Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “for an inverter” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2033875 (hereinafter KR ‘875) in view of KR 10-2013-0087566 (hereinafter KR ‘566).
As regarding claim 1, KR ‘875 discloses the claimed invention for an inverter apparatus provided with a dust collecting unit, comprising: a housing (210, 100 and 300) having an air inlet port formed a lower side of a first surface and an air discharge port formed on an upper side of a second surface; an electrical element (figs. 3-4) for an inverter, which is arranged in the housing; a first suction member (300 of fig. 7) which is disposed inside the housing to allow outside air to flow into the housing through the air inlet port and generate a flow of air discharged through the air discharge port to cool the electrical element ([0041]; [0044]; [0057]; [0060] and annotated fig. 6).
KR ‘875 does not disclose a dust collecting unit which is disposed below the air inlet port to remove dust included in the air flowing into the air inlet port, wherein the dust collecting unit comprises: a first discharge electrode which is negatively charged; a dust collection electrode which is spaced apart from the first discharge electrode and positively charged; an air flow guide which is formed to extend downward from a periphery of the air inlet port such that the outside air flows past the first discharge electrode and the dust collection electrode before entering the air inlet port; and a dust tray which is disposed below the dust collection electrode to collect the dust attracted to the dust collection electrode, wherein the outside air flowing from the lower side of the housing to the upper side of the housing is introduced into an interior of the housing after passing through the dust collecting unit and the air inlet port, and flows upward to be discharged to an exterior of the housing through the air discharge port.
KR ‘566 teaches a dust collecting unit (1-1 of figs. 1-2; [0040]) which is disposed below the air inlet port to remove dust included in the air flowing into the air inlet port, wherein the dust collecting unit comprises: a first discharge electrode (1-2) which is negatively charged; a dust collection electrode (1-1k of figs. 1-2) which is spaced apart from the first discharge electrode and positively charged; an air flow guide (‘portion’ of the outlet of Zongkatsu to Moon housing air inlet port) which is formed to extend downward from a periphery of the air inlet port such that the outside air flows past the first discharge electrode and the dust collection electrode before entering the air inlet port; and a dust tray (1-1a, 1-1k, 1-1b) which is disposed below the dust collection electrode to collect the dust attracted to the dust collection electrode, wherein the outside air flowing from the lower side of the housing to the upper side of the housing is introduced into an interior of the housing after passing through the dust collecting unit and the air inlet port, and flows upward to be discharged to an exterior of the housing through the air discharge port (annotated fig. 2).
Both KR ‘875 and KR ‘566 are directed to a treatment of exhaust/emission fluid.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a dust collecting unit which is disposed on one side of the air inlet port to remove dust included in the air flowing into the air inlet port, wherein the dust collecting unit comprises: a first discharge electrode which is negatively charged; a dust collection electrode which is spaced apart from the first discharge electrode and positively charged; an air flow guide which is formed to extend downward from a periphery of the air inlet port such that the outside air flows into the air inlet port via the first discharge electrode and the dust collection electrode; and a dust tray which is disposed below the dust collection electrode to collect the dust attracted to the dust collection electrode as taught by KR ‘566 in order to enhance the inverter apparatus performance.
As regarding claim 2, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for a power supply unit (KR ‘566 – [0036]) for supplying power to the dust collecting unit, wherein the first discharge electrode is connected to a negative terminal of the power supply unit, and wherein the dust collection electrode is connected to a positive terminal of the power supply unit.
As regarding claim 3, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the power supply unit is connected to the electric element for an inverter and the first suction member to supply power to the electric element for an inverter and the first suction member ([0070]).
As regarding claim 4, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first discharge electrode (KR ‘566 – 1-2) is formed to extend in the extension direction of the air flow guide, and wherein the dust collection electrode is spaced apart from a side surface of the first discharge electrode and is disposed on the inner peripheral surface of the air flow guide (KR ‘566 – figs. 1-2).
As regarding claim 5, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for at least one second discharge electrode (KR ‘566 - 1-2b) which is electrically connected to the first discharge electrode and extends in a radial direction from a side surface of the first discharge electrode (KR ‘566 – [0036] and fig. 6).
As regarding claim 7, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the dust tray is formed to extend from a lower edge of the air flow guide to the upper side such that a space in which the dust is collected is formed on the inner peripheral side of the lower end of the air flow guide (KR ‘566 – figs. 1-2).
As regarding claim 8, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first discharge electrode and the dust collection electrode are disposed in the central portion of the air flow guide in the longitudinal direction, and wherein the air flow guide is formed such that the cross-sectional area becomes wider (KR ‘566 – 1-1d fig. 3) from the central portion to both ends.
As regarding claim 9, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for a dust capturing unit (KR ‘566 – figs. 1-2; no number) which is connected to the dust tray to collect the dust collected in the dust tray.
As regarding claim 10, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the dust capturing unit comprises: a dust container (KR ‘566 – inherently, bottom of 2-1a to collect dust) in which the dust is collected; a dust discharge pipe (KR ‘566 – 5-1) which connects the dust container and the dust tray to be in fluid communication with each other; and a second suction member which forms a flow to move the dust from the dust tray to the dust container (KR ‘566 – figs. 1-2; [0036]).
As regarding claim 11, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for a centrifugal separation member (KR ‘566 – 2-1a) which is provided at one end of the dust discharge pipe to connect the dust discharge pipe and the dust container in order to separate dust from the air discharged from the dust discharge pipe and collect the dust into the dust container.
As regarding claim 12, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the centrifugal separation member is provided with a cylindrical body (KR ‘566 – figs. 1-2; no number), an air discharge port which is formed on an upper surface of the body and connected to the second suction member, a dust outlet port (KR ‘566 – bottom of 2-1a) which is formed on a lower surface of the body and connected to the dust container, and a dust inlet port which is formed on a side surface of the body to be connected to the dust discharge pipe, and wherein the dust discharge pipe is connected to the dust inlet port such that the direction from the dust inlet port to the center of the body and the direction in which the dust is discharged have a predetermined angle such that the discharged dust rotates along the inner peripheral surface of the body.
As regarding claim 13, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the cross-sectional area of the lower part of the body becomes smaller toward the lower side (KR ‘566 – figs. 1-2).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2033875 (hereinafter KR ‘875) in view of KR 10-2013-0087566 (hereinafter KR ‘566) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of JP 2010022949 (hereinafter JP ‘949).
As regarding claim 6, KR ‘875 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. KR ‘875 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for at least one third discharge electrode which is electrically connected to the second discharge electrode, formed in a ring shape and supported by the second discharge electrode. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide at least one third discharge electrode which is electrically connected to the second discharge electrode, formed in a ring shape and supported by the second discharge electrode in order to enhance inverter apparatus performance, since it was known in the art as shown in JP ‘949 (13b of fig. 7(b) and [0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark argues that Moon and Zongkatsu (alone or in combination) fails to disclose or teach or suggest the dust collecting unit … is disposed below the air inlet port.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The annotated fig. 2 of Zongkatsu and the annotated fig. 6 of Moon clear discloses or teaches the dust collecting unit … is disposed below the air inlet port and the first discharge electrode.
Also, alternatively, even if Moon and Zongkatsu (alone or in combination) fails to disclose or teach the dust collecting unit … is disposed below the air inlet port. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the dust collecting unit … is disposed below the air inlet port as a design choice in order to reduce electrical noise and transients, thereby improve reliability, compliance and protection of internal components, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen location or upon another variable recited in the claim, the applicant must show that the chosen location is critical and unexpected results.
Examiner notes that applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As shown in annotated fig. 6 of Moon and annotated fig. 2 of Zongkatsu, the dust collecting unit upstream of the inverter housing of Moon; therefore, the elements 1-2 and 1-1k are positioned such that the outside air can flow past these elements before entering the air inlet port (1-1a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773