DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The amendment recites identifying a sequence number of a data unit not indicated as the target to be a missing number and setting the identified sequence number as the missing number to be received in the reception status information. It is unclear what this means. It is unclear what the sequence number is being set to. The way the claim is written, the sequence number of the data is the missing number, thus to set the sequence number as the missing number does not make sense.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 2021/0126947 in view of Chitrakar et al. “Chitrakar” US2019/0036651.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a transmitting station (Figure 1) comprising:
a first radio signal processing circuit configured to transmit a radio signal by using a first channel (transmitter has multiple radios (i.e. first processing circuit); Paragraph 30. Further, the packets are transmit using multi-link frames (i.e. first channel) and the information includes a sequence number; Paragraphs 39-40);
a second radio signal processing circuit configured to transmit a radio signal by using a second channel different from the first channel (transmitter has multiple radios (i.e. second processing circuit); Paragraph 30. Further, the packets are transmit using multi-link frames (i.e. second channel) and the information includes a sequence number (as the information would be stored, this is viewed as storing sequence numbers; Paragraphs 39-40. The system includes data storage, see Figure 12); and
processing circuity configured to establish multi-link with a receiving station by using the first radio signal processing circuit and the second radio signal processing circuit and manage communication using the multi-link (the multi-link upper MAC entity constructs frames for communication through the multi-link system to a receiver; Paragraph 39);
distribute a plurality of data units into the first radio signal processing circuit and the second radio signal processing circuit (the multi-link upper mac entity constructs frames for communication through the multi-link system and the MPDUs that belong to the same traffic ID (TID) are transmit on multiple links (i.e. first and second radio processing circuit for distribution); Paragraphs 38-41),
wherein
the first radio signal processing circuit is configured to transmit a first data unit group input from the link management unit among the plurality of data units to the receiving station, and transmit first information indicating a sequence number of a data unit included in the first data unit group as a transmission target to the receiving station (MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first data unit group) and then send out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are transmit; Paragraphs 38-39), and
the second radio signal processing circuit is configured to transmit a second data unit group input from the link management circuit among the plurality of data units to the receiving station, and transmit second information indicating a sequence number of a data unit included in the second data unit group as a transmission target to the receiving station (MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. second data unit group) and then send out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are transmit; Paragraphs 38-39).
Wang does not expressly disclose bitmaps including information indicating a sequence number of a data unit wherein the first and second bitmaps cause the receiving station to identify a SN of a data unit not indicated as the transmission target as a missing number and set the SN as the missing number to be received in the reception status information managed by the receiving station; however, Chitrakar teaches bitmaps with respect to MPDUs. When the MPDU SN +1 is not received by the recipient, four consecutive bits are set to 0 (i.e. the target is set as the missing number).; Paragraph 160 and Figure 8C.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying SN of data not indicated as a target and setting the SN identified as the missing number as taught by Chitrakar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the originator can interpret the transmission as a failure by the recipient device to receives any MPDUs with SN+1 as taught by Chitrakar; Paragraph 160.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the first and second radio signal processing circuit add the first/second information to a radio frame for transmitting the first/second data unit group to the receiving station (MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first data unit group) and then send out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are transmit; Paragraphs 38-39. The information that is sent in a packet is thus added).
Wang does not expressly disclose bitmaps including information indicating a sequence number of a data unit; however, Chitrakar teaches bitmaps with respect to MPDUs. When the MPDU SN +1 is not received by the recipient, four consecutive bits are set to 0 (i.e. the target is set as the missing number).; Paragraph 160 and Figure 8C.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying SN of data not indicated as a target and setting the SN identified as the missing number as taught by Chitrakar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the originator can interpret the transmission as a failure by the recipient device to receives any MPDUs with SN+1 as taught by Chitrakar; Paragraph 160.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chitrakar and further in view of Fukuda et al. “Fukuda” US 8,351,434.
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the first and second radio signal processing circuit add the first/second information to a radio frame for transmitting the first/second data unit group to the receiving station wherein the frames include the first/second information (MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first data unit group) and then send out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are transmit; Paragraphs 38-39. The information that is sent in a packet is thus added).
Wang does not expressly disclose bitmaps including information indicating a sequence number of a data unit wherein the first and second bitmaps cause the receiving station to identify a SN of a data unit; however, Chitrakar teaches bitmaps with respect to MPDUs. When the MPDU SN +1 is not received by the recipient, four consecutive bits are set to 0 (i.e. the target is set as the missing number).; Paragraph 160 and Figure 8C.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying SN of data not indicated as a target and setting the SN identified as the missing number as taught by Chitrakar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the originator can interpret the transmission as a failure by the recipient device to receives any MPDUs with SN+1 as taught by Chitrakar; Paragraph 160.
The prior art does not expressly disclose including a request for the receiving station to confirm delivery of the data units. Fukuda teaches a transmitting device sends packets in a network utilizing sequence information and requests the receives to acknowledge receipt; Colum 3 line 64 to column 4 line 5.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wang to include a request for receipt of acknowledgement as taught by Fukuda.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the transmitter can determine whether to retransmit the information as taught by Fukuda; Column 4 lines 5-9.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chitrakar and further in view of Li et al. “Li” US 2018/0359806.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the first and second radio signal processing units add the first/second information to a radio frame for transmitting the first/second data unit group to the receiving station wherein the frames include the first/second information (MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first data unit group) and then send out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are transmit; Paragraphs 38-39. The information that is sent in a packet is thus added).
Wang does not expressly disclose bitmaps including information indicating a sequence number of a data unit wherein the first and second bitmaps cause the receiving station to identify a SN of a data unit; however, Chitrakar teaches bitmaps with respect to MPDUs. When the MPDU SN +1 is not received by the recipient, four consecutive bits are set to 0 (i.e. the target is set as the missing number).; Paragraph 160 and Figure 8C.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying SN of data not indicated as a target and setting the SN identified as the missing number as taught by Chitrakar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the originator can interpret the transmission as a failure by the recipient device to receives any MPDUs with SN+1 as taught by Chitrakar; Paragraph 160.
The prior art does not expressly disclose after transmitting the data unit groups, transmit a frame for requesting the receiving station to confirm delivery; however, Li teaches after sending data, the system can send a black ACK request frame to request the station to confirm receipt of the data and send an ACK frame; Paragraph 166.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wang to include a request for receipt of acknowledgement after transmission of the data as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the transmitting device can receive an ACK for received data as taught by Li; Paragraph 166.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chitrakar and further in view of Li et al. “Li” US 2018/0359806.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a receiving station (Figure 1) comprising:
a first radio signal processing circuit configured to receive a radio signal by using a first channel and store first information indicating a data reception status for each sequence number (transmitter has multiple radios (i.e. first processing circuit); Paragraph 30. Further, the packets are transmit using multi-link frames (i.e. first channel) and the information includes a sequence number; Paragraphs 39-40. The receiver will perform and send a BlockACK based on the received MPDUs; Paragraph 42. The BlockACK consolidates acknowledgments for MPDUs received over different links and then failed MPDUs can be re-transmit on the same or different link than the original transmission; Paragraph 43. This shows that the BlockACK indicates what information was successfully received and fails to be received properly. The sequence numbers of the packets are identified to determine if they are out of order as well so that they are sent to the destination in the correct order; Paragraph 57);
a second radio signal processing circuit configured to receive a radio signal by using a second channel different from the first channel and store second information indicating a data reception status for each sequence number (transmitter has multiple radios (i.e. second processing circuit); Paragraph 30. Further, the packets are transmit using multi-link frames (i.e. second channel) and the information includes a sequence number (as the information would be stored, this is viewed as storing sequence numbers; Paragraphs 39-40. The system includes data storage, see Figure 12. The receiver will perform and send a BlockACK based on the received MPDUs; Paragraph 42. The BlockACK consolidates acknowledgments for MPDUs received over different links and then failed MPDUs can be re-transmit on the same or different link than the original transmission; Paragraph 43. This shows that the BlockACK indicates what information was successfully received and fails to be received properly. The sequence numbers of the packets are identified to determine if they are out of order as well so that they are sent to the destination in the correct order; Paragraph 57); and
a link management circuit configured to establish multi-link with a transmitting station by using the first radio signal processing circuit and the second radio signal processing circuit and manage communication using the multi-link (the multi-link upper MAC entity constructs frames for communication through the multi-link system to a receiver; Paragraph 39),
wherein
in an operation in which the transmitting station distributes and transmits a plurality of data units to which sequence numbers are assigned to the first radio signal processing circuit and the second radio signal processing circuit (the multi-link upper mac entity constructs frames for communication through the multi-link system and the MPDUs that belong to the same traffic ID (TID) are transmit on multiple links (i.e. first and second radio processing circuit for distribution); Paragraphs 38-41),
when receiving third information indicating a sequence number of a data unit included in a first data unit group allocated to the first radio signal processing unit among the plurality of data units, the first radio signal processing unit is configured to set a sequence number of a data unit not transmitted to the first radio signal processing circuit indicated by the third information (the receiver will perform and send a BlockACK based on the received MPDUs; Paragraph 42. The BlockACK consolidates acknowledgments for MPDUs received over different links and then failed MPDUs can be re-transmit on the same or different link than the original transmission; Paragraph 43. This shows that the BlockACK indicates what information was successfully received and fails to be received properly. The sequence numbers of the packets are identified to determine if they are out of order as well so that they are sent to the destination in the correct order; Paragraph 57), and
when receiving fourth information indicating a sequence number of a data unit included in a second data unit group allocated to the second radio signal processing unit among the plurality of data units, the second radio signal processing circuit is configured to set a sequence number of a data unit not transmitted to the second radio signal processing circuit indicated by the fourth information (the receiver will perform and send a BlockACK based on the received MPDUs; Paragraph 42. The BlockACK consolidates acknowledgments for MPDUs received over different links and then failed MPDUs can be re-transmit on the same or different link than the original transmission; Paragraph 43. This shows that the BlockACK indicates what information was successfully received and fails to be received properly. The sequence numbers of the packets are identified to determine if they are out of order as well so that they are sent to the destination in the correct order; Paragraph 57).
Wang does not expressly disclose bitmaps including information indicating a sequence number of a data unit wherein the first and second bitmaps cause the receiving station to identify a SN of a data unit not indicated as the transmission target as a missing number and set the SN as the missing number to be received in the reception status information managed by the receiving station; however, Chitrakar teaches bitmaps with respect to MPDUs. When the MPDU SN +1 is not received by the recipient, four consecutive bits are set to 0 (i.e. the target is set as the missing number).; Paragraph 160 and Figure 8C.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying SN of data not indicated as a target and setting the SN identified as the missing number as taught by Chitrakar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the originator can interpret the transmission as a failure by the recipient device to receives any MPDUs with SN+1 as taught by Chitrakar; Paragraph 160.
Wang does not expressly disclose receiving first and second data unit groups and outputting a data in which no error is detected among the received first/second data unit groups to the link management; however, Liu teaches that HARQ packet 1 indicates the information has been received and decoded successfully (i.e. a data output when no errors); Paragraphs 34 and 39-40).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wang to include outputting a data indicating no error in the received data as taught by Liu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can properly acknowledge successful reception of information and individual information as taught by Liu; Paragraph 39.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches buffers capable of storing input data units (the packets are transmit using multi-link frames (i.e. second channel) and the information includes a sequence number (as the information would be stored, this is viewed as storing sequence numbers; Paragraphs 39-40. The system includes data storage, see Figure 12. MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first and second data unit groups) and then sent out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are stored; Paragraphs 38-39. Thus one can see there would be storage (buffers) for the aggregated data unit groups. The multi-link upper mac entity constructs frames for communication through the multi-link system and the MPDUs that belong to the same traffic ID (TID) are transmit on multiple links (i.e. first and second radio processing circuit for distribution); Paragraphs 38-41. Lastly, the device will reorder the MPDUs (i.e. data units); Paragraph 42. The reordering is to ensure the data is received in the correct order (i.e. ordered sequence numbers); Paragraph 57).
Wang does not expressly disclose inputting a data in which no error is detected among the received first/second data unit groups to the link management; however, Liu teaches that HARQ packet 1 indicates the information has been received and decoded successfully (i.e. a data output when no errors); Paragraphs 34 and 39-40).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wang to include outputting a data indicating no error in the received data as taught by Liu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can properly acknowledge successful reception of information and individual information as taught by Liu; Paragraph 39.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the first and second radio signal processing circuit include buffers capable of storing data units (the packets are transmit using multi-link frames (i.e. second channel) and the information includes a sequence number (as the information would be stored, this is viewed as storing sequence numbers; Paragraphs 39-40. The system includes data storage, see Figure 12. MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first and second data unit groups) and then sent out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are stored; Paragraphs 38-39. Thus one can see there would be storage (buffers) for the aggregated data unit groups. The multi-link upper mac entity constructs frames for communication through the multi-link system and the MPDUs that belong to the same traffic ID (TID) are transmit on multiple links (i.e. first and second radio processing circuit for distribution); Paragraphs 38-41. Lastly, the device will reorder the MPDUs (i.e. data units); Paragraph 42. The reordering is to ensure the data is received in the correct order (i.e. ordered sequence numbers); Paragraph 57).
Wang does not expressly disclose inputting a data in which no error is detected among the received first/second data unit groups to the link management; however, Liu teaches that HARQ packet 1 indicates the information has been received and decoded successfully (i.e. a data output when no errors); Paragraphs 34 and 39-40).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wang to include outputting a data indicating no error in the received data as taught by Liu.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the system can properly acknowledge successful reception of information and individual information as taught by Liu; Paragraph 39.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chitrakar in view of Li and further in view of Fukuda.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the first and second radio signal processing circuit add the first/second information to a radio frame for transmitting the first/second data unit group to the receiving station wherein the frames include the first/second information (MPDUs are aggregated (i.e. first data unit group) and then send out on one or the multiple links; Paragraphs 40-41. The MPDUs are associated with sequence numbers that are transmit; Paragraphs 38-39. The information that is sent in a packet is thus added).
Wang does not expressly disclose bitmaps including information indicating a sequence number of a data unit wherein the first and second bitmaps cause the receiving station to identify a SN of a data unit; however, Chitrakar teaches bitmaps with respect to MPDUs. When the MPDU SN +1 is not received by the recipient, four consecutive bits are set to 0 (i.e. the target is set as the missing number).; Paragraph 160 and Figure 8C.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to include identifying SN of data not indicated as a target and setting the SN identified as the missing number as taught by Chitrakar.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the originator can interpret the transmission as a failure by the recipient device to receives any MPDUs with SN+1 as taught by Chitrakar; Paragraph 160.
Wang does not expressly disclose including a request for the receiving station to confirm delivery of the data units. Fukuda teaches a transmitting device sends packets in a network utilizing sequence information and requests the receives to acknowledge receipt; Colum 3 line 64 to column 4 line 5.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Wang to include a request for receipt of acknowledgement as taught by Fukuda.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the transmitter can determine whether to retransmit the information as taught by Fukuda; Column 4 lines 5-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues the prior art does not teach intentionally marking a missing SN as “received” based on a transmission target list. Further Applicant argues the prior art does not teach the receiving station employing a bitmap to designate missing number (non-transmitted SNs) as “received” to address gap created by distributing SNs across multiple links.
The Examiner notes the claims do not require what is being argued. The claims state there is a multi-link connection between the transmitter and receiver, but there is nothing in the claim that talks about what information is transmit on what link. Further, the amended language has a 112b indefinite rejection as it’s not clear what the missing information is nor what the SN is being set to. The missing information is not defined as non-transmitted SNs as argued.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411