DETAILED ACTION
In Request for Continued Examination filed on 01/30/2026, claims 1-4 and 6-15 are pending. Claim 5 is currently cancelled. Claims 14-15 are newly added. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are considered in the current Office Action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 103 rejections are withdrawn based on the Applicant’s amendment. However, new rejections have been established.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Newly added claims 14-15 are directed to “A system” and has been interpreted as apparatus claims as the claims are mainly claiming the structures of an apparatus. The Examiner wishes to point out the application claims 14-15 are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (Please see MPEP 2112.01 and 2114-2115 for further details).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2021/077441 (“Deguchi et al” hereinafter Deguchi), machine translation provided in Office Action dated 03/24/2025, and in view of US2014/0196616 (Schwelling) and US3,871,808 (Ancker).
Regarding Claim 1, Deguchi teaches a calendering roll press (Figure 5) for manufacturing a dry electrode in which a plurality of calendering crown rolls is arranged to stretch a dry electrode sheet (abstract and Figure 1), the calendering roll press (Figure 5) comprising: a calendaring crown roll (Figure 5, press roll portion 40) including:
a center roller (Figure 5, first transport drive roller 41) having inner wheel drive shafts protruding in a longitudinal direction from a center of both side surfaces of the center roller (Figure 5, rotary shaft 42 and [0050]); and
a first side roller (Figure 5, transport drive roller 43) and a second side rollers (Figure 5, transport drive roller 45) each having an inner surface facing a respective one of both side surfaces of the center roller in the longitudinal direction, respectively (Figure 5 and [0049], two transport drive rollers 43 and 45 located on both ends in the width direction of the first transport drive roller 41), wherein the first side roller and the second side roller each have an outer wheel drive shaft protruding from a center of an outer surface thereof in the longitudinal direction (Figure 5, [0051], transport drive roller 43 and 45 can freely rotate by engaging a gear portion provided at an end portion of the outer periphery thereof with a gear portion on the motor side), wherein each of the outer wheel drive shafts are hollow ([0051], gears are hollow structure), so as to allow a respective one of the inner wheel drive shafts to pass therethrough ([0051], rotary shaft 42 is inserted through the gears); and
a motor configured to independently and rotatably drive the center roller, the first side roller and the second side roller (([0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41 and a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45 so that the rotating shaft 42 of the first transport drive roller 41 and the second transport drive roller 43 can freely rotate with each other).
Deguchi fails to teach wherein the inner wheel drive shafts are integrally formed with the center roller.
However, Schwelling teaches the inner wheel drive shafts are integrally formed with the center roller (Figure 3, the end sections 602 and 603 formed a drive shaft which rotates the pressure roller 6 by 180° [0051]-[0052]).
Deguchi and Schwelling are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of calendering roller to produce sheets of materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Deguchi such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Schwelling because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known design to combine the shaft with the roller to rotate the roller simultaneously with the shaft in order to control the rotation of the roller through the drive shaft ([0051]-[0052]). See MPEP 2143. Furthermore, the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
The modified Deguchi fails to teach wherein outer circumferential surfaces of the first side roller, the center roller, and the second side roller each have a continuous parabolic surface, wherein the center roller is convex.
However, Ancker teaches wherein outer circumferential surfaces of the first side roller, the center roller, and the second side roller each have a continuous parabolic surface (Figure 9, the first side roller, the center roller, and the second side roller each have a parabolic surface and Col. 4, liens 38-59), wherein the center roller is convex (Figure 9, the surface of the center roller is convex parabolic and Col. 4, liens 38-59).
Deguchi and Ancker are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of calendering roller to produce sheets of materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Deguchi such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Ancker to compensate for the roll deflection (Col. 4, lines 47-52).
Regarding Claim 2, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 1, wherein the center roller and each side roller are configured to rotate at different angular velocities (Deguchi, ([0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41 and a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45. Thus, the apparatus of Deguchi is capable of controlling the rollers so that they have different angular velocities and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114).
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 1, wherein motor is configured to drive the center roller at a slower angular velocity than an angular velocity of each side roller (Deguchi, ([0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41 and a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45. Thus, the apparatus of Deguchi is capable of controlling the rollers so that they have different angular velocities and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114).
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 3, wherein the motor is configured to drive the first and the second side rollers at an equal angular velocity (Deguchi, ([0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45; and [0051], it is preferable that this rotating mechanism of drive rollers 43 and 45 are connected and controlled at the same time. Thus, the apparatus of Deguchi is capable of controlling the rollers so that they have an equal angular velocities and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. Limitations directed toward the capabilities or intended uses of the apparatus are given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the apparatus. MPEP 2114).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 1, wherein each of the inner wheel drive shafts of the center roller is longer than a respective one of the outer wheel drive shafts of the first and second side rollers (Deguchi, Figure 5, the rotary shaft 42 extended beyond the outer periphery which is where the gear portion is located [0051]), so that each of the inner wheel drive shafts extend to an exterior of the respective one of the outer wheel drive shafts (Figure 5, the rotary shaft 42 extended beyond the outer periphery which is where the gear portion is located [0051]).
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 6, wherein at least one bearings is provided between an inner periphery surface of each of the outer wheel drive shafts and a respective outer periphery surface of each of the inner wheel drive shafts (Deguchi, Figure 5, bearings 44 and 46).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 1, wherein the motor includes: a center motor connected to the center roller, wherein the center motor is configured to rotate the center roller, and a side motor including a first side motor and a second side motor each connected to the first side roller and the second side roller, respectively (Deguchi, [0051] and [0052], the transport drive roller 43 and 45 each has its own rotating mechanism which comprises a motor and the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41 and a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45. Thus, it is implied a motor for controlling the first transport drive roller 41 and at least a second and a third motor for controlling the transport drive roller 43 and 45 respectively), wherein the first and second side motors are configured to rotate the respective first and second side rollers ([0051] and [0052], the transport drive roller 43 and 45 each has its own rotating mechanism which comprises a motor).
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 9, wherein one of each of the inner wheel drive shafts communicates with the center motor, so as to rotate each of the inner wheel drive shafts and the center roller (Deguchi, [0050] and [0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41, which implied that the motor is in communication with the rotary shaft 42 to rotates the transport drive roller 41), and wherein each of the outer wheel drive shafts provided on the outer surface of each of the first and the second side roller is configured to rotate by communicating with a respective one of the first and second side motors ([0051] and [0052], the transport drive roller 43 and 45 each has its own rotating mechanism which comprises a motor and the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45. Thus, it is implied a at least a second and a third motor for controlling the transport drive roller 43 and 45 respectively).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 9, wherein one of each of the inner wheel drive shafts communicates with the center motor, so as to rotate each of the inner wheel drive shafts and the center roller (Deguchi, [0050] and [0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41, which implied that the motor is in communication with the rotary shaft 42 to rotates the transport drive roller 41), and wherein each of the outer wheel drive shafts provided on the outer surface of the respective first and second side rollers is configured to rotate together by communicating with a single side moto ([0051] and [0052], the transport drive roller 43 and 45 each has its own rotating mechanism and preferably the rotating mechanisms are connected so that they can be controlled at the same time which implied only one motor is present. Furthermore, the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45. Thus, it is implied a motor for controlling the motor for controlling the transport drive roller 43 and 45 simultaneously).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2021/077441 (“Deguchi et al” hereinafter Deguchi), machine translation provided in Office Action dated 03/24/2025, and in view of US2014/0196616 (Schwelling) and CN207937901U (Ruan), machine translation provided, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of JPH0665888 (“Ono et al” hereinafter Ono), machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 7, Deguchi further teaches a pair of bearings 44 and 46 located between an inner periphery surface of each of the outer wheel drive shafts and a respective outer periphery surface of each of the inner wheel drive shafts (Figure 5) but fails to teach wherein the at least one bearing is a ball bearing, a roller bearing, or a journal bearing.
However, Ono teaches a roller bearing located between the shaft 31 and the shell 33 (Figure 8) to rotate the shell 33 by an external power (page 1, lines 24-26).
Deguchi and Ono are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of calendering roller to produce sheets of materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the at least one bearing of the modified Deguchi such that the at least one bearing is a roller bearing as taught by Ono because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to connect the shaft with the roller in order to rotate the roller by an external power (page 1, lines 24-26). See MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2021/077441 (“Deguchi et al” hereinafter Deguchi), machine translation provided in Office Action dated 03/24/2025, and in view of US2014/0196616 (Schwelling) and CN207937901U (Ruan), machine translation provided as applied to claims 10 or 12 above, and further in view of CN111622010 (“Liu et al” hereinafter Liu), machine translation provided.
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 10, but fails to teach wherein each of the inner wheel drive shafts are configured to rotate to communicating with a center sprocket by a connector, wherein the center sprocket is provided on a shaft of a center motor, and each of the outer wheel drive shafts are configured to rotate independently communicating with a respective side sprocket by a respective connector, wherein each side sprocket is provided on a respective shaft of each of the first and second side motors.
However, Liu teaches wherein each of the inner wheel drive shafts are configured to rotate to communicating with a center sprocket by a connector wherein the center sprocket is provided on a shaft of a center motor (Figure 3, a second sprocket 153 fixedly sleeved on the output end of the first motor 152 through the chain 154 that is meshes with the second sprocket 153, page 4, lines 48-54).
Deguchi and Liu are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of calendering roller to produce sheets of materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of the modified Deguchi such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Liu to adjust and control the position of the roller and the speed of the roller.
The modified Deguchi fails to teach each of the outer wheel drive shafts are configured to rotate independently communicating with a respective side sprocket by a respective connector, wherein each side sprocket is provided on a respective shaft of each of the first and second side motors.
However, Liu discloses a second sprocket 153 fixedly sleeved on the output end of the first motor 152 through the chain 154 that is meshes with the second sprocket 153 (Figure 3 and page 4, lines 48-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the sprocket and the connector to be applied to the outer wheel drive shafts, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the sprocket and the connector for the purpose of adjust and control the position of the rollers and the speed of the rollers.
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Deguchi teaches the calendering roll press of claim 12, but fails to teach wherein each of the inner wheel drive shafts are configured to rotate by communicating with a center sprocket by a connector, wherein the center sprocket is provided on a shaft of the center motor, and each of the outer wheel drive shafts communicate with a respective side sprocket by a respective connector, wherein each of the side sprockets is provided on a respective opposing side of a single shaft in the longitudinal direction, wherein the single shaft is configured to rotate by the single side motor.
However, Liu teaches wherein each of the inner wheel drive shafts are configured to rotate by communicating with a center sprocket by a connector wherein the center sprocket is provided on a shaft of a center motor (Figure 3, a second sprocket 153 fixedly sleeved on the output end of the first motor 152 through the chain 154 that is meshes with the second sprocket 153, page 4, lines 48-54).
Deguchi and Liu are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of calendering roller to produce sheets of materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of the modified Deguchi such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Liu to adjust and control the position of the roller and the speed of the roller.
The modified Deguchi fails to teach each of the outer wheel drive shafts communicate with a respective side sprocket by a respective connector, wherein each of the side sprockets is provided on a respective opposing side of a single shaft in the longitudinal direction, wherein the single shaft is configured to rotate by the single side motor.
However, Liu discloses a second sprocket 153 fixedly sleeved on the output end of the first motor 152 through the chain 154 that is meshes with the second sprocket 153 (Figure 3 and page 4, lines 48-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the sprocket and the connector to be applied to the outer wheel drive shafts, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the sprocket and the connector for the purpose of adjust and control the position of the rollers and the speed of the rollers.
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2021/077441 (“Deguchi et al” hereinafter Deguchi), machine translation provided in Office Action dated 03/24/2025, and in view of US2014/0196616 (Schwelling).
Regarding Claim 14, Deguchi teaches a system (interpreted as apparatus claims) for manufacturing a dry electrode (abstract and Figure 1) comprising:
a calendering roll press (Figure 5) including a plurality of calendering crown rolls arranged to stretch a dry electrode sheet (abstract and Figure 1);
wherein the calendering roll press (Figure 5) comprises: a calendaring crown roll (Figure 5, press roll portion 40) including: a center roller (Figure 5, first transport drive roller 41) having inner wheel drive shafts protruding in a longitudinal direction from a center of both side surfaces of the center roller (Figure 5, rotary shaft 42 and [0050]); and
a first side roller (Figure 5, transport drive roller 43) and a second side rollers (Figure 5, transport drive roller 45) each having an inner surface facing a respective one of both side surfaces of the center roller in the longitudinal direction, respectively (Figure 5 and [0049], two transport drive rollers 43 and 45 located on both ends in the width direction of the first transport drive roller 41), wherein the first side roller and the second side roller each have an outer wheel drive shaft protruding from a center of an outer surface thereof in the longitudinal direction (Figure 5, [0051], transport drive roller 43 and 45 can freely rotate by engaging a gear portion provided at an end portion of the outer periphery thereof with a gear portion on the motor side), wherein each of the outer wheel drive shafts are hollow ([0051], gears are hollow structure), so as to allow a respective one of the inner wheel drive shafts to pass therethrough ([0051], rotary shaft 42 is inserted through the gears); and
a motor configured to independently and rotatably drive the center roller, the first side roller and the second side roller (([0052], the control unit 13 independently controls a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the first transport drive roller 41 and a mechanism such as a motor that rotationally drives the second transport drive rollers 43 and 45 so that the rotating shaft 42 of the first transport drive roller 41 and the second transport drive roller 43 can freely rotate with each other).
Deguchi fails to teach wherein the inner wheel drive shafts are integrally formed with the center roller.
However, Schwelling teaches the inner wheel drive shafts are integrally formed with the center roller (Figure 3, the end sections 602 and 603 formed a drive shaft which rotates the pressure roller 6 by 180° [0051]-[0052]).
Deguchi and Schwelling are analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of calendering roller to produce sheets of materials. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of Deguchi such that it teaches the above discussed limitations as taught by Schwelling because the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known design to combine the shaft with the roller to rotate the roller simultaneously with the shaft in order to control the rotation of the roller through the drive shaft ([0051]-[0052]). See MPEP 2143. Furthermore, the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be obvious. It has been held to be within the general skill of one working in the art to make plural parts unitary or integral. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Deguchi teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the plurality of calendering crown rolls are in direct contact with the dry electrode sheet (Deguchi, Figure 1 and abstract), wherein the dry electrode sheet does not include a current collector.
The Claims contain limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115 and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) for further details.
Here, the dry electrode sheet is worked upon by the apparatus and is accordingly given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this particular case, the dry electrode sheet does not include a current collector does not add additional structure to the apparatus itself and is thus not given patentable weight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742