DETAILED ACTION
3. Claim 9 has been amended and claims 1-13 are pending as amended on 06/29/26.
4. Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2020/139307 12/25/2020.
Response to Amendment
7. Applicant's amendment filed on 06/29/26, has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to objection of claims 9 filed on 06/29/26, have been fully considered but are moot in view of amendment. Previous objection has been withdrawn.
9. Applicant's arguments with respect to rejection of claims 1-8, 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (WO 2018/107453; for English translation the equivalent US 2020/0079726 applied) and claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Sheats (US 2004/0234717) filed on 06/29/26, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicants have alleged that Yang does not disclose the claimed L and this remain the main issue of applicants remarks. It has been noted that Yang expressly discloses the claimed L. Applicants are suggested to interpret prior arts BMT-2 and BEI-2. Applicants are further suggested to consults prior arts para [0018], and [0022] reproduced here: L represent a divalent group having a repeating
Accordingly, previous rejections have been maintained.
Applicants arguments regarding double patent rejection has been noted. However, filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot be held in abeyance since that filing "is
necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims" MPEP 804 (I) (B) (1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-10, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,462. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention and patented claimed inventions are directed to the same curable composition, wherein the patented claims 1, 13 anticipates instant claims 1-2. The instant claims 6-13 are either same as patented claims 5-10 or the composition of patented claims can be used for claimed intended purposes. Regarding instant claims 3, 5, since patented claims discloses same curable compound as instantly claimed, the properties such as viscosity or glass transition temperature would inherently be same as instantly claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-10, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,952,462 as applied to above, and further in view of Yang (WO 2018/107453; for English translation the equivalent US 2020/0079726 applied)
Regarding instant claim 4, the patented claims are silent about the weight average molecular weight.
However,
Yang discloses curable composition, for example BMI-2
which is synthesized from reaction of diamine 2-1 with maleic anhydride (MW 98) by replacing the O of anhydride by amine N at both end of diamine 2-1, wherein the diamine 2-1 has formula
wherein the weight average molecular weight of the diamine 2-1 is 5,500 (para [0186], formula 14, table 1), result in weight average molecular weight of BMI-2 as 5696 (5,500 + 2x98), fall into instant claim range of 1,000 to 10,000.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weight average molecular weight of compound disclosed by patented claims over the same range as Yang’s compound, given that both are being used in a similar context for the same purpose, e.g. curable composition to make cured products.
Claims 1-3, 5-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,545,753. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention and patented claimed inventions are directed to the same curable composition, wherein the patented claims 1-4 anticipates instant claims 1-2. The instant claims 6-13 are same as patented claims 9-18. Regarding instant claims 3, 5, since patented claims discloses same curable compound as instantly claimed, the properties such as viscosity or glass transition temperature would inherently be same as instantly claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,545,753 as applied to above, and further in view of Yang (WO 2018/107453; for English translation the equivalent US 2020/0079726 applied)
Regarding instant claim 4, the patented claims are silent about the weight average molecular weight.
However,
Yang discloses curable composition, for example BMI-2
which is synthesized from reaction of diamine 2-1 with maleic anhydride (MW 98) by replacing the O of anhydride by amine N at both end of diamine 2-1, wherein the diamine 2-1 has formula
wherein the weight average molecular weight of the diamine 2-1 is 5,500 (para [0186], formula 14, table 1), result in weight average molecular weight of BMI-2 as 5696 (5,500 + 2x98), fall into instant claim range of 1,000 to 10,000.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weight average molecular weight of compound disclosed by patented claims over the same range as Yang’s compound, given that both are being used in a similar context for the same purpose, e.g. curable composition to make cured products.
Claims 1-3, 5-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4, 15-21 of copending Application No 18/030,720. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention and copending claimed inventions are directed to the same curable composition, wherein the copending claims 2-4 anticipates instant claims 1-2, the noted difference is the instant claim 1 require an aromatic rings may have an alkyl in L, while the copending claim 4 discloses Ar¹ to Ar³ in Formula (I) and Formula (II) are identical or different, and each represent a group in which two hydrogen atoms are removed from a structure of an aromatic ring having from 6 to 14 carbons, or a group in which two hydrogen atoms are removed from a structure containing two or more aromatic rings each having from 6 to 14 carbons, the aromatic rings being bonded through a single bond, a linear or branched-chain alkylene group having from 1 to 5 carbons, or a group in which one or more hydrogen atoms of a linear or branched-chain alkylene group having from 1 to 5 carbons are substituted with a halogen atom. The instant claims 6-13 are same as copending claims 5-10, and further the composition of copending claims can be used for any of the claimed intended purposes. Regarding instant claims 3, 5, since copending claims discloses same curable compound as instantly claimed, the properties such as viscosity or glass transition temperature would inherently be same as instantly claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4, 15-21 of copending Application No 18/030,720 as applied to above, and further in view of Yang (WO 2018/107453; for English translation the equivalent US 2020/0079726 applied)
Regarding instant claim 4, the copending claims are silent about the weight average molecular weight.
However,
Yang discloses curable composition, for example BMI-2
which is synthesized from reaction of diamine 2-1 with maleic anhydride (MW 98) by replacing the O of anhydride by amine N at both end of diamine 2-1, wherein the diamine 2-1 has formula
wherein the weight average molecular weight of the diamine 2-1 is 5,500 (para [0186], formula 14, table 1), result in weight average molecular weight of BMI-2 as 5696 (5,500 + 2x98), fall into instant claim range of 1,000 to 10,000.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weight average molecular weight of compound disclosed by copending claims over the same range as Yang’s compound, given that both are being used in a similar context for the same purpose, e.g. curable composition to make cured products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (WO 2018/107453; for English translation the equivalent US 2020/0079726 applied).
Regarding claims 1-2, Yang discloses a curable compound of formula
, wherein R1 and R2 are identical or different, represented by structures such as
(para [0018]-0020]; read on Formula (r-1)), wherein D1 and D2 are identical or different, represented by formula
(para [0021]; read on claim 2 structure), wherein L represents the formula
, wherein Ar1, Ar2, Ar3, X, and Y have same definition as claim 1 (para [0018]-[0022], [0107]). Further, Yang discloses the structure containing 100% of Formula (r-1), for example,
or
(para [0115], [0177], [0186]; read on a proportion of the group represented by Formula (r-1) to a sum of the group represented by Formula (r-1) and the group represented by Formula (r-2) is 97% or greater), meeting the requirements of claims 1-2.
Regarding claim 3, since Yang discloses same curable compound as instantly claimed, the properties such as viscosity would inherently be same as instantly claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses BMI-2
which is synthesized from reaction of diamine 2-1 with maleic anhydride (MW 98) by replacing the O of anhydride by amine N at both end of diamine 2-1, wherein the diamine 2-1 has formula
wherein the weight average molecular weight of the diamine 2-1 is 5,500 (para [0186], formula 14, table 1), result in weight average molecular weight of BMI-2 as 5696 (5,500 + 2x98), fall into instant claim range of 1,000 to 10,000.
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses glass transition temperature 131 0C (table 4, BMI-2-1), fall into claimed range of 80 to 230 0C.
Regarding claims 6-7, 10-13, Yang includes the features of claim 1 above. Yang further discloses a molded product, laminated plates, composite materials comprising fibers, coating agents (paints), and sealants obtained from the curable compound either in cured or uncured form (para [0145], [0151]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang includes the features of claim 1 above. Yang further discloses a method of curing the curable compound on a glass substrate through heat treatment (para [0232]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claims 1, 8 above, and further in view of Sheats (US 2004/0234717).
Yang includes the features of claims 1, 8 above.
Regarding claim 9, Yang is silent about the method comprising applying a molten material of the curable compound product on a support made of plastic, solidifying the applied material, forming a thin film containing the curable compound product, releasing the formed thin film from the support, laminating the formed thin film on a substrate, and performing heat treatment.
However, Sheats discloses forming a thin film laminate by applying a molten material onto a polymeric substrate (para [0059]-[0062]), solidifying the material to obtain a film, detaching the film from the donor substrate (para [0067]-[0068]), laminating the film to the receptor substrate and heat treating the laminate (para [0068], [0080]) to have good adhesion and excellent mechanical stability (para [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the process of forming the laminate of Sheats in the process of Yang. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Sheats that to do so would provide a good adhesion and excellent mechanical stability.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766