DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, from which the other claims depend, said claim recites the limitation “the pressure” in “a pressurization process pressurizing the lithium secondary battery while changing the pressure.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, noting that the “a pressure applied to the lithium secondary battery” in the activation process step of claim 1 is not required; and, the pressurization process may be before the activation process in which “a pressure” is recited.
Regarding claim 6, said claim recites the limitation “the pressure” in “a first activation step in which the pressure applied to the lithium secondary battery during charging is 0.1 kgf/cm2 to 1.0 kgf/cm2.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, noting that the “a pressure applied to the lithium secondary battery” in the activation process step of claim 1 is not required.
Regarding claim 10, said claim recites the limitation “the pressure” in “in the first activation step and the second step of activation, activation step, the pressure applied to the lithium secondary battery during charging is 0.1 kgf/cm2 to 1.0 kgf/cm2.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, noting that the “a pressure applied to the lithium secondary battery” in the activation process step of claim 1 is not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (CN 109301335, published February 1, 2019).
Regarding independent claim 1, Guo teaches a formation method for a soft-pack lithium-ion battery, said method providing improved cycle life, wherein said method including steps of:
(i) a first step of Aging: after electrolyte filling is completed, leaving said lithium battery to stand at room temperature and pressure for 12-24 hours, and then leaving said battery to stand at high temperature and pressure for 4-8 hours;
(ii) a second step of Setting Formation Temperature: raising temperature to a set temperature on a surface of a fixture, and keep said temperature constant at 40-65°C on said fixture;
(iii) a third step of Setting Initial Pressure: setting an initial pressure of a formation fixture to 0.2-0.6 MPa and clamping said battery with a clamp;
(iv) a fourth step of Performing Pulsed Pressure Massage on said battery: setting said clamp pressure to change in a pulsed manner with a cutoff time of 2-20 minutes; performing pulsed pressure massage on said battery—when a cutoff time is reached and clamp pressure change completes a last waveform, then said pressure massage is completed; then adjusting said clamp pressure linearly to increase or decrease to an initial pressure of the next step;
(v) a fifth step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion A: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8MPa, a charging current to 0.02-0.1C, and a first cutoff voltage to 3.1-3.5V; keeping said clamp pressure constant and charging at a constant current; stopping charging when a first cutoff voltage is reached; adjusting said clamp pressure linearly by increasing or decreasing it to an initial pressure of the next step;
(vi) a sixth step of High-Temperature Pressure Transformation B: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to a pulsed waveform, a charging current to 0.2-0.5C, and a second cutoff voltage to 3.5-3.7V—during a charging process, said clamp pressure changes with a pulsed pressure waveform; a second constant current charging is completed when said clamp pressure changes to a second cutoff voltage and a last pressure waveform is completed, the current charging is then completed; said clamp pressure is then linearly increased or decreased to the initial pressure of the next step,
wherein said pulsed waveform in said sixth step may be said triangular wave, trapezoidal wave, or half-sine wave, and waveform parameters include said minimum pressure of 0.2-0.6 MPa (2.0 - 6.1 kg-f/cm2), said maximum pressure of 0.4-0.8 MPa (4.1 – 8.2 kg-f/cm2), said a pressure rise time, said maximum pressure holding time, and said pressure fall time of 5-100 s, or said single pulse time of 10-300 s;
(vii) a seventh step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion C: set said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8 MPa; the charging current to 0.5-1.0 C, and the final cutoff voltage to 3.7-4.3 V; keep said clamp pressure constant and charge at a constant current again until a final cutoff voltage is reached; charging is then complete; and,
(viii) an eighth step of Transferring Charged battery to a Pressure Cooling Fixture for Pressure Cooling and Shaping: cool said fixture on said battery to a temperature of 5-20℃ and at a fixture pressure of 0.2-0.8MPa; let said battery stand for 10-30 minutes to complete formation,
wherein a surface of said temperature of said fixture is kept constant at 40-65°C in the second through seventh steps
wherein the temperature of said fixture surface is kept constant at 40-65°C in the second through seventh steps
(e.g. ¶¶ 0002, 10-19, and 22), reading on “method for activating a lithium secondary battery,” said method comprising
(1) said fifth, sixth, and seventh steps, wherein
(1a) in said fifth step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion A: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8MPa, said charging current to 0.02-0.1C, and said first cutoff voltage to 3.1-3.5V; keeping said clamp pressure constant and charging at said constant current; stopping charging when said first cutoff voltage is reached…;
(1b) in said sixth step of High-Temperature Pressure Transformation B: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to said pulsed waveform, said charging current to 0.2-0.5C, and said second cutoff voltage to 3.5-3.7V—during said charging process, said clamp pressure changes with said pulsed pressure waveform; said second constant current charging is completed when said clamp pressure changes to said second cutoff voltage and said last pressure waveform is completed, the current charging is then completed…,
wherein said pulsed waveform in said sixth step may be said triangular wave, trapezoidal wave, or half-sine wave, and waveform parameters include said minimum pressure of 0.2-0.6 MPa (2.0 - 6.1 kg-f/cm2), said maximum pressure of 0.4-0.8 MPa (4.1 – 8.2 kg-f/cm2), said a pressure rise time, said maximum pressure holding time, and said pressure fall time of 5-100 s, or said single pulse time of 10-300 s; and,
(1c) in said seventh step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion C: set said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8 MPa; the charging current to 0.5-1.0 C, and the final cutoff voltage to 3.7-4.3 V; keep said clamp pressure constant and charge at a constant current again until a final cutoff voltage is reached; charging is then complete
(e.g. supra), severably establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed ranges, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “an activation process pressurizing and charging the lithium secondary battery, the activation process comprising n number of activation steps, wherein n is an integer of 3 or more” and wherein “each of the activation steps has different activation conditions that include one or more selected from a charge end state of charge (SOC), a charging speed (C-rate), and a pressure applied to the lithium secondary battery;” and,
(2) severably at least one of said fourth, fifth, and sixth steps, wherein
(2a) said fourth step of Performing Pulsed Pressure Massage on said battery: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to change in said pulsed manner with said cutoff time of 2-20 minutes; performing pulsed pressure massage on said battery…; then adjusting said clamp pressure linearly to increase or decrease to said initial pressure of the next step;
(2b) in said fifth step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion A: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8MPa;…stopping charging when said first cutoff voltage is reached; adjusting said clamp pressure linearly by increasing or decreasing it to said initial pressure of the next step; and,
(2c) in said sixth step of High-Temperature Pressure Transformation B: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to said pulsed waveform…; the current charging is then completed; said clamp pressure is then linearly increased or decreased to said initial pressure of the next step
(e.g. supra), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “a pressurization process pressurizing the lithium secondary battery while changing the pressure, the pressurization process occurring during one or more time periods selected from before the activation process, after the activation process, and between the activation steps.”
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said method comprises severably at least one of said fourth, fifth, and sixth steps, wherein
(2a) said fourth step of Performing Pulsed Pressure Massage on said battery: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to change in said pulsed manner with said cutoff time of 2-20 minutes; performing pulsed pressure massage on said battery…; then adjusting said clamp pressure linearly to increase or decrease to said initial pressure of the next step;
(2b) in said fifth step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion A: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8MPa;…stopping charging when said first cutoff voltage is reached; adjusting said clamp pressure linearly by increasing or decreasing it to said initial pressure of the next step; and,
(2c) in said sixth step of High-Temperature Pressure Transformation B: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to said pulsed waveform…; current charging is then completed; said clamp pressure is then linearly increased or decreased to said initial pressure of the next step
(e.g. supra), reading on “the pressurization process is performed before the activation process, after the activation process, and between each of the activation steps” (claim 4) and “charging of the lithium secondary battery is not performed in the pressurization process” (claim 16)
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said temperature of said fixture surface is kept constant at 40-65°C in the second through seventh steps (e.g. supra), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the activation process and the pressurization process are performed at a temperature of 40° C. to 70° C.”
Regarding claim 7, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said method comprising said fifth and sixth steps, wherein
(1a) in said fifth step of High-Temperature Pressure Conversion A: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to 0.2-0.8MPa (2.0 - 8.2 kg-f/cm2), said charging current to 0.02-0.1C, and said first cutoff voltage to 3.1-3.5V; keeping said clamp pressure constant and charging at said constant current; stopping charging when said first cutoff voltage is reached; adjusting said clamp pressure linearly by increasing or decreasing it to an initial pressure of the next step (e.g. supra), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the activation steps include: a slow charging activation step with a charging speed of 0.01 C-rate to 0.5 C-rate” and “the slow charging activation step precedes the fast charging activation step;” and,
(1b) in said sixth step of High-Temperature Pressure Transformation B: setting said clamp pressure on said battery to said pulsed waveform, said charging current to 0.2-0.5C, and said second cutoff voltage to 3.5-3.7V—during said charging process, said clamp pressure changes with said pulsed pressure waveform; said second constant current charging is completed when said clamp pressure changes to said second cutoff voltage and said last pressure waveform is completed, the current charging is then completed; said clamp pressure is then linearly increased or decreased to an initial pressure of the next step (e.g. supra), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “the activation steps include:…a fast charging activation step with a charging speed of 0.6 C-rate to 1.5 C-rate.”
Regarding claim 8, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said method said method includes pulsed pressure waveforms and times, selected to expel air bubbles inside said electrolyte (e.g. ¶0021), but does not expressly teach a step of removing gas from inside said battery by “exhausting the gas outside the lithium secondary battery.”
However, it is well known that oxygen in air is a mildly reactive compound, so it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to remove to outside the battery of Guo the air that was expelled from inside said electrolyte of Guo, in order to remove the oxygen therein from the battery to prevent unwanted chemical reactions. See also instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0117-120.
Regarding claim 13, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said method uses said formation fixture and applying pressure to said battery with said clamp (e.g. supra), wherein it is understood that a clamp is applied on outer surfaces of the object being clamped, reading on “the activation process and the pressurization process are performed by a formation device configured to pressurize outer surfaces of the lithium secondary battery.”
Regarding claim 14, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said method includes said first step of Aging (i.e. prior to the other steps), of leaving said lithium battery to stand at room temperature and pressure for 12-24 hours, and then leaving said battery to stand at high temperature and pressure for 4-8 hours (e.g. supra), reading on “further comprising a pre-aging process aging the lithium secondary battery before the activation process.”
Regarding claim 15, Guo teaches the method if claim 1, wherein said method includes said eighth step of Transferring Charged battery to a Pressure Cooling Fixture for Pressure Cooling and Shaping: cool said fixture to a temperature of 5-20℃ and at a fixture pressure of 0.2-0.8MPa; let said battery stand for 10-30 minutes to complete formation (e.g. supra), reading on “further comprising an aging process aging the lithium secondary battery after the activation process and pressurization process.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the timely art of record teaches or suggests the claimed inventions of claims 2, 6, and 9, from which other claims depend, including the specifically claimed process steps of claim 1 and further:
Regarding claim 2, from which claim 3 depends, the first pressurization step at the specifically claimed pressure range with the second pressure step, within the claimed pressure range, being sequentially performed, see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0012-13, 59, and 63-68;
Regarding claim 6, the first activation step at the specifically claimed pressure range with the second activation step, within the claimed pressure range, preceding the second activation step, see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0016, 20, and 54-56 and 75; and,
Regarding claim 9, from which claims 10-12 depend, the activation steps including the specifically claimed four activation steps, see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0069-76 and 127-128.
Conclusion
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723