DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action regarding application number 18/269,459, filed June 23, 2023, is in response to the applicants arguments and amendments filed January 30, 2026. Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 13-15, and 17 have been amended. New claims 18-22 have been added. Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 13-22 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicants arguments and amendments to the application have overcome some of the objections and rejections previously set forth in the Final action mailed September 30, 2025. Applicants amendments to claims 1 and 13-14 have been deemed sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC 101 rejections through the inclusion of “displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon” therefore the rejections are withdrawn. Applicants amendments to claims 1 and 13-14 have been deemed sufficient to overcome the previous 35 USC 103 rejections through the inclusion of “displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon” therefore the rejections are withdrawn. However as this changes the scope of the claims, new art rejections have been made based on the changes in scope. New Rejections have also been added for new claims 18-22.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13-14 and the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao (US-20100262327) in view of Fernandes (US-20130317862) and further in view of Ueda (US 20220101667).
Regarding claim 1, Nakao teaches a driving determination system comprising (Paragraph [0008], "Exemplary implementations provide driving support systems, methods, and programs that detect an operation of the vehicle")
a memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the processor performing operations, the operations comprising (Paragraph [0017], "The control unit 10 is formed as a normal computer, and in this control unit, there are provided a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, an I/O, a bus line connecting these components, and so on.")
receiving a signal from a sensor (Paragraph [0025], “The camera 90 is formed using a solid state imaging sensor such as a CCD for example, and is structured to be capable of imaging all directions outside the vehicle.”)
sensing dangerous driving of a vehicle based on the signal (Paragraph [0027], "In first step S101 (hereinafter, "step" is omitted and is just denoted by "S"), it is determined whether a road marking line prohibiting deviation from a lane is crossed or not. The road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane refers to a lane border line prohibiting a lane change and a center line prohibiting crossing into the opposite lane for overtaking. This road marking line is drawn on a road surface by a yellow line. In this example, an operation of the vehicle to be determined as dangerous driving during a normal time is an operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane. Further, determination as to whether the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed or not is performed such that image recognition is performed with respect to an image indicated by video information obtained by the camera 90," here the system is sensing that a vehicle when the vehicle crossing the road marking based on images from a camera)
detecting, based on the signal, a traveling condition regarding traveling of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], “Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90,” here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information around the vehicle such as obstacle information) (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs)
determining, based on the traveling condition, whether a cause of the dangerous driving is a driver of the vehicle or other than the driver of the of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle)
generating driving information (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs and generates driving information/traveling trace of the vehicle)
including at least the occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention,” here the system store a position that a dangerous maneuver has occurred, in this case the type is crossing over the road marking)
a dangerous driving level (Paragraph [0039], “In addition, in this example, when it is determined as dangerous driving, a predetermined score is subtracted from a preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate a driving evaluation score.”) (Paragraph [0051], “Further, a predetermined score is subtracted from the preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate the driving evaluation score. When the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished, warning information regarding that the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score is given via the display 51 and/or the speaker 61.”)
and a determination cause (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle)
storing the driving information in the memory or a storage device (Paragraph [0027], “When the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed (S101: YES), information indicating that the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed is stored in the information storage unit 70, and the system proceeds to S102.”) (Paragraph [0075], “The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed”).
However while Nakao teaches displaying a type of the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Further, regarding the driving evaluation result, the system is configured to give a warning if the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished. Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention. Further, the driving evaluation result may be transmitted to an information center to rank the driving evaluation result with reference to driving information of other drivers.”).
Nakao does not explicitly teach superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving, generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving, superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device.
Fernandes teaches systems and methods for evaluating telematics data of a vehicle to determine safety events including
superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause)
generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types.”) (See also figure 8 showing labels indicating an event type)
superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving, generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving, superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
However while Fernandes further teaches the selection of a particular event using a link to display additional information (Paragraph [0056], “Moreover, selection of a particular event icon might result in the display of further details about that particular event (e.g., the date and time the event occurred). In addition to, or instead of, filtering safety events based on event type or severity, a driver might be able to display events associated with a particular type of driver or vehicle (e.g., based on age, driving experience, gender, etc.).”); the combination does not explicitly teach displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon.
Ueda teaches A driving evaluation device configured to cause driving information pertaining to dangerous driving incidents collected from a vehicle to be stored in a storage unit together with types and danger ratings of the dangerous driving incidents including
displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon (Paragraph [0082], “Furthermore, the control unit 410, in a case in which the receiving unit 400 has received a selection of one of the dangerous driving incidents, causes a moving image pertaining to the dangerous driving incident it has received to be displayed on the touch panel 42.”) (Paragraph [0084], “The icon IC is a button for indicating, in a corresponding point on the map screen 84, the place of occurrence of the dangerous driving incident and for displaying a moving image corresponding to the dangerous driving incident.”).
Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon of Ueda in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao and Fernandes with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve vehicle safety by allowing driving events to be reviewed to improve the driving of the vehicle (Paragraph [0133], “The app in the above embodiment can, in a case in which a family member who is the user of the app is keeping an eye on the driving habits of an elderly driver, be used for the purpose of allowing the driver himself/herself to be the user and review his/her own driving. At the same time, by providing the score and the driving information to an insurance company, insurance premiums can be optimized; by providing the score and the driving information to a local government, the timing when one is to voluntarily give up one's driver's license can be grasped; and by providing the score and the driving information to the dealer of the vehicle 12, the score and the driving information can be utilized to promote the sale of safe driving assistance systems or the like.”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the traveling condition is at least one of an external environment in which the vehicle is traveling (Paragraph [0028], “Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90,” here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information)
and a driving operation condition regarding a driving operation of the vehicle (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining that the dangerous driving is unavoidable driving in a case that the cause of the sensed dangerous driving is other than the driver (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103,” here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle, the system determines whether the crossing was as a result of an operation to avoid an obstacle in the vicinity of the vehicle, if the crossing/dangerous driving was a result of avoiding an obstacle therefore it was unavoidable in order to prevent a collision with the object).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining that the dangerous driving is unnecessary dangerous driving in a case that the cause of the sensed dangerous driving is the driver of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], “When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112,” here if there is not obstacle to avoid, and therefore the dangerous driving was unnecessary, the cause was driver of the vehicle making an unnecessary maneuver) (Paragraph [0039], “In S112, to which the system proceeds when there is no factor to be avoided (S102: NO), when the rapid decelerating operation is performed and when the rapid accelerating operation is performed (S107: YES, S108: YES), when the vehicle is not traveling at the predetermined speed or lower (S109: NO), and when the traveling trace and the road shape do not match (S110: NO), it is determined that the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is not an appropriate avoidance operation, and thus is determined as dangerous driving.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise generating the driving information including information regarding the sensed dangerous driving (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs and generates driving information/traveling trace of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches an occurrence position of the dangerous driving and a type of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention,” here the system store a position that a dangerous maneuver has occurred, in this case the type is crossing over the road marking).
However Nakao does not explicitly teach that the driving information includes a date and a time of the dangerous driving.
Fernandes further teaches wherein the driving information includes a date and time of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0056], “Moreover, selection of a particular event icon might result in the display of further details about that particular event (e.g., the date and time the event occurred).”)
the occurrence position of the dangerous driving (See figures 6-7 showing a map indicating a position of the driving event)
and a type of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types.”) (See also figure 8 showing labels indicating an event type).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the driving information includes a date and time of the dangerous driving, an occurrence position of the dangerous driving, and a type of the dangerous driving of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise calculating an evaluation value regarding driving of the vehicle based on a number of times of dangerous driving or the dangerous driving level (Paragraph [0039], “In addition, in this example, when it is determined as dangerous driving, a predetermined score is subtracted from a preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate a driving evaluation score.”) (Paragraph [0051], “Further, a predetermined score is subtracted from the preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate the driving evaluation score. When the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished, warning information regarding that the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score is given via the display 51 and/or the speaker 61.”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise excluding the dangerous driving determined to be the unavoidable driving from calculation of the evaluation level (Paragraph [0054], “In this case, the operation to cross the center line C1 avoiding the obstacle X is determined as appropriate and hence as safe driving, and no score is subtracted (S111).”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining whether the sensed driving is good driving based on the traveling condition and raising the evaluation value according to a number of times of the good driving (Paragraph [0074], “In the above-described example, the driving evaluation score is calculated by subtraction from the preset base score when the determination as dangerous driving is made. Instead of this, the driving evaluation score may be calculated by a method of adding scores when the determination as safe driving is made so as to perform driving evaluation.”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches displaying the type of the dangerous driving and the occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Further, regarding the driving evaluation result, the system is configured to give a warning if the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished. Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention. Further, the driving evaluation result may be transmitted to an information center to rank the driving evaluation result with reference to driving information of other drivers.”).
However Nakao does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise superimposing and displaying a type of the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving on map information based on the driving information.
Fernandes further teaches wherein the operations further comprise superimposing and displaying the type of the dangerous driving and the occurrence position of the dangerous driving on the map information based on the driving information (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause) (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types.”) (See also figure 8 showing labels indicating an event type).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the operations further comprise superimposing and displaying a type of the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving on map information based on the driving information of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
Regarding claim 13, Nakao teaches a driving determination method comprising (Paragraph [0008], "Exemplary implementations provide driving support systems, methods, and programs that detect an operation of the vehicle")
receiving a signal from a sensor (Paragraph [0025], “The camera 90 is formed using a solid state imaging sensor such as a CCD for example, and is structured to be capable of imaging all directions outside the vehicle.”)
sensing dangerous driving of a vehicle based on the signal (Paragraph [0027], "In first step S101 (hereinafter, "step" is omitted and is just denoted by "S"), it is determined whether a road marking line prohibiting deviation from a lane is crossed or not. The road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane refers to a lane border line prohibiting a lane change and a center line prohibiting crossing into the opposite lane for overtaking. This road marking line is drawn on a road surface by a yellow line. In this example, an operation of the vehicle to be determined as dangerous driving during a normal time is an operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane. Further, determination as to whether the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed or not is performed such that image recognition is performed with respect to an image indicated by video information obtained by the camera 90," here the system is sensing that a vehicle when the vehicle crossing the road marking based on images from a camera)
detecting, based on the signal, a traveling condition regarding traveling of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], “Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90,” here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information around the vehicle such as obstacle information) (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs)
determining, based on the traveling condition, whether a cause of dangerous driving is a driver of the vehicle or other than the driver of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle)
generating driving information (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs and generates driving information/traveling trace of the vehicle)
including at least the occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention,” here the system store a position that a dangerous maneuver has occurred, in this case the type is crossing over the road marking)
a dangerous driving level (Paragraph [0039], “In addition, in this example, when it is determined as dangerous driving, a predetermined score is subtracted from a preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate a driving evaluation score.”) (Paragraph [0051], “Further, a predetermined score is subtracted from the preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate the driving evaluation score. When the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished, warning information regarding that the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score is given via the display 51 and/or the speaker 61.”)
and a determination cause (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle)
storing the driving information in the memory or a storage device (Paragraph [0027], “When the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed (S101: YES), information indicating that the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed is stored in the information storage unit 70, and the system proceeds to S102.”) (Paragraph [0075], “The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed”).
However while Nakao teaches displaying a type of the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Further, regarding the driving evaluation result, the system is configured to give a warning if the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished. Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention. Further, the driving evaluation result may be transmitted to an information center to rank the driving evaluation result with reference to driving information of other drivers.”).
Nakao does not explicitly teach superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving, generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving, superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device.
Fernandes teaches systems and methods for evaluating telematics data of a vehicle to determine safety events including
superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause)
generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types.”) (See also figure 8 showing labels indicating an event type)
superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving, generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving, superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
However while Fernandes further teaches the selection of a particular event using a link to display additional information (Paragraph [0056], “Moreover, selection of a particular event icon might result in the display of further details about that particular event (e.g., the date and time the event occurred). In addition to, or instead of, filtering safety events based on event type or severity, a driver might be able to display events associated with a particular type of driver or vehicle (e.g., based on age, driving experience, gender, etc.).”); the combination does not explicitly teach displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon.
Ueda teaches A driving evaluation device configured to cause driving information pertaining to dangerous driving incidents collected from a vehicle to be stored in a storage unit together with types and danger ratings of the dangerous driving incidents including
displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon (Paragraph [0082], “Furthermore, the control unit 410, in a case in which the receiving unit 400 has received a selection of one of the dangerous driving incidents, causes a moving image pertaining to the dangerous driving incident it has received to be displayed on the touch panel 42.”) (Paragraph [0084], “The icon IC is a button for indicating, in a corresponding point on the map screen 84, the place of occurrence of the dangerous driving incident and for displaying a moving image corresponding to the dangerous driving incident.”).
Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon of Ueda in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao and Fernandes with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve vehicle safety by allowing driving events to be reviewed to improve the driving of the vehicle (Paragraph [0133], “The app in the above embodiment can, in a case in which a family member who is the user of the app is keeping an eye on the driving habits of an elderly driver, be used for the purpose of allowing the driver himself/herself to be the user and review his/her own driving. At the same time, by providing the score and the driving information to an insurance company, insurance premiums can be optimized; by providing the score and the driving information to a local government, the timing when one is to voluntarily give up one's driver's license can be grasped; and by providing the score and the driving information to the dealer of the vehicle 12, the score and the driving information can be utilized to promote the sale of safe driving assistance systems or the like.”)
Regarding claim 14, Nakao teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium embodying a program for causing a computer to perform a method, the method comprising (Paragraph [0008], "Exemplary implementations provide driving support systems, methods, and programs that detect an operation of the vehicle") (Paragraph [0017], "The control unit 10 is formed as a normal computer, and in this control unit, there are provided a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, an I/O, a bus line connecting these components, and so on.")
receiving a signal from a sensor (Paragraph [0025], “The camera 90 is formed using a solid state imaging sensor such as a CCD for example, and is structured to be capable of imaging all directions outside the vehicle.”)
sensing dangerous driving of a vehicle based on the signal (Paragraph [0027], "In first step S101 (hereinafter, "step" is omitted and is just denoted by "S"), it is determined whether a road marking line prohibiting deviation from a lane is crossed or not. The road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane refers to a lane border line prohibiting a lane change and a center line prohibiting crossing into the opposite lane for overtaking. This road marking line is drawn on a road surface by a yellow line. In this example, an operation of the vehicle to be determined as dangerous driving during a normal time is an operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane. Further, determination as to whether the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed or not is performed such that image recognition is performed with respect to an image indicated by video information obtained by the camera 90," here the system is sensing that a vehicle when the vehicle crossing the road marking based on images from a camera)
detecting, based on the signal, a traveling condition regarding traveling of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], “Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90,” here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information around the vehicle such as obstacle information) (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs)
determining, based on the traveling condition, whether a cause of the dangerous driving is a driver of the vehicle or other than the driver of the of the vehicle (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle)
generating driving information (Paragraph [0031], "Here, first there is obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected. Next, based on the obtained information related to the operation of the vehicle, there are created information related to a traveling trace of the vehicle within a predetermined section before and after the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "traveling trace information"), information related to the direction indicator when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "direction indicator information"), and information related to the speed of the vehicle when the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is detected (hereinafter referred to as "vehicle speed information"), which are included in the accompanied operation information.," at subsequent step S105 the system then detects further information relating to operation of the vehicle when the crossing the road marking occurs and generates driving information/traveling trace of the vehicle)
including at least the occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention,” here the system store a position that a dangerous maneuver has occurred, in this case the type is crossing over the road marking)
a dangerous driving level (Paragraph [0039], “In addition, in this example, when it is determined as dangerous driving, a predetermined score is subtracted from a preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate a driving evaluation score.”) (Paragraph [0051], “Further, a predetermined score is subtracted from the preset base score at the time of starting driving, so as to calculate the driving evaluation score. When the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished, warning information regarding that the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score is given via the display 51 and/or the speaker 61.”)
and a determination cause (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle)
storing the driving information in the memory or a storage device (Paragraph [0027], “When the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed (S101: YES), information indicating that the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed is stored in the information storage unit 70, and the system proceeds to S102.”) (Paragraph [0075], “The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed”).
However while Nakao teaches displaying a type of the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0075], “Further, regarding the driving evaluation result, the system is configured to give a warning if the driving evaluation score falls below the reference score when the driving is finished. Besides this, a warning may be given in real time when dangerous driving is performed. The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed, and to notify the driver of information that, when passing this point again, this is the point where dangerous driving was performed, so as to call attention. Further, the driving evaluation result may be transmitted to an information center to rank the driving evaluation result with reference to driving information of other drivers.”).
Nakao does not explicitly teach superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving, generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving, superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device.
Fernandes teaches systems and methods for evaluating telematics data of a vehicle to determine safety events including
superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause)
generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types.”) (See also figure 8 showing labels indicating an event type)
superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device (See Figures 6-7, showing map information on a display with icons indicating safety events/dangerous driving) (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include superimposing and displaying, on map information shown on a display, an icon representing the dangerous driving and an occurrence position of the dangerous driving based on the sensed dangerous driving, generating driving information including type of the dangerous driving, superimposing and displaying the icon and the occurrence position based on the driving information stored in the memory or the storage device of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
However while Fernandes further teaches the selection of a particular event using a link to display additional information (Paragraph [0056], “Moreover, selection of a particular event icon might result in the display of further details about that particular event (e.g., the date and time the event occurred). In addition to, or instead of, filtering safety events based on event type or severity, a driver might be able to display events associated with a particular type of driver or vehicle (e.g., based on age, driving experience, gender, etc.).”); the combination does not explicitly teach displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon.
Ueda teaches A driving evaluation device configured to cause driving information pertaining to dangerous driving incidents collected from a vehicle to be stored in a storage unit together with types and danger ratings of the dangerous driving incidents including
displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon (Paragraph [0082], “Furthermore, the control unit 410, in a case in which the receiving unit 400 has received a selection of one of the dangerous driving incidents, causes a moving image pertaining to the dangerous driving incident it has received to be displayed on the touch panel 42.”) (Paragraph [0084], “The icon IC is a button for indicating, in a corresponding point on the map screen 84, the place of occurrence of the dangerous driving incident and for displaying a moving image corresponding to the dangerous driving incident.”).
Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include displaying a selection link for displaying a moving image regarding the dangerous driving by selecting the icon of Ueda in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao and Fernandes with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve vehicle safety by allowing driving events to be reviewed to improve the driving of the vehicle (Paragraph [0133], “The app in the above embodiment can, in a case in which a family member who is the user of the app is keeping an eye on the driving habits of an elderly driver, be used for the purpose of allowing the driver himself/herself to be the user and review his/her own driving. At the same time, by providing the score and the driving information to an insurance company, insurance premiums can be optimized; by providing the score and the driving information to a local government, the timing when one is to voluntarily give up one's driver's license can be grasped; and by providing the score and the driving information to the dealer of the vehicle 12, the score and the driving information can be utilized to promote the sale of safe driving assistance systems or the like.”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches determining whether the cause of the dangerous driving is due to the driver or not (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle).
However Nakao does not explicitly teach outputting a changed type of icon on a display according to whether the cause of the dangerous driving is due to the driver or not.
Fernandes teaches systems and methods for evaluating telematics data of a vehicle to determine safety events including
determining whether the cause of the dangerous driving is due to the driver or not (Paragraph [0046], “Vehicle diagnostics data can be used to determine whether a safety event was caused by the driver's actions or related to a vehicle malfunction, such as low tire pressure, low oil pressure, high engine temperature, loss of power, and stalling,” here the system can display symbols on a map showing determined safety events including those cause by the driver or related to another cause)
outputting a changed type of icon on the display (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types,” here the system can display different icons or symbols based on the type of safety event, the system also can determine a cause of a safety event being a driver or other cause, while it does not explicitly state that the displayed symbols can include a type associated with a cause it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that an event type includes a cause of the event, further the system can reasonably be combined with the system of Nakao, in order to display different symbols associated with the determinations of Nakao).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include outputting a changed type of icon on a display according to whether the cause of the dangerous driving is due to the driver or not of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches determining whether the sensed driving is good driving based on the traveling condition and raising an evaluation value according to a number of time of the good driving (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle) (Paragraph [0074], “In the above-described example, the driving evaluation score is calculated by subtraction from the preset base score when the determination as dangerous driving is made. Instead of this, the driving evaluation score may be calculated by a method of adding scores when the determination as safe driving is made so as to perform driving evaluation.”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches assigning, in sequence, an identifier where the dangerous driving is sensed (Paragraph [0023], “Note that the information related to the operation of the vehicle is constantly obtained while traveling (at every 100 ms for example) and stored in association with the position information and the time information,” here the system is evaluating operation of the vehicle every set time period and storing this operation information in sequence) (Paragraph [0041], “In S201, it is determined whether the crossing flag that can be set in S103 is set or not. When the crossing flag is not set (S201: NO), processing in S202 and thereafter is not performed. When the crossing flag is set (S201: YES), the system proceeds to S202,” here the system is assigning and identifier/flag in response to a driving event) (Paragraph [0054], “The vehicle K crosses the center line C1 at the point P1 (S101: YES). At this time, since there is the obstacle X ahead on the lane which the vehicle K is traveling, the operation to cross the center line C1 is determined as an avoidance operation (S102: YES), and the crossing flag is set (S103),” this identifier/flag is associated with a position where a driving event is detected)
and storing, in the storage device and in association with the assigned identifier, information including the occurrence position of the dangerous driving and the determined cause of the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0027], “When the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed (S101: YES), information indicating that the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is crossed is stored in the information storage unit 70, and the system proceeds to S102.”) (Paragraph [0075], “The system may also be configured to store position coordinates of a point where a driving operation determined as dangerous driving is performed”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Fernandes further teaches displaying, on the map information, the icon of a first type, where the determined cause of the dangerous driving is the driver of the vehicle and displaying, on the map information, the icon of a second type, where the determined cause of the dangerous driving is not the driver of the vehicle (Paragraph [0055], “Note that the identified safety events 854, 856 may associated with a plurality of different event types. For example, safety events 854, 786 associated with both hard braking events and excessive speeding may be displayed. In this case, different labels (e.g., reflecting event types "1," "2," or "3" as illustrated in FIG. 8), icons, or colors may be used to differentiate event types,” here the system can display different icons or symbols based on the type of safety event, the system also can determine a cause of a safety event being a driver or other cause, while it does not explicitly state that the displayed symbols can include a type associated with a cause it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that an event type includes a cause of the event, further the system can reasonably be combined with the system of Nakao, in order to display different symbols associated with the determinations of Nakao).
Nakao and Fernandes are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include displaying, on the map information, the icon of a first type, where the determined cause of the dangerous driving is the driver of the vehicle and displaying, on the map information, the icon of a second type, where the determined cause of the dangerous driving is not the driver of the vehicle of Fernandes in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao with a reasonable expectation of success in order to communicate to the driver relevant safety event information so that the driver can improve their own driving or avoid areas in which safety events often occur (Paragraph [0003], “It can be difficult to encourage drivers to provide such data and/or to adjust driving habits in ways that may lower risk. In some cases, a driver might be given an insurance benefit to encourage him or her to provide telematics data and/or to improve driving habits. The relationships between telematics data (e.g., a number of safety events that occur) and such types of benefits can be difficult for a driver to understand.”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Nakao further teaches determining and storing a cause of dangerous driving (Paragraph [0028], "In S102, it is determined whether or not the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane detected in S101 is an avoidance operation for avoiding a factor to be avoided … Further, the factor to be avoided is an obstacle on the road (a vehicle parked on street, a crashed vehicle, a construction fence or sign, a fallen object, or the like). The factor to be avoided is detected based on image information captured by the camera 90. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is not the avoidance operation (S102: NO), that is, there is no factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S112. When the operation to cross the road marking line prohibiting deviation from the lane is the avoidance operation (S102: YES), that is, there is a factor to be avoided in the vicinity of the vehicle, the system proceeds to S103," here after detecting the dangerous driving operation the system detects traveling condition information external to the vehicle such as obstacle information, and therefore is determining if the cause of dangerous operation is the driver or as the result of an obstacle).
Ueda further teaches wherein displaying the selection link further comprises displaying the moving image regarding the dangerous driving (Paragraph [0084], “The icon IC is a button for indicating, in a corresponding point on the map screen 84, the place of occurrence of the dangerous driving incident and for displaying a moving image corresponding to the dangerous driving incident.”).
the dangerous driving level (See Figure 9 showing the information that is displayed when a link is selected including the moving image and a danger rating and score)
and the determination cause by selecting the icon (Paragraph [0091], “In step S101, the CPU 30A determines the dangerous driving incidents as well as the types and the danger ratings of the dangerous driving incidents. Because of this, it is determined whether or not certain driving incidents pertaining to certain drivers correspond to dangerous driving incidents. Furthermore, in a case in which they correspond to dangerous driving incidents, it is determined whether the types of the dangerous driving incidents are speeding, obstructing a pedestrian, running a red light, or something else, and whether the danger ratings are “high,” “intermediate,” or “low.”,” here while Ueda is not explicitly teaching the determination of cause, this limitation of determining a cause is taught by Nakao, and the method of displaying a plurality of information pieces including a type of event as taught by Ueda could reasonably be combined with the information as determined by Nakao so as to display a type of event such as an event that is not the cause of the driver).
Nakao, Fernandes, and Ueda are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for evaluating sensor data to determine vehicle events.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein displaying the selection link further comprises displaying the moving image regarding the dangerous driving, the dangerous driving level, and the determination cause by selecting the icon of Ueda in the system for evaluating dangerous driving of Nakao and Fernandes with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve vehicle safety by allowing driving events to be reviewed to improve the driving of the vehicle (Paragraph [0133], “The app in the above embodiment can, in a case in which a family member who is the user of the app is keeping an eye on the driving habits of an elderly driver, be used for the purpose of allowing the driver himself/herself to be the user and review his/her own driving. At the same time, by providing the score and the driving information to an insurance company, insurance premiums can be optimized; by providing the score and the driving information to a local government, the timing when one is to voluntarily give up one's driver's license can be grasped; and by providing the score and the driving information to the dealer of the vehicle 12, the score and the driving information can be utilized to promote the sale of safe driving assistance systems or the like.”).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 18 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 19 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 18 and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsuji (US-20180074497) teaches a travel history generator generates, for each driver, a travel history associating an environmental parameter indicating a travel environment through which a vehicle has previously traveled with an action selected by the driver in response to the environmental parameter. Emura (US-20180093676) teaches a driving assistance device generates a first image representing the first action and a second image representing the second action, the driving assistance device outputs the first image and the second image to a notification device such that the first image and the second image are displayed within a fixed field of view of a driver of the vehicle. Urano (US-20160207537) teaches a vehicle system includes a driving operation information acquisition unit acquiring an operation amount of a driver's driving operation, a driving state switching unit switching a driving state of a vehicle between a first driving state and a second driving state based on a relationship between the operation amount and a first threshold, the first driving state including at least one of an autonomous driving state and a cooperative driving state.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662