DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are pending in the application. Claims 4-11 & 13 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the limitation “the ring anchor is free to move in the radial direction”, in Lines 18-19, in combination with limitation “the ring anchor is mounted to the housing to secure the ring anchor to the housing whilst allowing reciprocal movement of the ring anchor in the radial direction”, in Lines 17-18, is indefinite. With the amendment to the claim, it appears there was intent to further limit the claim, but it is not clear how the limitation in Lines 18-19 further limits the claim, rendering the claim indefinite. Both limitations describe the ability of the ring anchor to move in the radial direction. It is possible Applicant attempted to claim the ring anchor is able to freely move. However, this is not what was claimed, and the phrases “freely move” and “free to move” have very different meanings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Streicher (WO8805868A2 – see attached translation).
As to Claim 1, Streicher teaches a peristaltic pump (Figure 5) comprising:
a drivable (Paragraph 0052) rotor (26) having (as shown in Figure 5) at least one pressing member (27);
a housing comprising a cylindrical stator (see Figure 5 below, including Element 5) in which (as shown in Figure 5) the rotor (26) is rotatable (as shown in Figures 7/8; Paragraph 0026);
flexible (Paragraph 0038) tubing (24) having an inlet side (the side of 24 immediately under nozzle 20, as viewed in Figure 5) and an outlet side (the side of 24 immediately under nozzle 21, as viewed in Figure 5), the flexible tubing (24) extending circumferentially around (as shown in Figure 5) the stator (see Figure 5 below) against (as shown in Figure 5) an inner wall (the radially inner wall of 5, as viewed in Figure 5);
a radially deformable (as shown in Figures 7/8) ring (43) positioned between (as shown in Figure 5) the rotor (26) and the circumferentially extending flexible tubing (24), the ring (43) being deformable by (as shown in Figure 5) the at least one pressing member (27) upon rotation of (as shown in Figures 7/8) the rotor (26) to compress (Paragraph 0038) the flexible tubing (24) against (as shown in Figure 5) the inner wall (the radially inner wall of 5, as viewed in Figure 5) of the cylindrical stator (see Figure 5 below, including Element 5) to thereby convey liquid along (after reading Paragraph 0038, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude fluid is pumped through tubing 24 during operation of the pump, especially in light of Paragraph 0004 stating the intent of the Streicher invention is to use the structure as a peristaltic pump; the use of a specific fluid is not a patentable limitation; see end of paragraph for clarification) the flexible tubing (24);
wherein the inlet side (the side of 24 immediately under nozzle 20, as viewed in Figure 5) and the outlet side (the side of 24 immediately under nozzle 21, as viewed in Figure 5) of the flexible tubing (24) are arranged side-by-side (as shown in Figure 5) so that the flexible tubing (24) extends in (as shown in Figure 5) a substantially radial direction outwardly away from (the inlet and outlet sides extend radially up, as viewed in Figure 5, for the stator shown in Figure 5 below) the cylindrical stator (see Figure 5 below, including Element 5);
wherein the radially deformable ring (43) includes a ring anchor (37) projecting radially outwardly (as shown in Figure 5) in a radial direction (up, as viewed in Figure 5) from the radially deformable ring (43) and is located between (as shown in Figure 5) the inlet side (the side of 24 immediately under nozzle 20, as viewed in Figure 5) and the outlet side (the side of 24 immediately under nozzle 21, as viewed in Figure 5) of the flexible tubing (24);
characterised in that:
the ring anchor (37) is mounted to (as shown in Figure 5) the housing (see Figure 5 below, including Element 5) to secure (since Figure 5 shows the ring anchor in the housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude the ring anchor is secured to the housing) the ring anchor (37) to the housing (see Figure 5 below, including Element 5) whilst allowing reciprocal movement (Paragraphs 0044/0045; as shown in Figures 7/8) of the ring anchor (37) in the radial direction (up and down, as viewed in Figure 5), and the ring anchor (37) is free to move (Paragraphs 0044/0045; as shown in Figures 7/8) in the radial direction (up and down, as viewed in Figure 5).
The intention to use a selected fluid in the pump is not a patentable limitation, as a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647; MPEP 2114(II). Also see MPEP 2115.
Streicher Figure 5, Modified by Examiner
As to Claim 2, Streicher teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the ring anchor (37) has a housing engaging protrusion (37 is shown as a radially extending protrusion from the ring anchor 43 in Figure 5) that is reciprocally mounted (as shown in Figures 7/8) within (as shown in Figure 5) a radially extending sub-housing (41) formed as part of (as shown in Figure 5) the housing (see Figure 5 in the Claim 1 rejection above).
As to Claim 3, Streicher teaches all the limitations of Claims 1-2, and continues to teach the sub-housing (41) comprises a slot (see Figure 5 in the Claim 1 rejection above) extending in (as shown in Figure 5) the radial direction (up, as viewed in Figure 5); and the housing engaging protrusion (37) of the ring anchor (43) is mounted through (as shown in Figure 5) the slot (see Figure 5 in the Claim 1 rejection above) to allow reciprocal movement of (as shown in Figures 7/8) the ring anchor (37) in the radial direction (up, as viewed in Figure 5) along a length (see Figure 5 in the Claim 1 rejection above) of the slot (see Figure 5 in the Claim 1 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Streicher, in view of Samaker (U.S. PGPub 2020/0297536).
As to Claim 12, Streicher teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the ring 43 should be constructed of a material which is abrasion resistant in Paragraph 0047. Note – the translation uses the terms “belt” and “band” for Element 43. As such, the “belt” in Paragraph 0047 is the same structure as the “band” used elsewhere in the reference to the refer to Element 43.
However, Streicher is silent on the exact material to be use, so does not explicitly teach the radially deformable ring is formed of polyamide(nylon) (PA), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE), polyoxymethylene(acetal) (POM), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a thermoplastic elastomer (TPE).
Samaker describes a similar peristaltic pump, and teaches the radially deformable ring (124) is formed of polyamide, polypropylene, polyethylene, polyoxymethylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Paragraph 0044), or a thermoplastic elastomer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the ring, as taught by Streicher, from PET, as taught by Samaker, to provide a flexible material (Paragraph 0044).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the ring, as taught by Streicher, from PET, as taught by Samaker, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. (1960)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejection for Claim 1, Applicant argues Streicher does not teach “the ring anchor is free to move in the radial direction”, since Streicher Paragraph 0044 describes tension spring 46 as constantly pulling slider/ring anchor 37 upwards. Examiner disagrees.
It appears Applicant has used the wrong phrase, and meant to use the phrase the anchor is able to freely move. However, this is not what was claimed, and the phrases “freely move” and “free to move” have very different meanings. The phrase “freely move” would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude there is nothing on either end of the ring anchor preventing or inhibiting movement. The phrase “free to move” would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude the ring anchor is capable of moving, regardless of any inhibitions.
Since Applicant used the phrase “free to move”, Streicher teaches the claim, as written, since Streicher Paragraphs 0044/0045 teach the ring anchor is able to move in the radial direction.
It should also be noted it does not appear the original disclosure has support for the use of the phrase “freely move”, since elected Species I, shown in Figures 1/3, appear to show ring anchor 30 in contact with slot 60, preventing ring anchor 30 from being able to “freely move” due to friction between respective surfaces of ring anchor 30 and slot 60.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID N BRANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746