second line of step c), “[1200,2)” should read –[1120,2]–.
In claim 19, last line, “other kind of ferrite than polygonal ferrite” should read –other kinds of ferrite other than polygonal ferrite–.
In claim 21, line 1, “according to claim 19” should read –according to claim 19, –.
In claim 22, line 1, “according to claim 21” should read –according to claim 21, –.
In claim 23, line 1, “according to claim 19” should read –according to claim 19, –.
In claim 30, step g), “Continuously Annealing Line” and “Hot Dip Galvanizing Line” should read –continuous annealing line– and –hot dip galvanizing line–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 21-22, 25-29, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 20 and 25-29 recite “composition comprising”, which fails to further limit claim 19, which recites “a composition consisting of.” The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including" or "containing," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. See MPEP 2111.03. Claims 20 and 25-29 allow for additional elements not recited in claim 19 and thus fail to further limit claim 19.
Claim 21 recites Si ≥ 0.4 and Al ≤ 0.1, which is broader in scope than the ranges recited in claim 19, and thus fails to further limit claim 19. Examiner recommends including the upper and lower bounds to the Si and Al contents, respectively (i.e., Si 0.4 – 2.5, Al 0.01 – 0.1). Claim 22 is dependent on claim 21 and is thus also rejected for the same reason.
Claim 28 recites a TS of 900-1100 MPa, which is broader than the TS of 950-1550 MPa recited in claim 19. Thus, claim 28 fails to further limit claim 19.
Claim 29 recites Al ≤ 0.1, which is broader in scope than the range recited in claim 19 and thus fails to further limit claim 19. Examiner recommends including the lower bound (i.e., Al 0.01 – 0.1).
Claims 33-35 fail to further limit claim 30, because the soaking temperature ranges recited in these claims have broader upper bounds than claim 30. Examiner recommends including an upper bound of 1000⁰C in claims 33-35.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehrl et al. (WO 2020/151856), as cited in the IDS dated 6/22/2023, hereinafter “Rehrl.”
Regarding claims 19-29, Rehrl teaches a cold rolled steel sheet or strip having a chemical composition consisting of, in wt.%, C: 0.15-0.25, Mn: 2.2-3.2, Cr: ≤ 0.8, Si: 0.5-1.6, Al: 0.03-1.0, Nb: ≤ 0.04, Ti: 0.01-0.04%, Mo: ≤ 0.2, Ca: ≤ 0.01, V: ≤ 0.04, Cu: ≤0.15, Ni: ≤ 0.15, B: 0.001-0.010, P: ≤ 0.02, S: ≤ 0.005, Zr: ≤ 0.006, Sn: ≤ 0.015%, O: ≤0.0020, H: ≤ 0.0003, N: ≤0.01, and balance Fe apart from impurities (Abstract, p. 8 ln. 15-19, p. 15 ln. 18-29), which satisfies or overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges, with the exception of claim 26, which recites an Mn content of 1.0-2.0. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Rehrl teaches Mn: 2.2-3.2, which is just outside of the instantly claimed range. However, in the case where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Rehrl teaches a cold rolled sheet with properties that are overlapping with or the same as the instant claims, as detailed below.
Rehrl teaches wherein the sheet or strip has a tensile strength of ≥1380 MPa, a yield strength of
≥1000 MPa, a yield ratio of ≥0.60, and a bendability ≤ 5 (Abstract, p. 9 ln. 21-28, p. 11 ln. 9-15, p. 13 ln. 16-20), which satisfies or overlaps with the conditions recited in b) and c) of claim 19 and the conditions recited in claims 25-28. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Rehrl further teaches wherein the sheet or strip has a multiphase microstructure comprising, in vol.%, tempered martensite: ≥ 50, fresh martensite: ≤ 10, retained austenite: 2-20, polygonal ferrite ≤ 1 (p. 8 ln. 30 – p. 9 ln. 19), wherein the microstructure may contain up to 20% bainitic ferrite (p. 9 ln 4, p. 14 ln. 32), which satisfies or overlaps with the microstructures as instantly claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Regarding the limitations e) - g) recited in claim 19, note that patentable weight is given to the properties and not to the methods of measurement. Nonetheless, Rehrl teaches the very same methods of measurement (p. 9 ln 13-15, p. 10 ln. 14-15, p. 11 ln. 9-15).
Regarding claims 30-35, Rehrl teaches a method of manufacturing a cold rolled sheet or strip comprising the steps of providing a steel strip, reheating and hot rolling to a thickness of about 2.8 mm, wherein the hot rolling finishing temperature is about 900⁰C, which reads on hot rolling in the austenitic range and finishing at greater than or equal to 850⁰C, coiling at a temperature of about 550⁰C, pickling, batch annealing at about 580⁰C for a total time of 10 hours, cold rolling to a final thickness of 1.35 mm (i.e., 51.79% reduction), continuous annealing in a continuous annealing line, in which the soaking temperature is about 850⁰C and a holding temperature is 250⁰C for time of about 3 minutes, and further cooling the steel strip down to ambient temperature (p. 16 ln. 24 – p. 17 ln. 4). Rehrl teaches a coiling temperature of about 550⁰C, which reasonably includes 540⁰C. Alternatively, in the case where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Rehrl teaches a cold rolled sheet with properties that are overlapping with or the same as the instant claims, as detailed above regarding claim 19. With respect to claims 33-35, Rehrl teaches a chemical composition and soaking temperature that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges (Abstract, p. 8 ln. 15-19, p. 15 ln. 18-29, p. 16 ln. 24 – p. 17 ln. 4).
Double Patenting
Claim 19-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/269,262 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-11 of the reference application teaches a cold rolled steel strip or sheet with a chemical composition, microstructure, and properties that are the same or overlapping with that recited in the instant claims 19-29.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 19-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/269,282 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of the reference application teaches a cold rolled steel strip or sheet with a chemical composition, microstructure, and properties that are the same or overlapping with that recited in the instant claims 19-29.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734