DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16, 18, 19 and 22 are pending in the application. Claims 1-4, 6-16 and 22 are rejected. Claims 1 and 7 are objected to. Claims 5, 18 and 19 are withdrawn.
Restriction/Election of Species
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-16 and 22, and further elected species of “Compound 4” having the structure below in the reply filed on December 1, 2025 is acknowledged:
.
Pursuant to MPEP § 803.02, the Markush claims that read on the elected species were examined fully with respect to the elected species. Upon examination, the elected species were found to be anticipated or rendered obvious by prior art; therefore, the Markush claim and claims to the elected species will be rejected. The claim(s) and subject matter that do not read on the elected species have NOT been examined and searched and are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner.
Claims 1-4, 6-16 and 22 read on the elected species. Claims 5, 18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species/invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 1, 2025.
Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage Filing of International Application No. PCT/CN2021/141879, filed on December 28, 2021, which claims priority to International Application No. PCT/CN2020/140197, filed on December 28, 2020.
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on September 22, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS documents and signed copies of the 1449 forms are attached.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to replace “Y selected” with -Y is selected- for sake of clarity and consistency. See last line of page 2 of 24.
Claim 7 should be amended to recite either a) “selected from the group consisting of...and 35...” or b) “selected from...or 35...” (i.e., include the word “and” or “or” before the last recited structure based on preamble language) for sake of proper Markush language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the level of leukocytes, T lymphocytes and B lymphocytes in the peripheral blood mononuclear cells” and is rejected as indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as parent claim 12 does not provide for levels of leukocytes, T lymphocytes, etc... or peripheral blood mononuclear cells. It is suggested Applicant replace “the level of leukocytes, T lymphocytes and B lymphocytes in the peripheral blood mononuclear cells” with “levels of leukocytes, T lymphocytes and B lymphocytes in
Claim 22 recites the expression “the periphery” and is rejected as indefinite. Neither parent claim 12 nor the specification defines this expression; therefore, it is unclear what “the periphery” is in reference to. For instance, it is unclear whether Applicant intended “the periphery” to mean a) the peripheral nervous system or b) an undefined area on the periphery of an undefined area of the subject. A claim that requires the exercise of subjective judgment without restriction may render the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893, 167 USPQ 280, 289 (CCPA 1970).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2018/027097 A1; February 8, 2018) in view of Sharief et al. (J Neuroimmunol. 2003, 134(1-2):158-166).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Wang et al. teach inhibitor compounds of “Bcl-2 proteins, e.g., Bcl-2 and/or Bcl-xL” such as Example 9 shown below. See e.g., paragraphs [0019] and [0301]).
.
Wang et al. further teach methods of inhibiting Bcl-2 proteins comprising administering an effective amount of the disclosed prior art invention (e.g., Example 9) to a subject. See e.g., paragraph [0014].
Regarding instant claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 9, Example 9 as taught by Wang et al. is encompassed by variable definitions of the instantly claimed compound represented by Formula I, wherein A is “A-1”, further wherein R2 is -NO2, R2a is hydrogen and R3 is -N((heterocyclo)alkyl)(H); X1, X2, and X3 are each independently -CH; and Y is -CH2-. See e.g., paragraph [0301].
Regarding instant claim 7, Example 9 as taught by Wang et al. corresponds to Compound No. 4 as recited in the claim.
Regarding instant claim 11, Wang et al. disclose a “unit oral dose.” See e.g., paragraph [0163].
Regarding instant claims 12, Example 9 as taught by Wang et al. is encompassed by variable definitions of the instantly claimed compound represented by Formula I, wherein A is “A-1”, further wherein R2 is -NO2, R2a is hydrogen and R3 is -N((heterocyclo)alkyl)(H); X1, X2, and X3 are each independently -CH; and Y is -CH2-. See e.g., paragraph [0301].
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Regarding instant claims 1, 10, 12-16 and 22, Wang et al. does not explicitly teach methods of treating multiple sclerosis/reducing inflammation. Instead, Wang et al. mainly focus on methods for “selectively inhibit[ing] the activity of one type or a subset of Bcl-2 proteins for the treatment of hyperproliferative disease such as cancer.” See e.g., paragraph [0011]. However, it is noted that Wang et al. does not teach away from the instantly claimed methods of treating multiple sclerosis (MS) as evidenced by the disclosed combination therapy comprising “an agent for treating multiple sclerosis.” See e.g., paragraph [0210]. Notwithstanding, Sharief et al. teach “that [the] dysregulated expression of Bcl-2 family proteins in peripheral lymphocytes is a feature of clinically active multiple sclerosis.” See e.g., the abstract. Sharief et al. further teach “that failure of apoptosis (programmed cell death)...may be involved in the pathogenesis of multiple sclerosis” and that there is “a significant increase in Bcl-XL [apoptotic] protein expression...[and relatively lower] cellular expression of the [pro-apoptotic][]-protein Bax in active MS.” See e.g., the abstract and page 160. Note: “Bax” appears to have been mislabeled as an “anti-apoptosis protein” on page 160 of the prior art. For example, see pages 159 and 162 of the prior art where “Bax” is accurately described as being pro-apoptotic. With respect to the limitations of instant claims 10, 12-16 and 22, Sharief et al. teach the following:
Regarding instant claims 10 and 16: Sharief et al. teach data obtained from “28 patients with relapsing-remitting MS.” See e.g., page 159.
Regarding instant claims 12-15 and 22: Sharief et al. associate multiple sclerosis (MS) with “a continuous cycle of inflammation within the CNS.” See e.g., page 158. Therefore, it can be reasonably expected that a method of treating MS would also result in reduced inflammation. Note: Instant claims 15 and 22 are drawn towards characteristics that would necessarily be present from administering the instantly claimed compound of Formula I, as recited in parent claim 12, to a MS patient population. Therefore, instant claims 15 and 22 do not further limit the scope of parent claim 1. See MPEP § 2112.01 which states: A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable; therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Considering that Wang et al. disclose the instantly claimed compound of Formula I as inhibitors of Bcl-2 proteins (e.g., Bcl-2 or Bcl-XL), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the prior art Bcl-2 inhibitor compound (e.g., Example 9) in therapeutic methods deriving benefit from the inhibition of, for instance, anti-apoptotic Bcl-XL proteins. See e.g., paragraphs [0017] and [0018]. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Sharief et al. which teach “a significant reduction in the expression ratios of pro-apoptosis Bcl-2 proteins in patients with active MS when compared to patients with stable MS or the control group,” a skilled artisan would recognize the potential therapeutic benefit in increasing the expression ratios of pro-apoptotic Bcl-2 family proteins by decreasing (i.e., inhibiting) anti-apoptotic Bcl-2 proteins, such as Bcl-XL, in patients with active MS (e.g., relapsing-remitting MS). Therefore, at least in the interest of utilizing the Bcl-2 inhibitor compound of Wang et al. in methods of treating cancer or otherwise MS, a skilled artisan would be motivated to employ the instantly claimed methods.
Double Patenting
The analysis employed for an obviousness-type double patenting rejection parallels the analysis for a determination of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 12, 13, 15 and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 13, 16, 17-23 and 28 of copending U.S. Application No. 18/838,451 (’451). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, 4, 13, 16, 17-23 and 28 of ‘451 are drawn towards methods of preventing or treating an immune disease comprising administering the instantly claimed compound of Formula I. Furthermore, claim 4 of ‘451 recites “the immune disease is immune-mediated inflammatory disease” which is encompassed by the term “inflammation” as recited in instant claim 12.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/D.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626