DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizawa et al. (WO 2018/180748, see English language equivalent US 2021/0111465).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Mizawa discloses a secondary battery 10 comprising a winding type electrode body 14 comprising a positive electrode 11, a negative electrode 12, and separators 13 ([0021], Fig 1). The separators are insulative ([0044]).
The positive electrode 11 comprises a belt-shaped positive electrode collector 30 having a positive electrode active material layer 31 [positive electrode active material portion with positive active material located] and an un-covered portion 32 [positive electrode non-coating portion] wherein a positive electrode lead 19 [positive electrode tab] is disposed in the un-covered portion 32 ([0022], [0032]-[0033], Fig 3).
The negative electrode 12 includes a belt-shaped negative electrode collector 35 having a negative electrode active material layer 36 [negative electrode active material portion with negative electrode active material] and an un-covered portion 37a,b [negative electrode non-coating portion] wherein a negative electrode lead 20a,b is disposed ([0023], [0038]-[0039], Fig 3).
An insulating tape 40 [protective tape] is adhered to the negative electrode collector 35 so as to straddle the surface of the negative electrode lead 20a at the winding start side end in the winding direction and cover a portion of the active material layer 36 ([0045], Figs 4-6 and 8-10); and therefore the protective tape is attached over the core-side negative electrode non-coating portion and an end of the core-side negative electrode active material portion. In one embodiment, the insulating tape 40 and lead 20a are disposed on the outer circumference side of the winding (Figs 5-6), and in another embodiment the insulating tape 40 and lead 20a are disposed on the inner circumference side of the winding ([0060], Figs 8-10); both embodiments read on the claimed “core-side negative electrode non-coating portion disposed at a core of the electrode assembly when the positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the separator are wound” because the lead 20a and un-covered portion 37a are at the winding start side end and are therefore at the core when wound (abstract, [0043], [0059]-[0060], Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Mizawa further discloses and illustrates that two separators 13 are used [therefore a first separator and a second separator] to separate and be spirally wound with the electrodes ([0021], Fig 2, 4 and 8). As seen in Figures 4 and 8, the positive electrode 11 is sandwiched by a first and second separator 13 with a negative electrode 12 disposed outward the positive electrode from the reference point of the separators at the core; and therefore has the arrangement of the negative electrode, the first separator, the positive electrode, and the second separator sequentially stacked from an outermost winding position.
Regarding claim 9, Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Mizawa discloses wherein the positive electrode un-covered portion 32 [non-coating portion] is disposed between opposite ends of the positive electrode 11, and wherein the positive electrode lead 19 [tab] is disposed on one surface of the positive electrode facing the second separator ([0036], see Figs 2-3 where the lead 19 is in the middle of the electrode and un-covered portion 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizawa et al. (WO 2018/180748, see English language equivalent US 2021/0111465), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2016/0149221).
Regarding claim 2, Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Mizawa discloses an insulating tape 40 [protective tape] is adhered to the negative electrode collector 35 so as to straddle the surface of the negative electrode lead 20a at the winding start side end in the winding direction ([0045], Figs 4-6 and 8-10), and therefore discloses one insulating tape on one surface covering a portion of the un-covered portion [non-coating portion] and a portion of the active material (Fig 3, 5-6, and 9-10), Mizawa does not explicitly disclose a first and second protective tape, wherein the other protective tape is attached over the other surface of the core-side negative electrode non-coating portion and a first end of the other surface of the core-side negative electrode active material portion.
Choi discloses a rechargeable [secondary] battery comprising an electrode assembly 10 including a positive electrode 11, a negative electrode 12, and a separator 13 that is disposed between the positive electrode 11 and the negative electrode 12 and is spiral-wound in a jelly roll form ([0042]). The negative electrode 12 includes a negative electrode current collector 122 having a negative electrode coating portion 12a that is coated with a negative electrode active material layer 123 and a negative electrode uncoated region 12b [non-coating portion] ([0065]-[0066], Figs 5-6). A negative electrode tab 52 is provided on the negative electrode uncoated region 12b ([0066], Figs 5-6). At an end of the negative electrode 12 is an uncoated region 12b followed by a coated region 12a wherein the negative electrode tab 52 is disposed in the uncoated region 12b (Figs 5-6). A first negative electrode tape 35 is attached to one surface of the negative electrode end and a second negative electrode tape 36 is attached to the other surface of the negative electrode end ([0067]-[0070], Figs 5-6). The first and second negative electrode tapes 35,36 include a first cover 35a,36a that is attached to a portion of the coated region 12a and negative electrode active material layer 123, and include a second cover 35b,36b that extends from the first cover 35a,36a and covers and attaches to the uncoated region 12b wherein the second cover 35b also covers the electrode tab 52 ([0067]-[0070], Figs 5-6). Choi teaches that the protection tapes 35,36 prevents the negative active material from separating and protects a portion where the negative electrode current collector 122 and the negative electrode tab 52 are welded and joined ([0069]-[0070]), and prevents a short circuit ([0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the protective tape on both sides of the end of the negative current collector having the tab as taught by Choi with the end of the negative current collector having the tab of Choi for the purpose of preventing the active material form separating, protecting the joining of the current collector and tab, and preventing a short circuit.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizawa et al. (WO 2018/180748, see English language equivalent US 2021/0111465) in view of Choi (US 2016/0149221), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2003/0099880).
Regarding claims 3-4, modified Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Mizawa discloses an insulating tape 40 on one side of the negative electrode end covering a non-coating portion 37a and a portion of the active material 36 (Figs 5-6 and 9-10), and Choi discloses an protection tape 35,36 on both sides of the negative electrode end covering a non-coating portion (via second covers 35b,36b) and a portion of the active material (via first covers 35a,36a) (Fig 6), modified Mizawa does not explicitly disclose wherein a [first/second] protective tape is attached to an entirety of the [first/second] surface of the non-coating portion.
Park discloses secondary battery comprising a battery unit 50 including a positive plate 51, a positive electrode tab 54, a negative electrode plate 52, a negative electrode tab 55, and separators 53 interposed between the electrode plates and wound like a jelly-roll (abstract, [0040], Figs 4-5). The positive and negative electrode plates 51,52 have areas coated with active material and areas that are uncoated areas 51d,51e,52d,52e ([0045]-[0046], Fig 5). Insulating tapes 500,510,520,530,540 are attached to the uncoated areas 51d,51e,52d,52e (Figs 5-6). A first and second insulating tapes 510,520 are attached to the front and rear positive electrode uncoated area 51d,51e and completely covers an area ranging from an edge of the current collector 51a to a boundary [overlapping] between the positive electrode sheet 51b,51c and the uncoated area 51d ([0052]-[0053], Figs 5-6). A third insulating tape 530 is attached to the front negative electrode uncoated area 52d, and completely covers an area ranging from one edge of the negative electrode current collector 52a to a boundary between the front negative electrode sheet 52b and the front negative electrode uncoated area 52d ([0054], Fig 5-6). A fourth insulating tape 540 is attached to the rear negative electrode uncoated area 52e, and completely covers an area ranging from one end of the negative electrode current collector 52a and a portion to which the negative electrode tab 55 is fixedly welded ([0055], Figs 5-6). The insulating tapes prevent short circuits between the positive and negative electrode plates 51 and 52 ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the length of the insulating tape completely covering an area from the edge of current collector [the entirety of the uncoated area] to overlapping the electrode active material as taught by Park with the insulating tape of Mizawa for the purpose of preventing short circuits between the positive and negative electrode plates.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizawa et al. (WO 2018/180748, see English language equivalent US 2021/0111465), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2003/0099880).
Regarding claim 6, Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Mizawa discloses that the length of the negative electrode 12 in the longitudinal direction is larger than the length of the positive electrode 11 in the longitudinal direction ([0031]).
However, while Mizawa discloses two separators 13, Mizawa does not explicitly disclose the length of the separators, and therefore does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the first and second separator has a length greater than a length of each of the positive electrode and the negative electrode.
Park discloses secondary battery comprising a battery unit 50 including a positive plate 51, a positive electrode tab 54, a negative electrode plate 52, a negative electrode tab 55, and separators 53 interposed between the electrode plates and wound like a jelly-roll (abstract, [0040], Figs 4-5). Park illustrates the separators 53 as greater in length that the positive and negative electrode plates (Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the length of the separator greater than the electrodes as taught by Park with the length of the separator of Mizawa for the purpose of preventing a short circuit between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 7, modified Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Figures 3-5 and 8-9 of Mizawa, the core-side negative electrode non-coating portion [un-covered portion 37a] is at one end of the negative electrode 12, and wherein the negative electrode 12, the separators 13, and the positive electrode 11 are wound from one side in a clockwise direction in which the winding starts. It is further noted that the orientation of clockwise or counter-clockwise would be reversed when viewed from the opposite side/point of view presented in Figures 4 and 8.
Regarding claim 8, modified Mizawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Mizawa discloses the negative electrode active material layer 36 is formed on both sides of the current collector 35 ([0039], Figs 6 and 10). Further, Mizawa discloses that the length of the negative electrode 12 in the longitudinal direction is larger than the length of the positive electrode 11 in the longitudinal direction ([0031]). Because Mizawa illustrates that both sides of the covered portion 36 of the negative active material as the same length (Figs 6 and 10), both sides of negative active material is larger in the longitudinal direction than the length of the positive electrode in the longitudinal direction, and therefore both sides of the negative active material is greater than a length of the positive electrode active material portion.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725