DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended; Claims 2, 3, 8, and 9 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4-7, and 10-13 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 10 in substance that "Applicant submits that Jassal in view of Ota does not teach or suggest the above recited limitations. The Office relies on Jassal's disclosure of a beam angle information (BAI) system for integrated terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks, citing paragraphs [0071]- [0074] as allegedly teaching the claimed interrupting and ratio-setting features. See Office Action at p. 10. However, those paragraphs merely describe various ways a network may determine the location of a user equipment (UE) - for example, through GPS coordinates, positioning reference signals (PRS), radar or LiDAR sensing, or AI-based trajectory prediction. See Jassal at [0071] - [0074]. In particular, paragraph [0071] of Jassal discloses that a T-TRP may perform a beam sweep of radio waves to detect a reflected signal and thereby estimate the location of the UE. This disclosure merely describes a single beam-sweeping procedure used for UE localization, not any operation involving interrupting beam sweeping of a high-altitude base station with that of a ground base station…"
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jassal teaches, there are control and management challenges associated, because the network and UEs are no longer confined to only using conventional cellular communication via terrestrial TRPs. Instead, non-terrestrial TRPs may move through space across different cells and temporarily assist with communication between the UEs and the network. Jassal explains Beam Angle Information (BAI) for communicating with NT-TRPs ways in which the network determine the location of a UE interrupting such information as shown in Fig. 7-fig. 12 the T-TRP 170 and/or the NT-TRP 172 performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal, which examiner construes that interrupting the reception beam sweeping. However, claim 1 merely recites …interrupt the reception beam sweeping in the orientation … of the ground base station.
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 10-11 in substance that "Accordingly, Jassal at most discloses performing beam sweeping … set[ting] a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station to be higher than a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station when interrupting the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station.
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Jassal teaches, UE positioning sensing by a T-TRP, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal. Tracking a UE's previous one or more locations and, based at least on that tracking data using artificial intelligence, such as a machine learning algorithm. In fig.7-fig.12 the BAI may be expressed as a quantized angular direction. [0076-0077] the machine learning algorithm used to determine or predict that a particular region has high UE traffic demand. [0080] The UE 110 provides the results of the sensing to the network, e.g. by transmitting the results to the T-TRP 170. The network instructs the NT-TRP 170 based on the results of the sensing. [0090] on a dynamic basis, the T-TRP 170 sends, to UE 110, the bit value corresponding to the angle or range of angles that most closely corresponds to the beam direction between the UE 110 and the NT-TRP 172. [0082] the T-TRP 170 and/or the NT-TRP 172 performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal. The fact that the reflection has a relatively strong signal is interpreted as the presence of a UE, and the direction of reflection indicates the beam direction of the UE. The T-TRP 170 and/or NT-TRP 172 then determines that the UE present in that direction is UE 110, a method, e.g. the T-TRP 170 transmitting a request for the UE ID in that beam direction and in response the UE 110 transmitting its UE ID to the T-TRP 170. Therefore, examiner construes that the UE is configured and uses the BAI to implement a receive beam in the direction specified by the BAI which construing as setting ratio. However, claim 1 merely recites the terminal is configured to ..set a ratio of the reception beam…in the orientation of the ground base station.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jassal et al. (Jassal hereafter) (US 20220060238 A1) in view of OTA et al. (OTA hereafter) (US 20210099217 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Jassal teaches, A wireless communication system, comprising:
a ground base station arranged on ground (Jassal; [0002] network's transmit-and-receive points (TRPs) are terrestrial, e.g. typically stationary, mounted on a tower or structure connected to the ground);
a high-altitude base station arranged within a predetermined altitude range (a drone having a non-terrestrial TRP mounted thereon may be able to fly over the gathering) (Jassal; [0003-0004] A non-terrestrial TRP is a TRP that moves through space to relocate, e.g. on a dynamic or semi-static basis. Examples of non-terrestrial TRPs include TRPs mounted on drones, balloons, planes, and/or satellites [0004] a drone having a non-terrestrial TRP mounted thereon may be able to fly over the gathering, thereby increasing communication capacity by allowing for communication between the UEs and the network via the terrestrial TRP and/or via the non-terrestrial TRP); and
a terminal configured to be capable of connecting to the ground base station and the high-altitude base station (Jassal; [0005] control and management challenges associated with an integrated terrestrial/non-terrestrial network because the network and UEs are no longer confined to only using conventional cellular communication via terrestrial TRPs. Instead, non-terrestrial TRPs may move through space across different cells and temporarily assist with communication between the UEs and the network. [0009] the UE may use beam angle information (BAI) associated with a NT-TRP to implement a receive beam in the direction of the NT-TRP. a T-TRP may transmit an indication of beam direction, e.g. BAI, to a UE. a T-TRP may transmit, to a UE and/or to another NT-TRP, an indication of the time-frequency location at which to find a reference signal transmitted by a particular NT-TRP), wherein
when the ground base station cannot be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0065]The communication between UE 110 and T-TRP 170 is not as effective because of the presence of a building 302.), start reception beam sweeping (The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam) in which directions of reception beam forming in an orientation of the high-altitude base station are sequentially switched (for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172). (Jassal; [0084] the network transmits, to UE 110, an indication of the beam direction to use to communicate with NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may also or instead be used by the UE 110 to implement a transmit beam for sending an uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172),
when the high-altitude base station can be found by reception beam sweeping (The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110) in the orientation of the high-altitude base station, connect to the high- altitude base station (Jassal; [0084-0087] The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may also or instead be used by the UE 110 to implement a transmit beam for sending an uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172.… in relation to FIGS. 7 to 12, the BAI may be expressed as a quantized angular direction…the network determines the location of UE 110 using any one of the methods described earlier. The network also knows the location of NT-TRP 172, e.g. because the network instructed the NT-TRP 172 to fly to a specific location. The network can therefore determine the line-of-sight (LOS) direction between the location of UE 110 and the location of NT-TRP 172) (Fig. 7-12).
interrupt the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0073-0074] A UE periodically transmits a signal to a T-TRP, e.g. in reply to an interrogator signal. The contents and/or strength and/or direction of the signal is indicative of the location of the UE. [0074] A UE senses its environment, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. The results of the sensing measurements provide an indication of the environment surrounding the UE) ((Fig. 7-12), [0071-0115]).
set a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station to be higher than a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station when interrupting the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0071] UE positioning sensing by a T-TRP, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. For example, a T-TRP performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal) ((Fig. 7-12). [0071-0115]).
Jassal fails to explicitly teach the terminal is configured to perform reception beam sweeping in which directions of reception beam forming in an orientation of the ground base station are sequentially switched only for a time determined in advance
when the ground base station can be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station, connect to the ground base station
However, in the same field of endeavor OTA teaches, the terminal is configured to
perform reception beam sweeping in which directions of reception beam forming ([0069] reliably detect a reception level when using an optimal directional beam of the terminal station apparatus for a directional beam selected by the base station) in an orientation of the ground base station are sequentially switched only for a time determined in advance (directional beams are sequentially
switched at intervals of the time) ( OTA; [0068] At this time, the N.sub.2 options for directional beams are sequentially switched at intervals of the time T.sub.0 while the training signals are continuously received by the terminal station apparatus [0069] Here, if the terminal station apparatus continues to detect reception levels for the time T.sub.2 while it is ensured that the base station apparatus continuously transmits training signals for testing, the terminal station apparatus can, during that time, reliably detect a reception level when using an optimal directional beam of the terminal station apparatus for a directional beam selected by the base station apparatus.),
when the ground base station can be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation (terminal station apparatus refers to the value of k to select a k-th directional beam) of the ground base station, connect to the ground base station (switches settings of the directional beam) (OTA; [0094] FIGS. 4A and 4B, the base station apparatus transmits training signals with the fixed directional beam and the terminal station apparatus receives the training signals while switching directional beams…[0099] The terminal station apparatus refers to the value of k to select a k-th directional beam and switches settings of the directional beam (step S314). [0102] If the maximum value of the reception level has been updated (Yes in step S316), the terminal station apparatus substitutes the identification number k of the directional beam at that time into the value of N.sub.rsmax),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jassal to include the above recited limitations as taught by OTA in order to perform processing at a given predetermined time (OTA; [0067]).
Regarding claim 7 Jassal teaches, A terminal, comprising:
a transceiver configured to be capable of connecting with a ground base station arranged on ground (Jassal; [0002] network's transmit-and-receive points (TRPs) are terrestrial, e.g. typically stationary, mounted on a tower or structure connected to the ground) and a high-altitude base station arranged within a predetermined altitude range (a drone having a non-terrestrial TRP mounted thereon may be able to fly over the gathering) (Jassal; [0003-0004] A non-terrestrial TRP is a TRP that moves through space to relocate, e.g. on a dynamic or semi-static basis. Examples of non-terrestrial TRPs include TRPs mounted on drones, balloons, planes, and/or satellites [0004] a drone having a non-terrestrial TRP mounted thereon may be able to fly over the gathering, thereby increasing communication capacity by allowing for communication between the UEs and the network via the terrestrial TRP and/or via the non-terrestrial TRP, [0005], [0009]),
at least one memory storing instructions (Jassal; Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled to the transceiver (Jassal; Fig. 2)
and the at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions (Jassal; [0040-0043] to
when the ground base station cannot be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0065]The communication between UE 110 and T-TRP 170 is not as effective because of the presence of a building 302.), start reception beam sweeping (The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam) in which directions of reception beam forming in an orientation of the high-altitude base station are sequentially switched (for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172). (Jassal; [0084] the network transmits, to UE 110, an indication of the beam direction to use to communicate with NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may also or instead be used by the UE 110 to implement a transmit beam for sending an uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172),
when the high-altitude base station can be found by reception beam sweeping (The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110) in the orientation of the high-altitude base station, connect to the high- altitude base station (Jassal; [0084-0087] The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may also or instead be used by the UE 110 to implement a transmit beam for sending an uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172.… in relation to FIGS. 7 to 12, the BAI may be expressed as a quantized angular direction…the network determines the location of UE 110 using any one of the methods described earlier. The network also knows the location of NT-TRP 172, e.g. because the network instructed the NT-TRP 172 to fly to a specific location. The network can therefore determine the line-of-sight (LOS) direction between the location of UE 110 and the location of NT-TRP 172) (Fig. 7-12).
interrupt the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0073-0074] A UE periodically transmits a signal to a T-TRP, e.g. in reply to an interrogator signal. The contents and/or strength and/or direction of the signal is indicative of the location of the UE. [0074] A UE senses its environment, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. The results of the sensing measurements provide an indication of the environment surrounding the UE) ((Fig. 7-12), [0071-0115]).
set a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station to be higher than a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station when interrupting the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0071] UE positioning sensing by a T-TRP, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. For example, a T-TRP performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal) ((Fig. 7-12). [0071-0115]).
Jassal fails to explicitly teach the terminal is configured to perform reception beam sweeping in which directions of reception beam forming in an orientation of the ground base station are sequentially switched only for a time determined in advance
when the ground base station can be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station, connect to the ground base station
However, in the same field of endeavor OTA teaches, the terminal is configured to
perform reception beam sweeping in which directions of reception beam forming ([0069] reliably detect a reception level when using an optimal directional beam of the terminal station apparatus for a directional beam selected by the base station) in an orientation of the ground base station are sequentially switched only for a time determined in advance (directional beams are sequentially
switched at intervals of the time) ( OTA; [0068] At this time, the N.sub.2 options for directional beams are sequentially switched at intervals of the time T.sub.0 while the training signals are continuously received by the terminal station apparatus [0069] Here, if the terminal station apparatus continues to detect reception levels for the time T.sub.2 while it is ensured that the base station apparatus continuously transmits training signals for testing, the terminal station apparatus can, during that time, reliably detect a reception level when using an optimal directional beam of the terminal station apparatus for a directional beam selected by the base station apparatus.),
when the ground base station can be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation (terminal station apparatus refers to the value of k to select a k-th directional beam) of the ground base station, connect to the ground base station (switches settings of the directional beam) (OTA; [0094] FIGS. 4A and 4B, the base station apparatus transmits training signals with the fixed directional beam and the terminal station apparatus receives the training signals while switching directional beams…[0099] The terminal station apparatus refers to the value of k to select a k-th directional beam and switches settings of the directional beam (step S314). [0102] If the maximum value of the reception level has been updated (Yes in step S316), the terminal station apparatus substitutes the identification number k of the directional beam at that time into the value of N.sub.rsmax),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jassal to include the above recited limitations as taught by OTA in order to perform processing at a given predetermined time (OTA; [0067]).
Regarding claim 13 Jassal teaches, A control method of a terminal, comprising the steps of:
when the ground base station cannot be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0065]The communication between UE 110 and T-TRP 170 is not as effective because of the presence of a building 302.), start reception beam sweeping (The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam) in which directions of reception beam forming in an orientation of the high-altitude base station are sequentially switched (for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172). (Jassal; [0084] the network transmits, to UE 110, an indication of the beam direction to use to communicate with NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may also or instead be used by the UE 110 to implement a transmit beam for sending an uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172),
when the high-altitude base station can be found by reception beam sweeping (The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110) in the orientation of the high-altitude base station, connect to the high- altitude base station (Jassal; [0084-0087] The indication of beam direction may be used by the UE 110 to implement a receive beam for receiving a downlink transmission from the NT-TRP 172. The indication of beam direction may also or instead be used by the UE 110 to implement a transmit beam for sending an uplink transmission to the NT-TRP 172.… in relation to FIGS. 7 to 12, the BAI may be expressed as a quantized angular direction…the network determines the location of UE 110 using any one of the methods described earlier. The network also knows the location of NT-TRP 172, e.g. because the network instructed the NT-TRP 172 to fly to a specific location. The network can therefore determine the line-of-sight (LOS) direction between the location of UE 110 and the location of NT-TRP 172) (Fig. 7-12).
interrupt the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0073-0074] A UE periodically transmits a signal to a T-TRP, e.g. in reply to an interrogator signal. The contents and/or strength and/or direction of the signal is indicative of the location of the UE. [0074] A UE senses its environment, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. The results of the sensing measurements provide an indication of the environment surrounding the UE) ((Fig. 7-12). [0071-0115]).
set a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station to be higher than a ratio of the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station when interrupting the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the high-altitude base station with the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station (Jassal; [0071] UE positioning sensing by a T-TRP, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. For example, a T-TRP performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal) ((Fig. 7-12). [0071-0115]).
Jassal fails to explicitly teach performing reception beam sweeping in which directions of reception beam forming in an orientation of the ground base station are sequentially switched only for a time determined in advance
when the ground base station can be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station, connect to the ground base station
However, in the same field of endeavor OTA teaches, perform reception beam sweeping in which directions of reception beam forming ([0069] reliably detect a reception level when using an optimal directional beam of the terminal station apparatus for a directional beam selected by the base station) in an orientation of the ground base station are sequentially switched only for a time determined in advance (directional beams are sequentially switched at intervals of the time) ( OTA; [0068] At this time, the N.sub.2 options for directional beams are sequentially switched at intervals of the time T.sub.0 while the training signals are continuously received by the terminal station apparatus [0069] Here, if the terminal station apparatus continues to detect reception levels for the time T.sub.2 while it is ensured that the base station apparatus continuously transmits training signals for testing, the terminal station apparatus can, during that time, reliably detect a reception level when using an optimal directional beam of the terminal station apparatus for a directional beam selected by the base station apparatus.),
when the ground base station can be found by reception beam sweeping in the orientation (terminal station apparatus refers to the value of k to select a k-th directional beam) of the ground base station, connect to the ground base station (switches settings of the directional beam) (OTA; [0094] FIGS. 4A and 4B, the base station apparatus transmits training signals with the fixed directional beam and the terminal station apparatus receives the training signals while switching directional beams…[0099] The terminal station apparatus refers to the value of k to select a k-th directional beam and switches settings of the directional beam (step S314). [0102] If the maximum value of the reception level has been updated (Yes in step S316), the terminal station apparatus substitutes the identification number k of the directional beam at that time into the value of N.sub.rsmax),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Jassal to include the above recited limitations as taught by OTA in order to perform processing at a given predetermined time (OTA; [0067]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10 Jassal-OTA teaches the claims 1 and 7,
Jassal further teaches, wherein the ground base station and the high-altitude base station are configured to when performing the transmission beam sweeping in the orientation of the terminal, sequentially switch directions of the transmission beam forming in the orientation of the terminal to a plurality of directions determined in advance (Jassal; [0090] a predefined mapping exists between different beam angles or ranges of angles and different bit values …FIG. 7 illustrates a volume of space 352 in which a beam direction is defined in terms of zenith angle direction and azimuth angle direction. The origin for the zenith angle measurement is defined as the point vertically above the location of UE 110. Selected zenith angles between −10 degrees and +10 degrees are each mapped to a respective different 4-bit value in the manner shown in table 354.), and
the terminal is configured to when performing the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station or the high-altitude base station, sequentially switch directions of the reception beam forming in the orientation of the ground base station or the high-altitude base station to a plurality of directions determined in advance (Jassal; [0079] The network may instruct the NT-TRP 172 to position itself vertically above the determined or estimated location of UE 110. [0080] The LTE 110 senses its environment, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. The sensing indicates that certain directions are clear, and other directions have obstructions. For example, the UE 110 may transmit one or more radio waves, e.g. radar, and receive a reflection back in some directions. The directions in which reflections are received are determined to be directions that are obstructed and therefore not LOS).
Regarding claims 5 and 11 Jassal-OTA teaches the claims 4 and 10,
Jassal further teaches wherein the terminal is configured to when performing the reception beam sweeping in the orientation of the ground base station or the high-altitude base station, after fixing a direction of the reception beam forming in the orientation of the ground base station or the high-altitude base station for a time determined in advance, switch to another direction (Jassal; [0093] UE 110 may first locate one or more synchronization sequences transmitted from the NT-TRP 172, and then use the one or more synchronization sequences to synchronize with the NT-TRP 172 in the downlink. if the UE 110 is already synchronized with the T-TRP 170 and the downlink timing of the T-TRP 170 and the NT-TRP 172 is the same. The UE 110 may next detect a reference signal transmitted by the NT-TRP 172, e.g. in order to perform channel estimation).
Regarding claim 6 Jassal-OTA teaches the claim 1
Jassal further teaches wherein the terminal is configured to when connecting to the ground base station or the high-altitude base station, continue to correct a beam direction of a beam to be transmitted to the ground base station or the high-altitude base station based on information included in a beam received from the ground base station or the high-altitude base station in parallel with transmitting and receiving a beam to and from the ground base station or the high- altitude base station (Jassal; [0080-0082] The UE 110 provides the results of the sensing to the network, e.g. by transmitting the results to the T-TRP 170. The network instructs the NT-TRP 170 based on the results of the sensing. For example, the NT-TRP 170 is instructed to locate itself in a direction in relation to UE 110 that was not determined to be obstructed. [0081] The network may use network planning. For example, if UE 110 is located adjacent a known building, then the NT-TRP 177 may be instructed to locate itself away from the building. [0082] Positioning sensing by the T-TRP 170 and/or by the NT-TRP 172, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. For example, the T-TRP 170 and/or the NT-TRP 172 performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal. The fact that the reflection has a relatively strong signal is interpreted as the presence of a UE, and the direction of reflection indicates the beam direction of the UE), and
the ground base station and the high-altitude base station are configured to when connecting to the terminal, continue to correct a beam direction of a beam to be transmitted to the terminal based on information included in a beam received from the terminal in parallel with transmitting and receiving a beam to and from the terminal (Jassal; [0098] NT-TRPs 172 and 173 are deployed, a PACH 424 is also transmitted from T-TRP 170 in the downlink time-frequency resources 412. Prior to transmission of the PACH 424, the T-TRP 170 may transmit an indication of whether a PACH will be present in a particular upcoming time period… [0120] BAI may be determined by the UE 110 and used by the UE 110 to steer its receive beam or transmit beam, possibly independent of whether the UE 110 is communicating with a NT-TRP or a T-TRP).
Regarding claim 12 Jassal-OTA teaches the terminal according to claim 7,
Jassal further teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to when connecting to the ground base station or the high-altitude base station, continue to correct a beam direction of a beam to be transmitted to the ground base station or the high-altitude base station based on information included in a beam received from the ground base station or the high-altitude base station in parallel with transmitting and receiving a beam to and from the ground base station or the high- altitude base station (Jassal; [0080-0082] The UE 110 provides the results of the sensing to the network, e.g. by transmitting the results to the T-TRP 170. The network instructs the NT-TRP 170 based on the results of the sensing. For example, the NT-TRP 170 is instructed to locate itself in a direction in relation to UE 110 that was not determined to be obstructed. [0081] The network may use network planning. For example, if UE 110 is located adjacent a known building, then the NT-TRP 177 may be instructed to locate itself away from the building. [0082] Positioning sensing by the T-TRP 170 and/or by the NT-TRP 172, e.g. using radio wave measurements (e.g. radar), and/or acoustic measurements (echolocation), and/or detecting Wi-Fi signals, and/or lidar measurements, etc. For example, the T-TRP 170 and/or the NT-TRP 172 performs a beam sweep of radio waves, e.g. radar, and receives a reflection back from a particular direction having a strong reflective signal. The fact that the reflection has a relatively strong signal is interpreted as the presence of a UE, and the direction of reflection indicates the beam direction of the UE).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416