DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-23 are pending, of which Claims 10-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8, are under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite as the claim recites “wherein a concentration of… more than 6.5mass% and 35 mass% or less This is because word “and” between the two alternatives is making the scope of the claim unclear. With the word “and” in the claim indicates that the concentration can be 35mass% or less (i.e., it can be less than 6.5mass%), and– more than 6.5mass% (i.e., it can be more than 35mass%), thereby making scope of concentration unclear.
Claim 4 is indefinite as the claim recites “wherein an available chlorine concentration of ---6mass% or more, and 43 mass % or less. This is because word “and” between the two alternatives is making scope of the claim unclear. With word “and”, the claim is reciting that the concentration can be 6mass% or more (i.e., it can be more than 43mass%), and– 43mass % or less, thereby making scope of concentration unclear.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamiya (U.S. 11919974 B2; effective filing date Aug 2, 2019).
Kamiya discloses a method of producing an oxidized cellulose, free of N-oxyl compound, and with same NMR spectrum peaks as described in the instant specification in a range from 165ppm to 185ppm using same method of oxidizing a cellulose raw material with a hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof having available concentration of chlorine in the reaction from 6% by mass to 14% by mass (reads on claim 1 and 4) at a reaction temperature 30C (reads on claim 6) for 2hours (reads on claim 7) or longer at a pH less than 11 (reads on claim 8) with stirring using a stirrer, with several examples (entire patent, especially abstract, col 2-10 and Table 1 and examples):
With regards to the difference of viscosity of the starting cellulose raw material at the start of oxidation reaction: Example 1B of the instant specification provides
and the cited prior art example 1 provides:
. Starting reaction mixture of example 1B of the instant specification contains 350 g of sodium hypochlorite and 50g of cellulose, i.e., cellulose material is 14.2% by mass in the reaction mixture and water is adjusted to provide 21mass % of chlorine to start the process vs the cited prior art starting reaction mixture of example 1 contains 30.3g of sodium hypochlorite and 0.35g of cellulose, i.e., cellulose material is 1.155% by mass in the reaction mixture and water is adjusted to provide 14 mass % of chlorine to start the process. Since mass% of cellulose material in the starting mixture of the cited prior art is less and volume is more (or even if considered same), viscosity of starting mixture with cellulose material of the cited prior art is expected to be less than examples of the instant invention and 1000pa.s. Thus, the cited prior art reads on the instant claims.
With regards to the difference of degree of polymerization of obtained product-Since the cited prior art teaches same process, process conditions and staring materials, the result of the process is also expected to be the same, whether or not realized by the cited prior art. Thus, the cited prior art reads on the instant claims.
With respect to types of stirrers, the cited prior art discloses stirring the reaction mixture with a stirrer. Since the instant claims have every stirrer, the stirrer of the cited prior art must be at least one of the stirrers of the instant claims.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 4 and 6-8, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya (US 11919974 B2; effective filing date Aug 2, 2019).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Kamiya discloses a method of producing an oxidized cellulose, free of N-oxyl compound, and with same NMR spectrum peaks as described in the instant specification in a range from 165ppm to 185ppm using same method of oxidizing a cellulose raw material with a hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof having available concentration of chlorine in the reaction from 6% by mass to 14% by mass (reads on claim 4) at a reaction temperature 30C (reads on claim 6) for 2hours (reads on claim 7) or longer at a pH less than 11 (reads on claim 8) with stirring using a stirrer, with several examples (entire patent, especially abstract, col 2-10 and Table 1 and examples):
With regards to the difference of degree of polymerization of obtained product-Since the cited prior art teaches same process, process conditions and staring materials, the result of the process is also expected to be the same, whether or not realized by the cited prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Kamiya discloses a method of producing an oxidized cellulose, free of N-oxyl compound, and with same NMR spectrum peaks as described in the instant specification in a range from 165ppm to 185ppm using same method of oxidizing a cellulose raw material with a hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof having available concentration of chlorine in the reaction from 6% by mass to 14% by mass at a reaction temperature 30C for 2hours (reads on claim 7) or longer at a pH less than 11, with several examples, but silent about viscosity of cellulose raw material at start of the reaction and type of stirrer.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the difference of viscosity of the starting cellulose raw material at the start of oxidation reaction: Example 1B of the instant specification provides
and the cited prior art example 1 provides:
. Starting reaction mixture of example 1B of the instant specification contains 350 g of sodium hypochlorite and 50g of cellulose, i.e., cellulose material is 14.2% by mass in the reaction mixture and water is adjusted to provide 21mass % of chlorine to start the process vs the cited prior art starting reaction mixture of example 1 contains 30.3g of sodium hypochlorite and 0.35g of cellulose, i.e., cellulose material is 1.155% by mass in the reaction mixture and water is adjusted to provide 14 mass % of chlorine to start the process. Since mass% of cellulose material in the starting mixture of the cited prior art is less and volume is more (or even if considered same), viscosity of starting mixture with cellulose material of the cited prior art is expected to be less than examples of the instant invention and 1000pa.s.
With respect to types of stirrers, the cited prior art discloses stirring the reaction mixture with a stirrer. Since the instant claims have every stirrer, the stirrer of the cited prior art must be at least one of the stirrers of the instant claims. Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use any commercially available stirrer to accomplish stirring.
Thus, the cited prior art reads on the instant claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Kamiya discloses a method of producing an oxidized cellulose, free of N-oxyl compound, and with same NMR spectrum peaks as described in the instant specification in a range from 165ppm to 185ppm using same method of oxidizing a cellulose raw material with a hypochlorous acid or a salt thereof having available concentration of chlorine in the reaction from 6% by mass to 14% by mass at a reaction temperature 30C for 2hours (reads on claim 7) or longer at a pH less than 11, with several examples.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success of that cellulose material having viscosity 1000pa.s or less may be oxidized using method of the cited prior art and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative process for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual reaction steps, and to arrive applicants process with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is within the scope to modify the process through a routine experimentation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 in the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims of instant application and claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2 are drawn to a process of making oxidized cellulose using same reactants, and reaction conditions and with same type of stirring and stirring blades with a difference that claims of the patent are silent about viscosity of the cellulose material at the start of the reaction and degree of polymerization of the product.
With regards to the difference of viscosity of the starting cellulose raw material at the start of oxidation reaction: Example 1B of the instant specification provides
and U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2 example 1 provides:
. Starting reaction mixture of example 1B of the instant specification contains 350 g of sodium hypochlorite and 50g of cellulose, i.e., cellulose material is 14.2% by mass in the reaction mixture and water is adjusted to provide 21mass % of chlorine to start the process vs U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2 starting reaction mixture of example 1 contains 30.3g of sodium hypochlorite and 0.35g of cellulose, i.e., cellulose material is 1.155% by mass in the reaction mixture and water is adjusted to provide 14 mass % of chlorine to start the process. Since mass% of cellulose material in the starting mixture of U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2 is less and volume is more (or even if considered same), viscosity of starting mixture with cellulose material is expected to be less than examples of the instant invention and 1000pa.s.
With regards to the difference of degree of polymerization of obtained product-Since the U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2 teaches same process, process conditions and staring materials, the result of the process is also expected to be the same, whether or not realized by the cited prior art.
Thus, the difference, however, does not constitute a patentable distinction, because the claims in the present invention simply fall within the scope of claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11919974 B2. For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed process is made obvious.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See also MPEP § 804.
Response to Arguments
Applicants remarks and amendments, 08/17/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicants argue over a rejection under 112b that applicant has canceled claim 2 and amended claim 1 with claim 2 limitation, which in other words may be interpreted in terms of range. Applicants similarly argued over rejection under 112b for claim 4 limitation, which in other words may be interpreted in terms of range.
This is not found persuasive and the instant claims stand rejected under 112b. This is because applicants cannot just put the corrected limitation in the argument and assume that the rejection will be withdrawn. If applicant intends that limitation in claim 2 and claim 4 is considered as a range, applicant is suggested to amend the claims with such range.
Rest of applicants’ argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623