DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged. Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 , 3-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Pittman (US 5,998,968) . Regarding claim 1, Pittman discloses a method comprising: supplying charge pulses for charging a secondary battery; and supplying discharge pulses for discharging the secondary battery between the charge pulses while supplying the charge pulses, wherein the charge pulses and the discharge pulses are alternately supplied from an activation start time point of the secondary battery (column 7, line 66 to column 8, line 15) . Regarding claim 3 , Pittman discloses that the charge pulses have a charging current of 1 to 3 times a rated current of the secondary battery (column 21, lines 23-27) . Regarding claim 4 , Pittman discloses that the charge pulses have a charge holding time of 20 ms to 100 ms (column 5, lines 51-53) . Regarding claim 5 , Pittman discloses that the discharge pulses have a discharging current of 0.2 to 0.5 times a rated current of the secondary battery (column 1, lines 43-51) . Regarding claim 6 , Pittman discloses the discharge pulses have a discharge holding time of 5 ms to 30 ms (column 7, lines 25-28) . Regarding claim 7 , Pittman discloses that the charge pulses have a charge holding time of 1.5 to 5 times a discharge holding time of the discharge pulses (claim 72) . Regarding claim 9 , Pittman discloses the discharge pulses each have a discharge amount of 0.04 to 0.16 times a charge amount of each of the charge pulses (claim 72) . Claim s 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2016/0254572 A1). Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a method comprising: alternatively charging and discharging a battery (paragraph 193). It should be noted that the length of time to be considered a “pulse” is not defined. An activation time is inherent as it would necessarily begin at some point. Thus, charging a battery and discharging a battery repeatedly meets the claim limitations. Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses forming an SEI layer by charging the battery in a discharged state (paragraph 65). The activation time is defined as this point in the process. Claim s 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Fasching (US 2022/0190619 A1). Regarding claim 1, Fasching discloses a method comprising: supplying charge pulses for charging a secondary battery; and supplying discharge pulses for discharging the secondary battery between the charge pulses while supplying the charge pulses, wherein the charge pulses and the discharge pulses are alternately supplied from an activation start time point of the secondary battery ( paragraph 172). Regarding claim 8 , Fasching discloses that a charge holding time of the charge pulses is negatively correlated to charging current vs. rated current (C) of the secondary battery (paragraph 200). The Office considers this sufficient evidence to meet the limitation of claim 8 which is considered a property of the battery. See MPEP 2112 I. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT IMRAN AKRAM whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3241 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9a-5p . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Basia Ridley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1453 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /IMRAN AKRAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725