DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-22, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2020/0308209, cited on Applicants information disclosure statement, cited on 7/27/23.
Claim 1: Yoon et al. teaches organic light-emitting devices and electronic apparatus comprising the same. Example 1 of Yoon et al. is drawn to a light-emitting device which comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an emission layer comprising a host and two dopant materials, an electron transport layer consisting of compound ET1, an electron injection layer consisting of Yb, and a cathode (paragraphs 0528-0531). Compound ET1 of Yoon et al. is taught as having the structure
(page 68). The electron transport region in device example 1 does not comprise an alkali metal or a metal belonging to Group 13 of the Periodic Table of the Elements which satisfies claim 1. Moreover, compound ET1 satisfies formula (1) of claim 1. As applied to formula (1), compound ET1 has R101 and R103 through R108 equal to hydrogen atoms, n101 equal to 1, L101 equal to p-phenylene, Ar101 equal to a phenyl-substituted benzimidazole, n102 and n103 equal to 1, L102 and L103 equal to single bonds, and Ar102 and Ar103 equal to a naphthyl group. Device example 1 of Yoon et al. therefore anticipates all of the device and structural limitations of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 5: Compound ET1 above also anticipates formula (1-1) of claim 2 and formula (1-11) of claim 5 with all variable assignments being described in claim 1 above.
Claim 6: Compound ET1 above also satisfies formula (2-1) of claim 6 with R202 being equal to a substituted C6-aryl group (a phenyl group which is substituted with a phenyl-substituted benzimidazole group) and the other variables being described in claim 1 above.
Claim 7: While compound ET1 cannot be used to satisfy the limitations of claim 7, claim 7 is drawn to an optional embodiment where the compound is selected from formula (2). Claim 1 allows for the compound to be selected from any one of formulae (1) through (4). That is to say, if claim 7 were amended to be an independent claim, it further limits the optional embodiment where the compound is of formula (2). For this reason, claim 7 may be properly rejected by Yoon et al.
Claims 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-22, and 24: Each of claims 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-22, and 24 serve to further limit optional embodiments where the compound of claim 1 is selected from formulae (2), (3), or (4). For the same reasons as claim 7 above, Yoon et al. may be properly relied upon to reject the limitations of claims 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-22, and 24.
Claim 25: Example 1 of Yoon et al. has a compound which satisfies formula (1) as a first layer of the electron-transporting region, and a rare earth element (Yb) as the second layer, thereby anticipating claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 11, 14, 15, 19, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2020/0308209).
Claims 7 and 9: While Yoon et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (2) as recited in claims 7 and 9, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Yoon et al. Specifically, Yoon et al. teaches that preferred electron transport compounds includes compounds ET1 to ET42 (paragraph 0451). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have employed any one of the explicitly taught electron transport materials, including for example compound ET17. Compound ET17 has the structure
(page 71). This compound satisfies formula (2) of claim 1 where Ar201 is a substituted benzimidazole group. Additionally, compound ET17 satisfies formula (2-11) of claim 9 with R211 equal to phenyl, L201 equal to p-phenylene, L202 equal to a single bond, and Ar202 equal to naphthyl.
Claim 11: While Yoon et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (3-1) as recited in claim 11, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Yoon et al. Specifically, Yoon et al. teaches that preferred electron transport compounds includes compounds ET1 to ET42 (paragraph 0451). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have employed any one of the explicitly taught electron transport materials, including for example compound ET24. Compound ET24 has the structure
(page 72). This compound satisfies formula (3-1) of claim 11 with one R302 equal to hydrogen and one R302 equal to a substituted phenyl group (quinoline-substituted phenyl), both L301 equal to a single bond, and both Ar301 equal to a phenanthryl group.
Claim 14: While Yoon et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (3-2) as recited in claim 14, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Yoon et al. Specifically, Yoon et al. teaches that preferred electron transport compounds includes compounds ET1 to ET42 (paragraph 0451). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have employed any one of the explicitly taught electron transport materials, including for example compound ET25. Compound ET25 has the structure
(page 73). This compound satisfies formula (3-2) of claim 14 with R302 equal to a substituted phenyl group (quinoline-substituted phenyl), both L301 equal to a single bond, and both Ar301 equal to a phenanthryl group.
Claim 15: While Yoon et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (3-21) as recited in claim 15 the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Yoon et al. Specifically, Yoon et al. teaches that preferred electron transport compounds includes compounds ET1 to ET42 (paragraph 0451). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have employed any one of the explicitly taught electron transport materials, including for example compound ET40. Compound ET40 has the structure
(page 75). This compound satisfies formula (3-21) of claim 15 with R302 equal to phenyl, both L301 groups equal to a single bond, Ar301 equal to phenyl, X311 equal to N-Ph, R313 being bonded to L301, R311, R312, and R314 through R318 equal to hydrogen atoms.
Claim 19: While Yoon et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formulae (4-1) or (4-1) as recited in claim 19, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Yoon et al. Specifically, Yoon et al. teaches that preferred electron transport compounds includes compounds ET1 to ET42 (paragraph 0451). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have employed any one of the explicitly taught electron transport materials, including for example compound ET36. Compound ET36 has the structure
(page 74). As applied to formula (4-2) compound ET26 has R421-R427 equal to hydrogen atoms, L401 equal to a naphthyl group, and Ar401 equal to a C12 heteroaryl group.
Claim 26: While Example 1 of Yoon et al. teaches that the electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a device where the electron transport region further comprises one or more of a hole blocking layer (which would be in direct contact with the emission layer), as this is a specific device embodiment taught by Yoon et al. (paragraphs 0414 and 0479). The employment of a thin hole blocking layer is a known device improvement which acts as a hole barrier, trapping said holes in the emissive layer so that they may recombine with incoming electrons before being wasted.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2020/0235343).
Claim 1: Shin et al. teaches organic light-emitting devices. The device examples are taught to be comprised of an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron blocking layer, an emission layer comprising a host and a dopant, a hole blocking layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode. In all of the device examples, the electron injection layer consists of the rare earth metal Yb. While the device examples do not teach that the material in the electron transport layer is one which satisfies formulae (1)-(4) of claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have employed an electron transporting material which does satisfy one of formulae (1)-(4) given the overall teachings of Shin et al. Specifically, Shin et al. teaches that the electron transport region may include one of compounds ET1 to ET36. The employment of any one of at least compounds ET1 through ET30, ET30, and ET36 satisfies the compound limitations of formulae (1)-(4). As one example, the employment of compound ET1 satisfies formula (1). As applied to formula (1), compound ET1 has R101 and R103 through R108 equal to hydrogen atoms, n101 equal to 1, L101 equal to p-phenylene, Ar101 equal to a phenyl-substituted benzimidazole, n102 and n103 equal to 1, L102 and L103 equal to single bonds, and Ar102 and Ar103 equal to a naphthyl group. A device example prepared according to the device examples which employs compound ET1 would satisfy all of the device and structural limitations of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 5: Compound ET1 above also satisfies formula (1-1) of claim 2 and formula (1-11) of claim 5 with all variable assignments being described in claim 1 above.
Claim 6: Compound ET1 above also satisfies formula (2-1) of claim 6 with R202 being equal to a substituted C6-aryl group (a phenyl group which is substituted with a phenyl-substituted benzimidazole group) and the other variables being described in claim 1 above.
Claims 7 and 9: While Shin et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (2) as recited in claims 7 and 9, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Shin et al. as recited in claim 1. This includes the employment of compound ET17. Compound ET17 has the structure
(page 43). This compound satisfies formula (2) of claim 1 where Ar201 is a substituted benzimidazole group. Additionally, compound ET17 satisfies formula (2-11) of claim 9 with R211 equal to phenyl, L201 equal to p-phenylene, L202 equal to a single bond, and Ar202 equal to naphthyl.
Claim 11: While Shin et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (2) as recited in claim 11, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Shin et al. as recited in claim 1. This includes the employment of compound ET24. Compound ET24 has the structure
(page 47). This compound satisfies formula (3-1) of claim 11 with one R302 equal to hydrogen and one R302 equal to a substituted phenyl group (quinoline-substituted phenyl), both L301 equal to a single bond, and both Ar301 equal to a phenanthryl group.
Claim 14: While Shin et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (2) as recited in claim 14, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Shin et al. as recited in claim 1. This includes the employment of compound ET25. Compound ET25 has the structure
(page 47). This compound satisfies formula (3-2) of claim 14 with R302 equal to a substituted phenyl group (quinoline-substituted phenyl), both L301 equal to a single bond, and both Ar301 equal to a phenanthryl group.
Claim 19: While Shin et al. does not exemplify a device where the electron transport layer includes a compound which satisfies formula (2) as recited in claim 19, the preparation of such a device would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art given the overall teachings of Shin et al. as recited in claim 1. This includes the employment of compound ET36. Compound ET36 has the structure
(page 49). As applied to formula (4-2) compound ET26 has R421-R427 equal to hydrogen atoms, L401 equal to a naphthyl group, and Ar401 equal to a C12 heteroaryl group.
Claims 12, 15, 17, 18, and 20-25: While Shin et al. does not explicitly teach compounds which satisfy claims 12, 15, 17, 18, and 20-25, these claims are drawn to optional embodiments and do not actually require that these compounds be present. For this reason, Shin et al. may be properly relied upon to reject claims 12, 15, 17, 18, and 20-25.
Claims 26 and 27: Shin et al. teaches that the electron transport region may be comprised of a hole blocking layer, an electron control layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer or may be comprised of a hole blocking layer, buffer layer, electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer (paragraph 0176). With the knowledge that the electron injection layer is exemplified to be Yb and that the electron transport layer may be any one of the materials ET1 through ET36, Shin et al. renders obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art the preparation of a device where the electron transporting region is comprised of a third layer, a fourth layer, a first layer comprising a compound of formula (1) of claim 1, and a second layer comprising a rare earth element, in that order. Such devices satisfy the layer sequences as recited in claims 26 and 27.
Relevant Art Cited
Additional prior art documents which are relevant to Applicants invention can be found on the attached PTO-892 form.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766