DETAILED ACTION
Action Summary
This action is in response to the papers filed on July 28, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of “Group I, Claims 35, 26-29, and 44” and “Species a (the 21 genes recited in claim 35) for examination on which claims 35, 26-29, and 44 are readable” in the reply filed on July 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the applicant asserts the cited prior art [Regev et al., US 2021/047694 A1] does not teach the shared technical feature among the substantially amended claims now requiring “the steps of measuring the expression levels of at least the 18 genes recited in claims 35 (as part of the gene set comprising 21 genes) and 40, and determining the subtype of the subject’s colorectal cancer based on these expression levels”.
The amended claims now require measuring at least the combination of the recited 18 genes, rather than “genes of the following… 18 genes”.
This amendment does appear to contribute over Regev alone, as the two genes: SPAG5 and TMEM189-UBE2V1 do not appear to be expressly included in any of the NMF programs on tables 1-14 of Regev.
For clarity, the relevant explicit teachings of Regev are included below (highlighting added):
Regev teaches methods of “classifying CRC [colorectal cancer] tumors comprising projecting expression data obtained from a tumor (e.g. a “test sample”) onto one or more NMF programs selected from Tables 1-14” by which “tumors are classified based on likelihood of survival.” (e.g. into subtypes) (paragraph 0014).
Regev explicitly teaches categorizing tumors based on signature genes or gene programs (i.e. NMF programs) expressed by the tumor based on gene expression determined from bulk sequencing of the tumor and its microenvironment “TME” (paragraph 0185). It is noted that determination of gene expression by “bulk sequencing” not only comprises measuring the expression of all of the genes in Tables 1-14 (which include 16 of the 18 genes common among the present claims), but also includes measuring the expression of at least all annotated genes.
The traversal of the requirement for restriction and election of species further cites Regev paragraph 0015: “With respect to these genes, Regev states: “In another aspect, the present invention provides for a method of treating CRC comprising administering CPB therapy and/or an IDO1 inhibitor in combination with an agent capable of modulating a gene selected from Table 1-14” and asserts that “Regev merely identified the listed genes as targets of an additional agent which is to be administered with CPB therapy and/or an IDO1 inhibitor and as belonging to certain NMF programs”.
The passage of Regev cited in the response (paragraph 0015) describing “methods of treating” is explicitly in reference to one “aspect” (i.e. embodiment) of the disclosure. The teachings of Regev are not limited to this single embodiment, and the passages cited above clearly show that Regev teaches measuring the expression of at least the genes on Tables 1-14 in a sample comprising tumor cells for the express purpose of determining the subtype of the tumor (see above).
While all of the recited genes are measured by “bulk sequencing”, Regev et al. do not appear to expressly include the genes SPAG5 and TMEM189-UBE2V1 in any of the NMF programs on tables 1-14.
However, Marisa et al., “Gene Expression Classification of Colon Cancer into Molecular Subtypes: Characterization, Validation, and Prognostic Value” PLoS Med 10(5): e1001453 (2013) teach methods comprising subtyping colorectal cancer based on unsupervised consensus hierarchical clustering on a discovery subset including steps of determining expression levels, calculating expression profiles… classifying the discovery subset (i.e. training subset) into subsets based on their similarity to each cluster (i.e. subtype), calculating survival risk associated with each subtype, and classifying samples in a validation cohort (i.e. a “subject”) into gene expression and survival risk clusters determined from the discovery cohort (Marisa et al., Abstract, page 3, column 1-column 2 bridging paragraph, page 4, column 1, and figure 4).
Marisa et al. teach measuring gene expression profiles of each of the colorectal cancer samples using the Affymetrix U133 Plus 2.0 array.
The Affymetrix U133 Plus 2.0 array comprises probes specific to each of the genes (including SPAG 5 and TMEM189-UBE2V1 in the 21 gene set recited in claim 35 (NCBI GEO GPL570 Affymetrix U133 Plus 2.0 Array Genes).
Therefore, the shared technical feature among the amended claims is not a special technical feature because it does not contribute over the art in view of Marisa et al. alone or Regev et al. in combination with Marisa et al.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The claims of group II, (claims 40, 31-34, and 41) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 28, 2026.
Priority/Claim Status
The present Application, filed on March 21, 2024, is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/141033, filed on December 24, 2021 and claims Foreign Priority to CHINA 202011561310.2, filed on December 25, 2020.
Claims 26-29, 31-35, 40-41, and 44 are currently pending in the present application.
Claims 31-34 and 40-41 are withdrawn
Claims 26-29, 35, and 44 are currently under examination.
Drawings
The drawings dated March 21, 2024 are acceptable.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The specification contains at least the following typographical errors referring to trade names or marks used in commerce:
“Alexa fluordye” appears to be a typographical error in reference to “Alexa Fluor dye”;
“Thermo” appears to be a truncation of “Thermo Fisher” or “Thermo Fisher Scientific”;
“Affymatrics” appears to be a typographical error in reference to “Affymetrix”;
“Qiagen RNease FFPE kit” a typographical error in reference to “Qiagen RNeasy FFEP kit”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms “Alexa Fluor”, “Texas Red”, “Qiagen”, “Invitrogen”, “ABI”, “NEB”, “Thermo Fisher”, “Illumina”, “SYBR”, “NextSeq”, “MiSeq”, “MiniSeq”, “iSeq”, “Applied Biosystems”, “Roche”, and “New England Biolabs”, which are each a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Applicant is reminded that 35 U.S.C. 112(d) requires that each claim in dependent form “shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth…”.
The claims 26-29, as presently amended, depend from independent claim 35. As such, these dependent claims fail to “reference a claim previously set forth…” and are therefore improperly numbered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 26-29, 35, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites “a method for treating colorectal cancer in a subject” comprising measuring gene expression of a set of genes in a training set and a test sample of the subject. The specification filed on March 21, 2024 does not provide any particular limiting definition of “a subject”, however, regarding the breadth of this claim term, the specification states that “the subject can be a mammal, preferably a human, especially a patient suffering from colorectal cancer” (page 17). The claims further recite gene sets identified by their gene names as known in human genome assemblies. It is unclear if the inventor or joint inventor intends the claim term “colorectal cancer in a subject” to limit the claim to the preferred embodiment, “preferably a human, especially a patient suffering from colorectal cancer” (i.e. the “subject” is a human with colorectal cancer), or if the inventor or joint inventor intends the claims to encompass a broader claim scope wherein “a subject” encompasses “a mammal” (i.e. any species within the taxonomic class Mammalia). Furthermore, it is unclear if the claim is intended to be limited to methods comprising determining expression levels of the human genes recited by the claim or if the claim is intended to encompass methods comprising determining expression levels of genes annotated as orthologs of the recited human genes in other species within the taxonomic class Mammalia.
Claim 35 recites the claim term “a colorectal cancer sample”. Neither the claims nor the specification provide a limiting definition of “a colorectal cancer sample”. The specification provides that “the sample… is not particularly limited, as long as the expression levels of the gents in the gene panel can be obtained therefrom… preferably a sample of tissue, blood, plasma, body fluid or a combination thereof, preferably a tissue sample, in particular a paraffin tissue sample, in a preferable embodiment, the sample is a tumor tissue sample or a tissue sample containing tumor cells… [or] a tumor tissue sample with a high content of tumor cells”. (Page 18). It is unclear whether the applicant intends the claim term “a colorectal cancer sample” to be limited to one of these preferred embodiments (e.g., a tumor tissue sample) or whether the applicant intends the claim term to encompass any type of sample from a subject with colorectal cancer from which RNA can be extracted to perform gene expression assays (e.g. buccal swab, blood, a colorectal cancer tumor biopsy, stool, etc.).
Claim 35 recites a step of “determining a mismatch repair (MMR) index”. The specification provides exemplary methods by which said determination may be accomplished (page 24): “the process… can be referred to, for example, the Bethesda guideline criteria… For example, the expression of MLH1, PMS2, MSH2, and MSH6… [proteins] may be detected by immunohistochemistry… alternatively, microsatellite sites BAT25, BAT26, D5S346, D2S123, and D17S250 may be detected by PCR and compared with normal MS [microsatellites]”. However, the claims and the specification do not appear to limit the “determining a MMR index” step to the exemplary “Bethesda guideline criteria”, nor do the claims recite any steps comprising: 1) measuring the expression of any of the listed MMR proteins (or RNA?), or 2) detecting the listed microsatellite sites by PCR in the recited sample. Furthermore, there is no recitation of a “normal MS” sample or reference to which the microsatellite sites are to be compared. Therefore, it is unclear whether the applicant intends the “determining a mismatch repair (MMR) index” to require a step or steps of measuring the expression of one or more MMR mRNAs(?) Proteins(?) and/or detecting a microsatellite site or sites, or whether the claim is intended to encompass embodiments in which this step may be accomplished by some other unspecified method(s).
Claim 35 recites a step of “assigning the risk scores… to high or low risk groups with an appropriate cutoff value based on the survival data…”. The terms “high” and “low” risk (as well as “high/low survival risk” and “high/low risk of progression” are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “high… [risk]” and “low… [risk]” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Furthermore, it is unclear what is encompassed by an “appropriate” cutoff value based on the survival data. The specification and the claims do not establish what constitutes an “appropriate” cutoff, nor do they establish any particular standard for ascertaining an “appropriateness” of a particular assignment.
Claim 35 recites a step: “(b) identifying the subject as having a high survival risk and diagnosing the subject as having a high survival risk”. It is unclear what distinction is intended to be conveyed between the steps of “identifying” and “diagnosing”, and what concrete action(s) are required by the process user by the “diagnosing” step in addition to the preceding “identifying” step.
Claim 35 recites: “identifying the subject as having a high survival risk...”. It is unclear if this step/limitation is intended to limit the method(s) to subjects having a high survival risk (i.e. not encompassing methods wherein the survival risk is determined, but the survival risk is not “high”), or if the step(s) following this limitation is/are intended to be contingent upon the “identifying… and diagnosing…” (i.e. the following steps are not required by all embodiments of the claims).
Claims 26-29 and 44 are additionally rejected as indefinite as they depend from, and necessarily include, the indefinite limitations of claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- Scope of Enablement
Claims 26-29, 35, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification, while being enabling for a method for treating colorectal cancer in a “human… patient suffering from colorectal cancer”… wherein the test sample is “a tumor tissue sample or a tissue sample containing tumor cells”… wherein “the expression levels… are normalized to a reference gene(s)”, does not reasonably provide enablement for the full scope of: “a method for treating colorectal cancer in a subject... wherein the test sample is a “colorectal cancer sample” (i.e. any sample from any subject having colorectal cancer encompassing any mammal and any biological sample in which the expression levels of the recited genes can be measured), wherein the gene expression values are not necessarily normalized to any particular reference value or reference gene(s). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirements of 35 USC 112(a) have been described by the court in In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988). Wands states at page 1404, “Factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation have been summarized by the board in Ex parte Forman. They include (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.”
The nature of the invention and the breadth of the claims:
Claims 26-29, 35, and 44 are broadly drawn to methods for treating colorectal cancer comprising steps of determining a survival risk of a subject by measuring the expression levels of a set of genes in a test sample from the subject, establishing a model describing the association between the expression levels of the set of genes and survival data in a “training set” of samples from subjects having known survival timelines following a sampling of said gene expression, using the model describing the “training set” data to compare the test sample to the training set, identifying that the subject has a high survival risk, diagnosing that the subject has a high survival risk, and treating the subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy.
The claims encompass methods for treating any mammalian subject comprising measuring expression of the recited gene set in any type of sample wherein said expression data can be measured by any method (e.g. any sample from which mRNA can be purified for gene expression analysis), wherein the gene expression may or may not be normalized to a reference gene or genes.
The state of the art:
The invention is in a class of invention which the CAFC has characterized as “the unpredictable arts such as chemistry and biology.” Mycogen Plant Sci., v. Monsanto Co., 243 F.3d 1316, 1330 (Fed, Cir. 2001).
The art teaches that significant unpredictability exists in the conservation of tissue-specific gene expression and colorectal cancer (CRC) gene expression and CRC etiology and driver genes across the taxonomic Class Mammalia.
Sudmant et al., “Meta-analysis of RNA-seq expression data across species, tissues, and studies” Genome Biology (2015) 16:287 teach differences in gene expression drive phenotypic differences between species, and major organs and tissues tend to have conserved gene expression programs in vertebrate species (Sudmant et al., abstract). However, Sudmant et al. caution that expression data on more precise populations of cells (i.e. cell types or substructures within the organs previously tested) may or may not exhibit sufficiently low technical variability for comparison across species (Sudmant et al., page 10, column 1, paragraph 3).
Berthelot et al., “Complexity and conservation of regulatory landscapes underlie evolutionary resilience of mammalian gene expression” Nat Evol Evol. 2017 Nov27;2(1):152-163 teach genes associated with complex regulatory landscapes (i.e. multiple enhancers, transcription factor binding sites, epigenetic regulation, etc.) generally exhibit high expression levels that remain evolutionary stable, particularly when comparing expression levels across Mammalia in matched tissue types (Berthelot et al., Abstract). However, Berthelot et al. teach that while “housekeeping” and “core liver” genes were more likely to exhibit stable expression patterns across species, a substantial fraction of Mammalian genes having annotated one-to-one orthology among test species are variable in expression levels in liver tissue (Berthelot et al., page 3, paragraph 2). Berthelot et al. caution, “These data also illustrate the difficulty of predicting expression level or stability of specific genes, even when informed by enhancer and promoter maps from twenty mammals. In fact, we observe substantial variability within, and overlap between, all of the meta-element classes.” (Berthelot et al., page 7-8 bridging paragraph).
Johnson et al., “Animal models of colorectal cancer” Cancer Metastasis Rev (2013) 32:39-61 teach that some mammalian species develop spontaneous CRC at significant frequencies, while others rarely, if ever, develop spontaneous CRC and that even among those species which do develop CRC, the mechanisms by which CRC develops appear to be different (Johnson et al., page 43-44). Johnson et al. teach that while canine CRCs tend to have similar clinical characteristics to human CRCs, canine CRCs tend to progress to malignancy, but unlike human CRCs, this malignant behavior is not accompanied by acquisition of Tp53 mutations (Johnson et al., page 43, column 1, paragraph 3). Furthermore, the prevalence of CRC in canines is extremely low (less than 1%). Johnson et al. further teach feline gastrointestinal adenocarcinoma occurs at less than 1% frequency and over 70% of these tumors occur in the small intestine, rendering feline gastrointestinal adenocarcinoma a “poor model” for CRC research (Johnson et al., page 43, column 2, paragraph 2). Johnson et al. teach the only other domestic mammalian species with a significant incidence of intestinal cancer is sheep. Johnson et al. teach that while sheep adenocarcinomas share some histological features with human CRC, 100% of the sheep adenocarcinomas occur in the small intestine and sheep further possess very different gastrointestinal physiology (sheep are ruminants) (Johnson et al., page 43, column 2, paragraph 3). Johnson et al. further teach that among non-human primates, the species Saguinus oedipus is predisposed to idiopathic ulcerative colitis progressing to colorectal adenocarcinomas at high frequency. However, efforts to identify a heritable or familial cause for this syndrome have failed and the molecular nature of these adenocarcinomas are unknown (Johnson et al., page 43, column 2, paragraph 4). Finally, Johnson et al. teach that spontaneous gastrointestinal neoplasia is rare in rodents, and tends to occur in the small intestine (Johnson et al., page 43, column 2-page 44, column 1, bridging paragraph). Johnson et al. conclude that no single animal model faithfully recapitulates all aspects of human CRC (i.e. the clinical features and genetic mechanisms of human CRC are not conserved across Mammalia) (Johnson et al., page 54, column 2, paragraph 3).
Guidance in the specification and working examples
The specification teaches various gene expression correlations in human colorectal cancer samples between groups of human genes assigned to particular functional categories (e.g., “proliferation-related” gene set) and subtypes of colorectal cancers defined by a “clustering” calculation performed to sort each sample into a group having more similar gene expression values relative to each of the other groups.
The specification does not teach any examples or provide any data describing a correlation between gene expression and colorectal cancer or subtypes thereof in any mammalian species other than humans.
The specification appears to teach that the claimed methods require normalization of measurements of gene expression in each sample to “reference gene(s)” that are assumed to have invariant expression among all of the measured samples.
Finally, the specification teaches examples wherein the colorectal cancer sample is a tumor tissue or a paraffin-embedded tissue (page 34) or a tissue sample comprising tumor cells (page 41), but does not appear to describe any gene expression data or correlations thereof comprising any other tissue or sample type.
Quantity of Experimentation
The claims are broadly drawn to methods of subtyping, assessing risk of, and treating CRC in any subject (i.e. any mammal) having CRC comprising measuring the expression of various human genes in any test sample from a subject having CRC, wherein the expression levels correlate with survival risk. The specification teaches retrieving/collecting data comprising gene expression data for a “training set” of human CRC samples, gene expression data from a “test sample”, determining a model mathematically describing the correlation between the expression levels in the training set and known survival outcomes in the training set, and applying the model to expression levels observed in the “test sample” to assign a “high” or “low” survival risk to the test sample, and treating a high-risk test subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy.
However, the specification does not teach any data collection, correlation, methods, or working examples of diagnosing or treating related to any non-human mammal.
The prior art teaches that examples of spontaneous CRC (or similar neoplasia) are rare among mammals, and even when non-human CRCs exhibit similar clinical features (as in canines), the molecular mechanisms by which these cancers develop appears to differ from those in humans (see, for example, Johnson et al., page 43).
The taxonomic class Mammalia comprises more than at least 14,000 narrower taxonomic groups in addition to humans (NCBI Taxonomy Browser, Mammalia Taxonomy ID: 40674).
The quantity of experimentation in this area is very large because there are very many unknown and unpredictable variables that would be unique to each taxonomic species group (i.e. type of “subject”) including whether the species develops spontaneous CRC at all, the degree to which the non-human CRC resembles human CRC, whether the molecular etiology of the non-human CRC is the same or different, whether the recited genes have a one-to-one ortholog in each of the species, whether the expression levels of these ortholog(s) are variant across the different subtypes of non-human CRCs, and whether the expression patterns that differentiate the subtypes are conserved across these highly diverse taxonomic groups. Furthermore, for each species, the process user would be required to construct a new “training set” comprising gene expression data from a large number of CRC samples representative of the full diversity of CRC in the species in question and collect potentially long-term survival data associated with said samples. Even more, for each species, the process user would be required to determine whether each possible sample type contains gene expression information related to the subtype of the CRC, regardless of whether the sample type comprises CRC cells.
Level of skill in the art
The level of skill in the art is deemed to be high.
Conclusion
In the instant case, given the breadth of the claims, the lack of guidance in the specification and prior art commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims, the very large quantity of experimentation required to perform the claimed methods commensurate in scope with the claims, the unpredictability in the art, and the lack of demonstrated working examples outside subjects that are humans and samples that comprise tumor cells and methods comprising a step of normalizing gene expression to a reference gene, balanced only against the high level of skill in the art, it is the position of the examiner that it would require undue experimentation for one of skill in the art to perform the claimed methods as broadly written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 26-29, 35, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to (a) judicial exception(s) without significantly more.
35 U.S.C. 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. MPEP 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also MPEP 2016, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Step 1
The claimed invention is directed to a process that involves a natural principle and abstract ideas/mental steps.
Step 2A Prong I
The claims are taken to be directed to abstract ideas and a natural phenomenon/law of nature.
Claim 35 is directed to:
“A method for treating colorectal cancer in a subject” comprising steps of: a)determining the survival risk of the subject by: a1. providing a test sample… a2. determining expression levels in the test sample… a3. calculating a gene expression profile for the test sample… a4. calculating an immunoglobulin index for the test sample… a5. determining a mismatch repair (MMR) index for the test sample… a6. obtaining expression levels of genes and survival data in a training set of colorectal cancer samples, a7. Calculating a gene expression profile of the training set samples, a8. Classifying the training set samples into 5 subtypes based on the similarity of gene expression among the training set samples and calculating gene expression profiles for each of the 5 subtype (groups), a9. Calculating an immunoglobulin index for each of the training set samples, a10. Determining a MMR index for each of the training set samples, a11. Calculating a survival risk score for each of the training set samples by fitting a model to the gene expression profiles of the subtype groups from step a8, the gene expression profile of each of the training set samples in step a7, the immunoglobulin index from step a9, and the MMR index from step a10, a12. Assigning the risk scores from step a11 to “high or low” risk groups… based on the survival data…, a13. Calculating a survival risk score for the test sample using the model of step a11, and a14. Determining which risk group the risk score in step a13 falls into… b) identifying the subject as having a high survival risk and diagnosing the subject as having a high survival risk, and c) treating the subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy.
Claim 35 involves the natural phenomenon/law of nature of a pre-existing correlation between the level or amount of mRNA or proteins and the presence of a subtype of colorectal cancer in a subject [which is any mammal or a human].
Claim 35 recites the following judicial exceptions:
Calculating a gene expression profile… in the test sample (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations)
Calculating an immunoglobulin index… in the test sample (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations)
Calculating an immunoglobulin index… in the test sample (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations)
Determining a mismatch repair index… in the test sample (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations OR a mental process)
Obtaining the expression levels of the genes… in a training set… [with known] survival data (i.e. a mental process, encompasses receiving or reading a report/database)
Calculating a gene expression profile for each of the training set (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations)
Classifying the training set… by comparing the similarity of the gene expression profiles among the training set… (i.e. mental process or mathematical calculations)
Calculating an immunoglobulin index for each of the training set… (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations)
Determining a mismatch repair index for each of the training set… (i.e. an abstract idea, mathematical calculations OR a mental process)
Calculating a survival risk score for each of the training set… by fitting a model… (i.e. mathematical calculations)
Assigning the risk scores… to high or low risk groups… (i.e. a mental process or mathematical calculations)
Calculating a survival risk score for the test sample using the (fitted) model (i.e. mathematical calculations)
Determining which risk group [high or low] the [test sample] risk sample falls within by comparing the [test sample] risk score to the [training set] risk groups (i.e. a mental process, a comparison to control)
Identifying the subject as having a high survival risk (i.e. a mental process)
Diagnosing the subject as having a high survival risk (i.e. a mental process)
Claim 35 recites the following elements in addition to the judicial exceptions identified above:
Providing a test sample… (i.e. collecting or retrieving a physical sample from a subject or a tissue bank or a freezer, etc.)
Determining the expression levels of the genes… in the test sample (i.e. by any laboratory method that measures expression levels of the recited genes, for example, RNA-seq, gene expression microarray, northern blot, western blot, quantitative reverse transcriptase PCR, etc.)
Treating the subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy.
Claim 35 requires observing/identifying the presence of a natural correlation/law of nature (i.e. the correlation between gene expression and the presence of a cancer subtype) based upon comparing gene expression measured by any method in a test sample to known gene expression levels and survival outcome data previously collected/measured in a control population (i.e. a “training set” of colorectal cancer samples for which survival data is known) in order to “identify and diagnose” a subject having a “high survival risk” and administer any “chemotherapy or radiotherapy” to the subject.
Claim 26, which depends from claim 35, further requires measuring expression levels of a larger gene set (76 genes) compared to claim 35 (21 genes).
Claim 27, which depends from claim 35, further requires that the gene expression values measured and/or retrieved in claim 35 are “normalized to a reference gene(s)” (i.e. claim 27 recites the judicial exception of a mathematical calculation or an abstract idea (a comparison to a control)).
Claim 28, which depends from claim 27, further recites a genus of particular “reference gene(s)”.
Claim 29, which depends from claim 35, further recites alternative “gene sets” comprising at least: 24 genes or 82 genes (compared to the 21 genes required by claim 35)
Claim 44, which depends from claim 35, further requires “treating the subject with chemotherapy”.
A comparison to a control is an abstract idea. (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(III)(A); claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations”, where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 763, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1246 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
A correlation that preexists in the human is an unpatentable phenomenon. The association between the level or amount of products of the set(s) of genes (i.e. “gene expression”) recited by the present claims in the test sample of the subject and the presence of a subtype of colorectal cancer and/or a “survival risk”/outcome/prognosis of a colorectal cancer of the test subject is a law of nature/natural phenomenon. The “obtaining the expression levels”, “calculating”, “classifying”, and “determining a mismatch repair index” steps amount to abstract data gathering and/or processing (i.e. calculating) steps necessary to perform the claimed method. The “determining the expression levels of the genes… in the test sample” step amounts to a data gathering step(s) encompassing any known or possible methodological steps for observing or quantitating the amount of naturally occurring biomolecules or activities attributable to the expression of the recited genes. The “assigning the risk score”, “identifying… and diagnosing…” steps amount to no more than a mental step. Even if these steps require something more such as to verbalize the discovery of the natural law, this mere verbalization is not an application of the natural law to a new and useful end. Furthermore, it is not clear (see 112(b) rejections above) whether these “identifying and diagnosing” steps render the proceeding steps conditional steps upon the identification and diagnosis and thus would not be required by all embodiments of the claims. If the “treating” step following the “identifying and diagnosing” step(s) is contingent/conditional upon the identification/diagnosis, then these steps do not require the process user to do anything in light of the discovered/observed natural correlation. These steps fail to provide the “practical assurance” sought by the Prometheus Court that the “process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the law of nature itself”.
Step 2A Prong II
The exception(s) are not integrated into a practical application of the exception(s). The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception(s) into a practical application of the exception(s). While the claims recite steps of “providing a test sample of the subject… and determining the expression levels… in the test sample” and “treating the subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy” (claim 35) or “chemotherapy” (claim 44) in addition to the recited judicial exceptions, these steps are not an integration of the exception(s) into a practical application. Instead, the “providing a sample… and determining the expression levels” step constitutes a generic data gathering step required to perform the method and does not require the use of any particular laboratory method(s) to accomplish the “providing” and “determining”. The “treating the subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy” (claim 35) or “treating… comprising chemotherapy” (claim 44) steps also do not integrate the judicial exception(s) into a practical application of the judicial exception(s) at least because when recited a high level of generality, as in the present claims, treatment comprising any “chemotherapy” or any “radiotherapy” does not constitute a particular therapy, but rather merely refer the process user to a relevant technological field (oncology), wherein the judicial exception(s) may be generically “applied”.
Step 2B
The second step of Alice involves determining whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non-patent eligible elements, are sufficient to “transform the nature of the claims into a patent eligible application” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
The claims are not sufficiently defined to provide a method which is significantly more than a statement of a natural principle for at least the following reasons.
The claims do not apply or use the recited judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis, but rather recite “treating the subject with chemotherapy or radiotherapy” or “treatment comprising chemotherapy”. When recited at this extremely high level of generality, these “treating” steps recited by the claims do not meaningfully limit the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
The claims also do not add a specific limitation other than that which is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Steps directed to “providing a test sample of a subject… and determining the expression levels… in the test sample” are mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the claimed method and amount to extra solution activity to the judicial exceptions. The “providing a test sample of a subject” step tells users to collect any type of “test sample” from a “test subject” (presumably a mammal with colorectal cancer) by any method(s) known in the art. The instant specification evinces this lack of particularity and lack of a requirement for non-conventional procedures or reagents to accomplish the “providing” step: “The sample in step (1) is not particularly limited, as long as the expression levels of the genes in the gene panel can be obtained therefrom” (specification, page 18). The “determining the expression levels” step is similarly unlimited as evinced by the specification, “step (2) can be performed by using methods for determining gene expression levels known in the art. Those skilled in the art can select the sample type and sample amount in step (1) as required and select conventional technology in the art to achieve the determination in step (2)” (Specification, page 18).
In addition to the lack of particularity regarding the “treatment” step(s) recited by the present claims, the instant specification does not appear to include any examples which are more particular than the treatments which are presently recited at an extremely high level of generality.
Furthermore, the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activities in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
Determining the level of a biomarker in blood by any means, Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352, 1362, 123 USPQ2d 1081, 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Using polymerase chain reaction to amplify and detect DNA, Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376, 118 USPQ2d 1541, 1546 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Ariosa Diagnostics, Inc. v. Sequenom, Inc., 788 F.3d 1371, 1377, 115 USPQ2d 1152, 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
Detecting DNA or enzymes in a sample, Sequenom, 788 F.3d at 1377-78, 115 USPQ2d at 1157); Cleveland Clinic Foundation 859 F.3d at 1362, 123 USPQ2d at 1088 (Fed. Cir. 2017);
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs. Ltd., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014); and
Hybridizing a gene probe, Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 764, 113 USPQ2d at 1247.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-27, 35, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marisa et al., “Gene Expression Classification of Colon Cancer into Molecular Subtypes: Characterization, Validation, and Prognostic Value” PLoS Med 10(5): e1001453 (published May 21, 2013) as evidenced by NCBI GEO GPL570 (publicly available Nov 7, 2003).
Regarding claims 35 and 44, which is the independent claim from which claims 26-29 and 44 depend, Marisa et al. teach methods for subtyping and treating colorectal cancers comprising determining survival risk by measuring gene expression levels in a “discovery set” (i.e. a “training set”) and a “validation set” (i.e. “test sample(s)”) using the “Affymetrix U133 Plus 2.0 chips” (Marisa et al., Abstract and page 2, column 2). As evidenced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information Gene Expression Omnibus Platform repository “GPL570” corresponding to “HG-U133_Plus_2 Affymetrix Human Genome U133 Plus 2.0 Array”, this array platform simultaneously measures expression levels of all of the genes recited in claim 35. Marisa et al. calculate gene expression profiles for each of the “discovery set” and the “validation set”, cluster (i.e. “classify”) the gene expression profiles of the discovery set to define a number of colorectal cancer subtypes each comprising samples having gene expression profiles more similar to each other than to each of the other subtypes (Marisa et al., figure 1). Marisa et al. further teach the subtypes differ in metrics of genome instability including mismatch repair deficiency and in specific pathways including immune-system related functional pathways (Marisa et al., Figures 2 and 3). Even more, Marisa et al. assign “survival risk” to each of the samples in the discovery set (i.e. the “training set”) and further binarize the samples into “high risk” and “low risk” groups based on the known survival data for the discovery set. The resulting gene expression classifier reproduced the training set subtypes with statistically significant prognostic value when assigning samples in the validation cohort into the subtypes established based on the discovery set gene expression profiles (Marisa et al., figure 4 and page 6, column 1) (i.e. “identify and diagnose” subjects having high survival risk). Marisa et al. teach the resulting “binary classification” (i.e. high risk or low risk) is a significant independent prognostic factor alongside TNM stage, MMR status, CpG island methylator phenotype “CIMP”, and presence of BRAF and/or KRAS mutations in multivariate analyses of recurrence/survival risk (i.e. a fitted model based on the gene expression profiles and subtype clustering described above) (Marisa et al., page 6, column 1-2 bridging paragraph). Finally, Marisa et al. teach treating the subject (i.e. in the validation cohort) with chemotherapy (Marisa et al., Table 1).
Therefore, Marisa et al. teach all of the presently claimed methodological steps recited by the present claim 35.
Regarding claims 26 and 29, it is noted that the recited combinations of gene sets comprising 76 genes (claim 26) or either a combination of 24 genes or a combination of 82 genes do not correspond to the elected species (the combination of 21 genes recited in claim 35). Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, it is noted that all of the genes recited in these various gene lists are all present on the GPL570 array used in the Marisa et al. reference (i.e. Marisa et al. simultaneously measures the expression of all of these genes in the methods described therein).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35, 26-29, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marisa et al., “Gene Expression Classification of Colon Cancer into Molecular Subtypes: Characterization, Validation, and Prognostic Value” PLoS Med 10(5): e1001453 (published May 21, 2013) as evidenced by NCBI GEO GPL570 (publicly available Nov 7, 2003) in view of Nielsen et al., “Optimal reference genes for normalization of qPCR gene expression data from proton and photon irradiated dermal fibroblasts” Scientific Reports 8 12688 (2018), Chervoneva et al., “Selection of optimal reference genes for normalization in quantitative RT-PCR” BMC Bioinformatics, 2010 May 14; 11:253, and Krasnov et al., “Pan-Cancer Analysis of TCGA Data Revealed Promising Reference Genes for qPCR Normalization” Front. Genet. 10:97 (2019).
Regarding claims 35 and 44, which is the independent claim from which claims 26-29 and 44 depend, Marisa et al. teach methods for subtyping and treating colorectal cancers comprising determining survival risk by measuring gene expression levels in a “discovery set” (i.e. a “training set”) and a “validation set” (i.e. “test sample(s)”) using the “Affymetrix U133 Plus 2.0 chips” (Marisa et al., Abstract and page 2, column 2). As evidenced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information Gene Expression Omnibus Platform repository “GPL570” corresponding to “HG-U133_Plus_2 Affymetrix Human Genome U133 Plus 2.0 Array”, this array platform simultaneously measures expression levels of all of the genes recited in claim 35. Marisa et al. calculate gene expression profiles for each of the “discovery set” and the “validation set”, cluster (i.e. “classify”) the gene expression profiles of the discovery set to define a number of colorectal cancer subtypes each comprising samples having gene expression profiles more similar to each other than to each of the other subtypes (Marisa et al., figure 1). Marisa et al. further teach the subtypes differ in metrics of genome instability including mismatch repair deficiency and in specific pathways including immune-system related functional pathways (Marisa et al., Figures 2 and 3). Even more, Marisa et al. assign “survival risk” to each of the samples in the discovery set (i.e. the “training set”) and further binarize the samples into “high risk” and “low risk” groups based on the known survival data for the discovery set. The resulting gene expression classifier reproduced the training set subtypes with statistically significant prognostic value when assigning samples in the validation cohort into the subtypes established based on the discovery set gene expression profiles (Marisa et al., figure 4 and page 6, column 1) (i.e. “identify and diagnose” subjects having high survival risk). Marisa et al. teach the resulting “binary classification” (i.e. high risk or low risk) is a significant independent prognostic factor alongside TNM stage, MMR status, CpG island methylator phenotype “CIMP”, and presence of BRAF and/or KRAS mutations in multivariate analyses of recurrence/survival risk (i.e. a fitted model based on the gene expression profiles and subtype clustering described above) (Marisa et al., page 6, column 1-2 bridging paragraph). Finally, Marisa et al. teach treating the subject (i.e. in the validation cohort) with chemotherapy (Marisa et al., Table 1).
Regarding claims 26 and 29, it is noted that the recited combinations of gene sets comprising 76 genes (claim 26) or either a combination of 24 genes or a combination of 82 genes do not correspond to the elected species (the combination of 21 genes recited in claim 35). Nevertheless, in the interest of compact prosecution, it is noted that all of the genes recited in these various gene lists are all present on the GPL570 array used in the Marisa et al. reference (i.e. Marisa et al. simultaneously measures the expression of all of these genes in the methods described therein).
Regarding claims 27-29, while Marisa et al. does measure the expression levels of all of the recited reference genes, the single reference does not expressly teach that the expression levels are normalized to a particular reference gene.
However, Nielsen et al. teach several candidate reference genes frequently used in the art and as part of a commercial gene expression quantitation platform. The candidate reference genes comprise: GUSB, SF3A1, MRPL19, PSMC4, TFRC, and GAPDH (i.e. all of the recited reference genes).
Furthermore, Chervoneva et al. teach the following reference genes are suitable for normalization of gene expression in breast tumor, neuroblastoma, and/or colorectal cancer: GAPDH, MRPL19, PSMC4, SF3A1, TFRC (Chervoneva et al., page 7, column 1).
Even more, Krasnov et al. teach the following reference genes are frequently used reference genes in cancer studies including colorectal cancer: GAPDH, GUSB, PSMC4, TFRC, and SF3A1 (Krasnov et al., page 6) and at least one combination of reference genes comprising MRPL19, PSMC4, and SF3A1 (Krasnov et al., table 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any one of these frequently used reference genes taught by Nielsen et al., Chervoneva et al., and/or Krasnov et al. for use in gene expression normalization in the method taught by Marisa et al. because of the teachings of Nielsen et al., Chervoneva et al., or Krasnov et al. that these single reference genes (or combinations thereof, Krasnov et al.) are commonly assessed candidates for gene expression normalization in the art (Nielsen et al., page 6, paragraph 3); (Chervoneva et al., page 2, column 1); (Krasnov et al., page 6, column 2, paragraph 6). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to select one or more of these candidate reference genes because of the teachings in the cited prior art describing that these genes are all well-known reference genes useful for normalizing expression of genes of interest in cancer studies. Additionally, Chervoneva et al. teach criteria for optimization of a reference gene subset for a generic experimental system comprising minimizing the variability of the normalizing factor, minimize the number of reference genes with minimal variability in expression, and minimize the average rank of the normalizing factor variance (Chervoneva et al., page 1, paragraph 2 and page 14, column 1, paragraph 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Narzo et al., “Test of Four Colon Cancer Risk-Scores in Formalin Fixed Paraffin Embedded Microarray Gene Expression Data” JCNI J Natl Cancer Inst (2014) 106(10): dju247
b. Del Rio et al., “Molecular subtypes of metastatic colorectal cancer are associated with patient response to irinotecan-based therapies” European Journal of Cancer 76 (2017) 68-75.
c. Gotoh et al., “Prognostic Model of Stage II/III Colon Cancer Constructed using Gene Expression Subtypes and KRAS Mutation Status” J Clin Exp Oncol 2018, 7:2 2018
d. Zhan et al., “Multi-omics integration identifies a selective vulnerability of colorectal cancer subtypes to YM155” Int. J. Cancer. 2021; 148:1948-1963
e. Galamb et al., “Inflammation, adenoma, and cancer: Objective classification of colon biopsy specimens with gene expression signature” Disease Markers 25 (2008) 1-16
No claim is allowed.
/Z.M.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682