DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Figures 5-6 are objected to because the numbering for items 140 and 150 are cited in the instant specification as being “circulation pump,” while item 150 in the instant specification is cited as being “side wall.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourke et al (US 2020/0220132).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bourke teaches a battery pack thermal management system, provided to manage “heating and cooling of individual batteries” (e.g. items 200) arranged into a large battery pack (e.g. item 100) that may be used to power applications that require high charge/discharge currents, e.g. 100 or more amps, such as e.g. 1,000 amps, wherein such applications may include e.g. electric vehicles (e.g. item 250) and electrical grid storage/balancing,
wherein said system uses thermal control modules (e.g. items 120) comprising:
(i) a battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) comprising e.g. five battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) therein, and e.g. five individual batteries (e.g. item 200), one individual battery installed in each battery receiving opening,
wherein each battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) is open on a top surface of said battery engagement component; plus, each battery receiving openings thermally couples to a battery side wall (e.g. item 203) and a battery bottom end (e.g. item 202) of each battery (e.g. items 200) in said battery pack
wherein said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) may be composed of thermal extensions (e.g. items 150) and sleeves (e.g. items 160), said sleeves forming at least a portion of said battery receiving portion and directly contacting said battery side walls (e.g. items 203),
wherein a primary function of said thermal extensions (e.g. items 150) is mechanical support of said batteries (e.g. items 200) and heat transfer, while a primary function of said sleeves (e.g. items 160) is electrical isolation of said batteries from said thermal extensions,
wherein said sleeves (e.g. items 160) are formed from a thermally-conductive polymer or coating, which is electrically insulating; and,
(ii) a thermal plate (e.g. item 130) is thermally coupled to a bottom surface of said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140),
wherein said thermal plate comprises a pair of thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134) provided at e.g. one end of said thermal control module, said thermal fluid ports connected to thermal fluid lines and/or other components to allow circulation of a thermal fluid (e.g. item 109) in and out of said thermal control module, and through an interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate,
a first thermal fluid port (also “inlet port”) supplies said thermal fluid to said interior of said thermal plate and
a second thermal fluid port (also “outlet port”) removes said thermal fluid from said interior of said thermal plate,
(iii) a heater (e.g. item 262), a chiller (e.g. item 264), and other like components for controlling said temperature of said thermal fluid are connected to said thermal fluid ports by thermal fluid lines in a continuous loop, allowing circulation of said thermal fluid (e.g. item 109) in said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, such that said thermal fluid exiting said thermal control module is heated or cooled, and then pumped back into said thermal control module,
wherein the temperature of said thermal fluid supplied to and/or removed from said thermal control module is monitored at said inlet port and/or said outlet port,
wherein a battery pack controller (e.g. item 195) controls operation of said thermal control module—to prevent excess heating of batteries by cooling and to prevent excess cooling by heating—by controlling said temperature of said thermal fluid supplied to thermal control module, e.g., by controlling operation of said thermostat, heater, chiller, pump, and/or other components of said system, before supplying said thermal fluid to said thermal control module,
wherein said batteries have a relatively narrow operating range of 0°C to 50°C, so said thermal management system controls the temperature of said batteries during operation of said battery pack by monitoring and adjusted the temperature of said thermal fluid—even preemptively in the case of preparing for a high current during charge or discharge—wherein said temperature of said thermal fluid is representative of the temperature of the batteries
(e.g. ¶¶ 0002-04, 41-46, 51, 53-56, 69-72, 75-90, 104, and 105-109 plus e.g. Figures 1A-B, 3A-D, 4A-C, 5A-B, 10-A-C, 12, and 13A-B), said system comprising said thermal control modules (e.g. items 120), reading on “battery cell…tray, said system comprising:
(1) said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) comprising said e.g. five battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) therein, and e.g. five individual batteries (e.g. item 200), one individual battery installed in each battery receiving opening,
wherein each battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) is open on said top surface of said battery engagement component; plus, each battery receiving openings thermally couples to said battery side wall (e.g. item 203) and said battery bottom end (e.g. item 202) of each battery (e.g. items 200) in said battery pack (e.g. supra),
said taught battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) corresponding with the claimed “tray main body;” and,
said taught “plurality of battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) corresponding with the claimed “plurality of accommodation grooves,”
severably establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed ranges, “plurality,” see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “a tray main body including a plurality of accommodation grooves configured to receive a plurality of battery cells therein, the tray main body having an upper portion that is open;” and,
(2) said thermal plate (e.g. item 130) is thermally coupled to said bottom surface of said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140), wherein said thermal plate comprises said pair of thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134, also said “inlet port” and “outlet port”), supplying/removing said thermal fluid (e.g. item 109) to/from said thermal plate, through said thermal fluid lines, and through said pump (e.g. supra),
said taught battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) corresponding with the claimed “tray main body;” and,
said taught “thermal plate” (e.g. item 130) corresponding with the claimed “lower plate;” and,
a combination of said taught “interior” (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, inlet port (one of items 134), outlet port (one of items 134), and pump corresponding with the claimed “main flow path” (see also e.g. claim 2),
reading on “a lower plate located under the tray main body, the lower plate having a main flow path to allow a fluid to move therethrough;”
(3) said heater (e.g. item 262), said chiller (e.g. item 264), and other like components for controlling said temperature of said thermal fluid are connected to said thermal fluid ports by said thermal fluid lines in a said continuous loop, allowing circulation of said thermal fluid (e.g. item 109) in said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, such that said thermal fluid exiting said thermal control module is heated or cooled, and then pumped back into said thermal control module,
wherein the temperature of said thermal fluid supplied to and/or removed from said thermal control module is monitored at said inlet port and/or said outlet port,
wherein said battery pack controller (e.g. item 195) controls operation of said thermal control module—to prevent excess heating of batteries by cooling and to prevent excess cooling by heating—by controlling said temperature of said thermal fluid supplied to thermal control module, e.g., by controlling operation of said thermostat, heater, chiller, pump, and/or other components of said system, before supplying said thermal fluid to said thermal control module (e.g. supra),
said taught heater (e.g. item 262) and/or said chiller (e.g. item 264) reading on “temperature controller;” and,
a combination of said taught “interior” (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, inlet port (one of items 134), outlet port (one of items 134), and pump corresponding with the claimed “main flow path” (see also e.g. claim 2),
reading on “a temperature controller fluidly connected to the main flow path to control a temperature of the fluid introduced into the main flow path” and reading on “the fluid is introduced into the main flow path in the lower plate to control a temperature of the plurality of battery cells accommodated in the accommodation grooves of the tray main body.”
Bourke teaches said battery pack thermal management system, provided to manage “heating and cooling of individual batteries” arranged into a battery pack, wherein said system uses thermal control modules (e.g. items 120) and said thermal plate (e.g. item 130), wherein said battery engagement component is thermally coupled to said bottom surface of said thermal plate, wherein said batteries have said relatively narrow operating range of 0°C to 50°C, so said thermal management system controls the temperature of said batteries during operation of said battery pack by monitoring and adjusted the temperature of said thermal fluid—even preemptively in the case of preparing for a high current during charge or discharge—wherein said temperature of said thermal fluid is representative of the temperature of the batteries (e.g. supra), reading on “battery cell…tray but does not expressly teach the preamble limitation “activation” in “battery cell activation tray.”
However, said preamble limitation is interpreted as merely intended use and does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, see also e.g. MPEP § 2111.02; alternatively, the method of using a device does not patentably distinguish the instant invention, see also e.g. MPEP §2114. See further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0012-15, 29, and 61.
Regarding claim 2, Bourke teaches the battery pack thermal management system of claim 1, wherein said system circulating said thermal fluid (e.g. item 109) in said continuous loop comprises said thermal plate (e.g. item 130) incorporating said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate; said pair of thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134, also said “inlet port” and “outlet port”); said thermal fluid lines; and, said pump, (e.g. supra),
said taught inlet port corresponding with the claimed “inlet;”
said taught outlet port corresponding with the claimed “outlet;” and,
a combination of said taught “interior” (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, inlet port (one of items 134), outlet port (one of items 134), and pump corresponding with the claimed “main flow path,”
reading on “the main flow path includes: an inlet through which the fluid is introduced; an outlet through which the fluid is discharged; and a circulation pump configured to communicate with the inlet and the outlet to transfer the fluid.”
Regarding claim 3, Bourke teaches the battery pack thermal management system of claim 1, wherein said thermal plate (e.g. item 130), which incorporates said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate and said pair of thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134, also “inlet port” and “outlet port”), is thermally coupled to said bottom surface of said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140), which comprises said e.g. five battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) therein (e.g. supra), reading on “the main flow path is configured to pass below lower portions of the accommodation grooves of the tray main body.”
Regarding claim 7, Bourke teaches the battery pack thermal management system of claim 1, wherein said batteries have said relatively narrow operating range of 0°C to 50°C, so said thermal management system controls said temperature of said batteries during operation of said battery pack by monitoring and adjusted said temperature of said thermal fluid, wherein said temperature of said thermal fluid is representative of said temperature of said batteries (e.g. supra), noting that by being “representative,” a person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the temperature range of the batteries is about the temperature range at which the thermal fluid should be maintained, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the temperature controller controls the temperature of the fluid introduced into the main flow path in a temperature range of 20° C. to 60° C.”
Regarding claims 8-9, Bourke teaches the battery pack thermal management system of claim 1, wherein said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) comprising said e.g. five battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) therein, and e.g. five individual batteries (e.g. item 200), one individual battery installed in each battery receiving opening,
wherein each battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) thermally couples to said battery side wall (e.g. item 203) and said battery bottom end (e.g. item 202) of each battery (e.g. items 200) in said battery pack,
wherein said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) may be composed of thermal extensions (e.g. items 150) and sleeves (e.g. items 160), said sleeves forming at least a portion of said battery receiving portion and directly contacting said battery side walls (e.g. items 203),
wherein said primary function of said thermal extensions (e.g. items 150) is mechanical support of said batteries (e.g. items 200) and heat transfer, while said primary function of said sleeves (e.g. items 160) is electrical isolation of said batteries from said thermal extensions,
wherein said sleeves (e.g. items 160) are formed from said thermally-conductive polymer or coating, which is electrically insulating (e.g. supra),
said taught sleeves (e.g. items 160) corresponding with the claimed “side walls”
Side Surfaces of said thermal extensions (items 150), which interface said sleeves (see e.g. Annotated Figure 5A, supra) correspond with the claimed “side surfaces of the tray main body,
wherein a scope of said sleeves forming at least a portion of said battery receiving portion and directly contacting said battery side walls (e.g. items 203) includes said sleeve covering the entire side surface of each of said battery receiving opening (e.g. items 141) between said battery side wall (e.g. items 203) and said thermal extensions (e.g. items 150), which “surrounds” interior side surfaces of said battery receiving openings, reading on “further comprising side walls disposed to surround side surfaces of the tray main body” (claim 8), as claimed, and “the tray main body and the side walls include at least one thermal conductive material of a thermal conductive filler and a thermal conductive polymer” (claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, Bourke teaches the battery pack thermal management system of claim 8, wherein said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) comprises said battery receiving openings (e.g. items 141) therein, wherein said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) may be composed of said sleeves forming at least a portion of said battery receiving portion and directly contacting said battery side walls (e.g. items 203), wherein said sleeves (e.g. items 160) are formed from said thermally-conductive polymer or coating (see e.g. supra), wherein Bourke further teaches heat transfer with said battery engagement component (e.g. item 140) may be “along the height (z-direction) of said batteries” through thermal coupling of said battery side walls (e.g. items 230) along the height (z-direction) of said battery engagement component (e.g. ¶¶ 0046, 56, and 62-69), but does not expressly teach the limitation “each side wall has a height in a range of 80% to 120% of a total height of the battery cells accommodated in the tray main body.”
However, Bourke teaches heat transfer with said battery engagement component may be “along the height (z-direction) of said batteries” through thermal coupling with said battery engagement component, so it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to maximize the height of said battery engagement portion so that it contacts all (i.e. 100%) or almost all (i.e. almost 100%) of the side wall surface of said batteries, in order to maximize heat transfer between said batteries and said battery engagement portion, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on said limitation.
Regarding claims 12-13, Bourke is applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding independent claim 12, Bourke teaches said high-current battery packs, which include said battery pack thermal management, may power applications that require high charge/discharge currents, e.g. 100 or more amps, such as e.g. 1,000 amps, wherein such applications may include e.g. electric vehicles (e.g. item 250) and electrical grid storage/balancing (e.g. supra), wherein said electric vehicles and/or electrical grid storage/balancing severably reading on “battery cell charge/discharge system comprising the battery cell activation tray according to claim 1.”
Still regarding claim 13, Bourke teaches said electric vehicles of claim 12, wherein said electric vehicles (e.g. item 250) may further include e.g. an inverter (e.g. item 266) coupling a motor (e.g. item 268) with said battery pack, such that said battery pack supplies and receives electric power to/from said inverter and said motor (e.g. ¶0109 plus e.g. Figures 13A-B), wherein it is understood that said inverter and motor are electrically connected to said batteries of said battery pack, reading on “further comprising a charge/discharge device configured to be electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells accommodated in the tray main body.”
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourke et al (US 2020/0220132), as provided supra, in view of Park (KR 2017/0088510).
Regarding claims 4-6, Bourke teaches the battery pack thermal management system of claim 1, wherein said thermal plate (e.g. item 130) comprises said pair of thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134, also “inlet port” and “outlet port”) provided at e.g. one end of said thermal control module,
wherein said heater (e.g. item 262), said chiller (e.g. item 264), and other like components for controlling said temperature of said thermal fluid are connected to said thermal fluid ports by said thermal fluid lines in a said continuous loop, allowing circulation of said thermal fluid (e.g. item 109) in said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, such that said thermal fluid exiting said thermal control module is heated or cooled, and then pumped back into said thermal control module,
wherein the temperature of said thermal fluid supplied to and/or removed from said thermal control module is monitored at said inlet port and/or said outlet port,
wherein said battery pack controller (e.g. item 195) controls operation of said thermal control module—to prevent excess heating of batteries by cooling and to prevent excess cooling by heating—by controlling said temperature of said thermal fluid supplied to thermal control module, e.g., by controlling operation of said thermostat, heater, chiller, pump, and/or other components of said system, before supplying said thermal fluid to said thermal control module (e.g. supra),
wherein Bourke further teaches said electric vehicles includes a first thermal fluid line connecting between said heating module (e.g. item 262) said thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134), which are connected with said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate; plus, a second thermal fluid line (see Figure 13B) connecting said cooling module (e.g. item 264) said thermal fluid ports (e.g. items 134), which are connected with said interior (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, wherein said first thermal fluid line and second thermal fluid line separate from one another (see e.g. Annotated Figure 13B),
said taught first thermal fluid line (see Figure 13B) corresponding with the claimed “first sub-flow path;”
said taught second thermal fluid line (see Figure 13B) corresponding with the claimed “second sub-flow path;”
said taught heating module (e.g. item 262) corresponding with the claimed “boiler;” and,
said taught cooling module (e.g. item 264) corresponding with the claimed “ cooling mechanism,”
reading on the limitations “the temperature controller includes a first sub-flow path and a second sub-flow path branched from the main flow path; a boiler fluidly connected to the first sub-flow path, the boiler being configured to heat the fluid; a cooling mechanism fluidly connected to the second sub-flow path, the cooling mechanism being configured to cool the fluid…” (claim 4), wherein a person of ordinary skill would appreciate such temperature monitoring is by a “temperature sensor,” reading on “at least one region of the inlet and the outlet of the main flow path includes a temperature sensor configured to sense the temperature of the fluid” (claim 5).
Bourke does not expressly teach the limitations “…a flow path selection valve on the main flow path to selectively communicate the first sub-flow path or the second sub-flow path with the main flow path” (claim 4) or “the flow path selection valve selectively opens the first sub-flow path when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is lower than a set temperature, and selectively opens the second sub-flow path when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor exceeds the set temperature” (claim 6).
However, Park teaches a battery pack (e.g. item 200) that may be used as a power source for a variety of applications, including e.g. electric vehicles, said battery pack including battery modules (e.g. items 100) wherein a temperature of multiple battery cells (e.g. items 110) therein may be managed uniformly through heating and cooling methods, thereby extending the life of said battery cells and maximizing their energy efficiency,
wherein said temperature management includes a heater (e.g. item 240) connected to said battery modules by a heating line (230) with said three-way valve (e.g. item 252); and, a radiator (e.g. item 220) connected to said battery modules by an auxiliary cooling line (e.g. item 250) with a three-way valve (e.g. item 252),
wherein said three-way valve is at an intersection of said heating line (e.g. item 230) said auxiliary cooling line (e.g. item 250) in a feed line to said battery modules, and said three-way valve is opened and closed by a device controller (e.g. item 260) (e.g. ¶¶ 0001-03, 06, 20, 22-23, 25-27, 32-34, 41-43, and 45-52 plus e.g. Figure 1).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further incorporate the three-way valve of Park as an intersection of said first thermal fluid line, said second thermal fluid line, and said inlet port of Bourke, since Park teaches said three-way valve may be controlled to open and close by a device controller and further teaches said three-way valve is part of a system connected with both a heater and a radiator that may uniformly manage temperature of battery cells, thereby extending the life of said battery cells and maximizing their energy efficiency.
Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to design said battery pack controller (e.g. item 195) of Bourke so that it controls operation of said three-way valve so that it opens only one of said first thermal fluid line, which is connected with said heating module, or second thermal fluid line, which is connected with said cooling module, since they are connected to devices with opposite purposes for adjusting temperature (i.e. heating verses cooling), noting that where both fluid lines open, the efficacy of the resulting thermal fluid would be reduced.
said taught three-way valve corresponding with the claimed “flow path selection valve,”
said combination of said taught “interior” (e.g. item 129) of said thermal plate, inlet port (one of items 134), outlet port (one of items 134), and pump corresponding with the claimed “main flow path,”
Bourke as modified reading on “a flow path selection valve on the main flow path to selectively communicate the first sub-flow path or the second sub-flow path with the main flow path (claim 4) and the process operation “the flow path selection valve selectively opens the first sub-flow path when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor is lower than a set temperature, and selectively opens the second sub-flow path when the temperature sensed by the temperature sensor exceeds the set temperature” (claim 6) does not patentably distinguish the instantly claimed device, see e.g. MPEP § 2114.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the claimed device of dependent claim 11 including all of the limitations of claim 11, including those of intervening claim 8 and independent claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US 11888131);
Kim et al (US 2021/0013722);
Son et al (US 2019/0288351);
Yi (US 2019/0259983); and,
Song et al (US 2011/0091759).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723