DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amended claims are not read upon by DuPont, and thus, there is unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because the linear polymer is known in the prior art, as cited in the following rejections below and incorporated herein, and thus, the linear polymer is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10, 11, 13-17, 19-21, and 23, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-12 of copending Application No. 18/852,980 (App. No. 18/852,980).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/852,980 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-9, App. No. 18/852,980 teaches a conjugated polymer having the repeating structure of formula
, wherein Ar is an arylene or heteroarylene group, p is at least 1, one of Y1 or Y2 is CR1, wherein R1 is H, the other Y1 and Y2 is N. (claim 7), wherein p is also 2-5 (claim 8), Ar is p-phenylene (claim 9), wherein one of the substituents of Ar is F (claim 10), and specifically, the formula is
(claim 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/284,850 (App. No. 18/284,850).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/284,850 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-2, App. No. 18/284,850 teaches a conjugated polymer with the repeating unit of formula
, wherein Ar is an arylene or heteroarylene group, p is at least 1, one of Y1 and Y2 is CR7, and the other Y1 and Y2 is N. (claim 6).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the repeating units of formulae (II to IV), however “Y1,” “Y2,” “Ar,” and “p,” are not defined. It is unclear whether they are defined by the same definitions as in claim 1 or by another definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0041862 A1 to Li (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claims 1-7 and 9, Li teaches a semiconducting polymer having the formula
(para 6), wherein a and b are 0 to 10, n is 2 to 5000, (para 7-11), and specifically, the formula is
, wherein R3 is an alkyl groups, (para 12-13), such as C1-C20 alkyl groups, (para 13), which meets the claimed linear polymer wherein Ar is heteroarylene groups of thiophene, p=4, Y1 is N, and Y2 is -CH- of claims 1-7. Li also teaches the semiconducting polymer can have the formula
, which appears to meet the claimed formula (II) in claim 9, wherein q is 1 and p does not appear to be defined.
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/225826 A1 to Sukumaran et al. (hereinafter Sukumaran).
Regarding claims 1-3, 8 and 9, Sukumaran teaches the fluorescent polymer having the formula
, wherein R1 and R2 is
(Example 2, page 15, ln 19-29) or
(page 3-4), which meets the formula (I) of claims 1-3, and formula (III) of claims 8-9, wherein the linker group L is a C6 alkylene group.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al., “Conjugated Aromatic Polyimines. 2. Synthesis, Structure, and Properties of New Aromatic Polyazomethines,” Macromolecules, vol. 28(4), page 1180-1195 (1995). (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7 and 9,Yang teaches a polyazomethine having the formula
, which meets formula (I) of claims 1-4, 7, and formula (II) of claim 9.
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al., “Synthesis of One-Dimensional Schiff Base Polymers that Contain an Oligothiophene Building Block on the Graphite Surface,” Chemistry European Journal, vol. 21, pp. 6898-6905 (2015). (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claims 1-7, and 9, Sun teaches a polymer having the formula
, wherein Ar is
(page 6899), which meets claims 1-7 and 9.
Claim(s) 1-7, and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cianga et al., “New polymers with poly(p-phenylene-azomethine) structures,” Buletinul Stiintific al Universitatii "Politehnica" din Timisoara Romania, Seria Chimie si Mediului, vol. 48(1-2), pp. 86-89. (2003). (hereinafter Cianga).
Regarding claims 1-7 and 9, Cianga teaches the polymer having the formula
(See STN abstract), which meets claims 1-7 and 9.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itabashi et al., “Multi-Layer Polymer Light-Emitting Diodes Prepared by Vapor Deposition Polymerization of Polyazomethine Thin Film,” Japanese Journal of Applied Physics, Vol. 47, No. 2, pp. 1271–1275, (2008). (hereinafter Itabashi).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, and 9, Itabashi teaches the polymer having the formula
(See page 1271), which meets claims 1-4, 7 and 9.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheng-Fun et al., “Polyazomethines based on oxadiazolyl or 1,2,4-triazolyl groups: synthesis and hole-buffering application in polymer light-emitting diodes,” Polymer Chemistry, vol. 9, pp. 5442-5451 (2018). (hereinafter Sheng-Fun).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-7, Sheng-Fun teaches the polymer having the formulas
, which meets claims 1-3, 5-7.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766