DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on September 10, 2026 was entered and made of record. Claims 1 - 5 have been amended. Claims 6, 15 and 16 were previously cancelled. Claims 10 – 14 and 17 – 19 have been withdrawn from consideration. Accordingly, Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 14 and 17 - 19 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 9 - 11 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 5, 7 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAZAWA MISAKO (WO 2019022038 A1) in view of Kline et al. (US 2019/0322245 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to a dirt determining unit configured to determine whether dirt is attached to the transmissive part based on detection information of the sensor corresponding to the detected light, as claimed in the amended Claim 1. Examiner' s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on page 10 that “Kline delays cleaning based on a detected temperature. But Kline at most discloses a delay until the detected temperature is more appropriate, not a delay for a "predetermined time after drive of the cleaner is complete". Examiner respectively disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MISAKO is relied upon for teaching the limitation “the cleaner control unit is configured not to actuate the cleaner within a predetermined time after drive of the cleaner is complete” as described on page 20 in paragraph 2, The dirt judging unit 3122 judges the dirt degree of the objects to be cleaned 1f, 1b, 6f, 6b, 6r, 6l, 7r, 7l, 9c, and when it is judged that the dirt is dirty, the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b operate and on page 22 in paragraph 7, when the vehicle control unit 3 determines that the predetermined interval has elapsed from the previous activation date and time of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b, the operation determination unit 3121 prohibits the operation request signal requesting the operation of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b. While MISAKO discloses a weather sensor that detects a weather condition, MISAKO does not specifically disclose determine the predetermined time based on the weather information. However, Kline is relied upon for teaching this limitation as illustrated in Fig. 1 and described in Par. [0021] The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle) (i.e. weather information), weather conditions (e.g. rain, clear, snow, etc.)). The processor 104 may utilize some or all of this information to determine parameters for a cleaning process, such as delayed cleaning (e.g. wait to clean at a more appropriate moment), or other parameters), in Par. [0031] different external sensors 430, 432, 434 may require different cleaning solutions, spray patterns, times of spray (i.e. predetermined time), pressure, or other parameter and further in Par. [0044] At 504, the system may determine parameters for a cleaning event. The parameters may include, for instance: cycle times (e.g., which may be different based on temperature (i.e. weather information), contaminant, or other information)). Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify weather information comprising at least one of temperature, humidity, or air pressure as taught by Kline in the invention of MISAKO as this modification would allow vehicles exposed to debris and other environmental factors (e.g., temperature, etc.), the differing environmental conditions, just a few examples of real world variables or operating parameters that may be utilized to determine an effective time to clean, method of cleaning, cleaning duration, type of fluid (types of liquid or air) or other parameters of a cleaning event (See Kline, Par. [0019]).
Applicant further argues on page 11 that “Misako merely means that the trigger for cleaning is the length of time or distance, and the prohibition is still based on whether the vehicle is near to a person, is traveling at a low speed, or is in an area where there is a high possibility that people are present. The amendment to claim 1 clarifies the claim's scope: the sensor uses detected light to determine whether dirt is present, the cleaner control unit is configured not to actuate the cleaner within a predetermined time after drive of the cleaner is complete, and the predetermined time is based on the weather information”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Again, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MISAKO is relied upon for teaching the limitation “the cleaner control unit is configured not to actuate the cleaner within a predetermined time after drive of the cleaner is complete” as described on page 20 in paragraph 2, The dirt judging unit 3122 judges the dirt degree of the objects to be cleaned 1f, 1b, 6f, 6b, 6r, 6l, 7r, 7l, 9c, and when it is judged that the dirt is dirty, the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b operate. While MISAKO discloses a weather sensor that detects a weather condition, MISAKO does not specifically disclose determine the predetermined time based on the weather information. However, Kline is relied upon for teaching this limitation as illustrated in Fig. 1 and described in Par. [0021], Par. [0031] and further in Par. [0044]. It would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify predetermined time based on weather information as taught by Kline in the invention of MISAKO as this modification would allow vehicles exposed to debris and other environmental factors (e.g., temperature, etc.) that may be utilized to determine an effective time to clean, method of cleaning, cleaning duration, type of fluid (types of liquid or air) or other parameters of a cleaning event (See Kline, Par. [0019]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAZAWA MISAKO (WO 2019022038 A1) referred to as MISAKO hereinafter, in view of Kline et al. (US 2019/0322245 A1) referred to as Kline hereinafter, and in further view of FUJITA (US 2018/0188362 A1) referred to as FUJITA hereinafter
Regarding claim 1, MISAKO teaches a sensor system (Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph, 4, external sensor 6 is a sensor capable of acquiring information outside the host vehicle) comprising:
a sensor having a light receiving unit configured to receive light from a detection target (page 3, paragraph 7, LiDAR (i.e. light receiving unit) is a sensor that emits non-visible light in front of it and acquires (i.e. receives) information such as the distance to an object (i.e. detection target), the shape of an object, the material of an object, the color of an object, and the like based on the emitted light and return light) via a transmissive part (page 23, paragraph 7, The external sensor 6 such as LiDAR 6f, 6b, 6r, 6l may have a detection surface and a cover covering the detection surface. The cleaner for cleaning the external sensor 6 may be configured to clean the detection surface (i.e. transmissive part), or may be configured to clean the cover (i.e. transmissive part) covering the sensor);
a cleaner capable of cleaning the transmissive part (page 5, paragraph 4, The vehicle 1 has a cleaner system 100 (i.e. cleaner), which is a system for removing foreign matter such as water droplets, mud, dust and the like adhering to the object. The cleaner system 100 includes a front LiDAR cleaner (hereinafter referred to as front LC) 103, LiDAR cleaner (hereinafter referred to as post LC) 104, right LiDAR cleaner (hereinafter referred to as right LC) 105, left LiDAR cleaner (hereinafter referred to as left LC) 106);
a cleaner control unit configured to control the cleaner (Fig. 3, page 5, paragraph 8, The actuators provided to the respective cleaners 101 to 109 b are electrically connected to the cleaner control unit 116), wherein the cleaner control unit is configured not to actuate the cleaner within a predetermined time after drive of the cleaner is complete (page 20, paragraph 2, The dirt judging unit 3122 judges the dirt degree of the objects to be cleaned 1f, 1b, 6f, 6b, 6r, 6l, 7r, 7l, 9c, and when it is judged that the dirt is dirty, the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b operate. Page 22, paragraph 7, when the vehicle control unit 3 determines that the predetermined interval has elapsed from the previous activation date and time of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b (i.e. predetermined time), the operation determination unit 3121 prohibits (i.e. not actuate) the operation request signal requesting the operation of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b);
a weather information acquiring unit configured to output weather information (page 3, paragraph 4, the external sensor 6 may be provided with a weather sensor (i.e. weather information acquiring unit) that detects a weather condition (i.e. weather information)),
a predetermined time determining unit configured to determine the predetermined time (page 22, paragraph 7, when the vehicle control unit 3 (i.e. predetermined time determining unit) determines that the predetermined interval has elapsed (i.e. predetermined time) from the previous activation date and time of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b, the operation determination unit 3121 prohibits the operation request signal requesting the operation of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b), and
a dirt determining unit configured to determine whether dirt is attached to the transmissive part (Fig. 21, page 20, paragraph 2, The dirt judging unit 3122 (i.e. dirt determining unit) judges the dirt degree of the objects to be cleaned 1f, 1b, 6f, 6b, 6r, 61, 7r, 71, 9c, and when it is judged that the dirt is dirty, the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b operate), based on detection information of the sensor (page 20, paragraph 3, when the dirt determining unit 3122 determines that the front LiDAR 6f is dirty based on the signal output from the front LiDAR 6f, where the dirt signal (i.e. detection information) is input from the dirt sensor capable of detecting dirt of the front LiDAR 6f (i.e. is attached).
MISAKO does not specifically disclose weather information comprising at least one of temperature, humidity, or air pressure. Therefore, MISAKO fails to explicitly teach weather information comprising at least one of temperature, humidity, or air pressure, and a predetermined time determining unit configured to determine the predetermined time, based on the weather information.
However, Kline teaches a weather information acquiring unit (Fig. 1, Par. [0024] The cleaning sensors 108 may include temperature sensors, pressure sensors, wind speed sensors, tire speed sensors, light sensors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, or other devices) configured to output weather information comprising at least one of temperature, humidity, or air pressure (Par. [0021] The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle) (i.e. weather information), weather conditions (e.g. rain, clear, snow, etc.)), and a predetermined time determining unit configured to determine the predetermined time (Par. [0021] The processor 104 (i.e. predetermined time determining unit) may utilize some or all of this information to determine parameters for a cleaning process, such as delayed cleaning (e.g. wait to clean at a more appropriate moment) (i.e. not activate for predetermined time), or other parameters), configured to determine the predetermined time, based on the weather information (Par. [0031] different external sensors 430, 432, 434 may require different cleaning solutions, spray patterns, times of spray (i.e. predetermined time), pressure, or other parameter. Par. [0044] At 504, the system may determine parameters for a cleaning event. The parameters may include, for instance: cycle times (e.g., which may be different based on temperature (i.e. weather information), contaminant, or other information)).
References MISAKO and Kline are considered to be analogous art because they relate to sensor systems on vehicles. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify weather information comprising at least one of temperature, humidity, or air pressure as taught by Kline in the invention of MISAKO. This modification would allow vehicles exposed to debris and other environmental factors (e.g., temperature, etc.), the differing environmental conditions, just a few examples of real world variables or operating parameters that may be utilized to determine an effective time to clean, method of cleaning, cleaning duration, type of fluid (types of liquid or air) or other parameters of a cleaning event (See Kline, Par. [0019]).
In addition, while MISAKO teaches a judging unit that judges the degree of dirt on the surfaces to be cleaned (See Fig. 21, page 20, paragraph 2) and while Kline teaches determining an obstruction based on sensor signal strength/output/input below threshold (See Fig. 6A, Par. [0061]) and further determining an obstruction type (See Fig. 6B, Par. [0065]), MISAKO in view of Kline does not specifically teach determining the object is dirt based on the detection information of the sensor corresponding to the detected light. Therefore, MISAKO in view of Kline fails to explicitly teach a dirt determining unit configured to determine whether dirt is attached to the transmissive part based on detection information of the sensor corresponding to the detected light.
However, FUJITA teaches a dirt determining unit (Fig. 1, Par. [0038] a dirt determination unit 36A) configured to determine whether dirt is attached (Par. [0045] the control processing unit 3A determines whether a determination result of the dirt determination processing in the processing S2 indicates the presence of the dirt (S3)) to the transmissive part (Fig. 2A Par. [0030] [0030] since the transmission waves each is the laser light and the reflected waves each is reflected light of the laser light (i.e. detected light), the protective member 2 is formed of a material through which the transmission waves and the reflected waves pass, and is a member for protecting the transmission and reception unit 1, which the protective member 2 is formed of a material, such as engineering plastic or glass, having translucency allowing transmission in a predetermined wavelength range having the wavelength of the laser light as the center wavelength) based on detection information of the sensor corresponding to the detected light (Fig. 3, Par. [0043] the control processing unit 3A first measures the transmission and reception time and the intensity for each of the plurality of directions (the plurality of measurement points) (S1), where the reflected wave intensity measurement unit 33 of the control processing unit 3A acquires the intensity of the reflected wave (i.e. detection information of sensor corresponding to the detected light) based on the transmission wave relating to the first measurement point, on the basis of the digital signal received from the reception unit 12).
References MISAKO, Kline and FUJITA are considered to be analogous art because they relate to sensor systems on vehicles that become dirty. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to including detection information corresponding to the detected light as taught by FUJITA in the inventions of MISAKO and Kline in order to determine the dirt more precisely for reliable sensing performance (See FUJITA, Par. [0008], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 5, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches wherein the cleaner control unit is configured to actuate the cleaner based on an output of the dirt determining unit (page 20, paragraph 2, The dirt judging unit 3122 judges the dirt degree of the objects to be cleaned 1f, 1 b, 6f, 6b, 6r, 61, 7r, 71, 9c, and when it is judged that the dirt is dirty, the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b operate), and wherein the cleaner control unit is configured not to actuate the cleaner regardless of an output of the dirt determining unit within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Page 22, paragraph 7, when the vehicle control unit 3 determines that the predetermined interval has elapsed from the previous activation date and time of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b (i.e. predetermined time), the operation determination unit 3121 prohibits (i.e. not actuate regardless) the operation request signal requesting the operation of the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b).
Regarding Claim 7, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches further comprising: a predetermined time determining unit configured to determine the predetermined time according to a latitude of a current position (Page 22, paragraph 3, When the cleaner system 3100 determines from the location information acquisition unit 3125 (i.e. latitude of current position) that acquires the geographical position of the own vehicle 1 that the own vehicle 1 is in the area where there is a high possibility of people being present, the cleaners 101 to 109b Prohibit the operation of (i.e. predetermined time)).
Regarding Claim 8, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches wherein the sensor system is mounted on a vehicle (page 4, paragraph 5, FIG. 1, the vehicle 1 has a front LiDAR 6f, a rear LiDAR 6b, a right LiDAR 6r, a left LiDAR 6l), and wherein the sensor system comprises a predetermined time determining unit configured to determine the predetermined time according to a traveling speed of the vehicle acquired from the vehicle (page 21, paragraph 3, The vehicle speed sensor 3124 (i.e. traveling speed of vehicle) detects the vehicle speed of the vehicle 1 and outputs a specific vehicle speed signal to the prohibition determination unit 3121 when the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined vehicle speed (i.e. predetermined time). In the state where the specific vehicle speed signal is input from the vehicle speed sensor 3124, the prohibition determination unit 3121 does not output the operation signal to the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109 b even if the operation request signal is input from the dirt determination unit 3122. When the specific vehicle speed signal is input from the vehicle speed sensor 3124 and the operation request signal is input from the dirt determination unit 3122, the prohibition determination unit 3121 outputs an operation signal to the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109 b.).
Claims 2 - 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAZAWA MISAKO (WO 2019022038 A1), in view of Kline (US 2019/0322245 A1), in view of FUJITA (US 2018/0188362 A1), and in further view of DAKEMOTO (US 2019/0315353 A1) referred to as DAKEMOTO hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches wherein the cleaner control unit is configured to input the detection information of the sensor to the dirt determining unit (page 5, paragraphs 10-11, the cleaner control unit 116 includes an operation request generation unit 121, which is connected to the dirt sensor 123 that outputs a dirt signal to the operation request generation unit 121 when it determines that the detection target is dirty) within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Page 20, paragraph 4, The prohibition determination unit 3121 outputs an operation signal for operating the cleaners 101 to 109b when the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b are operated (i.e. predetermined time). The prohibition determination unit 3121 does not output an operation signal to the cleaners 101 to 109b when the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b are not operated (i.e. predetermined time)).
MISAKO does not specifically teach to not input detection information. Therefore, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA fails to explicitly teach the cleaner control unit is configured not to input the detection information of the sensor to the dirt determining unit within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete.
However, DAKEMOTO teaches the cleaner control unit is configured not to input the detection information of the sensor to the dirt determining unit within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Par. [0178] When a predetermined timing has arrived, the CPU starts the processing from Step 1100 (determine whether or not dirt of the protective window 411 corresponding to at least one of “the radar sensor 61) of FIG. 11, and proceeds to Step 1105 to determine whether or not the value of the cleaning start flag F5 is “0”. When the value of the cleaning start flag F5 is not “0”, the CPU determines “No” in Step 1105 (i.e. not to input), and directly proceeds to Step 1195 to temporarily end this routine).
References MISAKO, Kline, FUJITA and DAKEMOTO are considered to be analogous art because they relate to sensor systems on vehicles. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify to not input detection information as taught by DAKEMOTO in the inventions of MISAKO, Kline and FUJITA. This modification would allow the vehicle speed to determine the operation of the cleaner (See DAKEMOTO, page 6 paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 3, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches wherein the cleaner control unit is configured to allow the dirt determining unit to perform determination of dirt within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Page 20, paragraph 4, The prohibition determination unit 3121 outputs an operation signal for operating the cleaners 101 to 109b when the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b are operated (i.e. predetermined time). The prohibition determination unit 3121 does not output an operation signal to the cleaners 101 to 109b when the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b are not operated (i.e. predetermined time)).
MISAKO does not specifically teach to not allow performing of dirt detection. Therefore, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA fails to explicitly teach the cleaner control unit is configured to not allow the dirt determining unit to perform determination of dirt within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete.
However, DAKEMOTO teaches the cleaner control unit is configured to not allow the dirt determining unit to perform determination of dirt within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Par. [0178] When a predetermined timing has arrived, the CPU starts the processing from Step 1100 (determine whether or not dirt of the protective window 411 corresponding to at least one of “the radar sensor 61) of FIG. 11, and proceeds to Step 1105 to determine whether or not the value of the cleaning start flag F5 is “0”. When the value of the cleaning start flag F5 is not “0”, the CPU determines “No” in Step 1105 (i.e. not allow determining dirt), and directly proceeds to Step 1195 to temporarily end this routine).
References MISAKO, Kline, FUJITA and DAKEMOTO are considered to be analogous art because they relate to sensor systems on vehicles. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify to not allow determining of dirt as taught by DAKEMOTO in the inventions of MISAKO., Kline and FUJITA. This modification would allow the vehicle speed to determine the operation of the cleaner (See DAKEMOTO, page 6 paragraph 6).
Regarding Claim 4, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches wherein the cleaner control unit is configured to allow the dirt determining unit to output a result of determination of dirt within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Page 20, paragraph 4, The prohibition determination unit 3121 outputs an operation signal for operating the cleaners 101 to 109b when the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b are operated (i.e. predetermined time). The prohibition determination unit 3121 does not output an operation signal to the cleaners 101 to 109b when the corresponding cleaners 101 to 109b are not operated (i.e. predetermined time)).
MISAKO does not specifically teach to not allow dirt detection results. Therefore, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA fails to explicitly teach the cleaner control unit is configured not to allow the dirt determining unit to output a result of determination of dirt within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete.
However, DAKEMOTO teaches the cleaner control unit is configured not to allow the dirt determining unit to output a result of determination of dirt within the predetermined time after the drive of the cleaner is complete (Par. [0178] When a predetermined timing has arrived, the CPU starts the processing from Step 1100 (determine whether or not dirt of the protective window 411 corresponding to at least one of “the radar sensor 61) of FIG. 11, and proceeds to Step 1105 to determine whether or not the value of the cleaning start flag F5 is “0”. When the value of the cleaning start flag F5 is not “0”, the CPU determines “No” in Step 1105 (i.e. not allow result of determining dirt), and directly proceeds to Step 1195 to temporarily end this routine).
References MISAKO, Kline, FUJITA and DAKEMOTO are considered to be analogous art because they relate to sensor systems on vehicles. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify to not allow dirt determining dirt results as taught by DAKEMOTO in the inventions of MISAKO, Kline and FUJITA. This modification would allow the vehicle speed to determine the operation of the cleaner (See DAKEMOTO, page 6 paragraph 6).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAZAWA MISAKO (WO 2019022038 A1), in view of Kline (US 2019/0322245 A1), in view of FUJITA (US 2018/0188362 A1), and in further view of KAWAMURA KAZUKI (WO 2019172306 A1) referred to as KAZUKI hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA teaches claim 1. MISAKO further teaches wherein the sensor system is mounted on a vehicle (page 4, paragraph 5, FIG. 1, the vehicle 1 has a front LiDAR 6f, a rear LiDAR 6b, a right LiDAR 6r, a left LiDAR 6l) having a vehicle control unit (page 2, paragraph 7, FIG. 2, the vehicle system 2 wirelessly communicates with the vehicle control unit 3), and wherein the cleaner control unit is configured to permit actuation of the cleaner when a signal is acquired from the vehicle control unit (page 21, paragraph 3, The vehicle speed sensor 3124 (i.e. traveling speed of vehicle) detects the vehicle speed of the vehicle 1 and outputs a specific vehicle speed signal to the prohibition determination unit 3121 when the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined vehicle speed (i.e. predetermined time)).
MISAKO does not specifically disclose the vehicle is stopped. Therefore, MISAKO in combination with Kline and FUJITA fails to explicitly teach the cleaner control unit is configured to permit actuation of the cleaner when a signal, which indicates that the vehicle is stopped, is acquired from the vehicle control unit.
However, KAZUKI teaches the cleaner control unit is configured to permit actuation of the cleaner when a signal, which indicates that the vehicle is stopped, is acquired from the vehicle control unit (page 9, paragraph 2, If it is determined that the vehicle speed is equal to (i.e. indicating vehicle stopped) or lower than the predetermined value V1 (Yes in Step S3) , the cleaner control unit 116 operates all the cleaner units 110 in Step S14. That is, the cleaner control unit 116 cleans all the external sensors 6).
References MISAKO, Kline, FUJITA and KAZUKI are considered to be analogous art because they relate to sensor systems on vehicles. Therefore, it would be obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify actuation of cleaner based on vehicle speed as taught by KAZUKI in the inventions of MISAKO, Kline and FUJITA. This modification would allow the vehicle speed to determine the operation of the cleaner (See KAZUKI, page 6 paragraph 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425