DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshima et al. (JP 2014125511).
Regarding claim 1, Oshima et al. teaches a pressure sensitive adhesive laminate comprising a polyolefin-based resin composition layer and an adhesive layer formed of an acrylic adhesive composition (See Abstract, pages 1-2), wherein the acrylic adhesive composition comprises at least one polymer block composed of methacrylic acid ester units and acrylate ester units, wherein polymer block (i-1) is methyl methacrylate present in an amount of 5 to 50% by mass and polymer block (i-2) is 2-ethylhexyl acrylate (page 8). Oshima et al. teaches wherein the acrylic block copolymer (I) has a weight average molecular weight (Mw) of 30,000 to 300,000 (page 7) which overlaps the claimed range of 200,000 to 250,000. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Oshima et al. teaches wherein the acrylic adhesive composition (Z) comprises a tackifier resin (P) (pages 11-12).
Regarding claim 4, Oshima et al. teaches wherein the tackifier resin (P) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of rosin compounds, terpene compounds, and hydrocarbon resins (pages 11-12).
Regarding claim 5, Oshima et al. teaches wherein the acrylic adhesive composition (Z) comprises a styrenic thermoplastic elastomer (Q) (pages 9-10).
Regarding claim 6, given that Oshima et al. teaches laminate comprising materials and structure identical to that presently claimed, the laminate of Oshima et al. would necessarily have a change ratio of adhesive force as presently claimed, absent evidence to that contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claim 1 to recite specific types of polymer block (b1) and (b2), molecular weight of the acrylic block copolymer (I) and the content of polymer block (b2) and deleted general formula (1) of (b1).
Applicant argues that unexpected results are achieved using the block copolymer with molecular weight and amount of polymer block (b2).
However, the data is not persuasive given that the data is not commensurate in scope with the present claims. Specifically, there is no data at the lower end point of content of polymer block (b2), i.e. 4 mass%. Further, there is no comparative example to establish criticality of the upper end of the molecular weight range and the lower end of the polymer block amount (b2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787