DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2, “(in wt. %)”” should read –, in wt. %:–.
In claim 1, lines 1-2 of step c), “y-axle” and “x-axle” should read –y-axis– and –x-axis–.
In claim 2, line 2, “(in wt. %)”” should read –, in wt. %:–.
In claim 2, third to last line, “3 50 – 600 MPa” should read –350 – 600 MPa–.
In claim 3, step g), “Continuously Annealing Line” and “Hot Dip Galvanizing Line” should read –continuous annealing line– and –hot dip galvanizing line–.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites “composition comprising” which fails to further limit claim 1, which recites “a composition consisting of.” The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including" or "containing," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. The transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. See MPEP 2111.03. Claim 2 allows for additional elements not recited in claim 1 and thus fails to further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rehrl et al. (WO 2020/151856), as cited in the IDS dated 6/28/2023, hereinafter “Rehrl.”
Regarding claims 1-2, Rehrl teaches a cold rolled steel sheet or strip having a chemical composition consisting of, in wt.%, C: 0.15-0.25, Mn: 2.2-3.2, Cr: ≤ 0.8, Si: 0.5-1.6, Al: 0.03-1.0, Nb: ≤ 0.04, Ti: 0.01-0.04%, Mo: ≤ 0.2, Ca: ≤ 0.01, V: ≤ 0.04, Cu: ≤0.15, Ni: ≤ 0.15, B: 0.001-0.010, P: ≤ 0.02, S: ≤ 0.005, Zr: ≤ 0.006, Sn: ≤ 0.015%, O: ≤0.0020, H: ≤ 0.0003, N: ≤0.01, and balance Fe apart from impurities (Abstract, p. 8 ln. 15-19, p. 15 ln. 18-29), which satisfies or overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Rehrl teaches wherein the sheet or strip should satisfy at least one of these mechanical properties, but preferably all of these properties are met: a tensile strength of ≥1380 MPa, a yield strength of ≥1000 MPa, and a yield ratio of ≥0.60 (p. 9 ln. 21-30), and further teaches a bendability ≤ 5 (p. 11 ln. 9-15), which satisfies or overlaps with the conditions recited in b) and c) of claim 1 and the conditions recited in claim 2. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Note that Rehrl does not require that all of these mechanical property requirements are met (p. 11 ln. 9-15); therefore, Rehrl allows for a tensile strength of <1380 MPa, which overlaps with the TS ranges recited in claims 1-2.
Rehrl further teaches wherein the sheet or strip has a multiphase microstructure comprising, in vol.%, tempered martensite: ≥ 40, fresh martensite: ≤ 20, retained austenite: 2-20, polygonal ferrite ≤ 10 (p. 8 ln. 30 – p. 9 ln. 19), which satisfies or overlaps with the microstructures as instantly claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Regarding the limitations e) - g) recited in claim 1, note that patentable weight is given to the properties and not to the methods of measurement. Nonetheless, Rehrl teaches the very same methods of measurement (p. 9 ln 13-15, p. 10 ln. 14-15, p. 11 ln. 9-15).
Regarding claims 3-4, Rehrl teaches a method of manufacturing a cold rolled sheet or strip comprising the steps of providing a steel strip, reheating and hot rolling to a thickness of about 2.8 mm, wherein the hot rolling finishing temperature is about 900⁰C, which reads on hot rolling in the austenitic range and finishing at greater than or equal to 850⁰C, coiling at a temperature of about 550⁰C, pickling, batch annealing at about 580⁰C for a total time of 10 hours, cold rolling to a final thickness of 1.35 mm (i.e., 51.79% reduction), continuous annealing in a continuous annealing line, in which the soaking temperature is about 850⁰C and a holding temperature is 250⁰C for time of about 3 minutes, and further cooling the steel strip down to ambient temperature (p. 16 ln. 24 – p. 17 ln. 4). Rehrl teaches a coiling temperature of about 550⁰C, which reasonably includes 540⁰C. Alternatively, in the case where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Rehrl teaches a cold rolled sheet with properties that are overlapping with or the same as the instant claims, as detailed above regarding claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/269,262 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-11 of the reference application teaches a cold rolled steel strip or sheet with a chemical composition, microstructure, and properties that are the same or overlapping with that recited in the instant claims 1-2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/269,282 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of the reference application teaches a cold rolled steel strip or sheet with a chemical composition, microstructure, and properties that are the same or overlapping with that recited in the instant claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734